paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Ground Zero Paintball Field / Ground Zero Paintball Field / Ground Zero Paintball Field / Ground Zero Paintball Field

Ground Zero Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
13Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 384 Marblerock Rd
Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2V4
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
deathcapt Monday, June 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 16th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bronson and Bronson: B&B is cheaper but you get what you pay for. GZ is definitely a higher quality field, but slightly more costly. @ $100 a case for a member GZ is about 30% more expensive, but the fields are leaps and bounds better. There's no comparison between the facilities. B&B is pallets and doors in a field. GZ is well built bunkers, and a full building w/ washrooms, electricity, tech shop etc. GZ has a dozen or so fields ( villages, Speedball, bush etc) B&B has 2 ( woods & airball)
Directions
to the Field:
401 to gananoque, hwy 32 north to marble (there's a GZ sign) take marble rock rd till you see the field.
Review:
Excellent safety, well defined line between Safety/ barrel bag on and masks on. 3 -4 of the fields have netting around them for spectating, as well as bleachers. Refs are good at making sure everyone chronos, and everyone excersizes proper gun safety.

Large variety of fields. Almost a dozen different play areas. Air bunker field, Village, Fort, trenches, deep woods/ king of the hill. Most of the fields are smaller ideal for 10 -16 players, but the forest field is huge, like 15 v 15 easily.

Refs are good, they're willing to actually run out and do paint checks. They're a little stretched so you'll only ever really have 1 ref per group. But the groups are usually pretty small 10 -14ish.

Rentals are 98c, with HPA tanks.

prices: The only downpoint of GZ is price. $35 a bag for non-members. a membership is $150, and brings the price down to $25 a bag. If you're planning on shooting 4 cases over the year, a membership is worth it. Membership also gets you free admission and rental kit ( if you want it, I used to just take the HPA tank [steely]). Free air/CO2 for all so fill up your tanks b4 leaving. All in, you get what you pay for.

All in all, if you want a good field to try out paintball with a group or party this place is great. It's very controlled environment, they don't just throw you in with the sharks. If you're more experienced and looking for a field with a variety of fields it's good. If you're low on a cash and don't need anything fancy and just want to play for the cheapest possible, play @ B&B.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Glenn142 Sunday, March 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bellville and Bronson and Bronson in Kingston. No real comparison between the fields since Bellville is indoors and the Bronson and Bronson field is still being developed.
Directions
to the Field:
The directions found on the Ground Zero website were clear. No problems getting to the field.
Review: I noticed there hasn't been any recent reviews so I thought I'd add a review so that other people can receive a more recent review of the field.

I've found Ground Zero to be a fun place to spend an afternoon with my son and his friends. My observations are as follows:

Reception at field: The staff was very friendly and efficient. They processed our party reasonably quickly. One thing I did notice was that they were a little slow at the front counter when it came to the kids getting CO2 refills or buying more paint. This could be a volume of business thing but it's still a bummer when a player looses half an hour of playing time in order to get a simple refill or to buy more paint.

Cost: I can’t remember the exact cost but I do remember that the cost was reasonable when compared to other places in the area.

Rental Gear: The tried and true Tippmann 98s. The markers worked well. The goggles were just your normal masks without thermal lenses. You could rent coveralls as well in case you don’t want to get back into your car with paint on your clothes.

Refs: There was only one ref for the field that we were playing on. There appeared to be refs for the other field and the speedball fields. The ref that worked with our game was fair and quick for paint checks. The ref didn't suggest any differences on the games which would have been nice since many of the people that we've played with at this field are new. Apart from this I have no complaints about the refs.

Other players: Most of the other players were new (like most of the others in our group). There where a few other players who looked like they spent a lot of time playing paintball. Without meaning to they intimidated the new players although after a game or two they turned out to be pretty good guys and they proved the saying that expensive gear doesn’t mean you’re a better player.

Facilities:
- Bathrooms: Clean and well maintained.
- Paintball field: Ground Zero has two scenario type fields that I'm aware of as well as at least two speedball fields. The scenario fields are good with plenty of cover and options for offence and defence. The nice thing about the lower scenario field is that the boats, vehicles, structures, etc that you can use for cover are close enough to each other so that the guy with the flatliner doesn't have a distinct advantage over the guy with the rental (Tippmann 98s). The lower field also is very conductive to playing as a team. I've never played on the upper field but it looks like it has a series of trenches and a castle that is on the high ground and dominates the field. I've talked to others that have played on the upper field and they said it was also a lot of fun but if someone has a flatliner and they bunker themselves in the castle it makes it very hard for the guys with the rentals to get close to the castle. The speedball fields are just like any other speedball fields. All of the fields appeared clean with no garbage lying around.

Overall impression: If it were a little closer to Kingston I'd probably be spending more time at Ground Zero. A good place for a novice to try out paintball in a good environment. They also make a great grill cheese sandwich. I recommend the field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MasterGeek Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Lets start off with, wow!Ground Zero is the only field iv'e played but it rules. things are different nowadays. they have changed the village/town up and now there are sniper towers and a dumpster which is a wicked defense pos. if you're inside it.they got rid of the maze and now have 3 speedball courses-two air filed ones and a wooden one.
if you're a veteran or a noob or anywhere in between it's a good place to start or play over and over again.the staff and refs are very friendly and the regulars are very nice to you.the rental markers are tippman 98 customs so there not overly good or bad.they also sell used markers and accessories (new and used) at good prices and pay one fee for the whole time till you stop buying paint. only one problem, i cant go every single day!!! :D :D
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

justice7 Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CA Paintball
SMT Paintball
Review: If you like speedball and you bring your own squad, GROUND ZERO is where you would want to be!

If you like camo; crawling in the woods on large fields .. GZ is not for you.

A few things I had noticed about GZ:

The officials did not listen to our questions about differentiating the teams. Most places provide arm bands or some other method of identifying your teammate/opponent.

I had asked them about this because I find it very confusing and dangerous when you have a large crowd, everyone looks different and you have teammates shooting each other. I found the play very unorganized and these are simple things that the officials of the field should have adhered to.

While they were great about having plugs in and masks on at all times, they did not necessarily care about point blank shots, and team killing.

some good points about the venue..

the maze is a novelty .. while not an ideal place for strategy, it can be fun to run around in. Beware of point blank shots.

The prices were very adaquate

If they tighten up their officiating, and be just a tad more friendly to new players coming in; and build some larger fields then GZ should be one of the best in the area.

I'll stick with the other venues for now.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

KillerKaribou Sunday, May 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
- CA Paintball
- SMT Outdoor
Review: Ground Zero Paintball is an amazing place to play wether you're a wily veteran or a noob their friendly staff will make you feel comfortable, encourage you, and give you some tips along the way... you will not find nicer owners anywhere else, and they have a good variety of fields.

The Fields..

-Airball: This is a brand spankin new airball field which is just awesome... it is great for tourneys there and for the team practises held there frequently... it is also great for recball with as few as 2 people or as many as 20... (this field is netted off for spectators

-Speedball: The speedball field is great... they have a wide variety of wooden bunkers as well as a snake made out of tubing (you gotta love it) it's a lot of fun and a great field to get you right into the action... just like the speedball field (netted for spectators)

-The Town: The town is just awesome :) there is about 8-10 builinds on either side of the "road" which is filled with cars, boats, trucks, and even a bulldozer... teams start on opposite sides of the road and make their way down to the other end... this field is sweet :)

-The Maze: Freaky as hell... but fun as hell... the maze is quite big and you can win either by eliminating the other team or getting one of your players to escape through their entrance... there are many twists and turns and it is very high pressure, but it is sweet and one of my favs...

- The Fortress: The Fortress is just that... a fortress which one team attacks and one team defends... there are windows and a 2nd level in the fortress and hay bails all the way up to it... this map is sweet except you waste too much paint on it and if people are inexperienced their tends to be a stalemate in which no one want to charge out...

-2 woods ball fields: I have only looked em over and not played em, but they're pretty sweet with sandbag bunkers placed throughout the fields.

Prices:

$20 with a marker for all day +$150 paintballs
$25 for a marker coveralls, gloves, a mask, and 150 pballs

$125 for a membership which makes it always $5 for 100 pballs and free field fees also %50 off jerseys :)

there are cheap paint days, but otherwise its $10 for 100 without a membership and $40 for 500 and $135 for 2000...

Food: OH GOD THE HOTDOGS ARE GOOD!!! MMMMMMMMMMM thats all i have to say bout that

I give this place 10/10 because its a ridiculous amount of fun and i bought a membership so i don't have to worry about high priced paint and field fees, so come on out to GZ and join in the fun... see you on the fields.

-isaac
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sputnikbv Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I know of SMT, but I haven't played there before.
Review: About half a year ago, I started to get into paintball with my brother and his friends. Then when Ground Zero opened up, we decided to head out there and check it out, see what the rates were, etc. After being incredibly impressed with how friendly the staff were to us relatively new to the game, we organized a group and headed out there a couple weeks afterward.

I cannot stress how great the staff and field is. Marc the owner, and to a lesser extent, the refs are extremely nice, and if you have any question, no matter how small or stupid it may be, they're always willing to answer it.

Just recently (March 21st) they had the SnowBall 2004 tourney, which was for players of all ages and skill. There were a number of teams, and the pairings were fun to see. You'd have semi-pros and pros (like the local X-Statix team) paired with little guys, about 11 years old. And when one of those little guys got tagged hopping from bunker to bunker? As soon as he got off the field and onto the sidelines, there were about 4 hands patting him on the back saying what a bold move it was. And it wasn't a case of "you shouldn't have did that, that was foolish", it was "y'know, that wasn't that bad a move... although next time you do something like that, get low to the ground to make yourself a harder target". The sense of comraderie between everyone was awesome. You'll be hard pressed to find a group of enthusiasts that are as newb-friendly as the regulars at GZ.

Now, with that out of the way, on to the field reviews:

Airball:
This field was recently purchased from Skyball, and from what I can tell, it's going to be up on a regular basis. Not to mention used a lot... who doesn't want to play on a tournament-grade field? The setup that I saw over the weekend was good. A couple changes could be made to make it better, but that's the good thing about an airball course, it's relatively easy to modify it. I haven't played on it (... yet...), but everyone who did seemed to like it. A lot. :)

Virtual Town:
It's got small prefab buildings down the sides, and the middle is peppered with old cars and boats (and in one case, a bulldozer), simulating an urban situation. Having to flush people out of buildings, taking cover behind vehicles always gets you into a SWAT-kinda mindset, and the sheer width of the field means you always have to scan the area less you get tagged when you least expect it.

'Da Maze:
If I could pick one word to sum this up, it'd simply be adrenaline. It's a 22,500 square foot maze with (i think) 7' walls. Usually your team splits up to spread out around the maze, and when you're alone in the maze, that's when you start feeling it; the sense that nothing is safe. You've got to be constantly watching the corners, looking behind to make sure nobody's there, and all the while trying to move up and be as silent as possible. After an encounter (and in the maze, they're almost certain to be CLOSE encounters) with the opposing team, the adrenaline starts flowing and it's hard enough just trying to steady your breathing not to give your position away.

Oh, did I mention that team communication is almost nil? The moment you start yelling for a teammate in the maze is the moment you let a member of the other team know you're on the other side of that wall. Hand signals are definitely a plus. :D


The Fortress:
When you're defending, you have a small plywood-and-skids outpost with a crow's nest and many windows to snapshoot from, and when you're attacking, you have to run from one hay bale to another, eventually storming the house. The two sides of the house are also open, so that means as an attacker, usually you can sneak around and take people out from -inside-, considering the defenders are usually preoccupied with trying to pick off people in front. The best thing about this course is the fact it's fun as hell regardless of whether or not you're attacking or defending.

There's also other courses, but I haven't played them yet.. there's a larger speedball field, and two forest areas, but since I haven't played them yet, I don't think I can really give you a decent review of them. Hell, even if you play the four courses I reviewed above, you'll have a great time.

The only downside? The paintball sales are the only real way they make money, so as a result, it gets kinda expensive to play for a long time. Then again, you're getting tourney-grade Diablo balls, and if you get a membership, your costs are effectively cut in half (not to mention "no green fees" as a friend called them).

Bottom line is, Ground Zero is a great new field, and you'd be hard pressed to not feel welcomed there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Synod Wednesday, December 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SMT Outdoor (Kingston)
SMT Indoor
Review: Awesome field. The people there are great, the fields are great, and there is good competition. It sure beats SMT's Kingston field. At SMT Kingston, me and my friends usually show up and find about 2-3 other players there, playing for their first time, so we basically have no choice but to beat up on newbies, and that gets boring. Ground Zero has many good players that have been playing a long time to learn from. The fields are good. The people that play there are dedicated! The first time we went, we weren't going to let the pouring rain stop us, and when we got there, we were surprised to see 40 + people there in the pouring rain! Rain or shine you can count on people being there to play with. The new Speedball that was set up (sorry guys, I couldn't get out to the field to help you) is awesome. it beats the smaller speedball field, and allows easily a 5 on 5 game. The town is pretty good, but I prefer speedball. The Large hill field is awesome on defence, really fun to play. The field owner Marc is awesome! We all got a team together, and having a field owner on the team really helped us in sponsorships (Thanks marc!). Often small 3 man "practice tournies" are held to help the newer tourny players get into the tourny scene. For these tournaments, the fee is only the field fee that you pay anyways, and instead of the field keeping the field fees, they put it all towards the tourny prize, which I think is awesome (Mainly probably because my team won it :) ). All and all great field. If you live in the Kingston area no field around here compares!!!!

- Jason McAuley
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kram ettocrut Tuesday, August 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SMT Paintball
Review: Hello paintball lovers, i'd like to say a couple things about Ground Zero Paintball.
I helped some in the design and building of the feilds i think that they are good, not just because i was part of it but because i have a respect on how hard it is to build a good feild that everyone will like. Their are things that can and will improve with the field but it takes time and Ground Zero has only been around sence may. My favorite field is the town, it has lots of cover and you have to watch all angles it's very excieting. The maze is also a pulse pounding experiance. You have no clue were anyone is untill you can hear them breath but we don't have the guns turned up like other places because it's no fun when they are to high ( well unless your the one shooting with the high gun). The woods is asome to if you like playing in those conditions, The big hill and the small hill are pretty equal the only bad thing is when some guy that thinks he's the king dosen't bring enough paintballs and we have to wait so they can go back and get paint for the little 3 year old. Some people!!!!. they must be doing something right, because even some people that say i'll never go back to ground zero seem to show up for a second time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

krypto Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
smt paintball
tnt paintball
Review: ground zero is a brand new facility. the last tme we played there, there were five different fields in use plus one under construction and another one in the planning stage. the wooded sections provide plenty of cover and lots of clear firing lanes(not much overgrowth). the maze is interesting and different because you dont see your targets until you are right on top of them(close range shooting).the speedball course is completely screened in so spectators can watch but unfortunately is to small for any more than 3 on 3 play. the town is the best, large field of play can accomodate plenty of players with lots of cover and plenty of room. all the rental gear is brand new and good quality, and at no extra charge they will lend you pod packs, gloves, and coveralls if you want. lunch is provided even for walk ons and on tuesday nights it only costs ten bucks to play and paint is 25 bucks for 500 rounds. the only problem is the fact that they are new and somewhat inexperienced but that can only improve with time. the owners are very friendly and are very willing to listen to suggestions and they are improving things every time we go there. because of the refs inexperience,i am only going to give them a 9 out of 10 but as i said, they are bound to improve
Last edited on Friday, August 22nd, 2003 at 3:43 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cole Mangan Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
NONE
Review: ground zero is a good place to play. the prices are fairly cheap and the people and really nice and helpful. What i eman by this is they somewhat help out beginners and they treat everyone with respect. i havent paintballed very long and the only place is ive gone to is ground zero so its hard to compare to others but i think that ground zero is the shiz nik. The paintballs arent of cheap quality and the guns a good too. People who rate this place low must be stuck up people who ask questions like "can i bulid a rocket ship and fly around and shoot people in it". Buddy who rated it a low 3 knows wat i tlaking about.
Good place check it out!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media