paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hell Survivors Paintball Field / Hell Survivors Paintball Field / Hell Survivors Paintball Field / Hell Survivors Paintball Field

Hell Survivors Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
64Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (734) 878-5656
Address: 619 D-19/Pearl St
Pinckney, Michigan 48169
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
bye4now12 Saturday, September 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Livonia Futureball-It was a long time ago, and it was pretty dirty for an indoor place, really looking forward to it re-opening after the remodeling.
Indoor Lone Wolf-Closed down, this was a very long time ago easiily 5 or 6 years, it was fun but it was like a broken down building with a counter and some signs, and the rain leaked inside.
Directions
to the Field:
Click the directions above, but the one thing to be carefull of is that I originally drove down the entrance to a camp ground and we drove way too far down a road and ended up in the middle of a field somehow, stop and turn arround if you see firepits and camp grounds because you went into the wrong driveway, turn back and continue down the main road.
Review: This was my first time paintballing in a long time (thats why I put less than a month for expereince, because I've played in the past but I'm really just now getting into it), went with my friend and his older brother. We all rented, and the people were very nice. Went smoothly, not too expensive (25 for gun, air, mask and field time), and between the 3 of us we went through about a case and a half of paint.

The refs were VERY nice and helpful, we had three refs, it seemed like one for each team and one in the middle watching. They weren't afraid of getting hit and near the end of one game I accidently lit up a ref and he didn't get mad at all, I apologized and he said no problem and it hapens all the time. They were all giving us newer kids help and made everything go very smoothly.

They say 6 games per session online, we got in 7. The time in between was about 5-10 minutes usually, enough but not too much where we would be waiting on the side for the game to start. There was a big tent set up with a ton of picnic tables out so we could sit down or whatever.

The other players were very helpful, we had a mix of about half and half of noobs and regulars, and the regulars were very helpfull and very friendly. There was a big tourny going on so for a couple of games we had a lot of people playing. i think most were arround 9 v 9 but the two with the tourny people were more like 15 v 15.


All in all a great experience, I'll for sure be going back there, one stupid complaint is that its far away from me :D. One other suggestion I'd have is to get there atleast 20 minutes early, because at about 10 untill when the games start they give us a speech and get everyone ready, so be there early to get your gun chronoed and buy paint and fill air.


9/10, only major complaint was that theres nothing to eat really unless you bring your own food.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

grogyboy Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have not played any other fields in the area
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest it
Review: well i have to say this is a great field! i walked into their shop one day and learned about it after saving up for a gun i paid a visit to the place and i was impressed! i have gone many times since and i have never failed to have a good time! first off the refs are awesome! when i asked for a ref to come and watch when we where throwing a grenade (that's the standard procedure) he crawled UNDER a firefight to make his way over to us. its like they have a sixth sense about i someone takes off their mask if you take off your mask they will force it back on your face and escort you off the field while yelling at you loud enough for everyone to know that you where stupid enough to take off your mask. the fields are good and big and you can tell that they put a lot of time into them. their are many sweet spots and the refs will always provide you with advice on how to go about playing a field. their hours are pretty long two three hour sessions usually by the end you are drop dead tired! now the only thing that i don't like are the prices now the entry fee rocks fifteen dollars for a three hour session and only another 5 dollars for the other three 20 dollars for six hours of paintball! also they give you a free 20 oz. tank if you leave some sort of identification their like a drivers license or one of their free membership cards and the co2 is also ree with one of their tanks. now the paint is what i don't like its 60 dollars for 2000 paintballs! now the paintballs are defiantly the best i've used but its a mighty big chunk of change and they are field paint only so you have to buy theirs. their rules are pretty standard and theirs nothing to complicated that you could forget in a fire fight the biggest thing is that you have to call a ref over to throw a grenade and that's for your own benefit now they are all very nice people and they have never thought twice about letting me use their cell phones to call home like when a storm rolled in. i haven't tried their food all i've ever bought is their candy which is good. their proshop is pretty extensive for a trailer and is full of nice people who are very help-full and at one point even looked and worked on my gun a bit for free! the staff are very help-full! the players are usually very nice and being a jerk is not tolerated the bathrooms are very clean. overall you will have the time of your life here! I give it a 9 out of 10 because of the price of paint
Last edited on Tuesday, August 29th, 2006 at 8:53 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KurtIsMyUncle Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Futureball-OK, not a lot of people when I went, it was me and my four or five friends with some of the employees against like 5 or 6 other people and employees. They did give my friend a free upgrade on his rental though. They didn't give us armbands because of the teams
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest it
Review: Everyone knows Hell Survivor's. I know tons of people who don't even play paintball who have been there. I used to dream of once going there, marveling at the tales told by my paintball playing friends. My 3rd or fourth time playing paintball I went there, I still didn'have my own gear, I was borrowing a friend's. Finally I was going to the legendary Hell Survivor's.

Now we went on St. Paddy's day which was awesome because admission was only $5 if you were wearing green. I wasn't wearing green and they still gave me a discount. All the people here are friendly an helpful, especially the guys at the proshop. The girls at the registration booth are hot too. The environment was a friendly one, there were only a few real jerks (actually I didn't meet any but I'm sure they had to be there). It's one of those places where you can ask "Hey dude can I borrow your squeegee?" and they won't be like "F*** off" I actually had to do this when I lost my friend's squeegee on the field. I also (being a trigger happy newb) shot a kid on my team from like 8 ft. away while trying to fix the flatline on my gun, and he was just like "Whatever, it's fine" and walked out. People on th field also take charge and act as leaders to get newbs in the action.

Enough about how charming everybody is. The first thing people complain about is the FPO. Yea this means you can't BYOP, but the paint there although a bit expensive, kicks a**. The Fireballs are the best paint I've used so far, and they even have little fire decals on them. I'm always happy when I have leftover paint to take home because it's sweet. Another big plus is free CO2, and you can do it yourself. There's a bunch of fill stations so there's never any waiting.

The fields rock, most of all the castle, two stories worth of defendable glory. My personal favorite is Heartbreak Ridge, I don't know why. There's a ton of land for playing on so it doesn't get crowded. You can see pictures and a field map on the website

There are some downsides though. Their food selection is limited to crappy microwave stuff, and the playing hours are kinda short. 3 hrs. a session I think. And the sweet field paint gets expensive if you're not splitting it. Also, the proshop is kinda small so it doesn't have everything.
Still, Hell Survivor's is an awesome field and with it's quality service it's no wonder it hosts big events like the Michigan Monster Game, Global Conquest, and Tippmann World Challenge. I'm going to the World Challenge this September and I can't wait, it's gonna be awesome.
I give Hell Survivor's a 9 because nothing's perfect

Update: I went to the Tippmann World Challenge in September. It was the most fun I've had in a long time. There were a ton of people there. We had insertions by truck, which kind of sucked when some guy in our truck ripped one on the way to the insertion point. Tippmann just barely one so we had lots of exciting "hot" insertion where most of us would get wasted in about 5 seconds, but it was still cool. The giveaways were awesome. I'm definitely going to Global Conquest next year.
Last edited on Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006 at 10:32 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

big-bore Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Haven't played at any other fields yet.
Directions
to the Field:
Make sure you know where it's at !!! The entrance to the parking lot is not very well marked and both times we drove there on that day we almost blew past it .... could be dangerous if you try to squeeze in and still go to fast :-)
Review: Well, given that I don't have any previous experience I can only give a limited view of what I experienced on that day.
We were there on a Saturday afternoon (super hot day) with a private party of about 25 - 27 people.
Some of the players had been there before and some of us, like me, were complete n00bs to the sport.

I have to say, given my limited experience, that the field rocked and the referees absolutely ruled and the rental equipment is very well maintained and clean.
We were supposed to start at 2pm, but for some reason there was a miscommunication and we ended up having to wait until 3, because all the refs were on break, not a biggy.
We got a good deal on the paint, because we were able to purchase it at $39.99 per case at the store because they had an overstock deal going on. Paint was great and I had only a few break, but I think that was more because I got the gun wet a little when I washed some of the paint off, than being a paint or equipment issue.
Rental equipment is a Tippman 98 and a good enough mask. CO2 Refills are free, and if you bring your own gun you can get their tanks free for the day and refills are free all day as well.

The facilities are all clean and well maintained. They have plenty of fill stations that you can fill their tanks at yourself (no waiting in line here). There is two registration windows and the girls ( real pretty ;-) ) do a good job registering and giving out the equipment.
The clocking station is good and they put a sticker on all markers that are inspected.
I think they should put the sticker over the adjusting screws though, so they can prevent screwing around with those. I think some of the kids in our group with their own guns cranked them back up after clocking (damn them ;-) got some monster welts).
The outhouses were clean as well and the cleaning station was great as well.
What totally rocked was that they had a big semi truck and trailer there with their pro shop in it. Huge thing and they had everything you need too.

We got 8 or 9 games out of the 3 hours we played. We played on three of the fields, capture the flag scenarios on two different woods fields and a total elimination in the city field (I had the most fun there).

The refs did a great job getting us n00bs set up and also gave some great tactical advice. I ended up getting blown out of the CTF games really early, and managed to stay long and eliminate quite some players on the city field. That gave me plenty of opportunity to see how the refs did their job, and they did good. They paid very much attention to safety (don't take your mask off until you passed the safety mark !!!) and they are no slackers when it comes to paintchecks, etc. either.
I read in some reviews of other fields that this is a problem, but nothing of that nature here.
The guys are very motivated and very impartial (at least in our private party). Hope it's the same in general play.

So, the experience at the field and with the sport was so great that I just got my own marker and will start playing as often as I can.

I only give the field a 9 out of 10 because I haven't seen anything else that I can compare to. I hope the guys from the field see this review and keep up the good work and maybe put a bigger and better visible sign at the parking lot entrance.
Referees ... nice job!

The only bad thing I did see, was that there were some real idiots that apparently did get thrown out of the general play. They ended up taking off in their Blazer with spinning wheels, rocks flying everywhere ... but I think one of the refs got their plate, so they'll be getting a visit by the cops for sure.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blankman0012 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Chaos Paintball
Review: This field is the best around. I go there whenever possible. The feild is fun and safer then any other fied around. The refs are good and there are many places to plar at. Prices arent bad and you get free air. THe joined advanced & general play together so dont worry about your gun. Just watch out for Popye, he'll getcha
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

navillus Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: First of all, let me say that this has to be the single most greatest outdoor paintball experience there is. Here is why:
1. Great Staff and Customer Service
2. Well maintained feild
3. Huge feild to add to the previous statement
4. Great Players
5. You never have to worry about your stuff getting stolen, its a great environment.
6. Great paint. It may be $60 a case, but it has to be some of the greatest paint for the money.
7. BIG GAMES. The big 3 as well as other events are just amazing, they are a great experience with lots of people and paint.
8. Comradeship, everyone there is your friend, even the other team when off the field.
9. Safety. Safety is a big concern at HSI, and that is a good thing.
10. There are just too many reasons to list.

I know that some people complain about the price of paint, or all the safety rules, but small things like that shoudnt matter, and those who think that it does, are ignorant fools. The Big games are the greatest, there are lots of things going on all at once: a couple thousand players playing paintball, huge tents for the players and for vendors who sell things at amazing deals, there are campsites, and at lunch a raffle drawing, all of these elements make for a great experience at the big games ( Global Conquest, Michigan Monster Game, and Tippmann vs World Challange).

Everything at this field is great, it has been running for a long time, and is just an overall great place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sgt.fahbio Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Atomix-Rj's performance-The Bunker
Review: im sure you already seen the millions of other reviews on how the feild is, so ill just jot down some tips thatl enhance the playing expirienc here. *1*First off, you should most deffinetly come prepared and organized. the couple times i was there, we only got 1 1/2 maybe 2 minutes between games. it was hard enough to refill on air/paint and maybe fix a problem with your marker, but god help you if u had to go pee. it realy helps to have all your stuff organized and easily accesable. you shouldn't worry about having your stuff stolen i mean come on... its pinkney... *2* come with "wet" clothes. iv seen people arrive with nothing but maybe 1 layer of colorful speedball shirt, some tennis shoes, and regular speedball pants. and then it starts to rain and with all the mud/sticks/logs/muskrats/jimmy hoffa... what ever might be on the group to mess up your footing. it pays to bring at least another pair of shoes if not some light boots.*3* Ask the pro's!. anyone who's been there knows that there is a ton of peeps let alone the holidays or big games. there should always be another person there to help you out with whatever you might need. so realy dont be afraid to ask the guy next to ya if u can borrow his sqweegee or somthin. ;-)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MACFESTO Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I know that the rules for posting state one must write facts, this does not happen often. Other players tend to confuse fact and opinion. However it's difficult to write a review of a paintball field without inserting ones own opinion.

Hell Survivors offers the best in customer service. They treat you with respect as long as you respect the rules...fair enough. Not to mention the lovely ladies working the shop trailer !

Hell Survivors maintain an excellent playing field. Anyone that has gone knows the drive is well worth it, and their layout is impressive...

Since visiting this facility, I've yet to bother going to another Paintball field. Customer service is a HUGE issue with today's environment...This forum alone is littered with complaints of terrible service. Paintball players are fortunate to have a dedicated staff of professionals ready on the grounds of Hell Survivors.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

benyi8 Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Future Ball
Review: This is a great field all together but since they made it so you have to use there paint i don't want to play there any more. 60 bucks a case. no way. the staff is great there though. this was the first course i ever played at it i had a blast. i would much rather play here than at Future Ball. But i Only play at future ball right now because you can use any paint there. so all in all i say play at hell survivor its worth the extra money. "life sucks wear a helmet"
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

robotoaster Wednesday, September 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Atomix PB, and not even close
Review: THIS FEILD PWNS

I got out of the truck heart pounding, *put put put* an auto cocker in the trees nailed some guys getting out, i ducked in to a bush and quickly made my run, up ahead was a towr, full of my enemys.... yellow team!

think its a book rong! this is what its like a Hell Survivors inc!

yay i recomend playing here, my first game here was unbeiliveable, if u wish u could be in war but dont want to die. join up on this feild, its the closest thing to war with out actuly being in war!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media