paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Soldiers of Fortune Paintball Field / Soldiers of Fortune Paintball Field / Soldiers of Fortune Paintball Field / Soldiers of Fortune Paintball Field

Soldiers of Fortune Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
67Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 6320 English Church Road
Mount Hope, Ontario L0R 1W0
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Paintb9ller Sunday, May 30th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 30th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camerons - Not as good, but alright for a go because of its convenient location.
Paintball Adventure ( Bankrupt) - Ridiculously bad.
Review: The field is great for just about anything. Vince and Matt are constantly updating the facility with new and improved upgrades and spend a lot of serious time listening to the player's opinions and discussing things over with regular weekend warriors.

Safety.

I'm sorry people but the refs can only do so much. If you get shot in the middle of the field and take your mask off and walk through a fire fight... Is that the ref's fault? Or is that your own stupidity. If you are not sure of the rules, the ref would surely tell you them. If a ref is reffing the people to play... He gets 30 different people all day. If you join up with him he doesn't have the time to take you out individually and discuss the rules over and over while the other customers that have paid good money to play wait for you. The refs at S.O.F would though. They are nice and would take the time to explain them to you.. But just ask. The new players that don't know the rules just have to ask. The ref isn't there to wipe your butt for you. It's like any other sport.. If there is a rule you are not sure of? Ask the referee.

Though, some parts of the safety is lacking. The customers have no sort of way to realize when is a proper time to take off your mask. There should be designated areas near every field where a ref would allow you in after making sure your safety precautions are in order. The masks don't help the extreme heat, but you would rather keep your eyes in working condition. Also, I see people that don't think twice about walking around with there barrel cover. The ref warns as much people as possible but isn't going to see everything. Like I said earlier, the ref isn't here to wipe your butt. There is an age limit on paintball for a reason. If people thought a 6 year old could responsibly play paintball, the age limit would be 6.

There is a long walk from the front desk to the safe zone but it's not a big deal if your spending most your time down at the safe zone anyways. Your only up at the front for registration, exit and if something goes wrong with your marker or need to buy paint with a visa. ( Or debit )

Soldiers of Fortune has a great community of players who are more then willing to make friends. I see this all the time at the field. People that go out by themselves and end up leaving with a new bunch of friends. I've yet to see someone be mean to a newer player or mean to someone in general.

The referees are cool people, get to know your referee. He/she will always be willing to talk unless reffing a serious firefight :) If you have any questions, ask a ref. He will surely answer it or direct you to someone that can. Go to SOF, make friends. Have a blast.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SwiftWind Sunday, March 21st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: First off it was their March Massacre Big Event. All the small areas are turned into 1 giant playing field. Price was amazing. $60 for a case of paint (2000 balls), unlimited Co2 and your entry fee. This was only if you preregistered. I don't know what their regular prices are but I'm sure they have them on their website.

Field was awesome.
Terrain was rippled in spots others flat and sometimes it was simply bush.
The man made bunkers were well constructed but could have used some more spots to shoot out of.

There were simply not enough ref's on the field. I think there was 2 or 3 and that isn't enough when you have 80 people playing a large event like this one. There was a lot of wiping because of this and let me make this clear it was happening on both teams.
Another thing that I really disliked was people would talk to the ref while they were still in play then after you walked past them and they would shoot you. WTF? The ref didn't even say anything about this.

Safety was unbelievably terrible. No one checking to make sure that you had your barrel bags on coming off the field into the staging area or checking to make sure you had your mask on going out onto the field. So pretty much I am surprised no one has been seriously injured at this field. I guess that's why they make you sign the waiver.

Lunch was hotdogs @ $2 each and they were very good but only condiments they had were ketchup and relish. Also you could buy pop for a $1.

Also where you parked your car to where the staging area was, was incredibly far. 200-300. This isn't that bad if you just have a gun but when you have a duffel bag of gear, case of Gatorade and a case of pop this gets really far. It kinda sucks being a little tired before you start playing.

This field could be one of the best in Southern Ontario if only they would step up the level of safety they have as well as the number of ref's they have on the field.

I'm not sure if I'll be returning If i had to pay full price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GreenIonPro Sunday, March 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cameron, PBA, Sgt.Splatters, paintballin city..more
Directions
to the Field:
gooooogle it :P
Review: Well i paintball alot compared to most people. The refs and staff are nice, and they know there stuff about paintball guns and how to fix. I've been there enough times, and once in awhile they will fix my gun for free if it breaks there. They have a large variety of fields to choose from and differeent game modes. The safety is only problem at the field. But all in all 9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TC91 Saturday, September 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cameron Speedway (terrible) Niagara Tactical (great)
Review: PROS:

Staff: extremely friendly and helpful, were able to answer most questions about the field.

Pricing: Very reasonable compared to other fields, with cheap rates for equipment owners.

Field: Great fields, with plenty of variety and challenging courses. The fields were well constructed and offered a lot of fun throughout the day.

CONS:

Safety: This was a huge issue for me at this field. To get from the main entrance to the safe zone, you had to walk through the playing area, no netting up or signs in place. Being my first time there i had my goggle in my bag and it wouldve been very easy for someone to be hit.

The safe zone is anything but as the netting is sparse and no one monitors the area. No one had plugs or covers in place in the safe zone, and i did end up being shot at while adjusting my loader, (no mask on at the time).

Chronographing is not checked at all on the field, and is not even required. Many of the markers being used at the field were well over the 280 bps limit.

While on the field or traveling from field-to-field masks are not mandatory and many people see fit to shoot paint while walking around. There is no "dead box" at any of the fields and many players were allowed to stand on the side of the field with no goggles, even with no netting in place.

While the field itself and the staff were great, i may never play here again simply for the lack of safety procedures in place. Its far to easy for someone to be seriously injured at this field, and such an incident could shut the entire field down.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sin741 Monday, June 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cameron's, Ultimate, Flagswipe, Flagraiders.
Review: I've never felt a need to post a review for any field, however, because of my experience at the June 21st 2008 (Operation Scorched Earth) big game, I felt it neccessary. This review is based on my experiences at the field and is unbiased. If you would like more information please feel free to ask questions.

Reception:

The reception in the parking area and at the counter was great. The owner was on hand at the counter and answered our questions with no problems. No maps of the field were available, even though they were supposed to have some.

Facilities:

Pretty much what you would expect at a field, port-a-poties, a good counter area, and a nice sized trailer in the staging are on the field. Both 3000 and 4500 fills available. Picnic tables to put your gear on and a small covered area in case it rains.

Players:

For this big game there were mostly eperinced players, and various scenario teams in attendance. Which makes the safety part of this review even more shocking.

Refs:

Mixed bag of refs for this game, there were a few that were right on the ball with calls and knowledge of the game rules, however, not all of them seem to have been listening to the rules when they were explained. HOWEVER, THEY ALL FAILED WHEN IT CAME TO ENFORCING BASIC FIELD SAFETY RULES.

SAFETY:

Safety at this field was the worst i have seen anywhere. Although the morning briefing stressed safe play, and the use of barrel blocking devices as well as use of masks and indicated that these breaches were to be taken quite seriously, icluding removal from the field if these rules were borken, NO ENFORCEMENT OF THESE RULES WAS EVIDENT. From the first setup in the staging area, there were multiple instances where players did not have there barrel blocking devices in use. There were no refs or staff looking for these breaches of safety in the staging area, and multiple times, I or my teammates, were asking people to plug there markers. Our first deployment of the day was equally disappointing. As we were walking out to the playing field, outside of the safety area, players did not have there masks on, but were removing there barrel socks and plugs. The ref that took our team to the starting area did not have his mask on either and made no attempt to ensure that the players did either. Even after various requests were made for ppeople to put their masks on, they were largely ignored. At one point a player was firing his marker 5 feet from the ref who had his mask off. Eventually after repeated requests the ref and the players put their masks on.
During play I had seen a marked player, walking off the field IN THE MIDDLE OF A FIREFIGHT WITH HIS MASK OFF. Obviously this distressed me. and i returned to the staging area and attempted to find the field owner. Unfortunately he was out on the field as one of the hostages for a mission. I expressed my concerns to the staff at the air station at that time.
On our next insertion, myself and a teammate went searching for the field owner and told him of the safety concerns. He indicated at that time that he would take care of it. Shortly after speaking with him, i saw another player in an ambush postion, waiting for the opposing team with his mask off. of course i yelled at him to put it on. This happened quite frequently on the field and outside the staging area, where myself and my teamamtes were yelling at people to put their asks on. Also yelling at people to put in barrel blocking devices in the staging area.
Even after we expressed out concerns, no staff was enforcing the safety rules in the staging area.
At one point, another of my teammates again spoke to the owner about safety concerns, both in the staging area and on the field. His response was "there's not much I can do about it now" This, to me shows a serious lack of interest in the player safety at his field.

Conclusion:

I would not be playing this field again, and would never recommend that anyone attend any games there, as it seems that safety is NOT a major concern for either the refs, the staff, or the owner of this field, and I would not like to be around when someone does get hurt there. If safety is a concern for you, it would be best to avoid this field.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 24th, 2008 at 10:30 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wicked-Vengence Monday, June 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cameron's Speedway. Paintball Adventures, H&H Paintball
Review: We were their for the Scenario game being held that day.

Fields are decent. Generally well laid out and decent for a large game format. However, there is a river that goes through the fields and one small bridge that crosses it. That meant alot of slogging through the river to assault certain parts of the field. Perhaps more crossings would help, there.

Prices were reasonable, overall.

Services weren't too bad. The HPA stations are the button type guaranteed to provide shock fill to you tank (which I'm not a big fan of as it can mess up the nipple plunger). The lunch service was bad, though. We had an hour lunch break and stood in line for 55 minutes to get a hamburger from the BBQ, then raced to eat and get ready to play in 5 minutes. Overall, there weren't that many people in line and it just took forever to get food. Otherwise, things were good.

Rules: Overall, these sounded ok. They did make a good point about safety at the start, saying that people not abiding by the safety rules would be asked to leave, ect... One thing I will note, I'm not sure if it was in the rules or not but alot of people had either RT's or set to full auto. This cause a lot of unnecessary overshooting during the day.

Staff: This is a mixed bag at best. The ref's on the field were generally really good and working hard to make the best calls. However, the safety at the field was something slightly below abysmal. There were numerous times throughout the day when we were asking people to plug their markers in the staging area and alot of people using swabs as plugs. I did see the staff asking people to plug their markers on occasion, however, that seemed the exception rather than the rule when I was there.

There was also stupid amounts of people who were taking their masks off during play or in unsafe areas. I personally saw more than 9 examples of his behavior, including some guy walking through a fire fight (of 15-20 people) with his mask on top of his head. At the start of the day, everyone was standing around our base listening to the General and firing off markers. I counted 12+ people without masks on. This included the Ref who had a guy 5' from him who was shooting literally 8" past the back of the Ref's head. I realize that the Ref's couldn't be everywhere and that people will act stupid. However, at the start of the day, the owner made a great speech about safety and violators would either be penalized or asked to leave the field (in the case of lifting ones mask). For all the examples of violations that I saw (Like a guy taking his mask off to clean it, putting it back on then the Ref yelling at him to never do that again. So the guy takes his mask off to hear the Ref better...) absolutely no one got any sort of penalty or the like.

I have been to this field several times over the last 4-5 years and have generally found the safety to be lax, however, it was never close to the degree that I witnessed this last time. I don't believe that I will ever return to that field and will not recommend anyone else to do so, either.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Viking1992 Friday, April 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camerons Paintball - Awful
Directions
to the Field:
6320 English Church Road RR1
Mount Hope, ON
L0R 1W0
www.sofpaintball.com
Review: -Safety: Safety at this field is really great. There's a well placed rest zone (except the walk) away from any danger. The ref's are on the ball and know what they're doing and explain everythign in a good way.

-Fields: This place is absolutely the best in the Hamilton almost to the GTA. Its HUGE. Approximately 7 fields 8 including speed ball and more to be built. Each is so different and fun to play with lots of cool obstacles (Towers, Bunkers, Trenches, Houses, Vehicles) Also the field is mostly naturally made so alot of the things your using to your advantage is the environment (Trees, Hills, Tall Grass) Great Fields

-Prices: Prices are just like any other place trying to make business but not over the top and if you buy a membership it all lowers. You can add $5 to your price for unlimited fills

-Rules: The Rules are well explained before you even get onto the field by the ref.

-Services: They cook food for you, got all the paint and fills you need. They have bathrooms, well organized entrance, brand new rentals and good equipment.

-Proshop: The proshop is being expanded hugely and will have almost anything you can think of in stock. But if your still looking for a good local shop with amazing deals you can check out the Burlington pro shop with amazing deals that will make your heart stop.

-Staff/Refs: The staff and refs are so nice and kind to everyone there. They make sure your having a good time, they arent all uptight like the guys at Camerons they actually have fun with you and joke around. Best Ref (John) hes hilarious, helps you with your gun and almost always fixes it or has a solution if he cant fix it right there. All in all they treat you like your a best friend.

-Players: SOF does tend to attract "Noobs" but its not that bad of a deal because everyone else knows what they're doing and don't cheat.

All in all - Best field in Hamilton, unless you like going to a place that they don't help you, are only there to get paid and yell at you. And if you like playing on 50 yards of barrels then go to Camerons and get way over priced stuff. Air fills cost alot, paint costs alot (and its not even good).

So go play at SOF and bring your friends!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Glenn142 Saturday, March 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Nation in Mississauga. A little bit of apples and oranges because Paintball Nation is an indoor field and SOF is an outdoor playing area. For a woodsball guy SOF is dramatically superior.
Directions
to the Field:
Directions on their website were easy to follow and accurate.
Review: What can I say? We had an excellent afternoon at the field!. My observations are as follows:

Reception at field: The SOF field wasn’t technically open for the season yet. When we contacted Vincent (the owner) he offered to open up the field for our group. Earlier in the week he said that with all the melting snow he figured the fields would be very muddy but he was willing to open up the fields if we didn’t mind getting filthy. With this in mind our group decided to try an indoor place in Burlington. When we arrived at the place in Burlington I almost needed a defibulator after I saw their field and paint prices! I thought I must be seeing things but the kid behind the desk confirmed that paint was $170 per a case of 2000! Within a second we (14 of us) decided to give SOF a call and see if he was still willing to open up the field for us. Vincent asked if we could give him a bit of time to get things ready and let us know that there was no one at the field and he would be the only one there due to the short notice. He also gave us an excellent “pre season” rate because the fields were not in the best of conditions (spring thaw). When we arrived at the field we didn’t have to wait very long and the half of our group that needed gear was sorted out (with the ever trusty Tippmann 98’s) and some masks that you could actually see through!

Cost: The cost excellent. The best value that I’ve ever experienced for a proper paintball field. Even the “in season” rates he described were better than most of the other places in the area. The cost is even better if you buy your marker at the SOF proshop (i.e. the field fee is free if you bring your serialized SOF dog tag!)

CO2 and HPA refills: CO2 was included in the cost of admission. We couldn’t get HPA since we were a last minute booking and the compressor had been turned off due to the field being closed for most of the winter. It would have taken about 1.5 hours to get the system up to pressure. Vincent was very decent about this and simply loaned CO2 tanks to the guys in our group that only had HPA tanks. Even with the “ambush” approach to the last minute booking Vincent was still very quick to look after our CO2 refills.

Paint: We bought our paint at the field. The field paint was an anti-freeze paint. The quality was fantastic. We went through a couple of boxes and I think we may have chopped one ball. The paint was accurate for our markers (Tippmann 98s, BT-4s, A5, etc). Also, the paint left an obvious mark and washed out well.

Proshop: There was no proshop at the field but I’ve been to the proshop in Burlington and I found the shop to be well stocked and the prices were excellent. We stopped by the shop over the Christmas holidays but the shop was closed due to a wedding in the owner’s family. The owner arrived at the same time as us to put up a “closed for the day” sign. When we told him that we were looking for a Tippmann A5 he opened up the shop for us and sold my son an A5 at an incredible deal. One of my brothers and his son bought their markers, masks and HPA tanks from the proshop and the deals they received on their packages was about 25% better than the deals I was able to get for essentially the same gear in the Kingston area.

Refs: The owner of the field acted as our ref. He did an excellent job. He took the time to explain the rules to all the players in such a way that even the newest and youngest players understood. He also took the time to suggest different themes for the games and changing fields in order to keep the games fresh.

Other players: This was a private booking. It was almost all parents and kids. Even our daughters and my sister in-law came out to play. Everyone had a great time! I think Vincent will be selling some more markers in the near future.

Facilities:
- Bathrooms: Because we were playing before the start of the season the porta-potties were not yet in place. No big deal because we were told of this in advance.
- Paintball field: Field was the best I”ve ever played on. It’s not exactly correct to call it a field because there is more than one field at SOF paintball. I believe there are four fields but our group only played on two of the fields. The fields we used were a mix of natural type cover (i.e. fallen logs, trees, bushes) and a lot of man made cover like buildings, barriers, vehicles, etc. The nice thing about the placement of the cover was that most of the stuff was close enough together that everyone had a decent chance and no one with a high-end marker would have that much of an advantage over a guy with a rental. The fact that some of the buildings were constructed very close together enabled a bit of house clearing to take place which is always a lot of fun! The field still had a lot of snow and ice on the ground but no one seemed to mind.

Overall impression: The place was great! The staff was superior. We were treated as if our business was appreciated. SOF paintball will be the place we play when we are in the Burlington/Hamilton area. I strongly recommend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zieg Sunday, March 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nothing else compares.
Directions
to the Field:
Head on Fairview towards Hamilton from Mapleview Mall, you'll see it about 1km past McDonalds in a small little plaza. I know, I'm pretty bad with directions but there you have it.
Review: PROSHOP
Let me start by saying that I have never, ever, been to a store that treats pretty much every customer of theirs like a good friend. You walk in and you feel like they don't just see you as a giant dollar sign. They see you as a fellow paintballer who wants something, and they are going to help you get it.

Vince, Matt, and Courtney are awesome. They are willing to go beyond what any other store will to help you out and treat you like you want to be treated.

The membership with SOF isn't some flimsy card you put in your wallet - you get a dog tag with a 3-digit membership number. Now that's classy.

I won't give out too many details, but the membership has very, very nice benefits.

I have ordered well over $600 worth in gear from them and I have no hesitation about ordering anything and everything from them in the future.

FIELD
I'm not going to write a long review about it, but all I will say is that it's a freaking diamond in the rough. Awesome.

I would give them an 11 out of 10 but this little drop down menu doesn't let me. :(
Last edited on Sunday, March 9th, 2008 at 1:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dman7 Sunday, August 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51- Good field but very far from my house
Directions
to the Field:
Check the website. I'm bad with directions.
Review: When I got to Soldiers of Fortune I saw a barn hay and a lot of empty fields. I didn't know till after I had bought my paint and started heading for the fields that Soldiers of Fortune is paintball paradise!

Fields-This place has eight fields four of what I got to play on. My Favourite was the hills but they're all good. Check the website for the descriptions of the fields.

Safety- The Referee was always watching and making calls. And he would always enforce barrel bags and safetys.

Prices- The prices were pretty good but not amazing. 5$ for owners that comes with one CO2 fill. Renters- Basic package 25$ Sniper package 50$ and Auto 75$
Paint was pretty normal 8 bucks for 100.

Staff- Really good exept for one time a guy who was supposed to be filling up my tank to the max drained it instead.

Proshop- Theyre expanding so it was empty.

Food- N/A

Players- a really good honest group of paintball players who know the game. Cheating was out of the question.


Overall Soldiers of Fortune is a great field and I recommend it to anyone that wants to have a great time playing paintball. I give it a 10/10

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media