paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Soldiers of Fortune Paintball Field / Soldiers of Fortune Paintball Field / Soldiers of Fortune Paintball Field / Soldiers of Fortune Paintball Field

Soldiers of Fortune Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
67Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 6320 English Church Road
Mount Hope, Ontario L0R 1W0
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
sniper199 Tuesday, August 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
niagra tactical, sgt. splatters
Review: this place is now my new home field, even after just 1 visit.
strengths:
pricing-all of the other fields in the area charge 10 bux for 100 balls...this place charges 8, i got a teardrop for 50 bux instead of 75, a 10 dollar walk on for owners, unlimited gas and and field use ALL day

fields-they have about 6 fields, a sweeeeeet woodsball field, a town (small but 1 of the most fun) and a few speedball courses.

employees-ALL of the refs and employees(especially the owner) are AMAZINGLY nice, they also know their stuff and above all (except safety)they want every1 to have fun

weaknesses:
there is only 2 the first is that they only have 1 small booth for gas refills and for u to buy paint...this isnt a big deal but they could probobly get in another game in a 2 hour period if they had a bigger 1....its not a big deal but when there is alot of people it can slow things down a bit....the other bad thing is that they dont encourage lighting up the newbs :(...o well..it makes scense

i give this field a perfect 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

punk1o1 Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Niagara Tactical
Ultimate Paintball
Review: SOF is awesome the best feild I have ever played at. The service there is amazing and have some of the best refs around. Have many different feild to choose from and you can play each feild a million times and it still doesnt get boring. Everybody should try out this feild at least once because I know you wont be disapointed!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyd4r Tuesday, August 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Niagara Tactical Adventures, Sgt.Splatters, Wasaga Beach Paintball
Review: The only field in Hamilton Ontario. Plays well, and I am very pleased with the service and friendliness of the owners as well as the ref's......the only real complaint i have, is maybe they could orgranize the day better and try to get more games going, i mean playing a game then having to wait 30 minutes for the next game to start sometimes is painful. waiting for air fills and renters buying paint every round slows down so much when your ref is also working the booth..common, get someone in the booth all the time and use the refs for games..

but i still give them a 8, for being so helpful and friendly
Last edited on Sunday, August 17th, 2003 at 9:05 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sande99 Monday, August 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51
DMZ
Sgt.Splatters
Niagra Tacticle
Paintball Adventures
Review: Soldier Of Fortune a.k.a. SOF is my home field now i have been playing at many fields but none match up to this field. there are 4 coarses 1) A village 2) Hills 3) Forest 4) speedball coarse. all of them are very exiting to play at and the staff is REALLY helpful and nice. Best place to go paintballin. it is kinda hard to find though because you will think you made a wrong tuen but just keep going to the dead end and squint your eyes and you will see a little sign saying "paintball" lol no hard feelings guys ;) haha
SOF is the best place to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lojack Saturday, July 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
DMZ, Niagara Tactical
Review: Excellent field. Good for rec games, incredible for scenario games.

Fields: They have a forest area, a hill field, a recently built town, a hayfield (which is in the process of being converted to a speedball court (resolving the issue of having to wear your mask in the dead zone), and a second forest known as the "jungle". This makes for an exceptionally varied scenario game. You must adapt to each terrain in order to succeed.

Staff: Great staff. The refs are very fair - I have not yet seen them shadow or give hints. They are very open to suggestions and recommendations that players may have. The big boss is always on-site, so in the rare instance that you have an issue with a staff member, you can resolve it instantly.

Downsides: There are two downsides that I know of

1) It's a hidden gem. If you haven't been there before, you'll think you've gone the wrong way. Once you find it though, you're in for a treat.

2) Although the players follow the rules to the letter on the field, some of them need constant reminders to use their barrel plugs/condoms in the dead zone. The refs do crack down, but they don't have eyes in the back of their heads (despite what they may tell you). Nobody has been hurt, but one careless player can ruin it for the rest of us. Read: USE YOUR PLUGS, PEOPLE!

Overall: It's worth the drive to Mount Hope!
Last edited on Saturday, July 12th, 2003 at 8:10 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

catch49 Tuesday, June 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
area 51
paintball city
and a couple others, but can't think of them right now
Review: this field is great, the staff are helpful, and it's well organized. I've been playing here for a while and played againest meny competions. Its great for more experienced players and can be for newbies. They have 4 field's(small forest, hill fort, Jungle, and hay field) (not including speedball). The obsticles in the fields get changed around, they have a wide variety of obsticles and all them are great. The have huge all field senarios.

The only things bad about it is that you will go there and play with almost pros and newbies. Just the other day I was there and there were these 6 rambo guy all suited up in camo and with 98's and A-5's and they were owning everyone.

Other than that it's a great field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fire/rescue Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at DMZ; Area 51; Abyssal Plains; Wolfslair; EMR park; SMT outdoor; Superior Firepower; Hellsurvivors; and Niagara tactical.
Review: This field is undoubtedly the best I have ever played at. It has a somewhat sad appearence in the front, but ever heard the expression "looks can be decieving". Well they are. After a short trek from the registration area, the players are instantly into the paintball realm. The speedball court is the first thing to greet you. After that they have 5 other big fields with more on the way. The number of games that can be played on each field is good. The ref's are always in control, and they see everything that happens. The head ref, Max, really pushes them to enforce the rules. And enforce them they do. The ref's are very accomodating and helpful!! Max will bend over backward to make sure everybody is having a great time, including the ref's. He even gets them into the games from time to time. He always seems to come up with something new when people seem to be getting bored. He is extremely strict with the safety. Max's only drawback is that he wears himself out running around all day. Take a break once in a while Max!! Matt and Vince are the owners, and they are fabulous! Matt knows almost everything there is to know about paintball, and is the first one to help out a player with his gun. He can always be found out at the field making sure evrythng is running smoothly. If you need pointers in speedball, talk to him. Matts drawback is that he gets so into helping others, he forgets to have fun himself. Vince is much the same way, except he is taking care of the sales, and ordering of equipment. Vince is the smiling face of SoF that will do anything to make sure the player has everything that they need for a great day. Need something...ask Vince. And the speed with which they get your order is astounding!! The only bad thing about this field is the complete lack of shelter from the sun/rain. Get with the program guys. Without Max, Matt or Vince, the field would not be the awesome experience that it is!!!!!! Matt is the expert, Vince is the salesman, and Max is the strongarm. Together they run a must visit field!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SOF_Rules Friday, June 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All of the other fields around cannot compare to the new Soldiers of Fortune field! Sgt Splatters and all these other fields around SOF cannot compare. The prices are better, the people are nicer, the refs kick, and the quality of the fields is just unbeatable!
Review: I am here to put to rest all of these other reviewers who are putting down SOF. SOF has recently made alot of changes to their fields. The hayfield is really awesome now, anyone who played at the most recent scenario games can attest to how intense it was on that field! I happen to have just signed to a team that SOF sponsors, a 25 man bust team that travels all over the States and Ontario. So I know the field extremely well as I play there every week and know what they plan on doing! There are five fields at SOF, a speedball, a hill field, a hay field, a small forest and an awesome revamped jungle! They have been doing alot of work on these fields, especially the jungle,speedball,and hill field! The jungle now features a town which is so much fun to play in! The speedball court has netting all around it, so do not worry about being hit by stray balls like one reviewer commented on. Yes the front is not elaborate and flashy, but I know for a fact that the head ref, Max, wants a players loung built at the front, and everyting is getting alot nicer! And they sell basically any paintball item you want, just ask Matt or Vince, and they will order it for you, at low prices! So you should definilty test out the new SOF, it is fun, extremely safe, and well priced! In my opinion it is one of the best fields in Ontario, especially with the new Jungle! Look for me if you are ever there, my name is Matt D, and I have the blue autococker, with either a red DYE jersey, or olive wicked impulse one on! Don't be afraid to talk to me! I'm only 16!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper12 Monday, June 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sgt splatters
Review: when you see s.o.f you will think it is horrible....the entrance looks like an abandoned barn but it is better than you think...not only is it cheaper than most places but you can stay their all day (if you want too) instead of only being for 4 hours at other paintball fields. They have several good fields like the forest and the hill...but need to change the hayfield as one side has about three hay stacks while the other side has 30 but thats about it......if you are just starting paintball or even experienced this place is still one of the bests. I recomment this field to anyone who enjoys paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Air_sunder Saturday, May 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlands, wasaga Beach and S.O.F.
air_sunder@hotmail.com
Review: Although when you drive up it will put you off a little. After traveling to staging area things start to become more comfortable to the regular paintball player! From the beginning the customer needs are put to the top of the owners to do list, Vince will make your every need his top priority. Also Matt (Team Hamilton Hit man) can be seen everywhere on the Field making sure each players markers are running smoothly.
From the start you know that safety is one of the top priorities of this Field, as all fields should be on any day of the year. The hand picked ref's continually insist on any and all safety rule no matter the size.

Fields : Of all of the fields the only fields that are in need of work would be the speed ball field as well as the hay field. Forest field as well as the jungle field are great outdoor areas for many different games styles.

http://sofpaintball.com/
Last edited on Saturday, May 31st, 2003 at 11:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media