paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field

Paintball Village Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
56Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 440 235-9900
Address: 8501 Stearns Rd
Olmsted Township, Ohio 44138
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
jsmitty2006 Thursday, July 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Intense
Paintball World
Directions
to the Field:
480 to sterns, south on sterns rd
Review: This is a great field to me. The refs are great. They do paint checks if you call for one and even if they think your trying to pull off a quick one. The field is a great set up. Tons of angles and routes of advance you can use. The prices are a little high but thats why you save the money! I usually go up there wearing some sort of novelty/funny tshirt and give the newbs a laugh. The competition varies quite a bit but usually very equal teams balanced between skill and numbers. I like it a lot and have been playing here quite a bit and enjoy the other people that come up there. Really good field set up and refs that work extra hard. even if they get shot at point blank in the hand and have a mark for months on end.


Still wish there werent trouble makers that slashed the speedball bunkers, but the scenario field will do fine for me
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stuckinmidnight Thursday, June 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball world
pinnacle woods
Directions
to the Field:
by swings and things
Review: alright....i went there last year on memorial day (i think it was the 26). Field honestly sucks because one side has an unfair advantage (the side that doesnt have the cut out corner for chrono) If ur on the side with the chronograph ur pretty much screwed unless u hav better players. Refs take for flippin ever to come out and paint prices suck!
The only reason why i play here is cuz it is close to Strongsville
Oh...and they dont evr set up the speedball field:(
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matt98C Sunday, March 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Synergy
Paintball World
Five Alarm
Paintball Zone
Directions
to the Field:
its by swings n things
Review: Fields: I'll start off this review with the most important part of Village:the fields. They only have 1 field and its a pretty sweet scenario field, like a bombed out village. however it was muddy and smelled pretty bad. Overall this field was pretty good. They used to have a speedball field but they took it down cuzza maintenance problems.

Prices: I thought there prices would be outrageous but to be honest they weren't too bad. $10 entry and $5 all day air. I think there rental package was like $10 (Piranha, mask, barrel cover). Also $5 for a jumpsuit. Not bad. But then there's paint. Its like $60 a case and this paint is pure crap! My friends A5 couldn't use it because the ball was too big. I dropped a bag of about 200 balls like 2 feet and almost half of them broke! The paint was just awful.

Service: The refs were nice and helpful and lent you a squeegie if u need one even in mid-game. My friends and i held some nice convos with them as well. The rest of the crew wasn't bad but the guy at the counter wasn't very personable. He wasn't mean, just not nice. O ya and the video they make your watch EVERY time you come is soooo stupid. It's a 10 min. tape that says keep your barrel cover and mask on, don't overshoot, no full auto's, blah blah blah. Ya its prettyy dumb.

Proshop: There is none. It's just a shack with some squeegies and batteries. And it took them 10 mins. to fill my 3000 psi tank. What's up with that?

Overall: the only reason might go back is because the scenario field was awesome. The players and refs were also very nice. Other then that, there isn't anything special about this place. I give it a seven outta ten
Last edited on Sunday, March 30th, 2008 at 7:38 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cougarvillage Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball World, Pinnacle Woods, Five Alarm
Review: The safety video is stupid. i have played here 3 or 4 times and last time i was forced to watch it again. ive seen it before, why should i watch it again? the fat guy with glasses made me watch it.

the field is pretty cool. there is no more speedball (which sucks). but the senerio is cool.

the prices were outrages!!! only millionairs can afford to play there. the paint was 60 a case and 7 for air. then 10 admission.

the service was alright. i liked it better during the summer. the guys that work there now, are jerks. the older guys were cool. they worked hard and gave me free air.

the proshop was ????? there was nothing there!!!! Cobwebs and dust.

the staff was alright, but the staff in the beginning of the year was a lot better. those guys were tight. and the new fat manager with glasses was a huge jerk. he complained about how cheap the owner was and how he hated working there. he didnt do anything all day. why is he complaining?

the facilities were okay. the shop was kind of dirty. ive seen a kid that cleaned the floor of his hands and knees before. this kid obviously quit because the floor was sick. but overall, it was okay.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

parmaflyer27 Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at paintball world, Splatter paintball, Synergy Paintball and many more and they were all better, friendlier, and cheaper then paintball village.
Review: Paintball village i do not like really well. If it wasnt for the village there i would not go at all. They just got rid of the speedball field which sucks. the prices are very expensive. and the guys there are jerks. they have no clue what they are doing.some players there are the staffs friends and theyn are jerks and cheat a lot. its like 5 bucks to refil CO2.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

lilskul Monday, May 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Park, Pinnacle Woods and numerous fields in NJ, PA and NY
Review: I only went to Paintball Village to get a fill on my HPA tank and shoot a few rounds for the fun of it in their shooting range.

I did not play here so I cannot verify how fun the field is, I can only report on what I saw when I was there.

1. The man behind the counter was not friendly and had a chip on his shoulder. As I was standing there waiting, he was helping a family of four get ready to play.
Employee: go to the briefing room to watch the video
Father of group: we already watched it the last time they played
Employee: you have to watch it every time
Father: That's new. We have played here a handful of times and only watched it once.
Employee: Well I've been here at Swings and Things 14 years and that's the way it is supposed to be done so whoever didn't make you watch it is wrong.
Father: OK
It was fine with him, he didn't care - he just didn't realize he had to watch it every time.
The dude behind the counter starts coping some attitude like he is Mister Swings and Things.

2. 4500 psi tank. I want it filled for when I go to my family's BBQ so I can let everyone play with the new toy I bought. After he fills it and gives it back, I look at the guage and its reading 3500.
I asked if there was something wrong and he said it was only filling to 4k. I then told him it was barely at 3500. He then grabs it from the counter, doesn't say a word, puts more air into it, only to 4k, and hands it back.
The problem I had here, as can be discerned from my two examples, was that this man had no people/customer service skills and should not be working the front counter. It was like he was pissed of at his life and did not want to be there.

3. There is no such thing as a pro shop at this place. There were all of 3 things in the display case.

The good: Like I said, I did not play here but from what I could see, the scenario field looks AWESOME. Its a little small for my liking and IMHO is only good for up to 5-10 per side, but it really is like playing in a FUBAR'd town. It definitely looked sweet. I also really liked how you could just hang out and watch the game. They should really put up some bleachers.
Last edited on Monday, May 14th, 2007 at 10:30 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zack890 Saturday, March 31st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle Woods
Directions
to the Field:
just mapquest or whatever to get there but once your there you need to go all the way to the back. We walked into Swings N Things fully loaded with our guns and everything and people freaked out thinking we were gonna open up on them. Eventually we figured out where paintball village was.
Review: For rules they get a 6. The lady there told us that they only allow field paint because people "freeze" them. When you freeze a paintball it expands and wont fit in your barrel.

Field Paint only is just another way for them to get profit. The ones they sell are ROCK HARD and hurt like hell. It is overpriced... 20 dollars gets you 300 paintballs. Rental pricing is ok but it really adds up if you dont own your own stuff.

i really like the scenario field but it is too easy because you can move from cover to cover without exposing much.
Speedball field is ok but the bunkers are bowing out so you cant get up close to them for cover.

Refs were ok when i went but if they didnt see the elimination they dont care of your splattered with paint. They chronoed ok but suffer from tunnel vision so two people walked past him onto the scenario field.

The pro shop really isnt pro but it has everything basic you would need.

Overall i think this is somewhere you should go once because it looks cool and is different but the staff are kinda lazy and it is overpriced. I didnt have a gun yet when i went and my rental was bad and i ended up with 50 chopped balls stuck on the inside but the staff just replaced it since it was a rental.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

grissom5912 Friday, March 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paint ball World... nicest speedball, worst scenerio, paint cheaper,better, and BYOP specials
Pinnacle Woods... most fields, odd yet cool set-ups, too expensive for paint though
Good Times... doesn't exist anymore if that tells you something about it...
Review: Ive been to this field about 10 times now and I have to say that i like it a lot. The scenario field has a sweet set up, most well done scenario/woods ball field I've ever played on. There is nothing quite like hearing the other team say "DISH DISH DISH!!!" when your pwning the field in the massive satalite dish. Speed ball, forget about it because i don't think they even let people use it anymore.

rating...8/10

SUGGESTIONS TO OWNER/MANAGER
1.) when you add up entry, all day air, and a case of paint it becomes an expensive day to play at this field, especially for only one field (all be it an awesome field) but still not very worth it... so my suggestion is to include all day air in the entry fee and in conjunction with selling your (great!) PMI paint you should sell some white-box paint for maybe something along the lines of $45 a case or so.

2.) Also air soft is an uprising sport and I think you could make a lot of money if you used the grassy land around the out side staging area as an air soft field, or at least another paint ball field.

ps. yes i know the sugestion part should be in an email to the field but i couldn't find a "suggestion box" on the web site.
Last edited on Sunday, March 11th, 2007 at 1:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HankChas10 Saturday, January 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This is a good field and is in a good location. It is located at swings and things. It a place for kids to play. The scenario field is good and it is fair for both sides. I have never been on the speed ball field. They have great employees and are very helpful. The pirces are pretty high and u cant bring your own paint. The refs are fair and make sure you are safe at all tims. The shop has the things you need and you are required to use a sleeve not a plug. The paint is good and is not cheap. It about $10 for all day play. the players are nice and we all look out for each other. The cheaters are penalized and if you tell they will do something about it. There is food and potties in the main building. This is a great place to play.
go to pbvillage website for directions and more info.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

fftim19 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Battle zone
Directions
to the Field:
olmstead
Review: IT's an OK field. Pricing is nuts as with all field paint facilities. Profit profit profit I guess. Refs just kinda stand in the field and allow all kinda of cheating and safety violations to take place. Lighting on the field at night is great but there's not enough lights in the staging area to see your stuff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media