paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field

Paintball Village Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
56Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 440 235-9900
Address: 8501 Stearns Rd
Olmsted Township, Ohio 44138
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Tru dat Sunday, December 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Indoor place in Wellington and spaltter park is better than PBvillage, but if you want to go some place that has some good service and has other things to do go to PBvillage
Directions
to the Field:
From South: take 71 north and get off the exit at Bagley road. Make a left on Bagley. Keep driving down Bagley road for about 10 minutes and make a left at Sterns road. At about 100 meters you will rech Swings-n-things(PBvillage is located in the back).OR JUST GO ON MAPS.COM AND GET DIRECTIONS TO GET SHORTEST ROUTE.
Review: Not hard to find. The place has a very nice medium size scenrio feild(150 ft x 250ft). The down fall is its speedball feild is not good (which is the only type playing i like). The only type of rental maker they have is a PMI perriana (i cant spell, its that one fish that can eat a human in about 2 minutes). Paintballs are also PMI and are very hard to break unless you are no ferther than 30 yards from your opponet. Service is good and the refs there play the sport too and are on teams so they do know what they are talking about.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Renegade blue59 Tuesday, October 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 19th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
not sure.
Directions
to the Field:
at Swings 'N' Things, Olmsted Falls.
Review: gotta say this place wasnt a good time the day i went, i wasnt fully experianced at the time so i just wanted to try this place out. there were no bathrooms, had to walk in swings and things but the lady at the door said i had to have a wrist band to come in (-.-), didnt care what she said and went anyway. the pricing at the feild was not impressive at all, the balls were decent but expensive. the size of the field was just a netted-in speedball course which was a little spacy but i wasnt the speedball type, even though it was set up to look like a scenario course. its a decent place to go to for inexperianced/newbie players, or for family outings, otherwise i dont recommend bothering to go if your in need for bigger play. they might have changed the pricing around since i've gone and said they were going to expand their field sometime, but no changes i've yet seen.

:::::::-Overall-::::::::
good for speedballers, newbies, outings.

Rating: 5
Last edited on Tuesday, October 24th, 2006 at 9:11 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

senses-fail Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Paintball Village was a decent enough field to play at. the scenerio field is a decent size but can seem small when theres a lot of people playing. its made to look like a bombed out city (walls with doors/windows made of shotcrete) other bunkers/cover include a big, downed satalite dish, 3 vehicles, and several barrels. the refs didnt pay very close attention. there were people wiping paint off thier goggles and the refs did not see this. the saftey was very good though. they made sure you had a barrel cover and a saftey on before leaving entering the staging area and they chronographed non-rental guns before every game, and after a few complaints from people getting overshot (doesnt bother me) they asked everyone to turn off auto. they also require you to watch a quick saftey video before you play. the prices were very good. $10 all day field fee for scenerio and speedball. $10 dollar rental kit (piranah, mask, compressed air tank). i was very pleased with the field, it doesnt get a ten because the refs were not very good and the speedball field isnt very good, i did not play on it but my friends said it couldve been better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

risky69 Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball world, five alarm, tpa

its beter than 5 alarm but i like world and tpa more
Directions
to the Field:
olmsted township
Review: The safety was very good, the refs made sure barrel covers and safeties were on after every game. the scenario field is pretty good. they keep the field clean and together. the speed ball field, on the other hand, is surprisingly bad!!! there is about 4 inches of pea gravel on the speed ball field so its impossible to run (if it had grass or an inch or 2 of pea gravel it would be a lot better), but the field set up was good. the prices are the same as any other field. the service was good. the refs were pretty cool. i was talking to them and they seem like they know a lot about paintball. i did have to wait to get air fills though because the refs under 18 aren't aloud to fill them. the refs did their best on the field but i notice when they went to do paint checks the noobs would shoot them for fun. the proshop was a disappointment. there wasn't much on the walls. one of the refs was asking me how i would like it if there was an employee section(a spot in the proshop were the refs could sell their own gear) i thought it would be better than what they have now. the only disappointment about the facility was that there was no bathroom there. i had to walk to swings and things.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

supergeo Wednesday, August 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played at any other fields in this area.
Directions
to the Field:
You can mapquest their location, once you enter the parking lot, if you keep driving away from the main entrance you will see a sign for paintball village, and an arrow, drive down that part of the parking lot and park there, the shop is right at the end of the parking lot, the scenario field to the left if you are facing the shop.
Review: I went here yesterday. I will go over general aspects of the field, and also give you a full list of pros and cons.

Safety : The safety here is pretty good. I'd rate it an 8 out of ten. They make sure everybody has barrel socks on when exiting the field, and they stop you before you leave and remind you if you don't have yours on. You also must have the marker on safety when outside of the field. You must chronograph after each game unless you have a rental marker, but they don't have a line of people waiting, everybody just kind of stands around. So anybody could really not chrono. For example, I was shooting over the limit at the chrono, so I stepped back to adjust the velocity, and a few more people went, then they called out asking for captains to start the game. Another kid and I had to tell them to wait because we had to chrono again. They can adjust your velocity very quickly for you to help get the games moving.

Field : I only played the scenario field, so that is the only one I am going to review. The scenario field is like a bombed out city, with lots of shattered walls staggered around, along with a bunch of vehicles, a satellite, and barrels. You really have to watch everywhere. There are two areas which I think are basically death traps, one area where there is pretty much a guarantee a player will be at. I wish there were a few less of the walls, you hardly see anyone for a while, and you just don't get many lanes to hit people from.

Hours : They are open all year round I believe, and a long time during the day.

Prices : The field fee is pretty pricey in my opinion seeing as they only have two fields. There are paintball places with four times the field and a ton bigger that charge less. The paint is RPS premium, a good paint, and is $60 for 2000 rounds, it's field paint only. I don't know if it was the batch or the humidity or what, but there were more bounces than I would have liked.

Rules : I was fine with their rules, but there is one which I think would be the most controversial. That's the surrender rule. You CANNOT shoot somebody within 10 feet, you first must ask them to surrender. But you have to understand that since this is a family fun park, Swings -N- Things, they are going to have all sorts of new players, and I really think it's a good idea to not have their first experience being hit in the back from two feet with three rounds. Oh, and that's another thing, anything over 3 hits on a person is overshooting, and you are banned for the day. That could be a problem, seeing as how there are so many obstacles that could take out a few paintballs, you automatically shoot a 4 or 5 round burst. Usually only one or two will hit the target, but what if they all do?

Services : When my friend asked a ref for an air fill, he gave my friend a funny look and went to get someone else who filled his tank. I would expect all of the staff at the air filling area to know how to fill a tank.

Proshop : I didn't get a good look around, but they seemed to have everything necessary, paint, barrel blockers, tanks, rentals (Piranhas), etc.

Staff : The guy in the proshop was helpful and patient, and the only other encounter with the staff was the one my friend had with the guy he asked to fill his tank, who had no clue how to do it.

Refs : These guys were great on safety, but not much else. They didn't orderly have people chrono, so some people could have slipped through, they would stay on the side near the netting, and NOT move to paint check someone. I was hit on an area I didn't see, so I called for a paintcheck. I saw no ref coming, so I asked for a check, and once more I asked, no ref came. I had to have a team mate check. And when I called for a paintcheck on another player who I didn't know if he had called himself out or not, the ref just stood there, until after three more times asking, I finally asked if I hit him on the leg, and the ref nodded. I NEVER saw a ref give a paint check, I played 10 rounds, and I NEVER saw a ref tell someone they were out. Basically it was an honor system. Once the game was over, the refs would go back into the proshop, and once the players assembled for another game, someone would have to go get the refs, and we'd have to wait for them to come. And one game, a ref was just dry firing a gun on the outside. I give the refs a 4 / 10, just for their help at chrono for newbies and for their good job enforcing the safety rules.

Players : There were some great experienced players, some newbies, and everything in between. Most were very nice.

Facilities : They had real restrooms, it is a family fun park, so that's why they didn't have porto-potties. Also, they had some decent food, but drinks were $2 for a bottle.

Food : Was decent. Average for that kind of a place.

Pros :
Safety
Scenario field
Players

Cons :
Refs not doing paint checks or finding out if the games are over or not, they waited for the players to say no one was left before calling game.

Prices of admission ($10 for 2 fields!) and of drinks & food.

Overall Rating: 6/10, but the scenario field deserves an 8/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

pballer032 Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Walsh
Review: Went with my church youth group. I was the only one that has ever played before, I play speed ball, with my 05 Timmy, and Uped Ion. So every one had to rent guns, they were very organized with every thing they did. I had never played here before because of the price, but it was the closest place to us, that did big groups. They were very helpful in every thing, guns kept breaking, and chopping like crazy. No one but me and the refs knew any thing about paintball, so with every gun that broke they were there helping them fix them. I was very happy with every thing that happened there. My Ion went to hell, and they helped me try and fix it (didn't do any good) but they tried and help. With a group of over thirty, they were very organized with what they had. There was also another large group, they did a good job of letting the groups play together.
Prices
A little high 60 for a case of pmi premiums.
Rents
The rental guns were nice, i didn't use one, but they I was told they were good.
Every thing went well, and were hopping to go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cocker22 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle Woods.
Review: Well This Is A Good Feild With Reasonable Prcing For Wat Is There. The Refs Can Sometimes Be A Lilltle To Saftey Crazy And Will Flip If u Dont Have Mask On Or A Barrel Condom On Youre Gun.The Staff Is Nice And Can Help You With Youre Questions.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mavro greek Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatterpark, pinnacle woods goodtimes and various woodsball courses
Directions
to the Field:
map quest
Review: It is the good field to go to because the scenario field is like a bombed out city the price of paint is like most places 60$ a case the refs are very good they are leanient they fix ur gun on the field they have all the tools you would need to fix them the fps is 270 the pro shop is good like the one time there was a dead mouse in my hopper and they let me wash it out in the sink there is food about 100 feet away because it is located at swings-n-things family fun park so there is food and drinks across the park so i would give this field a 9 out of ten the rules are good like i said the refs call a lot but they are careful not to get crazy about it there are mostly 1-20 players there it is the perfect amount of players for this field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pauly Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle woods and just some random wood fields. Also Splatter Park in Columbus
Directions
to the Field:
Pretty easy to get to, you cant miss Swings-N-Things
Review: Just got back from finally trying out this field. Their Scenario Field is amazing! It is the key reason people go to this place. Very Family/Safety friendly. Lots of lil' ones playing. The refs are great. You do need to chrono ever round you play. The speedball field is good but not the best. It was not set up properly. The field paint is not that expensive as one would think. Its not crap paint. PMI premium. The FPS is only capped at 270 but is not bad at all and fits perfect for the size of the field. This field is great for new paintball players and good for more experienced players just to go for a few hours for a pick up game. Don't expect tournament players in JT and Dye jersey. Although you will find a few people that are experienced. I would definetly go back again. Refs are nice too. (They filled two of my co2 tanks for no charge )
The pea gravel is not as bad as you would think. You can still run alright at supair field and slide. The sand they use at the Scenario field is really easy to run on.

I definetly recommend any players to check it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sugar62291 Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
green ridge (never went their though)
Review: This place is cool. The saftey is really good (barrels plugs and masks must be always on) and the staff is very friendly. Once when I was there my o-ring on my co2 kept breaking. so i asked them whats the problem. They gave me o-rings with no charge. The hours they are open are good, but they should have more light to light it up. Prices are ok, but for a case of paint is expensive.Refs are nice and they do their job great. If therer are not alot of people that are playing, they jump in or the manager does. THey range of player`s age is 10-50.

Summary: This place is amaizing. Give it a shot and see for yourself

Grade-A
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media