paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field

Paintball Village Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
56Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 440 235-9900
Address: 8501 Stearns Rd
Olmsted Township, Ohio 44138
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
darktrigger666 Monday, January 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I wanted to try transend but the dome collapsed:(
Review: I live 20 minutes from this area and I really like it. It may be pricy with paint being at 60-70$ for a case and admission is 15$ during the day and 5$ past 7pm. The scenario field is sweet. I love it with all the cover you have and the bombed out city thing it is just awesome. The speedball field is cool but seems alittle small. The people up there are freindly and funny. They have good refs and good workers. They also have a target range to see how good your gun is working and a bps counter. The safety is strict which is good. You always have to have a barrel cover on except when you are on the field. They have a selection of guns and parts for guns and they are all at good prices. Except the paint. They Co2 refills can go down alittle since its 5$ for a 20oz tank to be filled. Air is 3$ which isnt bad but it should be free. Sometimes i do get it free which is cool. They take good care of their fields by raking them and making sure everything is in good shape and make sure no paint fly threw the nets or over it.

Overall this is a great place to paintball. It gets crowded a lot during weekends and a lot of noobs come up to play which is pretty annoying. But everything is great up there the only really bad thing i would complain about is the refills and paint prices. I would give it a 8 1/2 if could but ill just give it an 8.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Joshy0077 Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Transcend, Sarge's, Great Lakes, TPA, Pinnacle Woods, Splatterpark
Review: Well I think everyone is entitled to the inside scoop on this place. The hard truth is this: the only reason this place is still in business, is because of the Scenario field. Granted, it is awesome if you're into that sort of thing, and sometimes if you're not...it is the only real reason anyone should have to play there. Don't forget though, there are no limitations put on how many people will play on that field along with you. Games can range from 1 on 1 to 50 on 50. Hope you like getting overshot by some newb who hid in a corner and waited for you to come to him! For those of you who are just coming out of the woods now...for the sake of your money, if you value it as much as I do, try this place once or twice when you get some extra holiday cash, and then hop on over to any other local field that's not all big business and commercialized, and at least you can say you gave it a shot. Tim Sorge (The owner of Swings and Things) is the main reason this place is sub-par...so complain to him if you have a objection with prices/operations. Paint prices are ridiculous at the village, even at the "holiday special" of 64.99 a case, Paintball Village is still making approximately $40 dollars on you, the customer, and you don't get quality Draxxus or Evil or even RPS, you get bargain bin quality paint, with an SC village stamp on it just to make it seem worth while. Then, factor in $6 for a 20oz CO2 fill, ($3 if you're smart and go with HPA), $5 field fee, tax, and the gas you wasted going out there...you're almost at a hundred bucks. You could have bought a Stiffi barrel for that much and had enough change left over to buy 200 paintballs and shot your buddy up at Sarge's or out in the woods for a few hours. Let's now take a glance at your run of the mill frequent visitor benefits...Oh wait, there are none. Feel free to spend as much of your time and money there as frequently as you want, you will receive nothing for supplying this company with business, no discounts, no free admissions, no coupons, nothing...except for a courteous smile as they take your credit card (and even that doesn't happen all the time). Where's the incentive to continue to play here? The only option you have, if you plan to play at this field for an extended amount of time, is to buy a Membership for $125. This membership will entitle you to pay less for paint and get free admission. The price drops about $10 for a case, bringing it down to the amount that most fields charge for their most premium paint. But don't forget, your membership is limited to you and only you, you're allotted one case of paint per day, and membership discounts can't be shared with friends. Now for a more positive note, for the time I played at at Paintball Village, I will say that 95% of the time the staff are awesome, except for a few persons who shall remain nameless...and a few incidents which shall not be mentioned. Most of the people that work at PBV have a year or more experience in paintball, however, there are those that think they are better than you and will try and bunker you on the scenario field, when they know good and well that they lost that kind of agility 10 years ago. When you light them up, be prepared to get a harsh talking to, and maybe a few tears, as you just demolished that said person's pride. Besides this though, most of the staff you'll want to get to know, will make themselves available to you, i.e. Gary, Shag, and most of the refs. Feel free to ask for any tips/help you need, someone there will probably be able to answer your question. Unfortunately, the hospitality can only carry this place so far. If you play airball, stop reading any farther, you've just wasted 2 minutes of your life and should probably be reading something about Great Lakes or Sarge's, or Transcend when they open back up. The Speedball field has improved since the park opened, what once was 2 small fields, has become one rather large field. However, the grass that once covered the fields is now gone, and instead of making a good investment and putting down some artificial turf, the decision was made to play on pea gravel, which not only will get everywhere (hoppers, guns, shoes, clothes, bags, ect.) but is extremely difficult to run on and shifts depending on where the most usage is. So you may decide to run out and jump in on a game of airball, but watch that slide tommy, as it turns out, the kid before you slid there and now all the gravels gone, be prepared to rip up your clothes as what once was a nice soft base of gravel, turns into a 10-grit "stonepaper" that digs right into the flesh. Ouch, hope it was worth it to make it to the deflated bunker. Oh thats another thing, the bunkers deflate because they have leaks. Oh and whats that smell you wonder....no no, it's not degrading paintballs, look across the fence in the field...does that big tank look like anything familiar? Oh its a what, a septic tank? Well, well, well, hope you don't get an infection from that gravel that just tore you open. Don't worry, you can always ask for a bandaid and some alcohol swab pads from the proshop...just don't hold PBV liable....remember, you signed a waiver, hope Mom and Dad have good insurance coverage. Speaking of Pro Shop....where's all the merchandise? You just spent $70 on a case of paint and they hardly even have Sypders? Don't blame the people behind the desk, what you see on the walls was hard enough to get in stock. If you're really looking to purchase a new gun or barrel or drop forward, be intelligent and use what you're reading this review off of. The Internet, its a wonderful place where you can find all sorts of deals! Why pay 30% over what you have to, when you can buy the same thing online and have it delivered in 5 days time. Thats assuming you can find anything you want at "The Village." Well, thats about all I can think of writing down on my review of Paintball Village, take it however you will, just remember that it is just an opinion, and if you really don't believe me, please feel free to go and try the place out. The key words on this should be noted as....OVER-PRICED, SCENARIO FIELD, UNDERSTOCKED, BAD PAINT, FRIENDLY STAFF. You weigh whats worth it to you.


Merry Christmas everyone, Happy Paintballing!
Last edited on Sunday, January 9th, 2005 at 9:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AutoCockerKing Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle Woodz, Transcend
Review: This place is ok. It is VERY expensive, around $80 for a case. The BYOP is only one day and you can't use it on the scenerio field. The scenerio filed is pretty good. It is like a bombed out city, with trucks and stuff. It is very good. The bad thing is that the walls are cement and it scratches your barrel. The speedball field sucks, it is very small and the settup is all wrong. Also on both field the ground is horrible. The took out all the grass and put this gravel stuff down. Its like playing on kitty litter. I'll give it a 7 because the scenerio field is very good.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AznAssassin Friday, September 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
umm a bunch of forest ball no other official place but hey i bet nothing compares to paintball Village
Review: Alright well first of all it is really pricey like EVERYONE complains but the way i see it every penny is worth it. Except the paintballs, Hey Gary you should prolyl tweak the paintball price a little bit. The proshop team are amazingly awesome. I have made pretty good friends with all of them. Everytime i go i make at least two new good friends at minimum and the scenerio field is amazingly aweosme. They are always thinkign of ways of makign the place better and liven the whole thing up by changing the way you play like president and stuff. Its all great fun. The staff is very very VERY friendly and they are very open to families and everyone.
The only bad side though is theres always newbies running around. They alawys stay at the beginngin never move until you turn that corner and they shoot you in the back. I mean sure the first time i played i didnt move up much but i actually moved. yeah anyways this field is pricey but its worth it and umm yeah check it out its amazing
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5sAreSwizzle Wednesday, September 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
TPA, Pinnacle Woods, Splat
Review: STRENGTHS:

Paintball Village has the nicest scenario field I've ever played by far. It's a bombed out city w/ burnt out cars, oil rigs, etc. They also have a very nice airball field.

The facility is very family-friendly and clean. Each field is surrounded by 20 foot high netting so that people can watch safely.

BYOP on Sundays (only on airball field).

The guys in the shop were very nice and tried to be as helpful as possible. The one guy running the shop was a bit of a perv (there were a lot of ladies on the premises), but he was cool I guess.

Very safety-conscious. Refs really enforced barrel covers and safeties being on at all times. They also have each player 3-shot chrono before each game (under 275).


WEAKNESSES (here we go...):

As I said above, this place is very nice for a paintball field, but believe me when I tell you that you're going to pay for it. PB Village is a paint-only facility, which most places are, but the paint is RIDICULOUSLY expensive. It's $74.99 for a case. Needless to say, this is expensive, but to make matters worse the paint was complete crap. They only had ONE KIND of paint. And I don't mean they carried only one BRAND, such as PMI, Draxxus, etc. I mean they only had ONE KIND of paint and it was hard as a rock. I honestly don't even remember the name of the stuff b/c I've never even heard of it before. The guy in the shop mentioned that they are going to start carrying a higher-end paint also. I assumed this meant that they might actually LOWER their price on the crap they have now, but he said he that wasn't in the works. The field fee and all-day air was reasonable, but the paint price was absurd.

The BYOP on Sundays sounds like a great deal, but I later learned that the BYOP is good for airball only. And there weren't too many airball players (maybe 3 or 4) when I was there. The draw of the place is their excellent scenario field, so the BYOP is sort of pointless unless you can round up enough decent airball players to come out on a Sunday.

WAY TO MANY PEOPLE! I decided to check the place out b/c I heard about their slammin' scenario field. Well, I never got a good feel for the field b/c there were literally between 40 and 50 people in EVERY GAME. To make matters worse, half of the players were kids who had never played before. Nothing against kids and/or people new to the sport, but this place was crawling with newbies. For instance, I saw a guy seal off and sweep the whole left side of the field (which was a huge accomplishment seeing that there's no way to cover every angle w/ so many people crawling all over) only to reach the opposing side and have some 8-year old jump out who had been hiding the entire game and wipe him out. Granted, you would think the guy would have no problem w/ the kid after eliminating the whole side of the field, but the kid never so much as popped his head/gun out one time so who would have known he was there? At any rate, the place is a bit TOO family friendly b/c half the people there had no clue what was going on.

The volume of people and the heavy rules enforcement lead to prolonged times of starting games. This is slightly annoying, but not a major weakness since they are actually paying attention to safety.

The shop didn't have a whole lot going on. They had a few guns for sale, some of which were very nice, but they didn't have a whole lot as far as accessories. I planned on purchasing a drop for my gun the day I went and figured I'd just pick it up while I was there. That's the first pro-shop I've ever been in that had absolutely no drops.

I previously mentioned that the facility is very clean. However, the place had the most ungodly smell you can imagine. Someone there told me it was b/c the fields were right next to a large septic tank (???). Between the realistic scenario field and that indescribable stench, you definitely felt like you were at war.

BOTTOM LINE:

The place is nice and is worth checking out once or twice if you live nearby and have an extra $75 or so laying around. As for me, I would rather pay half of that and play at a respectable field without a million people and with a decent % of fairly experienced players. I play nearly every weekend and would love to play at the place more often, but given the crowd you have to deal with there's no way I'm paying that kind of money to play there more than once in a blue moon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

smegle5 Thursday, August 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This place is sweet, i come here just to hang out and talk to gary all the time, the people are soo nice and fun to hang around. they all are very informatice and gary is a genoius with guns, not 2 mention funny. i have yet to play their, (poor teenager i am) but i cant wait to, ill go and watch. the ref are fair and not lazy. and the senoir feild is very cool also, i mean com on were else do u get to hide behind a satalite dish?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cdog6666 Wednesday, July 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played everywhere from VA fto CA, and this field is on my Fun list.
Review: when you play at places that have 8-10 fields, you expect a HUGE wait time for a game; Paintball Village was more fast paced than i like it. The dirt field is nice, but a little hard on your legs when sliding in. but overall they have a nice scenario field, its well built and has outstanding sized bunkers and overall size.
their speedball field is also another sight to behold. its well groomed (as a speedball field should be:) ) and is i belive 110' by ... .
Management at PV is wonderful, the safety is over than decent, the re4ntals are well kept (or from what i saw). if you do have a problem with your own equipment i suggest you take it somewhere less recently made though.,.. i took my tank inside and 4 of 5 people didnt know how to fill it, so i had to wait for that one. that, and the fact of a possible threat made by a staff member of "put your goggles down!" and someone saying back "im sorry, im new here" and the staff member saying "paintballs dont care, do you wanna die?" this just sounded awkward to me. but i guess it was a legimate statement.
in any rate, the fields arew wonderful, staffing was WONDERFUL, safety was WONDERFUL! and prices are rediculous. 80 bucks for a case of paint thats something other than Evil, and you cannot bring you own paint. 5 BUCKS for a 20oz fill, when i could get it for 2 right by my house. the price for paint should come down to 50-60.
its a bring the family place, but leave before you spend too much!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hothondas4u Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle woods, transend, splatt
Review: I've been coming to paintball village for about a year now the staff is great and the fields are well kept. While the field is a ton of fun to play, I just can't afford to come every weekend. I wish the owner gary would consider people like me who are willing to play ever week but can not afford the paint. Even with the memebership the paint prices are still to high. Something like 55-60 a case would be perfect.
I wish the owner should schedual something like team practice that would have reduced paint and entry rates. The field has great potential for something like that and would hate to see it go to waste. Saftey there is awesome. You could bring your kids here easily and not have to worry about them. All in all I feel this park is an awesome place to play but a lil over priced.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

JtMan Saturday, July 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Five Alarm Paintall, & Pinnacle Woods
Review: This feild is.......FRIKEN AMAZING!!! I have gone to this feild for a little under 3 months and it is AWSOME!! Just in the short period of time iv'e gone there iv'e made about a million friends!! The staff......., Gary, Bird, and Kevin of SMP (the team: so many possibilities) are so nice to me when I go there!! I would choose Paintball Village over Five Alarm Paintball or Pinnacle Woods anytime!! If you have the chance to go here GO!! There scenario feild is Amazing and there speedball feild is Amazing too!! If you are visiting Cleveland (Olmsted Township), or if you live near there already GO THERE, PLAY SOME PAINTBALL, AND HAVE A TON OF FUN!!!!!!! I rate this feild a 10,.... by far!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

u_got_gogged Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pinnacle woods, splatterpark, crazy daves, asi, atomix, etc
Review: when i first came here, this place sucked. there was barely a proshop, the speedball fields were to small, and the concrete was fallin off the walls on the scenario field. i came back a couple of weeks ago and it looked a little better. there was a LITTLE bit more stuff in the proshop(couple of angels thats about it). and the speeball fields got combined into a bigger one. here are some more pros and cons:

pros:

nicer field with the pea gravel
some refs are cool
safety is most important
the guys in the proshop were very cool


cons:

the speedball field smells NASTY!!! oh my god i almost puked it smelled so bad
paint prices WAY too expensive that paint wasnt that great anyway
one ref( the other refs kept callin him cletus) was very mean to the beginner players. you have to be nice to them to get their confidence up. he told a couple of them to go home and never come back
alot of refs didnt check the players when i asked them to
there was no teams there or advanced players(if you are a tournament player, dont bother comming)
its a long walk to get to the bathrooms

all in all its a good player to the newbies but if you are a tournament player like i am i highly reccommend taking the drive and going somewhere else like pinnacle woods or crazy daves. i am giving this field a 3 because it did improve when it first opened but not as much as it should have. it would be a lot better if paint prices went way down,they got rid of that nasty smell, they got a lot more in their proshop, get some better refs, and they got some tournament players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media