paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field / Paintball Village Paintball Field

Paintball Village Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
56Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 440 235-9900
Address: 8501 Stearns Rd
Olmsted Township, Ohio 44138
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
GibsonVII Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball City, Sarges, Private Properties
Review: GREAT FIELD!
Staff and Refs are very helpful. Very clean, and very well maintained. The Scenario field is AWESOME, it resembles dust if you've ever played Counter Strike. They merged both sup air fields into one big one. Playing at this field is a blast. I have a membership there I pay $57 for a case of paint and free admissions for a year =)
GREAT STUFF!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mzim79 Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatterpark-to far away from NE ohio
Indian Springs-fields are more woods, this is more modern
Review: Wow! I had high expectations for this field but i didnt expect it to be this good. The service was decent, the refs weren't really active, and the prices were kinda high, but it was a sweet field. In other reviews i have read, people say there are 2 sup air ball fields, but when i went (March '04) there was only 1 sup air field. this field was a little small, but the scenario field makes up for it totally. THIS IS THE BEST FIELD I HAVE EVER PLAYED ON ANYWHERE!!!!! I strongly recomend attending, but save up some money first, and go on a Saturday, because you get free admission with purchase of 1000 paintballs(40$)


WWW.PAINTBVILLAGE.COM

DO IT
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bubbaspicier55 Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
That one place in akron that got like 5.9, Indian Springs- it sok but not as fun, less work into that place
Review: STRENGTHS
-Pretty nice staff.. The guys in the proshop are cool, they help you with your guns
-The refs always make the teams fair, if you and like 4 of ur buddies want to play the other 30 guys there, they will let u.
-I only played scenario fiels, its a blast... i always... mayb i shudnt give away my secret.
-Ive been here twice, and ive see 50 year olds, ladies, little girls etc., theres a lot of diff. people
-If this ius 1 of ur first times, go early in the day, thats when all the newbies are there. If ur good, go later in the day
-If u suk no-one cares and no-one makes fun of u
The rentals are nice.... piranha, nitro, clear mask my type of rentals
-2 dollar air fills
-i cut my arm and they took me in the bak of th proshop and the cleaned all the rocks out
Weaknesses
- kinda pricy 69.99 a casse, 22.50 for 500, 40 for 1,000 but there is almost always sum crazy special goin on
-I always see first timers bilnd shooing and it pisses me off


Just go there and but 500, i think theres free admission wen u buy 500 before 1 pmo on sundays
Last edited on Saturday, April 10th, 2004 at 2:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bryan04 Monday, March 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is a very nice field with good staff
Review: I think that this field is awsome. I realy like the scenario field especially. I liked how paintball village used all different kinds of props. Also i like the the fact how the made the speedball fields into just one field. Another thing about paintball village is the teams are usually always fair. However i wish they had one more field to make it kick butt!!! Otherwise this is the best paintball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

miataman92 Thursday, January 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle Woods, Hells-Survivors, Splatterpark, Sarges, others in Cleveland Area
Review: This place has changed alot since they first opened up about a year ago. The first time I played there I fell in love with the Field setup. Originally, the fields were a 100 yard across scenario field that really looks like a blown out city, and two sup air speedball fields. I bought an annual membership ($100) that included 10 free field admissions and some misc. discounts. I started spending alot of time there and I realized that the refs are great and the proshop is slowly getting stocked up. I've heard people complain about the pro shop, but that's what I would expect from kids that don't understand business practices. You can't expect a place to be fully stocked from day one. This place is still very new, and they have changed alot. Paintball Village is an FPO (Field Paint Only) field. How else are they supposed to pay the bills? The annual membership (now$125) includes unlimited field admissions and a 10% discount on one case (2000cnt) per day. That's about $7 off a case!

The staff really knows paintball, and the fields are well maintained. Gary is the manager and Jeff "Big Bird" is one of his techs. They both do a great job reffing, but they really shine in the proshop when working on your marker. These guys are good. The speedball fields have been opened up to one larger sized field to allow for more people to play at a time. The scenario field is great in warm weather or when snow-covered. Safety is considered top priority and is stricty enforced at all times. I feel that you get a good mix of seasoned players as well as newbies. I've played games on the scenario field that have been as small as 2 on 2, and as large as 30 on 30. I highly recommend this place to any Cleveland-area paintball player.

Pros:
Great Staff
Fair Refs
Annual Membership Deal
Cheap Air
Clean Facilities

Cons (very minor):
Limited hours during the week
Restrooms located at a distance
Speedball Field too small when split
No outside water for cleanup

Update 7/15/2005
The Scenario field here is still rocking, but the Speedball field has totally gone to crapper. The paint prices are a bit high (even for a member like me), and the paint is absolute junk. This is not the fault of the people working in the pro shop. They know the paint is junk, but the Owner is in charge of making those decisions and decided that charging big $$$ for junk paint will keep people coming back for more. All that happens is that people will go there and play once or twice, get tired of the expense, and go someplace else. Others have eluded to the "Newbie" numbers at PB village, now you know why. I play there often, and I feel that it's worth it for me. But, I'm an adult, with a good paying job. I have money to splurge on PB Village. Not everyone does. I will say this, I don't enjoy paying big $$ for paint that breaks on every other shot. I go to PB Village to PLAY paintball, not constantly squeegee my barrel. The pro shop guys were determined to make it right. They cracked 4 cases of paint before they replaced mine with some that actually made it out of my barrel in one piece. I shoot and Angel, and my marker does not break paint. A big thanks to the pro shop crew for excellent customer service. On the other hand, a BIG WARNING to the owners of PB Village : People will figure out that your forcing people to pay for junk paint. They will stop coming. Your pro shop, as good as they are, cannot compensate for all of your business shortcomings. Get better paint, stock your pro shop, and give your refs some incentive for being your employees for more than 6 months or a year.
Last edited on Friday, July 15th, 2005 at 4:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

paitnballer25 Tuesday, December 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
northcoast not as good as paintball village
Review: This field is aweosme lots of fun i think any paintballer would love this place. There are 3 fields 2 of them are air ball fields which are pretty big and a lot of fun. The 3rd field is the scaniro field that is really big which i havent played on yet but i really want to. if u dont have ur own equiptment u can rent every thing u need there and as many paintballs as u want .Speaking of paintballs the paintblls there are expensive and u have to by theres u cant bring your own which sux u have to watch a saftey video before u play and they are very strict about having ur barrel covers on


TIP:go early on sunday and no one is there cuz when i went we had 2 fields all 2 our selves
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BALLER5555 Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Atomix in michigan (amazing, nothing compares to that place) Mohawk paintball (playing paintball on the side of a hill is FUN! not.) CO in columbus (very unfriendly staff) and a few other places, tons of private play at my friends' house.
Review: Well I'd like to start off by saying I totally agree with TeamNoName when he says the speedball fields are entirely too small. I played them once and honestly I dont care to ever again. For the price you pay for their paint, you'd think they could afford another 20 or 30 feet of net and grass. I'm not trying to sound like a whiner but seriously, what were you guys thinking when you made them that small!!!

Pros:
Great referees
Very friendly staff
Very clean facility (much cleaner than anywhere else I have gone)
Hours of operation (I'm almost positive they're open every day of the week)

Cons:
NO BRING YOUR OWN PAINT pricing. And from the sounds of it, they arent going to either!
When I was there it seemed as though the field did not have enough referees (2 referees and about 15 players per team) the two that were there did an excellent job, but it was obvious they needed help.
The "pro shop" doesnt have very much stuff in it
There were no nearby restrooms (not THAT big of a deal, but annoying)
The paint that I got was very brittle and I had lots of barrel breaks
I missed 2 games waiting to get my air tank filled because I was waiting for the people getting signed up to play in front of me
SMALL speedball fields (again)

The staff was great to me, but there are plenty of issues that a good staff cannot compensate for. all in all, I think the cons outweigh the pros in this situation. The big field with the cars and stuff was fun, but it got boring. I like to play speedball, and usually thats the only thing I play, maybe thats why. There clearly weren't enough referees to staff the speedball field anyways, when we played all we got was one ref. dont get me wrong, he did a good job, but I dont care how good you are -- one referee wont be able to handle an actual team practice. I think for $75 a case there should be referees out the wazzoo, and I also think that with every case of paint you purchase you should recieve a complimentary barrel squeegee because you'll probably need it.

I rate paintball village at a 2 out of 10. only because I have played on worse fields and paid more for it (paintball city)

just my .02 cents

---BALLER---
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamNoName Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle Woods, Splatterpark, Five Alarm (pretty much everything in the immediate area)
Review: My buddies and I have a team we just started up and we need some practice, so I called and the guy at Paintball Village, he said his team would be playing that night. We headed up there and I have got to say, the big blown up city field is amazing. I've never seen anything like it before, but the airball fields were WAY too small. I got the exact specs from the ref I think he said it was only 105 feet long!!! I forget how wide, but it was so small it was uncomfortable, I'm used to playing on 5 and 7 man sized fields. The guys on the team (I forget their name, I think it was SNT for swings and things) were really cool guys and they even helped a guy on my team when his gun broke. He needed a part for his gun that the pro shop didnt have (there was almost nothing in the pro shop by the way) and the SNT player gave him the part from his personal tool box.

Overall, its a nice field, the reffing was really good (obviously trained and very safety oriented) Also, it was kind of a pain to get signed in at the pro shop. It took forever and the whole process seemed kind of disorganized. The paint was way too expensive and they dont offer any sort of a bring your own paint policy like Pinnacle Woods does for us. Plus, as I mentioned above, the pro shop had nothing to offer for an experienced player. We might come back occasionally, but it appeared as though all the players were first-timers or walk-ons. If you are a new player I give this field a 10 out of 10, but if you're a seasoned tournament player or want to play speedball, honestly I reccomend going somewhere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

f_cousin Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
private properties
Review: Being new at paintball it was important to find a field that would make me and my step son (9 years old) comfortable. From a safety standpoint, this field is great. They make sure you wear your goggles and that your marker's speed does not exceed 270 mps. The refs are always present although not always checking the players (some players obviously forget to respect one of the basic rules of Paintball - get out if you're tagged -, others find necessary to shoot their target five times when one tag is enough).
The shop was really helpful even if at times they seemed a little overwhelmed.
The crowd's age ranges from 9 to 60 years old and from newbies to experts. A good way to learn ...
As a first experience, it was great although a little pricy and we'll make sure to go back.
I definitely recommend this field!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder124 Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Five Alarm (never, NEVER, again!)
Review: I was truly impressed by this place. It's not yet perfect but hey it just opened. The concept field is awesome and the 2 airball fields are ok (a bit small). Paint and admission is pricey but fills are a good price. They need a lot more merchandise in the proshop though. They have the basics, but need some more higher end equipment. There is an excellent blend of age and experience in the people that play and is over all a kickass place! The refs are my homies!!!!! Except for bob... bob you smell. But I'll probably be there atleast twice a week now and hope to see you there! Im not sure if they already do, but they should hold some tournaments.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media