paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / M-40 Paintball Field / M-40 Paintball Field / M-40 Paintball Field / M-40 Paintball Field

M-40 Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
22Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Lincoln Road
kalamazoo, Michigan 49423
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
CWonders Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
State Land
Review: Outdoor and Indoor corses were nice, Loved the setup although the outdoor field the furthest starting spot was the best, they usually won. Inside was a little bit dark could use a bit more lighting. The wrose thing that makes me drop the score to a 5 is the Awful paint that they have i mean i have used Brass Eagle paint that performed better than the stuff they used , and since you can only use field paint it makes for a terrible expirence especially when the price is outrageous.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RubeOne Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
previously mentioned in other posts...
Review: I still consider myself a newb but I wouldn't call myself a greenhorn. I have played paintball a total of 3 times now, 2 of those times being within the last month and all of those times being played at M-40. Therefore, I can only express my opinions concerning how much fun I have had at M-40 (or otherwise) due to the fact that, as of yet, I have not had the opportunity to play any other local fields. (if you wonder why it says 2 years for my experience, that is how long it's been since I last played)

Since cost seemed to be one of the major issues, I will address that first. Paint was $20 for 500 balls. That doesn't seem too bad compared to prices in the store, and if you want you can bring your own paint but they charge you $5.00 to use your own (like stated, they gotta make their money somehow).
Indoors: Cleanliness was another major issue previously mentioned. I agree that the indoor course was slippery due to the paint on the floor, but during the last 2 times that I happened to play, I had no trouble using brisk strides (near run). I do have to mention that I noted at least one hinge hanging from a box that could possible cut you if you ran into/fell onto it. The way I see it, if you can't run, then you can't run and neither can the other team. You play the course how it is and if you don't like that course, then that is your choice and you can choose not to play there anymore. I feel that with an indoor urban type set-up as such, you won't be sprinting through many rooms if you want to be alive for very long anyway. I do agree that TK's are much more likely indoors and you may see it as a "problem" but i.m.o. I think that identification is/should be a fun and major portion of the game where once again the opposing team has to deal with the same issues. So, as far as the indoor set-up, I liked it a lot, so did the people we played with (noobs and vets). I love close-encounter battles. It is a personal choice, if you don't want to risk getting "lit-up" from 5 feet away, then perhaps the indoor set-up at M-40 isn't for you. I love sneaking around checking every corner (light or dark) while advancing and every now and then you get the opportunity to charge a distracted room and neutralize your opponents ;)
Outdoors: I had fun playing outdoors and didn't see any problems in the lay out. Although, if I had played some more courses maybe I would appreciate the M-40 set-up more or perhaps less.
Staff: The staff seemed friendly and one of them played with us for a fun game of sniper once. It was noted in another post that they didn't ref the indoor games from inside the playing area and this is true, but us being older players we didn't see the need for it (actually we liked it better that way).

In conclusion, I enjoyed all of my experiences at M-40 paintball. I like the indoor field as much if not more than the outdoor style play. I do agree that perhaps the indoor floors could be cleaner but at the same time I am more than willing to play in the environment that I am presented with as long as it is safe and fair for both teams(nothing to injure yourself on, nothing to fall on you, etc.). M-40 has plenty of cover and is appropriate for a first-time player or a vet.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

GHETTO27 Thursday, August 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TC Paintball (Wayland),Dementia, Woodland, Colors
Review: Indoor field is dark and slippery, but I will say it is challenging. It has dark corners and a lot of places to hide. The outdoors field is Huge but not really a true speedball field. Its not mirrored and the far side has a better advantage. I feel the paint prices are a bit extreme. But thats business I guess.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TyeJae Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dementia Paintball
Review: I am not very satisfied with this field. Yeah the outside course and inside course is fun to play but the paint costs are rediculous. Plus we wanted the field for me and 7 other friends and they double booked the outdoor course so we were playing with like 10 twelve year olds. I will prolly not ever come back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jebedia Wednesday, April 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all of them
Review: I really did not enjoy this field. It is in the middle of no where and there prices are astronomical. I mean like 90$ for 2000 rounds...they are making 2x the price fod f's sake. the inside was so slippery and I just about broke my butt when I fell. They people there were OK but they didnt go out of their way to help you at all and i even went back a 2nd time to try it again, i liked it worse. Most of the peole who play there are newbs and I guess it is an ok course for newbs who dont know anything
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tom Klein Thursday, March 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Excalibur and .68 Caliber
Review: I on;y got to play on the indoor course because there was to much snow on the ground to play outside. I have to say that it was a big difference from what I'm used to playing on, it really doesn't matter what gun you have because it's so close and quick. It's like an urban assault coarse, I thought it was fun to play on but it's still not like air ball or hyper ball but if your in to the urban setting it's right up your alley. The downfall is however is that it is pretty dark and very the floor is paint covered concrete that is very slippery and it's on an incline so your playing on an angle in some parts. The outdor coused looked niecely set up but I never got to walk it or play on it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjk454ss Thursday, March 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crossfire, small but fun to play.
TC Paintball Grand Rapids, awesome hyperball field.
Review: Two awesome outdoor speedball fields that can also be played as one giant speedball field. The field is about 250 ft X 210 ft, made with 55 plastic drums. They make for a very fun kind of a 3D bunker similar to inflatables. Fast action play for those serious about tournament play or those that like the adrenaline pumping, quick action playing. The indoor field is a different type of play, kind of a SWAT style action field. Very fun for a different style play for experienced people and a good way for newer people to get started, it kind of evens out the play with all experience levels. The indoor field is a compromise between those that want it dark and those that want it very bright. The indoor field can get slippery in the winter when is is harder to clean, but still not slippery enough to make a big difference in play. Open play is a great way to play for less money(cheaper paint and entrance fees), and to play with all types of people. The prices are a little more than most fields, but most fields don't have the added expense of an indoor field, with a heated staging area in the winter, and a place to get out of the heat in the summer. I for one am willing to pitch in a couple extra bucks to be able to play year around in a safe, fun environment.
Last edited on Thursday, March 20th, 2003 at 12:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

VerySolidSnake Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
gun lake paintball, much better than this course
Review: They really need to work on the indoor field. You could seriously do no more than a walk or else your head over heels and flat on your back (trust me it hurts). Poorly lit, very messy. The outdoor field on the other hand was pretty decent, i loved the games on it. one problem one it was some very sharp pieces of cement just randomly placed around, i took a hit on one of those and busted my hopper off. Just gotta be very catious where u step.

All in all, the indoor field sucks, the facility looks like its never once been cleaned, but the outdoor field is pretty decent. And oh yeah, $100 for 2000 rounds is no where near reasonable.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nosights Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crossfire paintball (very small), The foundry (also owned by M-40), TC Speedball only.
Review: *****OPEN PLAY***** Every Friday night 7pm-Midnight $20 entry (rental or your own), I could use my own paint no charge or buy theirs for only $50 a case. There is some price discrepencies in other reviews.

M-40 Paintball is a field that apears to be set up for all users from newbies to experianced players. I have played at most all paintball fields in the area as well as ones not in the area. The indoor field is mildly lit and gives the newbies a bit more confidence. The field changes frequently so those new to the field are not at a great disadvantage. Open play on Fridays from 7pm to midnight is a blast and the free hot dogs hit the spot. Paint is very reasonably priced at open play and is very consistent in quality. The indoor field can get slimmy and is powerwashed once every 3 weeks or so, winter can get kinda slimmy because it must be hard to wash when in turns into an icerink! The outdoor field is huge, the snake is awesome and I like the fact that you can't shoot through the bunkers. I like how they designed the outdoor field that it can accomadate groups of 30+ or make the field smaller for smaller groups.

Overall This is by far the largest indoor/outdoor field I have ever played. Indoor is challenging and the outdoor speedball is a blast.
Last edited on Thursday, May 1st, 2003 at 7:53 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stek2006 Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None that I know of.
Review: The outdoor course at M-40 is an awesome to play speed ball. The indoor course on the other hand is actually pretty cool. It's just extremely dirty and slippery. They really need to clean that up. It would also help if the light bulbs actually produced light. It is really dark in there. The prices are kind of steep but other than that and the indoor course, its pretty cool.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media