paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field

Sunol Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
61Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (510) 996 7171
Address: 7900 Vallecitos Road
Sunol, California 94586
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Univern72 Monday, October 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear Creek Milpitas - great before it closed
Venture Games - great before it closed
Santa Clara - pretty good, haven't been in 4 years
Directions
to the Field:
Be really watchful looking for this field. Last time I was looking for it the sign was down.
Review: Safety:
This field is pretty good about requiring goggles on past the net and barrels covers on outside the net. However, they're not worried about chrono at all. Last time I went, the chrono was broken and nobody could chrono their guns. They didn't have a handheld chrono or anything. I think everybody was shooting just fine, but still...

Fields:
"Back" field: Large field, somewhat difficult to move up in because terrain is rough. It doesn't look like it's changed in four years (last time I was there), but it's a fairly solid recball field.
Bunkerball field: Somewhat claustrophobic, a whole bunch of random wood bunkers. Not bad.
Speedball field: Again made of random wood. I'm not particularly good, but I like the speedball style more than recball, so I liked this field more. I don't think it's very good as far as speedball fields go.

Prices:
Standard $20 admission, $10 air (another review says $12, maybe I'm forgetting), $20 rentals, $60 case of stingers (though admission is $5 if you buy a case). I don't remember food prices because I always bring my own food.

Rules:
Almost always standard elimination, but I don't really have a problem with that.

Staff/refs:
They don't seem too particularly interested in reffing. They do their jobs but not much else. I tried to get somebody to fix the chrono; one guy tried to replace the battery but eventually gave up. Nobody else seemed too interested in trying to help.

Players:
Good mix of newer and experienced players. There weren't too many people probably because it's warm and because of the economy. The few I talked to were friendly.

Facilities:
One portopotty. They now have actual tables for you to sit at. They also have cubbies you can put stuff in, even if they're a bit ghetto.

Overall:
I would go to SCP over this, since this field hasn't gotten too much better over four years. That said, it's really close to me and it's not actually a bad field. It's just really average in terms of, well, everything..
Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2010 at 12:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BayAreaCali Saturday, May 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Midway Paintball
The Jungle
Bay Area Paintball
Sequai Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
check web
Review: I have been playing at this feild for a very long time so hopefully this review helps.
So to begin I live around 5 minutes away from Sunol Paintball so obviously i love how close it is. It is located just to the side of the road so your first time going to sunol pb you might pass it. The pricing at Sunol is way overpriced in my opinion. Always buy your paint some were else. It costs $20 for admission and $12 (TWELVE!) for all day area.
You may hear people complain about how long the time between games are and yeah sometimes it is 5 minutes between games other times it is 20.
I have seen that more people come on Saturdays than on Sundays and usualy newer people come on Saturdays while the experienced come on Sundays.
During the Winter less people come and sometimes there may be large puddles on the feilds. During the summer it can get extremely warm and it will fell like a desert.
The feilds are not in the best shape but you can live with it. hey have 3 feilds a "speedball" a bunkerball (which is just a bunch of houses) and the big rec-ball feild. My favorite is the speedball feild. Reffing is not great because some days it is good others it sucks.
Compared to other feilds near by it is very much a rip off because of the price and how low the maintanance on the feilds are. If they had WAY cheaper prices and cleaner feilds it would be perfect ten.
IF YOU WANT TO SEE THE FEILD IN ACTION LOOK IT UP ON YOUTUBE.
Thanks and hope this helped.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jimjam5000 Sunday, April 12th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This is the worst field i have ever been to and i will explain why.

Recently i went to this god forsaken paintball field and all the refs are on a paintball team. Coincidentally they all wipe so none of them ever get out. On top of that they ran hot all day. The field limit is 280 but at the end of th day i hard one of them Crono and i heard it beep which means it was OVER 300. He had been playing like that all day. On top of that they have the most rediculous prices i have ever seen. 60 bucks for stinger paint and 30 dollars for a singe bag..... can you say scam artists? 20 dollar field entry and 12 bucks for all day fills. Did i mention they are also all very stupid? I walk over to see what some of them were doing and i see that they are trying to catch a snake... with their bare hands...... The field is also very messy. i saw the same letters on the wall that i saw a year ago. The place is infested with squirrels, rattle snakes and wasps. If i am paintballing the last thing i want to worry about is dying from a rattle snake. Now for the good news.... oh wait there wasn't any. This was the first time i actually wanted to go home from paintballing. This was the first field i ever went to waaaay back in the day and i cant believe i am still paintballing because of how horrible this field is.

If I could give this field a negative number I would. it is seriously that bad.

so here is the real number -35, but the ratings will only let me go to 1

trust me i am not being brutal, this is all the truth. if you want to waste 80 bucks just flush it down the toilet instead of going here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

assassinS17 Tuesday, January 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 25th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
check website
Review: I've been paintballing for a couple months, but I've been airsofting for years, so I'm not inexperienced. The rules for safety is strictly enforced, which is good. The fields are awesome, People say they suck because the are messy and smell, but they're cool, because it simulates real life warfare. The place is open from 9:00-3:00, but if there are a few more people they let it go for another 10-30 minutes. The prices are high, and the paintballs are expensive. The thing is that they don't have all climate paintballs, and the wind curves them. The Rental is $60 for gun, 500 paintballs, mask + rental fee. THe rental fee is $20 with no rental. Unfortunately there is no proshop. The staff are slow and they don't really help. But the refs are nice and their calls are fair. The Experienced players that come are usually nice and give you advice, but the young inexperienced players are a bit cocky and kinda ruins the opportunity to win, because they stay at the back of the course the whole time and sometime friendly fire, other than them, the players are great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mufinman Wednesday, April 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None Known
Directions
to the Field:
Look on site
Review: Okay before I start, I just need to know... Why do so many people hate this place?!

Some Pro's: Ref's are okay, they seem to know what they are doing. Barrel plug rule and Mask Rule are enforced, (even though accidentally walked into staging without my barell plug, no one cared) They start Games at 9AM, which is okay for me, the field is nice, they do need to clean up though, food is okay for $5, Target range, and most people there are nice and can help you.

Con's: No shop, staff seems to kind of stand around, takes forever for them to finally notice me, seem to make an advanced team and a beginner team, so we get crushed, Paint is expensive (Buy at big 5! way cheaper!!!)

The say they have a paved parking lot... Its just a bunch of gravel with potholes.

Lastly, This has been the only field I have played at, so I like the setup. (thinking about playing about Paintball Jungle in SF)

Overall, 8-10, sad to see airball field gone

Also, if you are planning to make a reservation for a rental, you really don't need too, people more or less show up and just play.


(10-12-08) Hey, back again. Been goin here ever since I've started to play. Im pratically a regular. Yeah I'm a kid, but hey, I like paintball, and this field. Oh yeah, wanted to add that if your gonna play, be sure to bring some friends or a friend. Recently found a friend who wanted to play paintball, and he's really good. We were thinkin about playin at The Nor-Cal Tourney, but we didn't, costs way to much. So yeah, yoy'll have plenty more of fun with a friend. IF YOU ASK, THE REF WILL PUT YOU ON A TEAM TOGETHER, THEY"LL USUALLY ASK FOR GROUPS!!! Great Field, will and have come here again!!!
Last edited on Sunday, October 12th, 2008 at 5:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Asad Tuesday, February 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: February 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball - Now closed, Sunol is better.
Directions
to the Field:
Take 680 N, exit 84 headed towards Sunol, make the right at the Ranch with the Spanish Name, head all the way to the back. Check their website though.
Review: Saftey: Very, very well enforced. 280fps field limit, regular chrono checks.

Hours: Owners show up around 9:00am, registration begins shortly after. This field usually hosts a lot of private events, so registration can take a bit longer than most people are accustomed to. Use the time to walk the field or get your gear preped. Play goes until 3, maybe a little after.

Fields: I've played here for a while, and the fields have remained mostly the same, however they've replaced their first field with a Sup Air field, which most players that frequent there don't care for. Otherwise, its a lot of fun. There are 3 fields: Sup Air which wasn't up most recently, Bunker ball: Fun course with close quarters play, lots of interesting bunkers and Rec Field, almost football field sized with lots of spindles, houses and shooting lanes. Note: If you're playing during the rainy season, expect lots of mud and puddles/small ponds. Summer its just hot.

Prices: Fair priced, good paint.

Rules: Unless you're in the advanced group, there is a no-bunkering rule, you run up onto the bunker and knock/pound on the bunker yelling surrender, the other player must step out of the game. And of course respect local wildlife that may be nearby.

Services: Have some tools, but don't loan out. However owners own a proshop at another location. Or at least they did, can't confirm if they are field only now.

Staff: Usually they're well staffed, however most recently it seemed they could've used 2 more refs for the day, however the Rob and his wife are very friendly and helpful.

Refs: Refs are cool guys, all players, will do paintchecks, but not excessively. Depends on your level of rapport with them.

Players: Expect a larger turn out during the summer with more diverse players, but this field does get a lot of people, varying skill. Very, very few elite types, most every one there is friendly and there to enjoy the game. I'd say 50-60% are minors, the rest are above that age (range 18-50). Rain and cold seems to scare some away, but there is a good core group of players that comes out, regardless of mother nature.

Facilities: Port-o-Potty, parkinging lot and drive way are in need of paving, but land owners won't allow that, so don't bring a car that you don't want getting muddy or seeing holes. Staging areas have greatly improved, full picnic tables and cubbies for gear, havn't heard of gear being stolen, but ya never know.

Food: Costco Hot Dog lunch, must pay for at registration as owners head out to buy the same day. Water, Soda, chips and candy available too. Barbeques allowed too.

9.5/10

EDIT 2/9/08: No rain, had about 35-40 walk ons, great day. Goto this field, its a lot of fun.
Last edited on Saturday, February 9th, 2008 at 4:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fernando8877 Friday, September 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There isnt anything to close to this field.
Directions
to the Field:
If you want directions to this place, go to yahoo maps.
Review: This is the first time i have gone to this field and judging by the fun i had there it wont be the last time i go here.

safety: the refs are good into making sure everyone has there mask on, but they dont really inforce the chrono rule. to be honest i still dont know the limit on the chrono. my marker was running hot all day long.

fields: they dont have a big selection to choose from. they have a large and small rec fields and i guess one speedball field that only had a few bunkers inflated. anyways, the large rec field is very nice and there is plenty of room to move around.

prices: they are a bit on the expensive side. $20 to play is about the norm, $12 for all day air is more then any place i've gone too, $5 for a lunch ticket (which they serve little ceasers pizza and your choice of drink), $60 for a case of paint is just way to much (most fields charge around $45 for paint), and $60 for rental gear is just wrong (when everywhere else is $45 for the same package)

refs: they were good and friendly,,,,

proshop: nothing there.....

i give this field a 7 out of 10, meaning i will be going there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazyfrontman Saturday, July 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball jungle
santa clara
antioch
bear creek
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest
Review: Well lets just say this is int the greatest field.The refs are good/bad they ref differently every time i have been there, one time i was there and All they did was just sit around and call the games, and another time i went they actually did paint checks and called some people out.Their goggle and barrel plug rule is pretty good but what really annoyed me was the wait time between games they were EXTREMELY slow, on (average) it took 15-20 minutes just to get another game going.The staff is friendly but sometimes not of much help.


Conclusion:

all in all this field is good if your just looking for some fun.
I give it a 4 because i like the fields
Last edited on Sunday, July 29th, 2007 at 3:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RussianLegion36 Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball -Smaller fields, but helpful and attentive staff
Paintball Jungle - Great recreational play for woodsball players and much larger fields and comparable staff to sunol
Venture - Best woodsball field in the area very large and never gets old
Review: Overall I am not happy at all with this field. Here are some pros and cons

Pros - The food is good and marker speed is constantly monitored for safer play. Goggle rule is strictly enforced.

Cons - Let me start first with the field conditions. On the rec-ball field, the lack of effort to keep clean or even maintain the field is astonishing. They claim that it is cleaned daily but I have found my initials that I shot myself into the bunkers two summers ago.

The air-ball field they have set up is very poor and looks like it was set up in a matter of minutes. Not only is it set up in minutes but they also set it up 1/4 through the day, to what appears to me to waste time. Also the lack of ability of the staff to keep the bunkers ON the ground is laughable. During air-ball my bunker fell over twice causing me to have to bump back making play less fun. If you have every stayed a little bit after, you would see how brutal the staff is when they store their bunkers, I wouldn't be surprised if there were any holes.

Next I will go over the staff. They are horrendous in every aspect of their "job". I sometimes will wonder why they are even there, because checking players for being shot and calling players out was clearly not on their job description. They are incredibly indolent and will do anything (or lack of) to get through the day. Surprisingly, most of the refs will stay in their shack thing and watch television while there is one or two refs watching a game (not reffing). Most of the time the refs will be trying to be funny over their walkie talkies to lazy refs in the shack, instead of watching the games. They will however stop your game if you are not supposed to be playing, but like children, if you ignore them, they will quickly get bored and walk away.

Finally, I will go over my overall playing experience. First off, if you want to play air-ball, your SOL because there is never a single soul out there. If you want to play in a cheater - free environment with balanced teams and a diversity of game types, you are once again SOL. The last time I came here I got into a fight with a man three my age (I'm 16) and the only reason the Sunol staff stepped in was because I threatened the man with a lawsuit for assaulting a minor, and apparently, Sunol did not want this to affect their ever so meticulous reputation. I decided to let it go.

The intervals in between games is incredible. I played in every single game which game to a total of 10 rounds the entire day. I know that you might come here because of the convenient location, but I would choose the extra distance to anytime to have fun with my friends.

When I came there two years ago, it was okay, but now when I come here, I have realized that Sunol is a dying buisness and should never under any circumstances be funded by your hard earned money to experience what they consider "fun".

I, as a member of the paintball community, will never come to this place again under any circumstance, and for those of you that read this I hope that you understand the tremendous letdown that this place has made itself. Hopefully more local fields will be built in the near future, and put this ****hole out of business for good.

Sincerely,
Steve
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HellcatCommando Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation - Hayward (Better, good indoor/outdoor)
Venture Games - Clayton (Best for Scenario)
Sherwood Forest-Vallejo (Awesome Woodsball)
The Jungle - American Canyon (Even better Woodsball)
Bear Creek - Milpitas (good indoor)
Fairgrounds - Santa Clara (Gets hot, but plenty of fields)
Directions
to the Field:
Off Valecitos Rd on Highway 84
Review: Until a year or two ago I looked to the field as an alternative. They are safety devils, and I don't blame them, thats good. THeir policy though, is very unforgiving. The field layouts aren't too bad. But if there are more than 20 people, the fields are WAY too small. And they don't allow more than one game to be going on at a time. The hours are typical. 9 AM to 3 PM. That annoys me. Open at 10 or 11 and close at dusk. That makes sense to me. Prices are ridiculous for rentals. They charge $60 for 2000 rounds, which are some crappy Brass Eagle paintballs. Rules are agian typical. Proshop, non-exsistant. They offer VERY little to help the player. Definately no upgrades availible, but cheaply manufactured parts that they sell at prices to that will end your day early. Refs are biased as heck! They may be funny sometimes, but they carry a gun on field and start shooting people and say that they are out. And as others have said, they have been promoting their paved parking lot. What BS, its a crappy gravel road with potholes everywhere. It has improved cosmetically over the years. Management has gotten worse. They have added more shade and started cleaning up the bunkers. The No sliding rule is bad but makes sense. Its rocky, and if it rains your diving into water and a mixture of cow...uh....waste? Food is provided, not that bad, usually barbecue. I would still suggest your own food, or bring your own BBQ and make some good buregers, thats what I alwasys did. Recently added outhouses and dressing rooms. A nice change. More spools and tables. You can tell they are trying to make it more appealing, but I don't plan on going until its under new management. Thank yo "Thizz" Paintball for doing so much damage to a field with so much potential. Yes, they have a store and it is called Thizz Paintball, explains a lot about them. I believe that my rating is very generous, and I would advise somebody to go only if they wish to go to every paintball park around. Other than that, certainly not worth my time. Make the extra drive to Milpitas, Hayward, Vallejo, Santa Clara, or Clayton.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media