paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field

Sunol Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
61Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (510) 996 7171
Address: 7900 Vallecitos Road
Sunol, California 94586
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
coolmanslm Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SCP, My teams field, and Bearcreek
Review: I did not have a good time at all, first of all you are not allowed to slide, and the whole place is just a mess. The refs are rude and dont no how to ref. the field is not maintained and isnt filled every day, i barely played, and i was a total waste of my money. For your own good dont go, just drive the extra 20 minutes to go to scp or bearcreek
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jenarelJAM Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture - Best Woodsball field in the area imo
Santa Clara - Good, but had issues with their air filter, I won't go back
Sherwood - Good, but they always put rec on woodsball, and I don't like their woodsball fields
Operation - Small, empty on a friday(bring friends), slippery indoors.
Review: This was the first speedball field I ever played on. And It's got a pretty good layout. The staging area is bounded on two sides by fields, and it's pretty easy to get going in the morning. They have a small(3-man) airball field, a medium field with plywood bunkers, and a very expansive spool field. You will play most of the day on the spool field. Unfortunately, they almost never put rec games on the airball field because it's so small and there are so many players.

PROS-
Decent prices for self-equipped($60 case-admission free, and $12 all day air)

Pretty good field layout

Nice guys at the shop - once, a long time ago, took my broken spyder as collateral and let me borrow a rental for the last 2 games of the day.

Convenient drive - for me


CONS-
Bad Reffing! I can't say this enough. While I like the fields and layout, and the guys at the shop are nice enough, the reffing here is horrible. They supposedly ban any sort of ramping/wiping/cheating etc, but when you call for a paint check on someone, they rarely actually check, or one time, they did, but didn't tell me whether he was in or out. I screamed at the refs because little kids with ramping ions, with no regard for rules or safety, were shooting 17 bps (not exaggerated, like most people exaggerate bps). For this reason, I will never go back.

"Brand New Paved Parking Lot" as advertised on their website is years old, full of potholes, and not actually paved.

When it's wet, yes, it smells like cow... poop.
And there are muddy puddles, and swampy bunkers. It's not fun to play in when it's been raining.



In Conclusion:
I used to think very highly of this field. It used to be well run, enough so that I could overlook the swamp-like aspect and the bad roads. The last two times I've gone though, the reffing has been unbelievably bad. I have been going to this field for the last three years, and it saddens me to see them fall so low.
So I give them a three(3), for what they used to be, but aren't anymore.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MP808 Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: This is the only paid field that I've ever played. But really looking forward to visiting the other fields shortly.

Pros:
-Good service at the equipment counter
-Friendly staff
-Strong emphasis and control on safety
-3 completely different fields allow for change in combat scenario
-Offers lunch for $5.. pretty cheap for convenience.

Cons:
- COW PIES on the field! Kind of nasty when I first got there, but really didn't think much of it when the game started... just remember to avoid them.
- It 's obvious that the fields are a bit unkept
-Rental guns run out of air often if you're playing for more than one game.. small CO2 canisters.
-Paintballs case on the expensive side $60 for 2000.

Buttom line: My friends and I had alot of fun and wouldn't mind playing sunol again...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TBB16 Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
modesto mantica when it was open...operation paintball...and some other places too
Directions
to the Field:
its a little bit past some palm trees...thats how i remember...Check the website.
Review: alright i like this field just because it is my home field...i play their almost every weekend and its not that expensive...they have all day air if you have hpa for $12 and admission is $20 from 9 am to 3 pm...BUY YOUR PAINT SOMEWHERE ELSE though...they charge $30 for 500 low end paintballs and $60 (about average price) for the same low end paint...the field is in horrible condition but you'll get over it...the refs are cool but not all they helpful...they dont really do paint checks...which really pisses me off...and TRUST ME BECAUSE IM A REGULAR...anyways they have an air ball field that only the advanced group can play on...they have a wreck field...and a bunker ball field...you cant slide...head first at least...and i wouldnt reccomend sliding hard at all because the have cow pies and jagged rocks laying around...but if you come you'll have a good time...for the most part everyones nice and you'll learn a liitle about the game once your done
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nico516 Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture Games
Review: I went to this field once because Venture was closed that weekend. First off, the people who worked there were very nice, even to me a 2nd time player at a paintball field. It was unorganized however, they put us on a field, then right when we started the game switched us because a private party was going to play on that field. Also we were in the middle of a game, and a dog runs through the middle of the field, the refs didnt really do anything but eventually the dog got scared and ran off. Some players were nice and some were jerks, this really big guy would just talk about his gun the whole day. My experience there was ok, ive only been to Venture and this one. There are only 3 fields though.
Last edited on Saturday, August 5th, 2006 at 12:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer925 Saturday, June 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SCP, Jungle, Sherwood, Venture, WAP, Extreme, OP
Review: There are only a few positives about this field, the refs are very good about safety, and they turn around games fairly fast. Also, the advanced players help out newbies. Other than that.....all I have to say is WOW!!! This field has got to be one of the worst managed fields out there. This place is a total dump. To start off, the field itself is not impressive at all. There is cow crap, large sharp rocks, litter, and asphalt on the airball field. They put down asphalt all over the field!!! The field isn't even leveled. I find this very unacceptable for a speedball field. Half of the bunkers on the speedball field are hypertubing mixed with airball. Their airball bunkers are gross, covered in filthy dirt, dried paint, and cow crap. Next to that, all of the airball bunkers are barely anchored down to the ground, causing the bunkers to fall over during games. Their bunkerball course is kind of cool, a lot of the bunkers do need rebuilding but it's fun if you play in small groups. Their recball field isn't very impressive either. It's more of an open field with random bunkers that are halfway erroding. They do have a bunch of homes with window cut outs that are pretty cool.

I would like to mention a past experience at this field that I had when I first started. I had bought a case of paint from them, which gets you free admission. As if you pay full price for a case of paint you get free admission, well the paint they were selling was like reject seconds paint that would do nothing but blow up in my gun. The paint was Allstars, and the whole case was in a single giant bag, and the box said sporting goods. The guy running the shack had told us the paint was perfectly fine, it just didn't pass visual inspection, something about the stars on the paintballs not aligning up. I knew better but bought the case anyway, and low and behold, nothing but paint problems all day. Luckily for me they allow you to BYOP and they don't charge a surcharge. I found it very unprofessional that they tried to pass on reject paint as perfectly fine paint and sell it for premium price.

With that said, the only reason I've continued to play at this field on ocassion is because some of my friends prefer to play closer to home. Their prices aren't bad, as they are on par with most other local fields.
Last edited on Saturday, June 24th, 2006 at 6:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ihatenniners Friday, June 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is pretty much it in the area, but there are others in the east bay
Directions
to the Field:
go to google and type in sunol paintball
they have directions at their website
Review: for 20 bucks you can paintball from 9-3, but the first game never really happens until about 930 or so. For 60 bucks u can get 2000 pmi rampage paintballs. Its no always that but the same quality. i think they had draxxus once...
Everyone there is hella nice and the refs will listener to you. Me and my Friend have been helped numerous with the mechanical aspects of our guns. (98 custom w/ flatline, and spyder imagine) You can get a huge hot dog, chips, and soda for 5. I think it is totally worth it. They have 3 fields, but one is airball and they usually have teams or scrims going on there. They have a large field for games such as medic and a bunkerball field. Bunkerball is only good for up to about 9v9, otherwise you are cornered unless you have a barrel capable of shooting as far as the flatline =).

Overall it is a great field for either noobs like myself, people with a little more skill, or someone that doesn't want a super uptight game.

this is my favorite field in the east bay, mainly because the people
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brown5150 Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
APG Paintball Sacramento-Great fields owners are jerks.
Extreme Paintball Modesto- Good time, I'm not much of a Speedball player.
Venture Games Clayton- Great woods ball field.
Piantballzone Waterford- Good woods ball field.
Paintball Paradise Vallejo- Nice woods ball field.
Review: This is the first and only time I will play at this field. The staff is good but some of the players are real idiots. One in particular: A little Red headed troll who wears blue and thinks he's a speed ball player. If he was my son I would beat his ass! WOW what a mouth.
I know alot of these kids play here all the time, but the Ref's should shut there mouths. So the rest of us can have a good time.
Back to the field.
This field is the worst I've ever played anywhere.
There is Cow and Horse CRAP everywhere!!!
They are the smallest fields I've seen at any paintball facility.

If you don't mind playing in a sewer this is the place for you!
Last edited on Monday, April 3rd, 2006 at 8:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

noobie_4_life Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
NONE
Review: I have been going to Sunol for a year and it is the only place I have ever been to.

PROS- Variety of level of experience, $20.00 all day admission from 10:00 to 3:00, $40 for 2000 PMI stingers with admission, new nets that separate the field, sometimes they have alot of noob players, air ball, rec-ball, bunker ball, time between games are short sometimes to where you dont have time to fill pods and get air, outhouse (i never used it)

CONS- Horse droppings make your shoes smell (I had to buy a new pair), can get really muddy, floods, fields can be one sided at times, bunker ball can be impossible advance, easily bunkered, advance players play with beginners, Benn Tippman semiauto vs. an Eclipse!!!, teams can be very very very unfair, you can not slide because the field is made off ROCKS and dirt so your legs get all messed up, unfair refs, lazy refs sometimes, refs do not pay attention, can get REALLY crowded sometimes so you cant move because there are balls flying every where, sometimes you dont get a lot of games but it depends on refs, they can get short handed, they say that the people they hired are to lazy to come to work, they overflow the field with players (20 people in a small air ball field), not the best air ball field

I would not recommend going here. But if you like what i have described then go because i still do for no reason except try and play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper37 Tuesday, August 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: First i will start with the good stuff...

-most of the people there are really nice and one player sat out 1-2 games just to time my cocker so i didnt have to get a rental gun
-the 3 fields are really cool and fun
-they have a new net so recballers dont get hit with balls coming from the speedball field
-recball players have very big battles

and the bad stuff...

-the horse stable makes your shoes smell like fresh cow cakes
-they are a little bit too protective (i dont know if that would be bad or good)
-sometimes the advance players play in recball
-sometimes the teams are unfair
-the lunch breaks are kinda long
-it doesnt start until 10:00-10:30 (i think its because most of the players get there at that time)

dont forget the overall stuff...

-it is overal a great field to go to and its very fun
-id rate it a 9.0
Last edited on Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 at 6:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media