paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field

Sunol Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
61Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (510) 996 7171
Address: 7900 Vallecitos Road
Sunol, California 94586
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Brook Malfusion Wednesday, March 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Jungle- Huge, awesome woodball, don't waste money on sunol, go to Jungle
Review: Upon arrival to sunol, my group of eight people in my car (including me) were excited and anxious to go paintballing (most of us 1st timers). We got there right when the park opened and waited in our car along with two other cars waiting for them to open what they call the "pro shop", a little shack that looked more like an outhouse.

After waiting around for ten minutes, out of the passenger seat of one of the cars comes a little kid who shouldn't even be old enough to hold a paintball gun (his mom was waiting in the car, he couldn't drive). He walked over to our car and said, "Are you guys here to play paintball?" I of course said yes, there isn't anything else to do in sunol besides cow tipping. He then replied " Well my my boss called and told me that we aren't open today because he doesn't think the weather conditions are very good." he then walked away to tell the next car that they weren't open today. I was shocked at what he just told me because on their web page it says "Open Rain or Shine!" and the last time it rained was the day before! He just turned down a plethora of customers that drove half an hour in the middle of nowhere to get to this place.

-Bad customer service
-People that work there have their mommys drive them to work
-From what I saw of the park I could have set the same thing up in my back yard
-Go here if you want, but better to spend ur $ at Paintball Jungle in Vallejo
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

heycalvin Saturday, March 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
operation paintball(hayward), paintball jungle(alot of wiperz)be aware!
Review: I love this field!
Every time I have a great time because there are four great fields to play on and the refs are pretty cool.
If you are new at this field, all you have to do is get to know the refs and you become apart of their family.
i'v heard they have undependable rentals, but if you don't like it then GET YOUR OWN GEAR!


Pros
easy to get to, just get a map (their website has a good one)
pretty clean (of course there will be some mud during rainy seasons)
good price for lunch(hot dog,chips,drink)
my favorite paint, GAP for good price( its scented)
walk ons for newbies and also advance


Cons
i guess rentals
could use some more tables/shade


i hate when all you other people who write bad reviews complain about rental stuff, save some money and buy your own stuff!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jaked588 Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball jungle (woodsball {WAAAAAAYYYY bigger but of course it is)
Review: This place is great. the first time i played paintball was there.
Pros: People are nice. i like that there are no dividers in between fields and about half the time i was playing on all of the fields as one. the refs let players vote on what they want to play and pay attention to explaining the game that is being played. good food. not too crowded. other players are nice to newbies and help explain things that they don't know. they have a raffle during lunch break that enables players to win paintballs, free admissions and all day air, (combinations), etc. players also have a good chance of winning because of the uncrowded amount of people. during big games there are about 5 refs and stay around main hiding spots to tell opponents to stop shooting when someone is hit.

cons: the parking lot is a layer of about 4-8" of mud, and 4x4 is recommended (jp). only one restroom which is a porto-potty. fields give one team a big advantage on every field. chrono isn't enforced very well. i ran out of air and went to get another tank and i walked right past the chrono station. no one stays there during games. i could've walked right back into the game. there arent any dividers in between fields and while we were all playing bunkerball, there were two guys practicing on the speedball field and i got hit with one of their paintballs in the leg and it hurt like hell. luckily the paintball didnt break. it was probably the crappy field field paint thats as hard as marbles and is filled with colored vasoline. don't buy that paint.
SUMMARY: this field is very fun and me and 5 other first timers had a great time at this place.
Last edited on Friday, March 19th, 2004 at 5:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballin Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TAG, Venture, Mercenary Paintball, Tons of backyard scenario games
Review: This feild is not a great place for a beginner to play at. I have seen many newbies get very frustrated, walk off the feild, and swear to never play paintball again:( The staff reffing the feild is so lazy and incompetent, the only thing I have ever witnessed them do is walk along one of thier friends who are playing and coach them to completely dominate the opposing team:( I have had to jump in at times when a younger player who cannot yell load enough "HIT", and the refs are nowhere to be found! I have watched this same scenario many times at Sunol, seeing newbies walk off crying to thier parents who swear thier child will never play paintball ever again. Meanwhile the teenage player who just lit up the poor kid (and it took about 500 rounds to do it) goes back to the stageing area to brag to thier friends about how he just annihilated his opponent. Thier "PRO SHOP" is nothing more than a refill station, and thier rentals are the worst I've seen yet! I spoke with the feild manager a couple of times who seems to be okay....but a whole lot of talk and no show is what I've seen on that feild lately. And by the way, I HAVE NEVER PLAYED WITH SO MANY CHEATERS BEFORE UNTIL SUNOL... this place seems to attract them. Probably because of the lack of refs who care, and everyone knows it. The playing ground itself is very scarce and no physical seperation of any kind on the fields or games going on. I have had some fun days at Sunol, but to say the least, it is more of a waste of time and money to play here:((((((((
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike31c Monday, December 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball: Nice indoor/outdoor speed courts!
Review: This is not the woods field I am used too. It's been a while since I went to a woods field but I love being outdoors so maybe I am a little biased in favor of outdoor fields. But what can I say, I have played woodsball since 1987 (Paintball Hill, Pope Valley--closed) and I did indoor fields (Battle Zone, Pinole--closed) when rentals consisted of Splatmasters.

The few times I went to this field, the staff were nice to me and treated me like a player, not a cash machine. The refs were decent and they do their best to catch the Chrono Cheaters. If you exit the field and try to enter again, they Chrono you. That's a good thing.

Yes, their fields are close together and there is NO netting separating the individual fields. There is netting separating the parking lot, so dont worry about that! If you are concerned about getting hit from the other games being played, why are you standing around so close to another game? LOL

The Ref's also stay AWAY from the middle of the action, which I prefer. There is nothing worse then yelling "MOVE REF!" right before you get marked out! But they will do paintchecks on players during a game when asked. At least they did when I asked.

People say this field is out in the middle of nowhere and difficult to find? I don't know. I had no problems finding this field. But then again, I can read a map.

I can't give you a review about their rentals. I use my own equipment. But the "broken rentals" that others seem to be complaining about lit me up quite nicely when I go there. Maybe it's the player and not the equipment?

The only thing that concerned me was the fact the first time I went there, I gotten a LOT of paintchecks done on me. I just thought me being the "new" guy with an A-5, I would try to stay in the game after I got hit. No big deal I thought. Then one Saturday I played, I KNOW there were wipers out in the field and players with HOT guns. I complained to the ref and he took care of the wipers by removing them and making the HOT players re-chrono and turn DOWN their markers. If you suspect a problem, get a ref involved.

There is only two negatives that I can think about this field, was the fact the road going into the field and the parking lot turned into slushy MUD when it was recently raining. They allowed us to park away from the mud but then you had to take a short walk to the field with your equipment. Oh well, I rather do that then get my car stuck in the mud in the parking lot.

The second negative relates to some of the newbies to the sport of paintball. Perhaps the staff needs to give them a more detailed instructions and rules? They seem to choose to ignore the field rules: Players removing their masks on the playing field, try to chrono their guns hotter, wiping, trying to shoot the cows/horses/birds (that is a no-no!) and basically showing poor sportsmanship when this is just a GAME!

Pros:
-- BYOP! They do sell GAP for $60. Not unreasonable.
-- Nice refs and they do more then just "Stand around"
-- They WILL try their best to catch wipers, hot shooters
-- They will remind players exiting the field about Barrel Plugs, and not removing masks until you reach the parking lot. Safety First!
-- They do try to provide space for players to lay down their equipment when in the parking lot but they can only place so many "tables" around and sometimes the parking lot will be closed when it's full.
-- Advanced and Tourny players seem nice and do not treat newbies like "newbies". I saw other rec-ball players treat newbies like newbies though.
-- Hotdog lunch/ w chips and a drink for $5.00. Reasonable. Don't like the cost? Bring your own food/drinks then. It's not that difficult.


Cons: (if you can call it cons?)
-- It's outdoors. It WILL get HOT during summer and it will get COLD during winter, you might even get WET if it rains. I know this is common sense but some people do not get it.
-- Port-a-potty, just one. Maybe this is the biggest gripe for me.
-- They do NOT have a large selection of items for sale in their Proshop. Well, of course not. You can not possibly expect them to carry all the different brands of items their players might break or forget.
-- Poor conduct of some players! Chrono cheaters/wipers. I do not blame the field or the staff though. I blame the poor playing ability of these cheaters.
-- Muddy road/parking lot when it rains! What can I say, Mud is Mud.

All in all, this my local field of choice. The horses and cows surrounding the field do not bother me, why should they bother you?
Last edited on Monday, December 29th, 2003 at 12:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Uiruru Friday, December 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nothing- its behind a horse ranch in the middle of nowhere
Review: I hate this place. First off their rentals are horrible. About half of them are bad. At least they have bottom lines. Another thing is their lazy refs. They never make any calls. They just stand there and make sure no one is bleeding. They also don't enforce chrono. They take a group of people out for several games and if you happen to walk on during this time you chrono on the honor system I guess. At least they have a surrender rule so you don't get shot that often. They should have someone posted the chrono at all times. Another thing is the place is tiny. There is literally no division between fields. You could get shot or shoot at people that are in another game. There are no air bunkers like in real speed-ball. One field is a bunch of pieces of ply-wood, another one is a bunch of spools, and another is a ton corrugated plastic piping. There is no division between skill levels or age ranges. You could be a first timer and go up against an amateur A team or even a few pros.

Basically this field is really bad. DON'T GO TO IT!!!!
Last edited on Wednesday, December 31st, 2003 at 1:43 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rat0destruction Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This feild is in the middle of nowhere...
Review: This was by no doubt the worst field i've played at in all my years of paintballing. For starters, directions where hard to find and even harder to follow. Once our party arrived, we had no place to set our equipment up but our cars. The registration process was long and they made it way more confusing then necessary. Our private party was mostly first time paintballers, and they were given no safety talks, rules, or anything of that kind. My eight year old sister could have been better than the refs there, who paid no attention and weren't involved at all. The fields were all in one area, with no nets dividing the fields, so you could be hit from players in other games. The fields were also poorly designed and usually gave one side a huge advantage. Our party reserved a time slot from 1-5, and we had to argue with them to play till 4. The runners were in general, unorganized, unprofessional, and in general not that nice. I would never recommend going to this field, unless you really want to turn someone off from paintballing with a magnitude of reasons.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Impulsing Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
There is (literally) nothing else -IN- the area.
Review: First of all, safety was not stressed at all. There are multiple, unseparated fields in ONE enclosure. In other words, you get hit with balls from an entirely different game. Rental gear caused trouble left and right.

The staff was not friendly. We were booked from 1-5 as a private party. We had to BARGAIN to stay till 4. They took forever to fill up tanks. The paint quality sucked and was a ripoff at $60/case.

Very difficult to find. Out in the middle of nowhere. Not worth it from any aspect.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

1mpulse_guy Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Paintball Zone In Waterford
Venture in Concord
Paintball Jungle in Vallejo
Extreme Paintball in Modesto
Review: Long Story Short - This Place Blows.
Short Story Long - I Honestly Dont know why i keep going there so much. I mean this place is horrible. No shaded area, no benches or anything, Maybe one or two Spools. You have to use your car if you wanna place your equipment ANYWHERE! The Staff there dont care about you just about the money, they dont even fill Comp. Air Tanks all the way. I have a 3000psi they fill it 2000 seriously. Lunch is overpriced for ONE hot dog $4.50, where they get the pack of 100 hot dogs for $10 at costco. Now With the Fields, They said they have airball... but all it is, is only TWO cans on the left and right side of the 50. And always one side has the better advantage. Its Not safe at all, Rattlesnakes shwo up all the time. They take literally 2 min to go through the safety. The Fields are all together no netting seperating them watsoever, so if you get hit from a different game, youll think your out. Overall This Place Is a Sh*thole, and i recommend even begginers NOT to go there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TwitchyTrigger Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nothing else is that near by...
Review: This is by far one of the worst playing fields I've ever been to. It's pretty annoying to try and find if you've never been there.

Safety is not stressed, there isn't even netting between the fields, and the fields are literally right next to each other.

All four fields are poorly designed and built. One side usually has a big advantage. They said they has sup air, they had too air bunkers, that's it.

The rental gear was in poor shape, problems everywhere and not clean at all. $50 per person for admission rental and 500 rounds was the DISCOUNT price! Rediculous.

We arranged to do a private party from 1-5. We had to fight just to stay till four, and they didn't even get us set up and playing till 2.

The paint sold to us had dimples and was absolutely freezing cold. It shot horribly, and hurt a lot when it hit you. At $60 a case, I expect better.

There are no places to put your gear, either. You have to use the back of your car.

The staff was very unprofessional and wasn't very friendly either.

Really unimpressed. I hope this field gets shut down.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media