paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field / Sunol Paintball Field

Sunol Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
61Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (510) 996 7171
Address: 7900 Vallecitos Road
Sunol, California 94586
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Longfellow Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crossfire Paintball Park (The best park I've seen yet), Paintball Zone (cool place for scenario players), Xtrme paintblall (just about the same experience), Paintball Jungle (tons of wipers) and many others down south and in other states.
Review: This was a fun course for a short period of time. It didn't have the referee staff that I had expected and the courses were a little run down. I can concur on the loud compressor. My ears are still ringing from all the noise that thing made. I think I met the manager of the place the day I went and he was a really nice guy who answered a lot of questions I had about the field and they started. There wasn't a lot of players the day I went and I was surprised because the weather was perfect and it was the weekend of course. I would recommend this course as a place to play but I have seen a few better ones in an hours drive of this one or less.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

drakenfier Tuesday, October 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
operation paintball- nice indoor field
Review: This is a great field and friendly place to play. I is a little out of the way and there are no places to sit besides your car but thats ok. The field is decent the bunkers are not too shabby and the field staff is friendly . there is a break for lunch at noon but they usually let the games on the field finish before they call them in. I have had only one call on the field that i felt was wrong but hey it happens.
All in all the reffs are fair and will give you tips on how to improve your game. They even gave a rental player tips on how to use the snake when i had him pinned down. made it for an intersting game :)
Durring the lunch break one of the refs came around and asked how everyone is doing and talked with the people. like i said great field as for the close quaters to the fields its not that bad. oh and as for th other reviewer the fields when i have been there are and have been horse waste free.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MJC Monday, September 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball
Review: Where do I start. This is one of the worst fields I've played on. When I went they had 2 fields open and they were both set up where people playing on the air field could accidently shoot the people playing a total different game. when I got shot I could never tell if someone from my game shot me or if it was somene from the other field shot me. That caused alot of confusion. It is also located right next to a horse ranch. I stepped on a big pile of horse sh** on the field. This was the funny part. We were playing a game and all of a sudden they yelled everyone off the field. It was lunch time.... They made you sit out for an hour just to eat lunch. It is great they serve food but they shouldn't force you to sit out , there should still be games going on.

Well I gave it a 3 because paintball is paintball you got to like it.

P.S. beware of the rattle snakes.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vtecbui Wednesday, September 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
action zone. brentwood
Review: Pros:
EXCELLENT friendly staff (I mean it also)
Food is great
Real safe
Refs are ontop of everything and give you game tips
Joe (the big guy) is fun to talk to
Eddy is also fun to talk to
Players of all levels
Great different play areas
If your c02 is leaking, they will refill it for free (if you paid earlier)
You get to play MANY games.
They FORCE you to have lunch/water so you won't die :D
free water

Cons:
Was a bit hard to find the location?
Some of the local teams are arrogant
1 out of 3 rentals are bad (u just have to ask for another one)
paint is a little pricy.
small proshop
not many places to sit if you DON"T have a car
their HPA air compressor is LOUD as hell

Overall Review:
Go to sunol :P
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

p8ntballer4eva Wednesday, July 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none-why would you go anywhere else after you go to sunol
Review: sunol paintball is the best ever. first of all getting there is simple after you know the way and the dirt road is a little bumpy and it can be muddy but, its definantly worth it. all the workers are nice and they help everyone and if you go there often and maybe talk to them a little they notice you and give you mant tips. the refs are on every paintball shot and make sure everyone is safe. other players there are nice too i ha vent heard one insult at all. almost every time you go there a lot of new players are there but its good so paintball gets noticed better and parents stop thinking of us as vandals when were just shooting little balls with paint inside. the field is great and consists of rec ball, air ball, and bunker ball. my only concern is that there is pretty much just spools on rec ball. the levels of play are spread out perfect. almost every time i go to sunol i see someone wipe, bunker(with new players),and blind fire but, the staff is proud to stop those problems. also their prices are average. what else can i say sunol is the perfect field for everyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeckWiLdeR Thursday, July 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all the other bay area feilds.
Review: ive been down with sunol ever since it opened. sunol paintball will always be my homefield. i pretty much grew up there when it comes to paintball. i shifted from rec to tourny ball there. i even met my tournament team there. i gotta hand it to rob. he provides excellent service. im always gonna love this feild no matter what happens to it.

the field is very kick back, although sometimes it takes awhile to start the first game. but the staff is always ready to accomodate you in anyway they can. my team is able to pratice drills and even have some private scrims. the rec feild is huge and i love the bunker ball field. i got really upset when they got rid of the air ball field. and i got even more upset when i heard they got one.. but never really bring it out. it isnt sunol without a speedball feild. im not trying to be mean.. i just want the speedball course back. the parking lot is great. very nice environment. what else can i say? sunol paintball is a paintball field. its great. many different levels of play.

its been a pretty long time since they opened.. i kinda wish they re-did some of the feild. but its all good. oh.. during the rainy seaon... its hell to get in there. the mud comes up sooo bad.. i can barely get in or out of the feild. but its ok. hahahhaa i love sunol. i hope it stays forever. rob... never leave paintball! we grew up with you man!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntballpunk Tuesday, June 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WAP, Operation Paintball, Sherwood forest, Venture, The jungle,
Review: This is a great field with many levels of play, a great staff, and many variety of fields.
Their are four fields at Sunol. Rec ball is the most noticeable as it is the largest field consisting of many variations of bunkers. Hyper ball is a long narrow course great for speed ball games. Bunker ball being a larger speed ball course with bunkers made of wood. And air ball which is a great field for tournament practice and playing your friends on, the field is setup every day and taken down by the staff of Sunol with great care.
Their happens to be many levels of play at Sunol. Private groups are more then welcome at the field. The walk ons are usually the more newbie players that have just come out to have a good time and play for a day. The advanced at Sunol consists of players from rookie all the way up to amateur players. The advanced run all day practicing drilling and scrimmages, and when their not practicing they are more then happy to help the more new players with their equipment and give a few pointers on playing paintball.
The Sunol staff is one of the best staff i have ever seen. They are always helpful with questions and always try to make Yuri experience the best it can be. The refs are always out and about running around makeing sure the games are fair, and once the games are over they are always glad to mingle with the players and hang out. Many times have i seen them go out of their way to help a player out and make their experience more fun where at many fields i have been they just ignore you.
I have to say Sunol is a great field and environment for players of all skill and age level.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hawaiianbro Saturday, May 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Jungle=Too Big-Sherwood Forest=Too Smelly(home field)-Operation Paintball=Too Small(Not bad tho for 3on3)-Sunol Paintball=Just Right(Except for Rattlesnakes)
Review: This field was really easy to find, the directions on the website were precise. The refs are pretty good, and they will answer most of your questions, or at least try to. Right when you turn in to go on the dirt road you think it's gonna be a crappy place, but then it opens up into one big field that is split into other fields. I think the airball was the perfect size, because they would only let a certain amount of people on it so it wouldn't be overcrowded. The two things is get a rattlesnake trap thingy, because when we went out there we were sitting down filling up and there is a good size rattle snake pretty close to us. But it wasn't scary once one of the refs cut it's head off with a shovel. And also my other suggestion is to get a better air compressor, they kept having to turn people away to let the compressor recharge. The grass was a little high on the fields, and the ground was a little hard. But those are little things, and a lawn mower and knee pads will solve that. I give this field a 9/10, one point lost because of the rattle snake and they compressor.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wanna_B Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear Creek
Operation Paintball
Santa Clara Paintball
Review: Dude, i love this place. Unfortunately you always get a lot of newer players and that kinds sucks but its fun, and hey ppl are getting into paintballing so its all good. I love the speedball course here its just, sexy. and the bunker ball and the rec ball. Its a tite field, definitely go check it out
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lt1z28maro Wednesday, March 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme, T.A.G., Operation Paintball, Paintball Jungle, Sherwood Forest, Fairgrounds (the new one in the San Jose area), WAP
Review: Very nice field choices. They have the one big rec ball field, a new ultimate air field (getting more air bunkers too, so they say), a bunkerball field, and a hypertube field. The play all the fields, and the refs allow the patrons to pick what field they would like to play. Prices for rentals are good, especially compared to some of the other prices in the bay area. Thier paint is nice, but a little hard for the more advanced guys. Paint prices are alright overall. They play some scenario games after lunch, like the "L-Challenge", some capture the flag, and they are open to suggestions of games to play. The refs are good, they are on top of everything that happens, and make good calls. The entire staff is willing to help with whatever is needed. They also have a small "pro shop." The road into sunol in the wetter months is a little tricky, but that doesnt matter much. Overall, Sunol is one of my favorite places to go.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 12th, 2003 at 11:48 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media