paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / CDR Sports Paintball Field / CDR Sports Paintball Field / CDR Sports Paintball Field / CDR Sports Paintball Field

CDR Sports Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 360-424-9440
Address: 3226 Old Goldie Rd
Oak Harbor, Washington 98277
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
smitty62592 Monday, November 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
adrenaline rush
Review: this field is a pretty good field i think. There are plenty af bunkers and woods. The owner is nice and knows how to fix paintball guns. The cost is a little high $10, and another $4 dollars to fill up a 12 ounce tank. They play a variety of gaames, capture the flag, ring the bell, president, and so on... The rental fee is also really high and paint is really expensive, $20 for a pack of 500. The refs are nice but don't really inforce safety rules but they know how to fix a gun. Overall I'd say this is a good field to go to if you have your own gun and you bring your own paint
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ImpBaller2004 Thursday, September 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Doodlebug indoor, splat attack, stp, im G A Y
Review: I love the field, My team practices here about everyweekend. we need to change some things around. but for the most part its an awsome paintball field, Bob is a nice guy, thanks for letting us use the cannon. i think he should ad another speedball area in the center of the course so that its not all hill and grass.

-Jake & Chris-
Last edited on Thursday, May 26th, 2005 at 8:34 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

joonsoon Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: i think this field was great....
the refs must have been a problem in the past...
cause i didnt see any
bob was a nice guy and the refs seemed nice. when my o-ring wore out and i didnt know what to do they helped me.

cons?
the only problem was the expense. buying paintballs and renting guns were way overpriced. so im forced to buy my own gun before i go again.

otherwise it was great. the field had options suiting most styles of players.
oh and adressing the issue of the games. they have changed the types of games to be random. someone suggests a game and everyone votes. so its mostly what everyone wants. unless its not what u wants :P

sugest this for noobs who need some help learning how to play. except for the lack of leadership amoung teams...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pest_05 Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Semper Fi, Adrenaline Rush, Private Fields
Review: Pros:
The Rec ball field is nice. Good Bunker and woods area.
Easy to find location of field.
Vitals only Games

Cons:
Refs are just kids who don't really know what their doing and goof off alot (can be 20 min. wait between games.)
Safety rules rarely enforced.
Cost more than other fields I have been too. ($10 all day air.)
NO HPA compressors,
Can be VERY MUDDY!

The Field is Very Fun it has an ok size woods area and a nice size bunker area, made of an old car and big mounds of dirt and some wood bunkers. The owner seems to be nice but, dose not have a HPA Compressor and that means i have to fill my tank every game. The Refs are just kids who don't know much about being refs and don't enforce many rules and can take a long time to start a game. My last time there it took up to 20 mins. to start a game, because the refs where goofing off and on shot the other in the neck with a BB Gun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Roydster Thursday, March 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just private fields and my own woods
Review: I like this field but only get over there about once a month. The woods are good and the speedball area gets changed often enough to keep it interesting. Bob does a lot of work on the field. It is constantly changing and improving. The field itself is excellent.

I have a couple of grips about the refs though. When I first started going, there weren't any refs (not good). Soon after Bob started getting some refs and these guys were pretty good. Good attitudes and very knowledgable. The last two times I have gone, however, a couple of the refs has seemed a bit amature. Especially one blonde kid. He seemed to be on a bit of a power trip. In one game he told me I was shooting way too hot and that I needed to go re chrono my gun. No problem. Except I had just chronoed my gun and was shooting at around 260 fps (field limit is 285). I said would go rechrono my gun and told him what it was shooting before that game. He started yelling at me to go do what he said. My gun rechronoed at 250 fps. Several other people were also getting angry with him as well. He berated quite a number of people and was arrogant about his own playing ability. In the stageing area, what I heard most was him yelling. He got really angry at the players lining up for teams because they didn't line up against "the benches". There are benches all over the place at this field. He never said which benches to line up against. We figured it out soon enough though.

So, overall, I like this field, but look forward to the refs learning more about their jobs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slyfinger Thursday, February 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adrenaline Rush, Oak Harbor - Semper Fi, Bellingham
Review: PROS
-good size field
-draws decent crowd of players of many skill levels
-large staging area
-has most paintball needs
-local expert paintballers help

CONS
-'vitals only' gameplay
-can be very muddy
-no HPA compressor on site/limited HPA available
-nothing separating staging area, field, chrono station
-SAFETY RULES SOMETIMES NOT ENFORCED! needs more serious reffing

PROS
*Good size field*
I found the field size to be adequate. Paintball station is much different because of the high mounds of fill dirt used as obstacles, as well as normal bunkers. A small area of woods on the far side of the field is an ok size for the woods 'ballers, but this field has more appeal to the speedball/bunker style players.

*draws decent crowd of players of many skill levels*
I was pleased to play with many players of every skill level. Everyone was friendly and most had a good attitude. Another player and I disputed who bunkered who...it was pretty heated...but we walked away with no hard feelings. Rush of the game and a paintballers' attitude lent to the dispute...but mutual respect of each other and appreciation of the game kept it from getting anywhere near ugly.

*large staging area*
The staging area was sprawled all over the place. Plenty of room for nearly everyone who brought their own gear. The day my friend and I showed up to play, the day topped off with over 70 players so space was at a premium. But like any devoted 'baller, we got there kinda early and claimed a table for ourselves.

*has most paintball needs*
This field offers most of the normal paintballers needs...extra gear, food, and drinks. Some of the prices can be high, but paintball isn't a cheap sport. "Ya gots to pay if ya wanna play!"

*local expert paintballers help*
One of the local expert paintballers pitched in to help the owner with air fills and purchases. He was also asked several questions from several players on the field. He offered good information and was a big help in enforcing safety rules to players leaving and entering the staging area. (Unfortunately, he was the only one...see CONS)
He gave a great indoctrination speech to a group of newbies and their parents...I was impressed. He obviously loves the sport and is a great representative of the game.

CONS
*'vitals only' gameplay*
'Vitals only' gameplay...in case you don't know...is a game where only head and torso shots count as legitimate hits. Gun and limb hits don't count at all. While it is fun to play 'vitals' every now and again, it's not very fun to play 'vitals' each and every game. A hit is a hit folks...by applying the 'vitals only' rule you are doing two negative things: 1) you're favoring more skilled players, 2) you're being greedy...'vitals' games eat up a lot of paint, so naturally players will buy more paint from you.

*can be muddy*
In some really wet portions of the field, the mud nearly sucked the shoes off my feet. But this really isn't a reason to shun the place.

*no HPA compressor on site/limited HPA available*
The field has limited HPA available. But it pretty much depends on how many HPA users are playing that day. During my visit, the owner had to make a run to Anacortes to refill his HPA tanks...said he'd be back in about 2 hours...luckily, he left enough HPA behind to take care of most of the players. Maybe it was unusual that day for him to run out of air, but any serious field owner will have a compressor on site.

*nothing separating staging area, field, chrono station*
There was no safety netting anywhere to be found during my visit to this field. Anyone coming off the field or from the chrono station could easily misfire into the staging area. Not good when some of your spectators are non-players and do not expect to be hit by a paintball. Accidents happen all the time...it may not be Little Careless Johnny Paintball that gets his eye shot out, but I'm sure his dad won't let him play when he loses his own eye!

*SAFETY RULES SOMETIMES NOT ENFORCED! needs more serious reffing*
Here is my biggest gripe about this field. The only person that actively enforced safety rules was the local expert who was helping out. Most of the refs were actually good at reffing...settling disputes, paint checks, etc...but did not enforce safety rules nearly enough. Nearly every game started and ended with several people with their masks up, barrel plugs out. Several players walked on and off the field with masks off and barrel plugs out among the refs...and not a word was said. At one point during the day, I actually felt unsafe at the staging area.

OVERALL....I will try this field again when the field has had some time to make its corrections. I do not recommend it to any new players because this field clearly does not represent the safety side of paintball. I fault the refs more than the owner, because he's putting his faith and trust in them...but the owner's name is on the insurance so he should always be active in keeping the refs on their toes. Personally, I believe the people reffing out there at Paintball Station should just keep to playing, because they're not true referees. A true ref has a love and respect for the sport of paintball...he will promote the game to both players and spectators. And the first rule of paintball is SAFETY.

If it were not for the safety issues I would give this field a 7 out of 10. But like another review...I feel the safety issues are the most important, so I give the field a 1 out of 10.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004 at 1:32 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jon Warren Monday, February 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
West Side Paintball, Saturday Warriors, Mobile Tactics, Splat Mountain, Splat Em Sports, Woodland Paintball, DoodleBug.
Review: PRO:
have had a great time playing hear. Most of the players are great. The owner is a nice guy. The field is quite open but has enought wooded area to make things interesting.

Cons:
The owner is too nice. He does not get involved soon enough if someones addrenaline gets the better of them. Too many safety violations, ie masks off on the playing field, barrle plugs out in the stagging area, fireing in the stagging area. I have seen many times that players have had to step in while the owner stands by. The refs have no idea what rules they are enforcing. When the owner was asked to define "Bunkering" he could not. How can the refs be held accountable when the owner does not know the rules he has listed.

Conclution:
It is not if someone gets hurt here. It is when. I wish things were different. Someone needs to inspect this place soon. Safety is the only reason I rate this as a one
Last edited on Monday, February 23rd, 2004 at 6:15 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

polo Sunday, December 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Moblie Tactics, Semperfi, Doodle Bug
Review: Good
The field was just awsome. We didn't use the full 5.5 acres but with all the bunkers, and the moderatly sized woods it made for a great game. Field layout was great although the boundarys could have been marked a bit better. Teams were evened out based on skill and not numbers whiched made for funner games. Bob the owner was very nice and laid back. Most everything you need was there to rent/buy/borrow. Also you can bring your own paint

Bad
If it rains then half the field is mud streckened and you'll need cleats or good traction shoes, plus there are mini fox holes that you can fall into and get soaked to the bone or brused a bit. Not enought reefs and the player volenteers were very blind to some of the rules and only Bob called what he saw. There were players alowed to drink and smoke at the field so this was a large turn off towards returning because these drunk old guys would get very mad at you for tagging them and flip out on you with their gun or verbaly. Although most everything you need is there most all of it is over priced. At first most players don't show up till around noon so you only have 15 or so players in the mornin

Comments
Great field all around could use more reefs but hey no biggy. I go back and play 1 a month now. 20 minute rounds allowed me to play all day with only 700 rounds. Most of the players are very friendly so it has a good atmosphere.
Last edited on Friday, January 2nd, 2004 at 8:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lazlow Tuesday, September 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mobile Tactics, both r cool. This one is quite a bit better in my opinion. Mobile Tactice is no longer around though.
Review: Good field, was a lot of fun. Not speaking from a lot of experience, but Bob is a nice enough fellow, and most of the players were polite. Ranged from lots of newbs(like myself) to several intermediate level players. I agree with blue base, it sucks for being opposite of orange base, not even close to even(oh well). Anyway, give it a try if your in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kinux Saturday, September 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mobile Tactics
Review: Here's what I took from the experience:


The Good:

- Bob the owner is very friendly and laid back
- Lots of friendly players
- Big & Very Versatile Paintball Field (Woods, Feild with Bunkers and tall Grass)
- Prices are fairly reasonable (considering there are no paintball stores in the area and the only places to get your tanks filled are various local stores that charge a bit more)
- Running water & Outhouses

The Negative:

- Reffing is done by volunteers who come to paintball so some games you may have no Reff. (Not really a problem if your if your playing with honest guys)
- Games: We played Center-Flag 7 or 8 times to many (Mind you this was a one time visit so I don't know if this is a consistent trend)


All in All this was a really enjoyable place to play. Bob works to make sure you team up with the people you'd like to play with and he hosts a great field. My only rant would be that blue base needs some serious lovin in the way of bunkers, etc.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media