paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / PnL Paintball Bridgewater Paintball Field / PnL Paintball Bridgewater Paintball Field / PnL Paintball Bridgewater Paintball Field / PnL Paintball Bridgewater Paintball Field

PnL Paintball Bridgewater Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
69Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 508-697-5808
Address: 1221 Bedford Street
Bridgewater, Massachusetts 02324
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
joracer5 Thursday, August 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 2nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox4 and private property
Review: Their Sport Shop leaves a little to be desired but their fields are nice, not bony like Fox4. The ref's are good and safety is a must. Lately they have been chronoing randomly. There have been a few guys blind firing and shooting hot!! Most times if you bring it to the officicials attention and show them your injury they will make everyone chrono before the next match. With the Ghost Town , BarterTown and the new Wall field I think they smoke Fox4. I am planning on Warzone in RI, but they seem to be dictated by the weather. At least PnL you can play year round. I like it there no matter what the weather is. I've played there in scorching hot weather and in 10 degree weather with snow and ice on the ground. Their fields are clean with little or no debris, the food is pretty good. I would highly recommend PnL before most others. I know I'm limited to only 2 so far but the other guys I've played with have over 10 years experience and have played everywhere and PnL is their favorite. What I like too is if you play there alot they get to know you (Ref's) and if they see you know what your doing they try to accomodate you more on field and match selection. I highly recommend them. Especially the Ghost Town!!!!! Brian Ross , North Providence, RI
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

msdamato Thursday, June 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
In order, best (#1) to worst.
P&L #1
A&G #2
OSG #3
Canobie #4
Fox 4 #5
Boston Painttball indoor - good speedball, but will not rate against outdoor fields.
Directions
to the Field:
gps works great
Review: My rating system is as follows:

Safety = max of 25pts. This is most important.
Fields = max of 25pts. This is why we go back to a field.
Prices = max of 15pts. Paint/entrance prices vary, but no one said this game was cheep.
Refs/Staff = max of 10pts. They keep us safe, but tend to be similar at all fields.
Staging Area = max of 10pts. Tend to be similar but key factors like shade affect the day.
Pro shop = max of 5pts. Typically not a full store, but should have the basics and a tech.
Rules = max of 5pts. Tend to be similar, but an odd blind fire rule can ruin a day.
Food = max of 5pts. Not part of the game, but a factor at any sports park.

Totaling 100 points, which will determine my overall rating for the field. Average being 50% of any point value.

Safety = 15 of 25pts
After reading many negative reviews on the safety of this field I was very consious of it. I found that the ref''s were very good which is a contradiction to many reviews. In fact the ref we had (Jim Massey) was one of the best I have had anywhere! That said he was by himself for the first half of the day, but seemed to always be there when you needed a paint check. Refs gave a short but lighthearted safety speech before each match, including general rules, chrono checks, and rules for the specific field and game type. The only safety concern I saw was that the netting near the staging area was in need of minor repair because there were holes a ball could come through. Overall the safety was as good or better than any other field around.

Fields = 25 of 25pts
The ghost town is as good as it looks. Different style of play in hallways and stairs on two floors, shooting through windows and doors and trying to "clear" hallways.
They play many different game types on this field. I could play all day on this field and not get bored.

Their speedball field is good. Set up well in grass field but the bunkers are all large wire spools which is a little odd because they are round. Not for those who want a real airball field, but it's summer play that indoors in the winter.

Their barrell field is good with pleanty of cover behind barrell bunkers mostly an elimination field. Good size for up to forty players.

There is a good attack and defend field with a large one and a half story fort. The attacking team has pleanty of cover behind sections of fence and wood bunkers. Also good for a large group.

The only heavily wooded field they have is large with some raised structures in the middle and a fort on each end. Good field for capture the flag with a large group.

I saw two other fields I did not play on. One is next to the ghost town and is basically a cleared out woods with plywood bunkers. They use this as part of ghost town for large attack and defend games. The other one was next to the barrell field and looked like another attack and defend corse with wood bunkers an a good single story fort on one end.

Bottom line is they have the best variety of fields I've seen and they are all well built up and cleared of debris, rocks, and stumps. Not like some fields where they just rope of a section of woods and put a team at each end.

Pricing = 6 of 15 pts
$30 is a little higher than other fields for self equipt entrance and air but well worth it for the fields they have.
Rentals and paint are expensive!!!!! Check prices on the web if your going to rent or buy paint so you're not surprised. Best thing is to come self equipt and bring your own paint. (no monster ball, no red fill, no bucket ball)

Refs/Staff = 6 of 10 pts.
Refs were good although they seemed short handed the begining of the day. They were however older more experienced than at other fields.

Staging area = 6 of 10pts.
Pleanty of room and pleanty of shade. The tables were a bit beat up but were close to the fields and to parking. Overall less quality than other fields but more function.

Pro Shop/services = 2 of 5 pts.
Their shop is a little sad, not much there and not well cared for. I didn't have anything fixed so I can't comment on their mechanics. Their air system was poor. The CO2 fills were not being weighed so were not getting full. Maybe 2/3 of a tank, I could tell by the number of shots my friend was getting per tank. Their HPA was only filling tanks to about 3000psi sometimes less. I bought a 4500psi tank because I wanted more air, only getting 3000 sucked! I'm hoping this problem will be remedied by the time I go back so I can adjust this below average rating.

Rules = 4 of 5pts.
All standard rules of blind fire and surrender apply here and are enforced. The fields lend themselves to a variety of different games for which the rules change for every one. The specific game rules are explained well and are custom fit to each field to work the best. They really do a good job of making rules to fit each senario that keep the games moving and exiting.

Food = 4 of 5pts.
There is a burger stand w/ dogs, fries, chicken fingers, burgers and drinks. Prices are reasonable and food is good. Burgers and dogs are common at fields but they had a little more and the quality was better than most.

Of 100 points this field gets 68 which gives the field a rating of 7, But, I'm giving an extra point for the ghost town because it is by far the best individual field I have ever played on and every baller should play it once.

Thanks for reading my lengthy reviews. I hope they help, as others have helped me. Please check out my other reviews of New England paintball parks.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 28th, 2009 at 1:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

pbdude164 Monday, February 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 2nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none. this was the first place i went to, but i have played in my backyard alot with other people.
Directions
to the Field:
no clue cuz i dont drive!!!!
Review: first off all i dont have anywhere else to compare, but i thought this was a great field

Saftey: 7
The refs were on every body that dident have barrel covers on, but i did see a few cases where someone took off the barrel bag, aimed at the ground and fired a few times. I dont know what he was doing that for, maybe cleening out the barrel, but the refs dident do anything about that. The refs were also very good with making everyone keep the masks on while in the field.

Prices: 6
The prices are about the same as all the othher paintball fields. 65 a case, 30 for entrence and all day air for BYOP and u gotta gave ur own equiptment to BYOP. 45 bucks for equiptment and 500 paintballs and air. i got my own equiptment so i got in for 30. prices are high though if you rent.


Staff: 9
They were great and helpfull. not much to say because like i said above, i havent gone anywhere elseto compare it to.

Fields: 10
AWESOME!! Ghost town alone will gave u coming back for more. I have heard they have 9 fields. All of which are woodsball / sceniero fields.

All in all, 9 out of 10. would b a 10 if the saftey was better.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

TerranAxe Saturday, August 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have mostly played woodsball.
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest is the best source for directions.
Review: I was at the field today for my brother's bachelor party, and a great time was had by all.

Safety: We were all given a safety course by the ref we had for the day, he went over all the rules for both on the field and off the field. Throughout the day for during the down time between games, and the delay due to an injury from someone in our group getting a little overzealous and jumping around in the woods, refs were constantly reminding people of the barrel bags and masks.

Prices: While the prices can be a little steep, it does come with a lifetime warranty provided by the location.

Fields: The fields were great, the big hit for the day was getting into the Ghost Town field with our group.

Staff/Refs: The employees at the field were all very kind and helpful, only really getting on the case of people who were blatantly and constantly breaking rules.

The best part of this experience was the ref was more than willing to be truly friendly with the group, and got in with our joking around and didn't try to overly distance himself as such we found it really easy to communicate with him if an issue did arise.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gary12445 Monday, August 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Canobie Paintball (Better)
Review: I don't know what happened to this place because it is not the same place I played at in the late 90's. The actual fields you play on are spectacular. They have tons of goodies, lots of eye candy and great field layouts.

However, this is the most unsafe field I have ever been to. I mean it is a field closing law suit just waiting to happen. When I showed up with my friend, we got no rules briefing at all!....No rules briefing. Then we cronied our guns with the ref to under 280 fps at the beginning of the day, but that was that. They don't croni again unless they suspect something, and I know a lot of gun owners were shooting hot without penalty. What keeps someone from turning their gun up when the ref isn't looking? It's called nothing. Also, I saw an alarming number of guns in the staging area with no barrell bags and I saw people lifting their masks before they exited a playing field. Yes, refs did moniter this, but I think they should have been more aggressive because it happened way too often.

My brother who has never played paintball showed up at noon and he got no rules briefing either? I guess we were supposed to ask, but I think that is too lax. Then at the end of the day, there was a line of 25 or so airsoft players at the cronigraph, most of whom had no barrell plugs on their rifles, just standing there with unmasked players all around.

The icing on the cake was when I finaly came home and my Mom told me she got shot at the field after dropping my brother off. She came down to the staging area to say hello for a couple of minutes. She told me that when we left her to go play in the field, "ghost town", she started walking to the car and felt a sharp sting on her leg. She got shot! She turned around and saw some kids at a picnic table laughing and looking at her. She told a ref what happened, pointing out the kids and he merely stated that they try to control the barrell plugs, but some infractions slip through.

Great, so my Mom got shot at this place, without even playing and without a mask and no one gets any type of discipline. Class act P&L, you won't see me again.

I give it a 4 because while the fields are a 9, the safety is horrendous and safety is everything. They also play most games as "regeneration", which I think is a conspiracy to cause more shooting and subsequent paintball sales for P&L.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Ironhorse_Ryda Sunday, June 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The first woodsball field that I really been to. Boston Paintball (Its cool for an indoor field)
Review: This field is truly a sick woodsball field. Ghosttown alone will have you coming back for more.

Safety: When I got there I was a little skeptical at first cause I didn't see them asking anyone about chronoing. But as you go along in the games you see the refs with the portable chrono machines. They were on top of people that were shooting hot making them sit out if caught. The refs were serious about safety and were good calling people out

Paint/ Rentals: I had my own equipment and brought my own people but all the people that I went with rented. They didn't have a $30 rental package like the web site said but who really can survive off 200 shots anyway. The $65 package seemed to be the best for the people I was with they only ended up using only about half of the 1000 shots that they had.

Games: The games were pretty good too. They weren't too long and most were some sort of respawn to help keep people in the game.

Food: as food is concerned they had a little shack to provide mini snacks and drinks but I wasn't really looking to eat

All in all they get a 9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

T.Ides Thursday, June 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None yet.
Directions
to the Field:
They are located on the website, or better yet just use googlemaps or mapquest.
Review: Being the first and only field I have ever played at, I can't really compare to other fields. However, I can give a great review for anyone who is looking to go to a great place for paintball.

PnL is basically a woodsballer's paradise. The fields are located in the woods (redundent :D) and feature an assortment of different types. There are the simple two sided fields with barrels, spools, and tepees dotted across, and then there are the two main attractions: Bordertown and of course Ghost Town.

Before I get into those two, one thing I really like about the other fields is that they are very balanced in layout. The two sides each have their own advantages and teams must rely on skill to win. This makes for very intense games when each side is trying to employ their own strategy.

Now for the Towns. Bordertown, not really mentioned much but I think is just as good as Ghost Town if not better, is in the back woods of the field. It is played on one gametype, and that is Sabotage, or attack and defend or bomb throw, etc. One team must find a way to run through the other's fire to throw the bomb into the base. This mode is very challenging for the offense as well as the defense. Recently, the referees have begun to employ "snipers" or "scouts" to go outside the fort on defense (all defenders must remain inside the fort) to go out. If you get to go out, its one of the best experiances you can have there, trying to fight off the entire offense or to flank them.

Ghost Town is its own field all together. A two-story powerhouse, it is the site of hectic close-quarters combat as well as long range engagements. The town also makes use of the tepee field directly behind it to create a larger zone. Team Deathmatches and Attack and Defend variants are played here, as well as a newer type where the teams must raise flags up to win.

Food is great and made to order. Entry price is $30 (Which implies you BYOP and are Self Equipped). This includes ALL Day Air AND CO2 refills. This is a really great deal for self-equipped players not looking to break the bank. Rental prices are about the same as any other field in the area.

As a final comment, I would like to discuss the referees. The referees are good there and are very friendly. They are always helping people out and are excellent with new people to the sport. If you are looking to go somewhere for your first time, look no further. There are issues where there are not enough referees for individual paintchecks when you need them, but most of the time they are there and will make the call. Recently, there are 2-4 referees out on the field to call, so these issues have gone away.

In Conclusion, PnL is a great place to play. My only qualm is that the speedball field is not open to the walk-ons (i think, i never get to play).

So if you sat through this review and read the whole thing, I hope that you will go out and play at PnL. It is really a great place and it is a lot of fun. Look for me in a yellow dye jersey, empire pants, and an A5 on Sundays.
Last edited on Thursday, July 10th, 2008 at 8:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ricco714 Monday, March 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camp paintball, Boston Paintball, Adventure games(N.H.)
Directions
to the Field:
There is no real "rotory". You need to stay left after the town sq. Registration in the buildings right off road....field is out back down the road.
Review: Really cool ghost town, several barrel type fields, teepee field and smaller fort.
Price is high at $30.00 . Thats w/ your own equp. It does include all day air...but thats still pricey.
The staff is good but can be inconsistent. Sometimes you get a 15 year old and sometimes an adult. The staff as a whole are all good. Ive mostley played this winter, so maybe this changes as the crowds get bigger.

Pace is good ...they keep it moving along. They play alot of double hit or recycle games. If you dont like to sit and wait..you will love this. I find I use alot more paint than some other places I play.

No food on site..but a pizza place delivers.

If you like close combat and different feild types..this is for you. If you are on a budget....probably not. I give it an 8.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Yuppers913 Saturday, October 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camp Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Can be a bit complicated. Check their website or use mapquest. Bsicly once you are on rout 28, you need to look for a small stripmall with an autobody shop, and their pro-shop, adjacent to a driving range.
Review: FIELDS:
The ghost town is excellent. It is very large, has a bajillion rooms and corners on two levels... it is just really really cool. If this thing didn't meet your expectations, i don't know what will. The woodsball fields we played on were also reasonably well laid out. They ARE narrow, but seem to have a decent settup with thier bunkers. Some bunkers could use some patchwork, but overall its a pretty standard woodsball experience...

There were NO airball, NO barrels, NO tires or any other speedball-type fields being used when i was there. This is a bit of a letdown, but there was still plenty of room to play. All Field boundaries were well marked.

STAFF: Excellent, excellent, excellent... as good as they come. I was in a private group, and our ref was very very good. Responded to paintchecks, explained rules very clearly, related well to everybody. Every staff memeber i talked to was great.

SAFETY: Seemed VERY relaxed for my tastes... I was surprised. Netting next to staging area is low, and does have some holes. I spotted MANY people without barrel-bags on their markers walking around the staging area. People removing masks before completely exiting the field. I was very surprised. They did crono everyone though, which is good.

PRICES:
Prices were high. 30 dollars to get in is a killer, especially if you are like me and don't need all day air.Their store sold paint at decent prices, which you can use if you bring your own equipment. If you are renting, the field paint will kill you. It is over 30 dollars for a bag...
If you must rent, be sure to go for the 1000 round package. Everyone in our group who went with 500 ran out, and was shocked to find out that more paint was so expensive.

OTHER:
The multiple respawn rules they play are stupid. They claim it is so you can have more fun and stay in the game instead of having to go sit out for 15 min. This may be true, but it also conveniently means that you shoot more paint. Also, whats the fun in the game if shooting someone does basicly nothing?

OVERALL:
This was a nice field with a lot going for it. However, i paid almost twice what i would to play at camp, the safety standards at this field made me very nervous, and the fields really were not that great except for the town. I would go back again, but probably just to play the town, and because the people working at this field are top notch.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

a1exweibl Tuesday, October 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: September 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Raynham paintball, Boston paintball, Taunton PnL
Review: Personally, PnL is my favorite field I have ever played at. They have Ghost Town which is amazing and a rush when you start the game and have people shooting through windows at you. Than I would say when they had there speedball field that was fun too. They are very big and have a lot of unique fields. There staff is nice down to earth willing to give you deals if you talk it over with them. Refs are very good and catch just about every hit or person doing something wrong if there is one. Fill station is quick and you can stand in line for awhile and still catch the next match.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media