paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / SplatBrothers Paintball Field / SplatBrothers Paintball Field / SplatBrothers Paintball Field / SplatBrothers Paintball Field

SplatBrothers Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
39Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 804-452-2566
Address: 13908 James River Drive
Hopewell, Virginia 23860
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
shockerairmail Sunday, November 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Big Pearl, Splatter Mt, Red River
Directions
to the Field:
It wasn't very easy to find, small sign, the the people were nice when I called.
Review: OK I played in the MXS scenario Village of the Damned. I don't have time to write everything down in detail, but let me give a brief description of my experience.

-The first night we were kept up until 2am with people swearing, drinking alcohol and blowing paintball through there barrels into our tent. One of the people drinking was an under aged ref! Saturday when we started playing there was not enough refs and a lot of people were whipping paint. Keep in mind there was 400 people at this event, but they still did a very poor job with the refs they had. I didn't see anyone's volocity checked on Saturday. I also noticed a lot of refs just standing around away from the action. On Sunday it got a lot better, there were more refs on the field, I assume bc enough people complained.

-They do not play on 92 acres, that's a flat out lie. The park is just not as big as advertized. They have maybe 20 acres that we played on. There speedball was shut down, so that might at another 4-5 acres.

+The woodsball field they have is not bad. They have lots of buildings & some trenches. Parts of the woods in the back need more barricades, but overal it was a pretty good field.

+Chronograph area was really nice. They have live 5 chrono's set up with netting all around and targets to shoot at. Very nice.

-Some of the local guys definatly abused the rules. One of them shot his friends car up in the middle of the tents. Nothing happened to him, someone from Splat Bros should have been policing the tents, then that wouldn't have happened.

-The night paintball looked cool, but it sucked. I did not play in the night bc w/o night vision you were just a walking target. Also I observed people clearly cheating by whipping paint and bounce balling other players.

-The paint was $80 per case, $50 entry fee. That's a little high for me.

+There was some awesome vehicles there. Teams come from all over the place to play at this event, that was pretty cool meeting people from Florida that came up.

-My team was on the humans side, we dominated the field both days. On several occations we took the other teams base. There were several times when the refs should have called for a HOT insert. Instead they let the aliens insert right behind some of our players, and I do mean right behind.

+I liked how they reinserted people every 15 minutes. I also liked that it was a continuous game. That made the field seem a little less jammed with people.

+It was a very target rich environment. There were all kinds of people that had no idea what they were doing.

+Most of the people were very honest, but people were more honest when there was a ref in the vacinity.

+&-I also liked the idea of the medics, but some people abused it. They'd get shot yell for a medic then keep playing once nobody was paying attention to them. I know bc I shot several of them that did that.

-There was some guy nick named "Trips" at the event. He talked like he was a paintball icon, but nobody ever heard of him. On Sunday when we were all waiting to hear who won he gave us a speech about how "Paintball should be fun", it sucked!

+The food was really good and reasonably priced considering it was right at the field.

=I would assume that for a normal event things are not so crazy, but I would not go back to an MXS event at this field. Also if you do go, get a hotel, unless you like staying up all night drinking.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

ambulance Friday, August 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
friends
Directions
to the Field:
its in prince george
Review: this is the best field in the Mid Atlantic. it has good players, good games, good refs. and even good food. MXS holds games here including the VOTD game this october. no other field even compares to SplatBros because of how great it is. it is a 92 Acre field w/ towers, ravines, and hills everywhere u look. COME AND PLAY TODAY!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

metalbassist66 Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: January 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Training Day paintball- A nice field with nice owners and cheap prices!
Directions
to the Field:
Its in prince george county
Review: This is my favorite paintball field of all time! First off they have 92 acres of playing field with a wide variety of fields! The best field in my opinion is trenches because they have a 3 story tour in the middle with bridges connecting to other towers! The owner there Don is a very nice guy and happens to be my neighbor. The refs there are very nice and do a great job! Also they have alot of fun scenario games! The prices are also very reasonable! If you want to go to a paintball field that is great go here!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nkpgballer15 Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
New Kent Paintball Games- Best field around and will blow any field out of the water.
Pbauthority-O.K I'm not really into speeball so that doesnt help and their woods field isnt that great.
Fox Paintball- O.K Their woods field was more directed towards speedball in the woods kind of thing.
Savage- Flat out sucks.
Review: I have gone to splatbrothers a couple of times now and i have mixed feelings for it.

Pros. Mr don and Ron are definetly really nice. The staff their was awsome as well. The refs were on top of everything and i have to say they did an awsome job. Price range was pretty good too. Overall management gets an A.

Cons. I'm used to playing at Newkent so at first the fields were a little hard to figure out which is not their fualt but my own. I liked the speed ravine field and the village but they both seemed to be a just throw whatever anywhere kind of field. Lets face it putting logs on top of each other doesnt take the greatest mind in the world. The tower of power field is pretty much an impenetrable fortress. Once the game starts its a pure rush to the tower which is fine, but the team that gets in it pretty much owns the field. Now I'm sure im going to get some People that say thats bs and yes you can take it but I would actually like to see it happen. The towers themselves and the walkway I must say are impressive. But the rest of the area is horrible. There is a jeep and a old truck that provides cover and then there are the trenches which have no drainage system what so ever. The trenches are not set up for tactical use. The long trench that runs underneath the tower has no cut outs to stop and take cover or anything. Overall it was not well thought out in my opinion.

Overall I will return to this field. The staff their is probably one of the best i have ever seen. Keep up the good work guys.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spudcrazy Thursday, April 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogback Mountain
SkylinePaintball
AnneArundel Paintball Park (booooooooo!!!!)
Review: What can I say? Wow!!! I played this field for the first time at the MXS sponsored Narnia 26 hour Scenario game. What a complete blast. First off, this place is huge. It has tons of outstanding and challenging fields, along with dedicated speedball fields. This place looks like it was ENGINEERed for paintballers. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous and the refs were very aware of their surroundings and play. If anyone has this field as their home field, I'm jealous. I would travel the two hours to play this field as a walk-on. It's just that good.

Since it was a scenario game, I'm not sure how it would regularly be set up, but they seem to have more than ample parking. The terrain has both hills and flats with man-made and natural obstacles scattered all over the place. I simply can't rave about it enough. Go there and find out for yourself. I would find it hard to top this field. I give it a 10+.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bunnymuncher Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Authority - in VA. Everything there is overpriced and the owners don't appreciate those who aren't frequent visitors. Known to under fill new customers.

Rockwood Paintball - once again, pretty far away, but in VA. Very, very small. However, this allows the owners to get closer to the players. Kind people and very cheap.
Review: Safety: Med-High. I say this only because when you're in a sport in which your objective is to shoot the other team, there are gonna be some risks involved. Splat brothers minimizes these risks. Even the "barbed wire" is made of hard leather. You really don't have anything to worry about here.

Fields: GREAT. If you're looking for great woods ball and superb speed ball, this is the place. The new "Trenches" field has two 3-story towers and one 5-story tower over a huge maze of trenches. If you're in the area, you have to come here, even if trenches is all you play. I can't tell you how much fun that field is.

Prices: Good. I think it's like 15 bucks for a day pass, and their paint is cheap. Most of the time refills are free! :) The rental guns are all 98c's and you can add a flatline for 10 bucks.

Staff: Mostly good. You can't expect everybody to be perfect, but most of the people are nice folks willing to help.

Refs: One or two of these guys are like 13, but they still get the job done. Just don't shoot 'em, okay?

Players: Hard to say. There are a LOT of them. Last time I went the local ROTC was there for practice (Hooah) and I've never met anyone there who holds a grudge.

Conclusion: Awesome. You've gotta come here at least once and when you do, you'll want to come back. Best field I've played. Period.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Robert2958 Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Usually Play In NC, Action Tagg In Gardner,N.C. Which recently Closed,Have Also played at Gotcha and Camp Splat
Review: I recently played at Splat Brothers in Hopewell , V.A. and had a good experience they have several different fields which are mostly woods ball scenario type play , I'm from NC and drove 106 miles to get there and it was worth the drive..I usually play in Gardner,NC at action tagg paintball but the field recently closed ...I'm into woods ball and splat Brothers Have the best setup I've Played at ,they have self serve fill stations which work fine and a good variety of fields, this was my second time playing there and I plan on going back ................
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Firewolf117 Wednesday, September 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Swamp (great scenario field, not so good in the woods area....more directed towards speedball.)
Review: Alright, I have to say, all around, this is the best field I've probably ever seen. All around the fields were excellent and well laid out, from what I got to play (I will explain this later) I had an increadible time. I was attending their Killzone tournament which, to me was cool enough, but to make it even better they actually worked out scenarios to match the game perfectly, it was increadible. I, unfortunately, only made it through the first round, which I did realatively good on, with 5 outs and holding the top of a tower for 10+ minutes by myself, I was proud. But, needless to say, Come the 2nd round, I fell, breaking my femar, and ended up in the emergency room, and after that the hospital for the next 3 days. Which, in itself sucked, but the Splat Brother's field amazed me by having not only just the owner show up to visit me, but a few of the players stopped by to check in on me to make sure I was doing okay. Even more so, on the website there was advertised free Camping, which apparently wasn't supposed to be there, but, I called the day of the "camping" and talked to ron, who offered to leave the gate unlocked for us to come in, although late (Like 2am) but, we showed up, the gate was unlocked, and he allowed us to spend the night on the field alone, which was awesome. As soon as myself and my friend started gearing up the following morning, we were instantly made to feel like friends, everyone was really nice, no one had a bad attitude or was at all acting "Over" you, everyone was really polite and nice. The ref's were really cool, and all of them were fair. The fields are really well laid out, and I enjoyed playing for what little time I got, I played on the trench field , which they had stayed at the field untill 9:30 the following night to set up one of the catwalks as well as a 2nd tower, so not only is there one massive tower in the middle, only accessable by one straight trench that runs through mid-field, but there's one tower that off-shoots to the left, and soon-to-be another shooting off the right of the main tower, it's proveing to be an absolutely increadible experence. Overall this field gets a 10 out of 10, it was awesome, the staff was really nice, really polite, and when I broke my femar, and ended up in surgery, most of them were there to support me, which I'm extremely thankful for. Splatbrothers will be a field I will be attending much more often.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snake6 Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBA
Splatbrothers Powhatan
Review: I have played at this field several times the setup of the fields are nice, but the staging area, and field house are both lacking, the staging area is really dirty and muddy, and the Field House and fill stations are crude at best. But the quality of play overshadows this...

The Price of the field was reasonable and good for the amount of play, but the paint stunk. Twice when I went the only paint they had was spank and I blew up more balls than I can count.

The employees were very helpful, and the refs were right in the thick of it giving paint checks to whoever asked. The quality of the people was alot better than PBA by far this was well worth the extra gas...
Last edited on Wednesday, August 10th, 2005 at 10:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmm110479 Saturday, June 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in the area-I70,xtreme and midwest paintball all in ohio
Review: i came to richmond from Dayton,Oh. in november for a weekend and just had to play paintball.the girl i was with and her friend recommended splat bros.im glad they did cuz that is STILL the best field ive been to so far! Don was extremely nice and helpful and the fields were great.The best was the house game..theres nothing like that in Dayton.the speedball course is a good size and theres plenty of other games to play in the woods.if i was in this area again id definately stop back
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media