paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / SplatBrothers Paintball Field / SplatBrothers Paintball Field / SplatBrothers Paintball Field / SplatBrothers Paintball Field

SplatBrothers Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
39Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 804-452-2566
Address: 13908 James River Drive
Hopewell, Virginia 23860
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Actionhero Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Town - Awesome staff, great field, played tons of games each time I went.
PBA - sucks.... don't bother
Swamp - good... excellent reffing, not enough play
Lake paintball - good, huge field
Master blasters - don't bother
Painted Forest - Nice - friendly staff
Pev's - had a blast on the speed field, but expensive
thats about it for virginia
Review: I played there a few times at the end of summer, really can't say I had a very good time. Only played about five or six games kids that work there argued with each other. And the head reff didn't seem to head anything. it seemed like the kids yes I mean kids who reffed were more busy talkin to each other than watchin the game. It was unbelievable how many people wiped then when the refs friends started losing they - the refs- started telling their friends were everyone was. I and my buddies decided not to go back.

Ended up going back for a big game at Christmas and everything changed. Tons of refs, even had someone to help with air fills. we were happy with the change. went a few weeks ago and i think we Played more than 20 games! The refs were great, the did paint checks, occasionally encouraged some of the very young players, and were very enthusiastic. The whole fild had a different attitide. The head ref, i think was the blonde that was there. First we thought she would be a pushover, and started to tease her, but she knows her crap and was right in the middle of the paintchecks, and games the whole day. She got us all psyched and read y to play The other three refs were quick and watching constantly calling out people who were hit. They were young, but right on top of things. I trusted there judgements Nothing like the previous experiences .at the end of the day two of my buds fell asleep in the car . With the new refs I rate the field a 10 But if they leave id have to say a 2
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ButtScab Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatbrothers Powhatan
Review: The fields are great. The only one that I didn't care for was Hamburger Hill. The boundaries are not marked. The refs tell everyone where the boundaries are but don't adhere to what they have told everyone. Other then that the fields kick butt. The reason I don't give the field a 10 is because some of the tournament players are shooting hot guns. One of my friends was shot thru his shirt, tearing a hole thru it. When the refs were told of this no recourse was taken. The field should use hand held cronos. The guys who run the place are great and very help full. I live in Powhatan and drive over an hour to go to this field. PBA has a field in Powhatan, but I will not play there due to the owner(Ray). He has tried to screw one of my employees who bought a gun there. The gun was defective and Ray didn't want to repair it. It then tried to repair it but was unable to fix it. Ray then told my employee that this was the last time that he could trade in a gun to get another. What happened to life time warranty. Please play at Splatbrothers. PBA has no respect for anyone. Splatbrothers kicks butt. Waste a little more gas and have more fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thepenguin Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ats, paintball-ally RIP, Delmarva paintball, robin hood
Review: the feild is good, huge body of land and laid out well. the house is so much fun the only bad thing is if your one of the runners on the outside. didn't get enough time on the speedball feilds to say anything about them. the other feilds are good the village is good along with hamburger hill is decent. I would like to see more games played on the spindle feild or even the groups mergered more often.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintwhacker Sunday, November 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This was my second trip to Splatbrothers Paintball. Went about 4 months ago for a regular game day and yesterday for the 12 hour scenerio game. Ron and Don are great. Very safety conscious. Being an older player (31 Years old), it was good to see someone old school running the place. Well organized, well stocked and very friendly. Me and my buddys drove in from VA beach area (just over an hour) and it was well worth the trip. Twice Don left the field to go to their different store to pick up parts, supplies, whatever to accomodate the players. Plenty of refs. Most of them were teens, but very professional. They wore ref jerseys and always stayed neutral. The fields are cool. Everything from spools and airfields to a rivine, house, cheeseburger hill (very unique!) and they had blueprints in the field office for the fields that are being worked on. They have acouple of big events up coming and I suggest if you want to try something different and interesting, you need to try Splatbrothers.
Prices are good, field price includes all day air.
They are very receptive to comments. We had gotten a little lost using the directions on their website the first visit. Within a week, the website had better, clearer directions. Thanks!
Only complaint was the marking of teams. The typical blue and red plastic streaming tape was put on the arms. It was hard to identify guy/bad guys and some people were removing them or they were getting lost. I mentioned to Ron about puting them on the masks, one on each side to clearly id people. Hes going to change it for the next time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mustang_93 Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Charleston
Review: Overall, I think that they've got several great fields there and Ron and his staff have been very helpful, but they are slow getting started with the first game and the turn around between games gets a little long sometimes. One thing that I do like is that they let games go for a while and don't really time them.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

barenkedlizard Sunday, September 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Master blasters in Chesapeake, Hotshots in Newport news. these two fields don't come close in any aspect.
Review: Ok a few of my friends and myself decided to take a trip up to play at splat brothers. This was a 1 1/2 hour trip, but well worth the trip down. The staff was great , friendly and very helpful. My marker stopped working and Ron the head of the field helped me figure out what was wrong and got me back in the action only missing one round of action. they were very safety conscious, goggles were required anytime you stepped into a screened off area. The did not allow dry firing in the staging are and provided a shaded area ro rest and prep yourself for next round. the fields were great a nice spool field and then you got the village and defend the house (both in the woods) they played games between both and we had a huge area to play in it was lots of fun! They also had plenty of water and other drinks on hand and reminded us to stay hydrated. I forgot to charge my marker the night before, so it went dead on me during the day and once again Ron was more then happy to help out he let me plug it in to charge it so I could finish out the day! I would recommend this field to the beginner and the seasoned pro.
Last edited on Sunday, September 5th, 2004 at 1:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tammy33 Tuesday, August 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: OK...I am a brand new paintball player. Im also a female! I was very happy with my experience at Hopewell. The games seemed well organized and the refs were very friendly and helpful. Im sure I asked a lot of stupid questions, but I was treated with respect, and I learned a lot too! I liked The Spools the best. Safety was important, and the refs made sure people, once hit, were allowed off the field without being zipped up by someone. I will definately go back.....but next time I will bring food and drinks in a cooler.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nectias Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Total Eclipse Paintball, and also TMX Paintball. Both of these fields were much more organized and better in just about evey way.
Review: I went to this field to play in a paintball tournament and was very disappointed by the field. The major complains i have were the smaller then average field size, not to mention the openess of the field. There were few bunkers on each side of the field far to little in my opinion for the event. Aside from the field the refs that were on staff made bad calls all day long. Through most of the day i overheard just about evey player on the field compalaining about these refs. Then the last problem i had was the fact that the chron was off by about 10 fps this was verified by the other 2 field owners that were at the event.

All in all i hope veery much that this was an isolated insident with the problems we had.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

no.p.o.w.s Monday, March 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This place is awsome! i loved it . the refs were great and i had a blast. shur its in the middle of nowhere but its worth it! when i lost some screws for my gun, one of the owners went and broght me the screws i needed and then just gave them to me. the people there are nice and they are all about safety but at the same time they just want you to hang out and have a great time.
Last edited on Monday, March 1st, 2004 at 7:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBHunter Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Authority
Review: Splat Brothers is by far the best field in the area. Not only is it a great field but everyone down there is really nice and helpful. I recently bought a '03 Vert Cocker and accessories, which by the way is a real KICK ASS gun, from Don(Owner) and he even stayed after hours to help set it up. Talk about customer service!!! The field has got great places to play. Speedball fields, air fields, and my favorite the House Game. If you live in Virginia and havent played at Splat Brother's you are really missing out. It is definately worth the drive to have the field set up and the atmosphere that is provided at Splat Brother's!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media