paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Col. Pepper's Paintball Field / Col. Pepper's Paintball Field / Col. Pepper's Paintball Field / Col. Pepper's Paintball Field

Col. Pepper's Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
21Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 403-504-4505
Address: 5 mins. SW on Hwy #3
Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 7G7
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Lanky Frank Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball, Zero Hour "Junkyard", Hooded Soldier Ranch,
Review: I've known Cory for a while now. Here's my review:

Field:
-3 Courses
-Wooden "urban" style course, Lots of vertical cover, Messy, Even Sides
-Speedball Course: Very good, small but fun, very seldom actually put up
-Tire course, Requires lots of crouching and crawling, Very messy, Random weeds everywhere
-Proshop, has great selection of product, overpriced, Always pushes a sale

He always is nice at first and tries to act like he knows everything. Actually a really crap field, but in the middle of the prarie its the best course around. 3/5
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Meier Sunday, May 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
i dont really know.
Directions
to the Field:
go down highway 3 just passed the big-ass sign that says col. peppers.
Review: I went there for the 1st time today. it was fun, cept he didn't have an airball field set up. I didnt have any problems. there was only 1 ref today,and the owner left us alone for most of the day., but i think that was cuz he was short-staffed and in our group of 17 people onlly 1 person was a newbie, and he had the ref help us. overall i would give it a 9/10 for this day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Converse89 Sunday, September 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Some of the other fields i've played at include:

- ENR (Outdoor Woodsball place)
- LMS (Owned by Mick Burgess, GREAT PLACE)
- Rampage Outdoor
- Rampage City
Review: Pro's---
* Fills HPA
* Good for new guys
* Close to Medicine Hat
* Corey is knolegable with open bolt blow back markers
* Decent selection of paint for ***OFF FIELD*** use
* Reffing is alright, can't complain.

Cons---
* Doesn't fill full 4500 fills
* Does hot fills (Fills to 4500 and lets it cool, but doesn't top it off, you end up with 3800 PSI)
* Has troubles fixing higher end markers
* Junkyard field is DANGEROUS, there is broken glass and steel rods in the oddest places.
* "Speedball" field consists of gravel, with a few blow up bunkers, and *WOODEN* spools randomly placed among the fields boundries.
* Pro shop is slightly overpriced
* HPA fills are $5 for a 4500 fill, but you normally only get 3800, and $4 for a 3000 fill, but you normally only get 2800 or so if you're lucky.
* Paint prices - Charges 0.08/ball, NOT including tax, he then adds tax onto it. Also, the paint he sells there is fairly decentley priced, with the exception that he doesn't allow it on the field.
* WoW (Walk on Wednesdays), there are players, willing to drop $40-80 + field fee to play, and if there aren't more then 6-8 players, he cancels.


Those are some of the pros and cons of the field, in conclusion, I think that if he dropped the prices of paint, he could make some serious money. Think about it, the majority of speedballers will shoot roughly a case per practise, and he sells by 0.08/ball, but what player is going to play that price to shoot so much paint, when they could go to a different field and get better prices, I think he could drop the prices of the paint to about 0.05, or even 0.04 per ball. I know for a FACT that with just that slight decrease in paint price, alot more of the players I know would play there. Also, I think he could look into a 4500 compressor which would help with the not so great fills he currentley offers.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

mmmmmSteak Sunday, August 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Eagles nest ranch - great bush ball place to go for cheap.
Operation paintball - complete crap
Rampage - another great bush ball place
Rampage city Calgary - Awsome place
Review: Col. Peppers is HORRIBLE.
-cory is not the smartest man,... i have seen him attempt to "tech" a shocker,... he failed horribly,... the only thing he knows how to tech are open bolt blowbacks,...
-he overcharges for everything. all the stuff that he sells at his "pro shop", if you can even call it a pro shop, is overpriced. his feild fees are overpriced, and he charges to much for paint,... the moron add gst onto the price for field fee and paint,... the only paintball place i have seen do that,...
-the setup is horrible. the speedball field has a gravel ground and its not all inflatable bunkers like a proper speedball field,... he has f***ing wooden spools on it too,...
-...and a bunch of pieces of plywood isnt a proper field!!!
-sometimes when we go out for walk on wednesday he will cancel it even if there are 5 or 6 people that want to pay him money to play,...
-if it wasnt for the fact that medicine hat is a crapy place for paintball i would NEVER go to this field, but i have to becuase its the only one around here,...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

SID67 Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball - see body for notes

I've also played at
Edmonton - Indoor: PAG Indoor, Evolution
Edmonton - Outdoor: PAG Outdoor, Quest for Adventure, Urban Paintball, Young Guns, TAG, Jazz Paintball
Review: 3 fields: town, speedball, junkyard. Town's good sized, good layout (even, but not 50/50 if you know what I mean). Speedball is 50/50 of course, kinda small but decent enough. Junkyard was clean every time I've been there.

I've been playing the last 4 years on fields built on naturally heavily wooded coulees, so coming down here was kind of a shock. Biggest things I miss: Hills and Trees! I know the fields are built on a flat piece of land, and that's no one's fault really, but heck, if you dig up some dirt, leave some trenches, have some hills, it *definitely* makes for a different game. **see Operation Paintball note at the end** TAG in Edmonton is literally built on a farm just like CP, but they've used hay, pallets, dug trenches (one field is all WWII trench-like), pilled dirt, and used spools to make it a very interesting place to play.

Service is pretty good, on par with the good service I'm used to. The refs are good and refreshing, though young (<18, which entices the memories of stupid kid refs who spend more time lipping off and not paying attention to what they're doing) they ref responsibly.

Paint is decent, Xball Bronze but lately they've been using some cheaper stuff I'm not too fond of.

My biggest (and only) peeve is pricing: cost is 8c/ball regardless if you own your own equipment or not. For owners, $15 field fee that sometimes includes 100 balls, and sometimes doesn't. Plus GST on top to boot. Nice thing though is free c02 (field tanks only) and nitro fills.

I'm used to $10 field fees, 5c/ball or $70/case on one field, and $15 field fee, and different paints for $50-95/case (Blaze to Marballizers, with a whole other brands in between), or $10 bucks to bring in your own paint on another field.

In short:

Pros:
Good service
Good reffing
Decent fields (given available terrain)

Cons:
Cost (field fee, paint, GST)
Wasted field potentail (just because it's flat doesn't mean you need to leave it that way!)

Score 8/10


**Note on Operation Paintball**
The only thing I really like about OP over CP is the field. A barn, mini tower, trench, tires and even some trees that I put to good use. Now if CP would do something like that and add it as a new field, it'd be pretty damn good. That being said, if OP decided to get some decent paint and some staff who knew what they're doing, I'd play there more often. (and there's nothing wrong with running it out of a bus, it's about *how* it's run out of the bus)
Last edited on Sunday, July 9th, 2006 at 5:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sly Independent Thursday, May 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
operation paintball.........wow this place is horrible
Directions
to the Field:
just out of medicine hat on the #3
Review: i liked the field. Cory is very helpful. the junkyard wasn't open when i went but the wood place was realoly fun. i didn't liek the speedball course as much, i didn't think it was big enough, but that could jsut be me personally. but ya the wood place had lots of cover and many different choices on stradegy. overall i would have to give the place a 9 out of 10 because i had alot of fun there, enjoyed the field.............OP sucks......it's run out of a bus and the guy who runs it is retarted. And for all those guys who don't liek the field go somewhere else. I mean i am still not considered an experienced paintballer but i still know when i'm having fun at it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crenchy Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Go out to seven persons CAN'T MISS the big sign
Review: First time playing at this field, and let me tell you, their is no way in hell im going back to Operation Paintball, for one thing Cory acctually helps you and stuff(like when i blew a ball in my hopper, he cleaned it for me and let me use a regular hopper) not like what's his name at OP he just sleeps in his bus. Safety is pretty good, the price is a little up their but it's not over kill, the rules are good, services are excellent, the pro shop is a little small but it works, the staff and refs are good too. This is by far the only place to play if you live in the Hat area and don't have a farm or something you can go onto and play!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball boi Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: The guy is great guy he gives me alot of deals on sweet equipment. i do agree the junkyard field is poorly made but the airball field is great. not well pegged in the ground but it can be fixed and it has the Hats only airball field. He gave me the best deal you can get on a Spyder electra. And you noobs probally dont know even how to slide into a bunker. So stop whining because before you can call yourself a paintballer you need some cuts on you body.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Godfree Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball, not as good
Last man Standing, LOL
Directions
to the Field:
From Medicine Hat, take highway 3 south to lethbridge. Look for the big Col Peppers sign on the side of a semi trailer on your left side.
Review: The Setup: Col Peppers is basically run out of the owners home, 20 min south of Medicine Hat, in his backyard. He has a shop set up in his garage, with a wide selection of markers, parts, masks, and other such wares, all at average prices. This is also where he gives briefings before heading out to the fields. The 3 fields all line up behind the house, where they also have set up large tables, a seating area, and a trailer with all the rentals, paint and tools needed for the day. The first ghost town field is just as it sounds, makeshift buildings, barriers, and fences, all wooden. In the middle they have an average airball field, 5-man setup I believe. Lastly the junkyard, full of cars, barrels, tires, and other such things.

The Pros:
With the 3 fields you have decent variety, and options to switch up game types to an extent. They don't change the fields too often, so after a while you can remember the full layout and use it to your advantage.
The pricing here is pretty good, much cheaper than most fields I have been to. The owner recognizes his regular customers, and usually offers deals to them, like paint or equipment discounts. Some have complained CP is too expensive, and they may be right, but if you spend some time and money here they will show their appreciation.
They go above and beyond to help out, even willing to deliver items when you can't make it out to pick it up.
They can order in pretty much any item you'd need for paintball, provided it's available.
Friendly, and knowledgable staff can help with repairs, upgrades, and tactics.


The Cons:
Even with 3 fields, the layout is rarely changed, and can become repetitive.
Maintenance on the fields seems to be lacking as of late. It's not odd to find garbage, broken barriers, or even glass all over the field. The junkyard field is in desperate need of cleaning, as there have been cases of cuts from broken glass, and minor injuries due to protruding rebar. I even came across a used jock strap laying in the field last time I was there.
No indoor or woodsball areas, which is really not the fault of the field or it's owners, but would be a nice addition.
Rental options are limited to one marker type. Again, variety would be a nice addition, if possible.

Conclusion:
While being the best paintball field in or around Medicine Hat, there are still a lot of problems that could be easily remedied. The fields are in desperate need of maintenance, that I know several people would volunteer to help with. When it comes down to it, paintball is limited in this area, so while Col Peppers is a good place to go, it could be much better if properly maintained and invested in. All in all Col Peppers is still THE place to play around Med Hat. 7/10

EDIT: Thankfully they've done a lot of maintenance this year from killing weeds, to cleaning up the fields. Great improvement. Up it to an 8/10

I've seen a lot of people talking trash about prices, and their ability to tech markers. If you have a high end marker, take it to a high end proshop, and if you expect them to fix your mistake for free, perhaps you had best relocate to a non-capitalist country. As for their prices, they are in line with every field I've been to across the provice. Considering they're willing to make deals with their regular customers, perhaps you should not expect a freebee when you show up once with 5 people. If you help him, he'll help you.
Last edited on Saturday, October 21st, 2006 at 2:30 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

teamransom-kris Saturday, July 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Well, I've played at Col. Peppers quite a few times. It was alright the first couple times i played.. But this field is not very safe, I went to a walk-on wednesday, and in the one field there are 2 cars, with broken glass everywhere by the car and one of the players that was there cut his hand on the glass... to me that's not very safe. There is hardly any netting around the staging area just some metal planks up to my knees and a big piece of wood spray painted "MASKS ON BEYOND THIS POINT" I remember playing there one day and people were running on the other side of the metal planks blocking the field off and shooting at people still playing through the cracks.. the owner didn't care nor did the refs.. So that is why I gave this field a 7/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media