paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / DMZ Paintball / SilverBack Sports Paintball Field / DMZ Paintball / SilverBack Sports Paintball Field / DMZ Paintball / SilverBack Sports Paintball Field / DMZ Paintball / SilverBack Sports Paintball Field

DMZ Paintball / SilverBack Sports Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
14Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 541-770-2620
Address: Gephart Rd
Central Point, Oregon 97501
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Charlie_R4 Wednesday, July 7th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 28th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Had not played in 10 years or more before trying DMZ.
Directions
to the Field:
Best way is to print out the map and directions from their website. It is accurate and simple.
Review: I hadn't played paintball in over 10 years and was a bit reticent to try it again. I talked with Paul and, after that discussion, decided to give it a try. The field was MUCH larger and far better maintained than anything I saw “back in the day” and the equipment I was rented was simply awesome. The “marker” was extremely accurate and was faster with the paint than I was able to pull the trigger. The masks were all in great shape, didn’t fog up, and were clear and clean. I was issued an air (vice CO2) tank as part of my rental. There was a tournament that day (5 man teams randomly chosen) and I was very pleasantly surprised when the team “captain” smiled and made me welcome even when he knew I was a raw newbie and likely to be a detriment. In short, EVERYONE from the owner/operator of the field through each and every player to the refs was an absolute pleasure to meet and by and large they are GOOD at this! Even more amazing, everyone was helpful and had a ready piece of advice (and once even a squeegee handy to help clean the old guy’s marker when I fired a paintball into my cover). If you are a great player or just a person looking for something truly fun to do on a weekend or two, don’t miss DMZ, the great folks that play there or the great staff. P.S. Can you tell I was impressed???
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mongolianbbq Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: February 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No other fields other than some random woodballs on mile marker 15
Directions
to the Field:
go to there websites
Review: Ive been going to DMZ field for about three years and every year they expand their woodball field. Iall rate their field in employees, rentals, woodball field, speedball field, game variants, and overall players

Employees: I know some of the employyees personaly and are a bunch of great guys. They are there to make sure you have a fun and SAFE time. They are very helpful especialy when it comes to new players and markers. They Cater to the youth as they have a good time and return as regulars. And they make good judgments on calls.

Rentals: The rentals include a tippman98 or a spyder (Cant remember what spyder marker) a Mask, a 12oz co2 tank, and a hopper....the basics for any new player for $15. They also rent out compresed air tanks (Cant remember how much they cost). Filed admission is $10 if you buy their paint at the their store or at the field, $20 if you use somebody elses paint, it includes free co2 or air. Paint is not marked up if you buy it on the field and they carry a wide variety from $40-$70.

Woodball field: The gem of DMZ field. It can fit and iam not kidding as i saw the sign up sheet around 100 paintballer comfertably that 50 on each team. They have two D-Day fileds witch iave played on one of them and its a whole diffrent experience. They are always expanding their field every year and it only gets better. Also they have diffrent elevations so its never flat and many bunkers to go around.

Speedball field: Speedball has been low this year as everybody is doing woods. Personaly iam a speedball player, but numbers have been low and they regularly dont set the field up unless requested and even then not many show up when its up. But its still a good field.

Game variants: The DMZ woodsball runs many types of games. From just plain elimentation, capture the flag, bomb, pilot down, D-Day, to tactical. Each one fun in its own way. Iall only talk about the D-Day variant. What they will do is split up the team so that it is one team has all the numbers. The team with less people either have to take the base or defend it. Now the lesser team usealy consists of veteran player but anybody can be on the team. Even though it might not sound fun but its one of my favorites.

Overall player: Now this varies from time to time, but must of the regular who show up every sunday are very helpfull to new player and are nice to everbody. there is still the occasionaly jerks who show up but that happens every where any ways.

Overal DMZ is the best place to play paintball in Southern Oregon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DonF Monday, February 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Others but they are gone now
Directions
to the Field:
Its easier to just look here for directions http://www.dmzpb.com/sbsmedfordfield.asp
Review: Super nice people running the field. Fair prices - after all they have to make a living or they wont be there for us to play. Close to the freeway and lots of field to play on.
The only complaint I have is they dont check for hot markers too often. Its more up to the player to check. There have been a few players with very high FPS.... no place is perfect though, I will be back soon!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

EVT Saturday, February 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just visiting family (From Washington)
Directions
to the Field:
See there web site, It just a couple minutes off I-5.
Review: I had a great time at this field. The people thet ran the place where very helpfull. They explained all the safety rules. Just like every field I have visited, you will get yelled at if you remove you mask or barrel cover in the incorrect area. They also had a surrender rules which is nice with families. I got there at 10am and we played till about 4pm. They have a few differant grades of paint, including cold weather balls. The paint prices are average. The field fee was like $10 and included co2 or air all day. This was a great deal. There seamed to be only three fields. There was a speedball field which we never used (I do not think anybody wanted to either). The is a d-day field with we used on the last game. It is a small field but was good for a 20-30 minute game. Finally was the woodsball field. This is where played all but one game. If you check thier website there is a printable map. NICE. The field was well layed out. There where trails, a few bunkers, and some heavier forest areas. The field was of good size and you where not able it see the other start point. This allows for good tactical play. They played quite a few different game types. There is no onsite shop. They did have tank o-rings. The only down side was the food. All they have is smack food. There is fast food really close, but who wants to leave. Maybe somebody could make a burger run? Portable bathroom was clean. All the players where friendly and willing to help you out if you needed it. Next time I make the 7 hour drive down there I will go again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bgollihar Friday, January 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mainly woods ball this is the first field I have played at
Review: This place was amazing. The owners were really knowledgble and friendly. The atmosphere was awesome perfect for anyone from experienced player to families looking to have fun. This time of year it is tough to find any fields still playing outdoors but they were open on all 3 fields 2 speedball and 1 huge woodsball they were really good about keeping everything safe and where quick to let know if you weren't being safe. The field was open from 9 to 4 which for winter hours is plenty of play they were only open on sunday which was kind of a drag but still you can get a lot of games in a full day. One thing that they could do to make this field a little better would be to have a better concession stand setup for all day players to have a decent lunch thta would be it other that that I had a Blast at this field and look forward to making the trip to medford at least twice a month to play here. it is well worth the 140mile drive
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Emufed Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatt Paintball - Which is closing :(
Ambush- Uhh yeah.....
Review: Prices- The prices for playing on the field seemed pretty reasonable. The fee is 15$ for all day air and play on both their speed-ball and woods-ball field. The only thing about the price that really kinda peeved me was that they charged you more if you brought your own paint. The rps paint they sell there can be a little spendy for just weekend play. I'd give the prices about 8/10

Field Setup- The field-setup is probably the best outside one your gonna get around Medford. They have one large area with two speed-ball courses and a large wooded area for woods-ball. The speed-ball fields are changed up every weekend so it never really gets old. The woods-ball field is very well setup with many bunkers to hide behind and brush to sneak around in. All in all I'd give the field setup a 10/10.

Management- Ok this is where I have some problems. I've noticed while I'm there it seems like the owners don't really do anything. I mean that they all go paintball while they leave their wife's behind in the trailor to kinda do everything. And maybe I'm wrong but they don't seem to know that much about markers. All they do is fill up air, and even then it's not always filled fully all the time. It's kinda lame when ur playin and u suddenly run out of air cause it wasn't filled up all the way. The main owner Paul seems like a pretty nice guy. At their shop he's very helpful and answers pretty much any question you ask him. There is another man is management that is pretty much the opposite. I won't mention his name here but he seems to only be in it for the money. I don't think I've ever seen him help anyone out with anything. It seems like he only cares about the money. I'd say I'd give management overall a 6/10

Overall this is probably one of the best fields ur gonna be able to play on around the valley. The field setup is awesome and the prices are pretty decent. The only slight problem is the management, but besides that this field is good.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdude49 Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 12th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush Indoor hard to compare
Review: SO every body knows I am reviewing the central point field not the Kerby field. This place is pretty awesome. I think that the speedball fields(though they change) are sweet. They are both fairly large when set up. The woodsball field is HUGE!!! i have played on it 7 or 8 times and i am not sure that I have seen it all. The staff are really cool. They are helpful and freindly. They make you feel like you are not just a source for cash but someone that they want to have fun. I think that is what sets this field apart from the rest. Recently I had a bad experience in a tournament there. It was a rookie but I fell like I was one of the few rookies there. But the field was still awesome that day and i didnt have any problems with the staff(except one obnoxious ref!!) my only real problems were with some other teams who had big egos(not the markers they were arrogant). I would definitly recocmend this field especially now that every day is BYOP(Bring your own paint) day they have decent prices on paint there as well. This is probably the no1 field in oregon for the versatility and the great customer service.
Keep up the good work guys!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ahipdaddy Monday, September 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is a home field advantage. Refs befriend players and give them calls. The management doesn't take the time to step away from the cash register to see there hurting new and true followers of this great sport. To many other legititamate tournaments.
Review: I am writing regarding the sponsored tournament they just had. It is sad when DMZ paintball who held the event can actually believe that this tournament will help new players grow in this sport. They would not listen to the many complaints that happened on this field. Referees were cleaning shots letting people over shoot and my least worry because it can be controlled was the inconsistent blind eye when it came to ramping.. There were many kids that played for the 1st time and were intentionally and freqently were over shot with no penalties. I asked the ref what are they going to do and they had no answer they said they wouldlet you over shoot them back. Is that what we want to be known for in this sport. No rules to govern the sport. We might as well stop pretending its a sport if thats the case.
I know how hard it is to ref or keep a eye on the game.. To tell you the truth there were many good refs but not nearly as much needed for the rampped cheating. Lets start by saying money brings the many experienced ranked players ie.. (norcal) A Avalanche past member played it was obvious and very much noticed on how stacked the tournament teams were. The rules were rookie class and under. They should have just called it a open so that way you know what you are getting into. This isn't about losing its about keeping our sport clean and controlled . How do you expect paintballing to grow when the new players are subject to field sponsors who do not take the time to at least walk out or send someone to check out if there is some truth to the many complaints. Tournaments like this give kids the wrong message. It says if you cant play within the rules you have to join the people who are bending those rules to win. Is that the cycle you want this sport to go to?

I was proud of the many young men who played under those circumstances and hope that in the future they will realize they can make the changes and don't have to be like the many teams that live off cheating. One team I spoke to, true beginer team High voltage played really well but did not win one game. I spoke to them and said for your level of tournament experience they truly played good as a team. That ment a lot to them but reality was they had a chance to win games but with management not stepping in and worrying only about the money they would be making.

I believe in accountablilty if it is advertised as rookie class and under they need to stand by it. I am not just writing this to complain but to make a change. Here is a record of what went on and many people should ask for there money back since they advertised only rookie and under. They say when you ad financial penalties people listen to you. I hope they know were talking about them. Remember its a small paintball world. Word travels and I won't let bad tournaments like this make our sport go down.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

heelside336 Wednesday, April 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
SOEP,Splatt,Woodys,Private
Review: This is the field to go to, air field and wood field best of both, Paul the owner, is the coolest guy, real nice to everyone, and make sure everyhtign is fair. The air field is awsome, i would say this field is the best field i have played on, playing a 10 on 10 was great, everythign about that place is cheap, and real fun, the woods field is really cool, and i dont even like woodsball. There are always alot of people out there, the paint isnt expensive, but it is field paint only, but thats what i would do too, so no complaints there. The grass isnt all bumpy/or muddy, real great field, and real cheap, i would say if you were wanting to play with alot of people, that you come here, this place is awsome!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

masterjoem1 Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SOEP, private fields
Review: this field rocks! we went out there after getting lost and it was 15 minuets before closing time and were completly bumbed out but the people were so cool they said that it was okay and that they would find someone to play a few games well that was about 4:15 and they let us play until 7:30 it was a few minuets before the game was over and then in our first game the refs did an awsome job there were no cheaters and they did the best job i have ever seen in my life at getting people that were hit out without getting shot walking off. they did every thing short of stopping the game to get people out including walking in front of paint to keep a small kid from being lit up bad. and paul the owner was awsome. we had so many gun problems that he fixed free of charge including lending us a barrel and barrel plugs so we could still play and it is so friken chep $5 for field fee and all day air. even though its field paint only the paint is not jacked up its $50 a case for bigball and $12 a bag its the same price as in town (and they own the best pro shop in medford) and if you dont like bigball they have other paint for more but not much more. this in my opinion is the best field in southern oregon or northern california. its kinda far and hard to find but worth every mile open all day and 500 rounds will last you for 2-3 hours. the field is unique and hard to play and very large and it has a realy cool fort for defend scenerios. all and all its an awesome field and everybody should go to it worth all of your troubles.
Last edited on Sunday, May 23rd, 2004 at 3:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media