paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field

CPX Sports Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
165Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 815-726-2800
Address: Schweitzer Rd.
Joliet, Illinois 60436
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
ag3nt monk3y Thursday, June 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Country Club Paintball.. and CPX is MUCH better than that field. CPX has more places to play at and friendlier employees.
Review: Challenge Park is probably one of the best fields out there. I personally don't care for the tournament fields as much as ones such as a city, nuked town, and most of all the forests, which is pretty much all of CPX. 24 fields to choose from and more on the way. Employees are very friendly and are willing to answer any questions you have. CPX might be a bit over priced ($18 to get in the park, $20 for 500 paintballs, but CO2 is always free). You should definitely check the park out if your in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikes_matrix Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
country club and badlandz, u dont need anything else
Review: i totally hate this field's open games but if u want to actually have a good time at Challenge you need to play on the tournament fields, u can practice against other teams to get better, or just to have fun...and it's 50 bucks a case, for JT's Maxim2 paint! yeah. so if dont want to waste money on paint and wait in long a** lines play at the tourney fields, u need at least 2 other people w/ u tho to play, u play and register as a team
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Irgosu Saturday, June 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
badlandz-much better and cheaper
basements-uhhh, i don't recomend this
Review: nice field if you don't mind paying alot. $40 for 1000 rounds of regular paint. ?!@$, i pay less for 1000 marbalizer. you don't get to many games in but the fields are really nice. i don't recommend going here if you don't have much money. go to the badlandz, you get twice as many game for 1/2 the price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spimpulseman69 Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlands=rox
ccp=ok
sudden impact=rox
Review: Waste of time and money...

100$ for a case of brass eagle seconds... honestly the worst paint ive ever used.EVER. it was breaking from a 5 inch drop...

Lines=LonG... staff doesnt know what there doing

On avg i get 4-5 games per 12 hour day

I feel so dirty...

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JBudmanPBaller Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact (rocks), Chilli Paintball Pits (rocks), Area 52 (sucks)
Review: I would highly recommend this field...if you enjoy sitting around more than you enjoy playing. I went over my Christmas break, which was a terrible idea because the average temp. was like 2 degrees. We were told however that we would have a heated pavilion to wait in. What we got was a bunch of peices of plywood nailed together, with a space-heater. After we got there, we sat around for 2 hours before playing our first game! I mean honestly, there was like 10 other people there so I don't know what the deal was. Oh and another thing, we were forced to watch some stupid video before we played that was a complete waste of time; a regular safety breifing would have done just fine. One thing I have to give them is that they're very safe. We had to chrono before every game, which was a pain, but I guess it was safe. The only problem was, it took about 15 min. to chrono, during which time we stood around in the freezing cold to wait to play. There is yet another positive to this hell-hole however. They have some of the coolest fields I have ever seen. So I mean if you really wanna go and sit around and play a couple of good fields, go right ahead, but for me this was my worst paintball experience ever. 2 because they have some cool fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

truth21 Saturday, May 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox River Games-Awesome
Operation Paintball-Great
Badlandz- Didn't like
Review: A friend of mine used to work at CPX and filled me in on whats really going on out there, but I had to try it for myself so I did last weekend. I used to go to the old park and this one when it opened and sure there were long lines and it was too expensive, but thats to be expected from a field that busy, especially when BE wouldn't let them staff it properly, to maximize profits.

I found out that Brass Eagle foolishly fired the original owner and creator of the park, Forest Brown, and was as shocked as everyone else (until I thought about whomade the decision). So I figured I'd give it a try and see how well Brass Eagle can run a field (or not run a field as with their other aquisitions). All of the referee staff was fired because they walked out, protesting the firing of Forest and their subpar treatment by Brass Eagle. So the new managfement brought in temp service workers to control "safety". I had to see this myself.
I went with a buddy, and they were surprisingly busy, but from the get go you could tell it was chaos at best. Registration went slow as per usual, the lines for paint/equipment were horrendous. My buddy waited about 15 minutes while these pimply-faced workers slothed around trying to figure out what they were doing. Then we once again bought the too expensive, dimply, out of round paint and went to play some ball which is why we were there, not to wait in lines.

This is where the real nightmare began. The "ref" staff was totally confused as to what they were supposed to be doing. We didn't want to wait in the lines for the big fields, so we waited for an open game. And waited and waited. Finally we asked someone in the ref area and they looked at us like we were speaking egyptian. Over an hour passed and finally we were called to go chrono. The "refs" were completly out of their element there as I watched multiple guys cheat them at the chrono with hot guns and they didn't have a clue. I brought it up to the refs and again I might as well been speaking foriegn.

On field was about the same as cheating was rampant, playing with hits, wiping, goggles off. It was completly unsafe. I saw a couple of the old faces, but they looked they were in over their heads too.

We stayed for about 6 hours and played a total of 3 games. To be fair, we could have played some games on the big fields, but we didn't want to, we were ready to go home.

It used to be a pretty cool place, but now your just paying too much money to Brass Eagle to stand in line and look at cool scenery. I would highly recommend against wasting your time and hard earned cash with Brass Eagle Xtreme.

Try another field in the area. They will care about you, your good time and not be only concerned with taking as much of your money as possible.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wingman Sunday, May 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Blitz
Review: Ok, so I gave the "NEW" Challenge Park a try last night. Mostly, I tried to look for the same problems that I had seen before they got rid of the old refs, specifically refs walking around doing nothing, inflated ref egos, bad organization, long wait times, etc.

The new refs seemed to be a little bit more on the ball. There were more of them, which, I'm sure, contributed to things running more smoothly. They didn't seem to be so full of themselves like their predecessors, who you couldn't even ask a question to without getting attitude. But at the same time they commanded the amount of respect of which their job deserves. They kept the games moving, one right after another so wait times were not long at all--about 10 minutes now as opposed to the 30 or 40 minutes that would pass from the end of one game to the beginning of the next. I didn't notice any lapse in the concern for safety. I watched them correct people in more of a calm, educating, nice way, rather than yelling at them and pulling their wrist bands if they didn't kiss ass immediately. I had one ref correct me for swearing after I told another player how "we just got our asses kicked". He didn't jump all over me, he simply said, "icksnay on the earingsway". Nice.

That being said, they are a new staff. They are going to make a few mistakes here and there. Every new ref does. They've only been there for a few weeks, if that. It's our job to talk to the management if we see the mistakes continuing. I was only there for a few hours last night, but since I only live about 20 minutes away I plan to go back often and continue to review their progress. And being as though they are on such a huge mission to improve the quality of service out there, I plan to give the management my input often, as I hope you all will too.

I got a chance to meet an operations manager last night named Joe. He approached me as I was leaving to make sure I had a good time and thank me for coming out (the first time that's happened out there, I might add) He did confirm that they pretty much fired the ENTIRE reffing staff when they walked out. I told him that I've been coming out there for a long time, and honestly I wasn't sad to see them go. I didn't know any of them personally, so all I can tell you is that as a whole they left much to be desired.

To all you new refs: Do yourselves a favor and don't make the same mistakes the other ones did. Personally, I like Challenge Park very much, and I, along with a lot of other regular players are going to be watching to make sure it doesn't go to crap again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KCL03 Friday, May 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
County Club, Badlands, Fox River Games
Review: I thought that I might help anyone out that was planing on going to CPX in the next 2-3 months. I went to the park last weekend, and I was shocked to find out that they had brought on about 20-30 "refs" that were from a "temp" place in Joliet. This is because they fired over 40 refs for walking out over the fact that the park made more money off of them then they did the players, and that Brass Eagle is only in it for the money. Many of these "refs" that were brought in, had never seen a paintball gun before this, and had no clue on what to do. There were many safty rules being broken, even the most basic. I stayed for night games, and a "ref" asked me if I had an armband, and then called out that there was one armband in the fire station. Now I don't know about you, but that is not the way to ref. I would suggest not going to CPX in the near future, if at all......
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thommccloud Friday, May 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blitz
Review: I won't waste everyone's time by reiterating what seems to be trend of this review board (ie bad refs, long lines, etc). I'll just applaud Akira21's earlier and very accurate review.

BUT...

I've heard from the General Manager, Ray Dagnino, and it apears that things are changing. Apparently all the refs that walked off the job have been fired and replaced with a better trained staff. I'm led to believe that customer satisfaction is now a higher priority. I haven't gone out there to see for myself yet, but I plan to soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nator187 Sunday, May 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball, Fox River Games, Old Challenge Park, Rockford Paintball, Sherwood Forest, Friendly Fire and others I can't remember.
Review: I have been going here since the place opened. The concept that CPX is try for is great. They have really nice open play fields and the tourney complex, if it's still standing when you read this, isn't too shabby either. Now the problem I have had with CPX isn't the field it's the people running it. On a busy day of open play there is a massive line of people who are trying to check in and only 2 windows are open for check in. Then you have to go to this Safety Briefing, which is totally understandable but this movie is so long I fell asleep twice watching it. The only good thing about that is once you have watched it 2 times in like a year you don't have to watch it anymore. Now once you get setup to play the game turn around time isn't that great. I remember at the old Challenge Park there we could play game after game with like 10 minutes in between the games. Now it's more like 30 minutes or more and if you want to play one of the concept fields the line for them is always long. The field of Armageddon is one of the worse because they only run it at certain times of the day so if you miss it the you’re out of luck until next time you come to play. After you finally get onto the field and play a game you come back and you need Air right? Well you go over to the Air shed and the line there will be huge just like most of the lines at CPX. Now this drives me nuts. You have anywhere from 500-750 people at CPX on a busy day and the vast majority are using HPA. Their fill station only can fill 6 tanks at one time and if your one of the unlucky fellows that is at the back of the line your lucky if you get 2000 psi fill because their system can't keep up. With all the $$$ dumped into that place you would think they would have a nice fill station setup. So you finally get air after like 10 minutes there now you have to wait until the refs are ready to run another game which could take another 20 minutes. All this waiting is why I don't play open anymore. Just too much crap to go through to play 5 games in one day at the park.

Nator187
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media