paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field

CPX Sports Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
165Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 815-726-2800
Address: Schweitzer Rd.
Joliet, Illinois 60436
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
Stoneburner Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This is a very expansive and diverse field. That being said: it is rediculosly expensive. I mean really bad folks. 15 bucks at the door, and another 15 for gear. Then you get to watch about the dumbest saftey "briefing" you will every see. Your IQ will plumet just for having watched it. Ok you ready to go paintballing yet? TOO BAD! you still need to buy paintballs at 20 buck for 500 of the crapiest stuff they could find or 25 for crap just not as bad of crap. Now your thinkin ok i got throught all this stuff... finally lets have some fun paintballing. Nope sorry, the refs are absolute PRICKS (i would use a stronger word myself but thats not allowed.) and i mean that, they will pull your wristband for itching your eye, that means your day is over bye bye thanks for blowing all that money.

Now After all that whining i must say the fields are truly impressive and it is a great experiance once you get past all that stuff. I myself have a membership and my own equipment so i can pretty much play all day for 20-40 bucks. It is a very diverse crowd you will meet at challenge park from newbs to pros. and once you know the refs they are not so bad to you. Get a membership and talk with the refs as much as possible and you will have a great time. Plus their scenario games are great!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball7 Monday, March 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: ok listen up, ive been here about 5 times, the fields are great no doubt, but if u dont have too much money u really cant go here becuase its soooooo expensive, and its usually crowded. The refs are the worst around and you have to watch a 15 min safety video.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

}{ardcore Style Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: So many people are wrong about this field, trying to diss it when it actually kicks ass.

1) You do not have to wait 20-30 minutes between games. They wait like 10, sometimes even less so the people who come back can refill.
2) The $400 A-5 thing...they have the prices high because it comes with a membership for a year which is woth $100. It is a really great deal if you think about it...go there 7 times and it pays for itself.
3) Yes you can play the tournament fields when it is not a tournament...Just not in winter cause they have a couple tournaments during the winter and when people play there a lot they have to clean it...and then the water will freeze. They open back up in March and there is no admission to play on them, or $5 at the most im not sure.
4) The refs are really cool when you meet them, and they kick people out because if you owned a paintball field, would you want people to lift up their mask? Think of the lawsuit of getting an eye shot out.
5) There are noobs there, but what paintball field doesnt have noobs? If you get to know the people there they will take you and a select few to a small field like Networkz with a ref even if the place is full, which is kick ass. And dont tell me all the people suck there, Lock N' Loaded goes there and team Rage has been there a couple times too and many more. So please shut up.

I can say that the paint is expensive and is pretty crappy, but they have to make money somehow with the 25+ fields they have especially with Bedlam and Armageddon. By the way, they are adding a second story to Bedlam.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Adema3412 Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nothing really like this, but Operation Painball, Action Games, Fox River Games, and Friendly Fire
Review: Challenge Park has some of the most elaborate fields that I have ever played at, and their rental guns are nice because they run on Compressed air. Also the rest are is nice, but besides that Challenge Park is terrible. The field paint is terrible with lots of dimples and overpriced. Also their prices for a private party are ridicilous its something like $40 for rental and entry a pain when u own your own gun. There is also a huge waiting line for many of the fields even though it is a plus that they drive you. The refs aren't very knowledgable, and seem rather whiny. Overall this place is far too overpriced for a bunch of fancy fields, crappy paint, and annoying refs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shivors Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Chiili Paintball
Review: Ever been to a family owned restaruant where the laughs are real and the food is great because they care? CPX is the opposite. CPX is big and has two really nice custom designed fields. They have a over priced pro shop to sell to n00bs and a snack shop with decent junk food. The staff is half and half....half are there to help and make sure you have a good time and the other half are just pouting because they have to waste the uber lewt paintball skills by reffing.

I went to CPX way back in the day before BE got there cash into them. Back then they had good concept driven fields and a decent player area and a staff that kicked butt. I went back last year for the Shatner scenario game. I spent two days playing and I have to say that now it just feels like a corporate run enterprise.

You can have fun at CPX and they do have a few good fields. I personally wont go back unless there is a large scenario game there again. I like going where they know my name and glad I am there.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 19th, 2003 at 6:01 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slapp Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz, Fox River Games, Country Club.
Review: CPX is the largest and most elaborate field I've been to. They have everything including a good snack bar, an excellent rest area filled with ample picnic tables, an on site paintball store with plenty of gear (although expensive and no on-site airsmiths to work on your gear), a skateboard/bmx area and of course plenty of paintball fields. Fields like Bedlam, Armageggon, Fort courage and Jungle of Doom are really unique and worth a trip to check out. They do a very good job with private groups assigning you your own ref for the day and taking you to the fields you request when these are open. This is perhaps the best field in the area for people who bring along non-players because of the nice rest area with a view of the Bedlam field and nice amenities. They have a bus to shuttle players to more remote fields. There are always plenty of walk on players so open games are always available for solo players. This is also perhaps the best place for folks trying paintball for the first time.

Having said all that, the refs chrono players not using rental guns before every game and this really slows up play. Some (not all) refs behave more like nazi baby sitters than like respectful guides. This does make for a very safe environment however more experienced players are likely to resent being treated like irresponsible cattle. Air fills are free with admission however fills are only to about 2500psi with no 4500psi fills as an option. Field paint is pretty low quality even for the "premium" paint so it helps to have an adjustable bore barrel or a large bore barrel here that is forgiving on paint quality. The orientation video is long, very basic and boring as heck and you will have to sit through this before you can hit the fields. The have a rule against bringing your own coolers with drinks and food although this is not always heavily enforced. Parking is far from the fields so your gear is typically left unattended at a picnic table while you play. Some folks have had paint stolen due to this but in general things are pretty safe. Use your own judgement here and don't tempt folks by leaving expensive gear laying around unattended.

There are plenty of irritating things about CPX but overall it is a field you need to see and play at least once.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gpaintballguy Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cc, badlandz, relms of ruin, big sams, chicolthe paint pits
Review: This is hands down the best park ever for rec ball and senario. Good refs, every one follows rules for fair games, really cool fields. If you are into speed ball this is not the best place to go, try badlandz. This is the new one , I used to play at the old one before they moved. Really cool theme fields, and free fillups. The paint is not that good so get the premiums. My favorite choice on fields is jungle of doom, really cool indiana jones kind of theme. The town is cool, and so is armageddon. Every day an hour senario is held in armageddon and bedlam where you have to fight over a hill that is inbettween the two.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

XsilentXbobX Saturday, March 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Country Club, Fox, Sudden Impact, random forest preserves
Review: I used to work here and it was awesome. I still go there like everyday. The theme fields are pretty elaborate but need new story lines. The second story on Bedlam I saw it the other day and honestly it is a waste of good metal. I used to go there to play Bedlam and only Bedlam but since that happened I might make it a monthy occurance but they made up for that by opening netwerkz. The rules there they are strict but there is reason behind them and it makes perfect sense. Same with chrono speed. The price is also reasonable if you think about how many refs need to get paid for going out there and not to mention that Bedlam and Armageddon cost roughly $2 million each to construct. So for all the complaints that the park gets about entry it is actually decent compare to what it could be. Paint it is the same at every park for premium and poorer grades. The refs...they can be rather harsh with the rules about goggles and all but think about how you act if you had to deal with people from 7am to 10pm for only $6 an hour. =) Tournament fields rock my face as well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow1 Wednesday, March 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox river,Relms of riun,
Review: 1st CPX is expensive $15 to get in except on free days,paint is high, Safety is great! but I don't agree with the rules about chrono your gun,1st you wait in line for along time than you finally get to the chrono and you might shoot alittle hot and the ref wont even let you adjust your gun right there you have to go all the way back to the shooting range and miss that game.I mean if you can fix your fps fast right by the ref than he should let you. Weekends are way to crowded and waiting in lines for 20-30 Min's to play sucks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ihatespyders Wednesday, March 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlands, Country Club
Review: I don't really like Challenge you can't play speedball unless it is a tournament. And even on the speedball the ground is made of gravel. So when you move everyone hears you and it gets really dusty.


They spent a crap load on all their fields but none are that cool cause some are really big. There are always a ton of people there so you don't see the same people really in the same day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media