paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field / CPX Sports Paintball Field

CPX Sports Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
165Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 815-726-2800
Address: Schweitzer Rd.
Joliet, Illinois 60436
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
LordOdin99 Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Realms of Ruin
Directions
to the Field:
Just follow the signs to the park
Review: This place is ok for walk ons but for the more experienced players, it can be a drag.

The refs are not motivated to do their jobs. They do get the job done but they usually bicker like the teenagers that they are. They need to be more professional. They also need to pay attention to player hits and be more available for paint checks. Sometimes they'll just blow it off. They also cater to the private games a lot more than walk ons for fields. You can just be waiting in the hot weather in line and a private game will just keep playing game after game on the same field; not letting anyone else on until that group had their fill. The walk ons, however, only get 2 games per field and then have to leave for the next group. Very frustrating when you're in line for an hour for a field.

The fields themselves are pretty cool but the featured fields are not maintained very well. Bedlam can be outright dangerous with all the paint on the concrete sidewalks. People were slipping and taking bad spills, including myself causing deep cuts and scrapes. I'd rather put up with water on the concrete than paintball oil.

The prices are ridiculous at this place. $90 for a case of marballizers. That's almost 80% markup. And they charge you for admission on top of that. If you enter the park, buy paint and food only, you can spend almost $120 in a single day. That's expensive! And that doesn't even count rental fees if you don't have your own equipment. If they lowered their paint prices by $20, it would be worth putting up with everything else but $90 is just a ripoff.

They use Marballizers as the field paint, which is pretty good stuff. However, I don't think they store them correctly. I have a feeling they are just keeping the boxes in a room someplace that isn't climate controlled. The sizes vary quite a lot more than the retail version you can get. Their balls were a little on the oily side, too. Marbs tend to be oily in nature anyway but these could almost coat your barrels they had so much and there were no broken balls in anyone's bags. But the oil was enough to cause everyone to have problems that day.

They really need to offer better food at the concession stand. The type of food they offer is junk food and will make you sick on a hot summer day. They need something that hydrates better and sits in your stomach better. Pizza, chips, candy, and hot dogs are not the way to go, regardless if the little kiddies want them.

People kept having problems at the fill stations because of lack of maintenance. The self-fills for nitrogen sure is nice but half of them don't work properly. It would be nice if they had 4500 fill stations as well. It would mean fewer people filling up as often.

The proshop is pretty nice. They don't have the biggest selection but enough to get the job done. Also the staff is helpful and friendly.

Overall, not a bad place to go to once in a while but definitely not my favorite spot.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

**yourdoom** Monday, June 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This park is excellent the fields are cool as hell and the staff there is nice as well ive have only found a couple faults with this field, the last time i went i was my epiphany and i downed 2 pods really quick and i look to my right and i see a ref looking at me and i ask "am i hit ref?" he said "no...im just cheking if your ramping... are you?" i said no and he walked away then aftr that refs always asked me that and one i found that was odd was me and a guy were on a corner holding em off and refs that were reffing a private game in a dif. field yelled at a ref to make sure we werent ramping and again we werent... i understand the refs point of view but they already chekd my gun and everything so i didnt see a need to keep asking if i was ramping i almost got kikd out... another thing i that was bad was the paint cost, 90$ a case for 2000 25$ for a bag of 500... the pricing is a lil wierd.. .then again they have to get it customized for there own field...lets wait and see what happens wit paint costs
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rorplayer44 Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
badlandz
Directions
to the Field:
Decent fields, the people have NO clue how to set an airball field up.
Review: Went there to play with a bud of mine, on league night which barely had enough for 2 lines.... i did not like the guy who thought it was all right to scream at customers. The only positives i would see for a tournament player to go there is to TRY and relax and to get the girl that works there number :P


if anyone wants a league night pass for 2k7... PM me...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodballer66 Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlands=Swamp
Fox = swamp
Review: I just played CPX last weekend and had a great time with my friends.Fields are some of the best that I have played on.

They call open games all day long non stop.Just listen for them calling them over the loud speaker, we played more games at CPX then any other field we have played at and the two towns are always open for play all day just get in line to play whenever you want.

They have tons of tables that are either under a tree for shade of you can get a table under one of their canopy's.No standing in the sun all day

Refs were very informed on everything if they did not know the answer they would find out for you.

I talked to the owner Ray and found out that they have league nights every other friday at CPX. It is a one time charge of $10 to become a member and cases of paint are $60 for league night only.

So fo everyone that says it is too much to play CPX go play on friday I know me and my friends will be at that great price..


10 of 10 from me
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rebel mp Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 1st, 2002
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
dont live in the state anymore.
Review: well originally the weekend i played at this field i wasn't very impressed.but then again back then they only sold brass eagle paint. the majority of things they had for sale in the pro shop where JT (i used too love JT before they merged with brass eagle don't get me wrong i still got my flex 7s but getting lenses are getting harder) they also didn't allow outside food.They also didn't like you going to your car for anything. Ok now for me too get further in depth. I liked the mount site (the city for non military speaking individuals) and of course the field with all the cars was cool too but when i played there the brass eagle paint just wouldn't get where i needed it (but then again the paint sucked and i was using my third back up which in a tourney i wouldn't even attempt too use) so for the fields i liked some of there concepts. the service was totally under par gun techs didn't know anything (lol obviously if my angel and my cocker weren't working and i was using my automag rt) now with all that gear im not gonna keep it in the staging area so i had the refs telling me that was frowned upon but i explained it like this i don't want someone coming and looting my stuff while im out on the Field playing. of course Thad mentioned the little lockers there and i brought the head ref at the time too my vehicle how i would fit my gear tote in one of there lockers. that was the end of that conversation and my gate way too drinking my riptide rush Gatorade(which ive yet too find at any field) now too my last and final complaint at the end of sunday when i had 2 pods left and wasn't about too come back another day i was shooting it up at the target range and the owner came out and said its time too leave. it was like 2 min. after there closing time no field ive ever been have ever had a problem with me using the target range too burn up the paint. so i probably will never go back not even now that they are using marballizer paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

snowforum180 Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
the badlandz, countryclub,
Review: ok im not trying to bash cpx but to just tell about its flaws, cpx is way too expensive to start you pay 18 admission, paint here is ridiculous its about 95 to a hundred dollars a case, and no outside food, its such a scam. There gun techs do not know how to fix guns at all. They only average about like 6 games they chrono every time . The only good thing is that they have alot of fields 22 i think. The only thing is they never play hyper ball or air ball. For 1 year of what i played there i wasnt able to play hyperball or airball once. Bottom line is that cpx is a field for twice a year paintballers, cause i dont think people want to spend more than their gun after 1 or two times going there i give a 3, theres alot of better fields out there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

trojanman742 Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox, tri-city, blitz, pball sams, and many others
Directions
to the Field:
use the internet chief
Review: i've played a handful of games here including windy city classic and nam. this field has their stuff together. Both my team and myself have fallen in love with this place. The employees are friendly and helpful and the refs are good. They are extremely good about playing safe fun paintball by having players re-chrono everytime they step onto the field for big games and if people complain about people shooting "hot" they have handheld chronos that some refs carry to do onfield tests. All in all prices are not bad there and the fields are actually really nice. If you bring your own equipment and something breaks the staff here is extermely helpful in getting your stuff working and at a reasonable price.

If you are a bigtime woods ball player and or like playing big games you would not be disappointed with CPX. The big games they have do a reinsert either by check-in to a certain place (like your sides base) or have a insert every certain amount of time (ie every 15 mins).

Trust me when I say that you won't be dissapointed with the quality of fields and play that happens at CPX.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FR33K5 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Take aim, Fox
Directions
to the Field:
CPXsports.com, Mapquest, its in Joliet!
Review: This is an excellent woods ball course. It has over 20 something fields. There is one in a town one in a fort one in a field of broken down cars. This place has everything Its nice and clean. TH refs are good. THe fields well maintained. And there's a ton of fields. THey host events and scenario games. SO those are the Pros. Cons you have to buy ur own paint but its worth it at first i was gonna give this course a 9 but it was awesome
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cpx_is_cool Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
badlandz
fox
country club paintball
Directions
to the Field:
go to cpx.com
Review: CPX is the coolest place to paintball. If you are thinking about trying it out, this is the place to start.

The rentals they have there are excellent. It worked flawless the whole day. They have compressed air on their guns instead of Co2, which is much better. The equipment guys were very helpful because it was my first time.

The refs knew what they were doing when they were reffing games. When someone called for a paint check, they got right in there. They were sharp at finding people wiping and did not allow it.

The concessions were excellent and not overly priced. They had a variety of good food.

The proshop was well kept and of excellent service.

Overall, I plan on not spending my money anywhere else to go paintballing except CPX Sports.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpeedyKJ Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blast Camp (Hobart IN), Badlandz (Chicago IL), Paintball Heat (Plymouth IN)
Directions
to the Field:
Sorry I suck at giving Directions but I found mapquest.com very helpful
Review: This field is great

It has every thing you can ask for for a high quality paint but way way way over priced paint might I add...@ 90$ a case thats outrageous to free fill your own tanks (comp air only tho)

It is great if you want to get away form speedball a lil and do something a lil different as in a city block setting as a field where you can get into second floor windows and breach other bldgs with team mates much like a S.W.A.T. team would when raiding a house or something

Just picture you in a 10 on 10 shoot out set in a city block form like the old western days thats what the buildings remind me of....there are cars to hide behind ...you have to watch every window and door way and breach and clear rooms to take that building and use it to move up the field and win the game....any type of game you normally play Ive even seen pro speedball players have a good time on this field

They have speed ball too so you get the a feel of all kinds of diff kinds of games here they even have some cool woods ball fields

I was involved in a small fight there once when some hot headed moron got mad and came after me when he claims I bonus balled him....but when you have a gun that shoots 20+bps it can be hard not to hit a player only once Ive been bonus balled countless times and really I was trying to hit one of his teammates that was a back player and he stood up right in my line of fire after I had already hit him ...anyway the reffs did a great job stopping the fight and did an even better job ejecting the aggressors and keeping the ones that were only defending them selfs and/or trying to help brake up the fight

Anyway all and all the BEST field Ive been to all but the price of their paint they really stiff you there

So I give it a 9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media