paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fun on the Run Paintball Park / Fun on the Run Paintball Park / Fun on the Run Paintball Park / Fun on the Run Paintball Park

Fun on the Run Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
77Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 2621 Roberts Cut Off
Fort Worth, Texas 76135
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
eddiev2241 Saturday, April 16th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 16th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xadrenaline Grapevine - Alright
DFW Adventure Park - Decent
DFWPro - The Best
Directions
to the Field:
Off of 820 and Jacksboro Highway in West Fort Worth
Review: Safety - As a father of four boys, safety is high on my list. The refs were good about telling people to keep masks on, but that was about the extent of it (though that is super important). They never checked the Chrono on our guns (we did it including turning one of our parties guns down from 325 or so). A couple of the shots I took felt like they were fast. They never talked about a surrender rule (I guess since we were in the experienced group they figured we wanted point blank run throughs). They never mentioned that people shouldn't put paintballs that fall on the ground back in thier hopper. I watched it happen several times in front of the staff and they never said a word... even for rental guns. Overall it was alright, but could have been better.

Fields - We played 4 fields in the 6 hours we were there. 2 woods and 2 Hyperball types. Basically, the hyperballs are hyperballs - ok if you like that. The woods courses were waaaaay too short for the size of our teams. In both you could see the opponents (and hit them) off the break. We probably has 20-25 people a side and everyone had to double and sometimes triple up in bunkers because there just wasn't enough.The fields were decent enough (a Castle field and a hyper ball field surrounded on one side with trees), but they definately would have been more enjoyable if they were longer and were played with less people per side. I love big teams when you have room to work, but not on this small of fields.

Prices - They were very fair prices. Admission and all day air for like $25 and very nice paint for $50 flat for 2000. A few dimples in the balls, but overall flew straight and broke really well.

Refs - I was a little disappointed in the refs. We consistently got 2 refs with the game but it seemed like they disappeared once they started the game. Could have used more refs and ones who were willing to step in and do paint checks in the field instead of from the sidelines. They would then blow the whistle at the end of the game, but not make sure that everyone actually stopped. On multiple games the time ran out, they blew the whistle, people would stand up to put on barrel bags and then be blasted. Never heard the refs say anything to anyone about this.

Players - There were a lot. And they were varied wildly in age and skill. Apperently they were all deaf or just didn't care or have paintball respect for others though. As mentioned above, it was dangerous to stand up after time was called. You could also count on being shot at least 4 or 5 more times from multiple players when you called yourself out and put your gun in the air. I have a really loud voice and make a big demonstration of getting my gun in the air. However, I have welts on my side from getting hit with my gun in the air.

Overall - We had a good time, it is paintball after all. However, I would have liked to see bigger fields, smaller groups, and a little more referee involvement in games. I'd consider going back, but it is far from being my favorite.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeeKay101 Friday, February 4th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 22nd, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
GatSplat
DFW Adventure Park
Fort Paintball
Cousins
Official

In my experience, Fun on the run always has the best paint and cheapest paint. Gatsplat usually has the worst paint and most expensive paint. FOTR (fun on the run) is $50 a case for premium grade paintballs (usually DXS midnight or RPS formula 13, custom) and $60 for marballizer.

FOTR also has the most referees on the field. Gatsplat usually has goof offs, DFW has 1-2 and FORT has zero.

FOTR has real restrooms where as others may use port-a-potties.
Directions
to the Field:
2621 Roberts Cut Off Road, Fort Worth, TX 76114
(817) 237-0299 – (817) 238-0297 ‎
http://www.fortworthpaintball.com/

Google it, if you are reading this you have the ability to search Google Maps and write it down if you have too.
Review: Rules:

No ramping,
No barrel plugs (socks only).
No outside paint, only PPS branded balls are allowed.
Surrender rule on woodsball fields.
Quarter size is out shell or not.
And don't be an ass.
If I have too, the obvious rule of keeping your mask on.
285 bps.

They sometimes can help you with getting your gun working, as long as it doesn't require parts (includes o-rings). Bring tools, they have some tools there but always bring your own tools, so you can adjust things fast at the chrono, or fix things yourself. They do sell water and sodas ($1), gatorade ($1.50), snacks, chips, vests, masks, tanks, squeegees, barrel socks, grenades, etc.

Waiver must be signed by parent or garden for players 18 or younger each visit unless you purchase a $5 card.

http://www.fortworthpaintball.com/
http://www.fortworthpaintball.com/park-info
http://www.fortworthpaintball.com/park-pricing
http://www.fortworthpaintball.com/packages
http://shoppaintballplayerssupply.webpossystem.com/
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Randyandy16 Thursday, February 3rd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 30th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dfw Adventure Park, Gatsplat, and Cousins.
Review: Fun on the Run is one of the best parks in my area. They are one of the longest running parks. They have several paintball stores around the area to fix guns.

The customer service here is great. If you find broken balls in a bag, they will exchange it for you with no problems. If you ever have a problem with anything at the park, you can talk to the manager. He is a very nice person.

They have many fields to play from. Each of them are unique and very big. They have two real woods ball fields to play on. They also have a great spread out hyper ball field.

I have been playing at Fun on the Run for years. I always have a positive experience every time I go out to play. I made a lot of buddies out there and see them every weekend to play.

The value at the park is like everywhere else. They have good quality paint and a lot to choose from.

Come out to play at Fun on the Run!
Come with a positive attitude, get a positive experience!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Badname Sunday, January 2nd, 2011
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 1st, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
I want other veteran players to stay away from this field. So no I will not give directions to this field.
Review: Being a veteran player (started in 1987), I have played at many fields in California and Arizona and have only played at Fun on the Run twice, (The only field I have played in Texas) once with a birthday group, and the other after 2 to 3 years of in activity, with my son (only his third time ever playing). I didn't know the paintball rules, like not being able to buy your paintballs and use them on their field, they told me if it doesn't have a PPS logo on the paintball you can't use it, meaning after our 1000 rounds we were done. We bought 2 Groupon vouchers for my son for Christmas to use at this place. So we bought 4000 rounds from Acdaemy Sports the day we went and was getting ready to have a wonderful day, but ended when the ref said, "Where did you get those paintballs?" Then I told him, then he told me "you can't play with those." I then told him who would I need to talk to to get this approved? He said that I would have to talk to the field manager, so I did.

Long story short I told manager my delimma and where I bought the paint from, and he then he told me those were the rules (and I understand rules) but I saw others with different paint. He then told me why I couldn't use my paint becuase "it was recycled" how does he know what brand of paint is recycled or not?. Anyway my son and I will never play there again.

About the field:

This field is for newbies, plain and simple. The fields are small they had to break up our group just so we could fit in the fields. What is funny, I was talking to a ref and he was happy to have 150 walk on's for the new year!! He said their turn out normally is 30 walk on's each weekend!!?? I'll tell you, change the paint rules so customers can bring their own paint and you'll get your 150 players on your field each weekend! DUH.

Other observations was they take so long in turning games around, you'll sit there for 15 to 20 minutes, just waiting for the game to start.

There staff personel are nice no complaints.

I have given this field a 3 rating only because coming from California and being able to play with different paint, ANY paint was just fine, then come here and fine out that you can't play beause you didn't buy their OVER PRICED field paint. So if you want to spend between $100 - $300 dollars for a day of paintball, this is your field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

alphaballer99 Monday, October 11th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 10th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
DFW adventure park, Gatsplat
Review: alright, before I say anything, I need to say that all of these other reviews should be ignored because fun on the run is by far the best paintball park I have ever been to. The staff is nice and friendly, rules are enforced well, the fields are constantly being cleaned and are unique and creative. All of the wooded fields are fun and I have a great time every time I play on one of them. There is a shooting range to use up the rest of your hopper ammo, which I think is a great idea that is set up nicely with targets and wheels to shoot at. My favorite field is paintball depot which is pretty much just a really narrow trail whith barrels, crashed up cars, and a little shack that has a couple of windows to shoot out of. I like this so much because of the narrowness of it. It creates intense firefights for both teams. I love this field and will try to come here as much as much as I can.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rdfuss Friday, June 25th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Great set up. The refs should pay attention a little more. Park should enforce their rules a little more. Should not allow punk kids to curse so much when small kids are around. refs also don't enforce same rules with the kids that work there. Fields are great. They just need to work on the staff a little more.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

angeleyes007 Wednesday, May 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 8th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hit And Run- would recommend
Gat Splat - good indoor, but small
X Zone Paintball - Would recommend, not enough woods
Directions
to the Field:
Easy, right off Loop 820
Review: Fun On The Run Paintball is an awesome place to play. Located in Fort Worth Texas it host a very nice, polite, and knowledgeable group of players,and people who just like to play paintball. For first time players they have a great rental fee, and for the more experience all the necessities. The woods balls fields is well designed and well maintained, speedball field are very nice if your a new player or a regular to paintball. I highly recommend it to anyone in the area. I would give it a 9.0 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kab04a Thursday, July 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
Just off the North side of 820, GPS found it without a problem
Review: Safety - Nothing special than any other field I've played at.

Fields - I played on a urban/woods field, hyperball, and a THICK woods field. They also have a castle course and a couple of fields that look like they could be used for airball.

Hours - 9:00-5:00, first game was pretty quick after opening, as soon as a few people were chronoed.

Prices - Nothing extremely different, All day compressed air was a little steep considering most people can go most of the day without filling.

Rules - Standard PB rules

Services - A bunch of teens/early 20s running the field. Cashier could be a little more friendly

Proshop - About a mile or so from the field but easily found. I was given a $20 discount on a slightly larger HPA tank because the one I wanted wasn't in stock. A few days later I figured out it had a SLIGHT leak and I took it in and they fixed it no questions asked. A+

Refs - A little lazy on paint checks. They made me get off the field to check instead of him coming to my position.

Players - All ages and skill levels

Facilities - REAL TOILETS. Rentals and paint sold out of a trailer so paint gets warm. It didn't help that it was 100+ out.

Food - Bring your own

Overall, pretty good field, I will be playing here again once it gets cooler or I get an unbearable itch to play. Whichever comes first.

I'd rate it more of an 8.5-9.0
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbguy57 Wednesday, April 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hit and run, XZ paintball, gat splat
Directions
to the Field:
off 820 in Lake Worth
Review: This is by far the best field in DFW. The place is family owned and operated and the owner is really nice. Fun On The Run has some of the cheapest prices around . The entry fee is $10.00 . A case of 2,000 paint is $50.00 and a bag of 500 is $15.00 (They use Diablo /RPS paint balls in case you were wondering). You can also rent equipment and markers. They are open from 9:00am until 5pm on Saturdays and 10:00am until 5:00pm Sundays. There were roughly six fields in operation the few times I went. There is a castle course, a street course, a large woods ball course, two speedball courses, and a rec ball course. The fields are always well maintained and well refed. If you are looking for a good field to play at and you don't want to spent 150 bucks every time you go, then I highly recommend Fun On The Run
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippMannMan1980 Wednesday, March 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hit and Run
DFW Adventure Park
Review: I am relatively new to the sport, been playing for about the past six months or so. I have played at a few of the fields around the area and have had by far the best experiences at Fun on the Run.

Safety- The first few time I came to this field they made sure I new all of there rules and explained them again if they changed for a certain field. I can also recall ever time I have been there they stay on top of you keeping your goggles on and barrel bags on when your supposed to.

Fields- They have some really fun wooded fields and just from the few times i have been there they have made quite a few changes in making the fields better. The up keep on the fields is really good and I constantly see the refs picking up trash and making sure the fields are safe and clean. Another thing I really like about this field is that they have a variety of games they play, capture the flag, elimination, and attack and defend.

Prices- I have read a few of the others reviews on here and I keep seeing mixed reviews on the prices. The prices I have paid to play at other fields and the prices I have compared to other fields online seem to be about the same for most of the fields in the area including this one.

Rules- Like I said before most of the rules are about the same as the other places I have played, but I especially like the fact that the refs stay on top of the players to make sure they follow them.

Services- They offer basically everything you need to play at the field. Even if you have no paintball equipment they have rental packages so you get everything you need to play. They also have co2 refills, compressed air refills and paintballs.

Proshop- They don't have a proshop at the same location as the field but it is just down the road. The proshop has everything in there from low end to high end and has a very nice and knowledgeable staff.

The Staff at the Field- This is probably where I have had the best experience. While playing at the Field one day my gun went down in the middle of a game. I went up and talked to the owner to see if he might be able to fix the problem, he looked at it and explained to me what was wrong but didn't have the part to fix it at the field. He directed me to the proshop so i could get it fixed and loaned me a rental gun so that I was able to keep playing untill they were able to get my gun going again. The check in staff has always been very polite and do the best and fastest job they can do, depending on how busy they are.

Refs- From the fields I have played and the other reviews I have read this seems to be where most people seem to look down upon most fields. From the other fields I have played and the refs at Fun on the Run seem to do just as good a job at reffing. That's not to say that I have had some calls I might not agree with but from my experience that goes on everywhere. But there is always more than one ref out on the field and making sure we are being safe and everything's running smooth.

Players- From my experience there seems to be a variety of players that attend this field. I have seen kids with there friends and dads that are just starting out, people that play regularly, pump players and tourney players. The thing i like about this is the refs always seem to try and split it where the teams are even and if through out the day it becomes apparent that if they aren't, they rearrange the teams to make them even.

Facilities- This is another part of the field that I love. They have lots of benches and tables (that are covered for shade) for everyone to use and a very clean brick building with toilets. NO PORT A POTTIES!!!

Overall, in my opinion, this is the best field I have ever played at. I always enjoy my self every time I have been and plan on playing here as much as I can.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media