paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fun on the Run Paintball Park / Fun on the Run Paintball Park / Fun on the Run Paintball Park / Fun on the Run Paintball Park

Fun on the Run Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
77Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 2621 Roberts Cut Off
Fort Worth, Texas 76135
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
rockstar85 Wednesday, March 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dfw Ap, X Zone, Hit and Run
Review: Overall I give it a 9 out of 10


Prices - The seem to be very reasonable for the paint it is a high quality of paint at a good price. I did not rent but from the look of it the where pretty well priced. The playing fee was good for the amount of games we played in a day. Everything was right on par for the service and atmosphere.

Check in Staff- This is the one area that they could and seem to be improving on. They are very friendly just slow some times but they are also dealing with alot of people. But it is getting better just in the short time i have been playing there.


Refs - I was very pleased with the way the were they hustled around got paintchecks when asked they seem to be improving. The are also very Quick a getting games turned around to get the most out of the day. A+ compared to the other fields in the area.

Fields -They are great!!!! They have something new it seems every time I go out there and are always adding new fields not a single compliant there. The castle field has been renovated from what I can see lots of new buildings and played capture the flag on it was probably on of the funnest fields I have ever played.

Players - There is a good mix of player and alot of them to play with.

Safety - This field is very safe. The refs do a good job with goggles we chronoed threw out the day and where given band to show we chronoed so the have addressed that issue. One thing i do like they don't show a video the actually have a person tell you the rules its more personal.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

W0lf00 Monday, February 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mad Dogz
Review: Safety - This field is very safe. The refs always made sure masks were on when they needed to be there was more than two refs in each game i played. and all guns were crono'd before they were allowed to play.

Prices - Thats the low point for this field it is expensive as far as paintball parks go seems to be 10 - 20 dollars more than most parks in the area.

Refs - were great the day I played. I didnt have high expectations for them after reading some of the other reviews but I called for paint checks on other players a few times and they gladly checked the other player out for me.

Fields - I love almost all the fields at this park the woodsball fields are great. The only field and game I dont really care for is castle. The walk - Alot of the other reviews talk about how far the fields are. They didnt seem abnormally far away to me it is a walk . when you get to the field you will play 2 games in a row make sure you bring extra paint.

Players - The day I went most of the other players were rec ballers
Last edited on Monday, February 9th, 2009 at 7:11 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhadley Sunday, August 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gat Splat
Review: My overall rating broken down.

(3/10) Refs:

-Cons: The refs definitely favored the local players. Several obvious experienced players were allowed to play with us "noobs" and destroyed us in sometimes under a few minutes with their thousand dollar guns while we had pro-lites (that were total junk). But even after these very good players had astonishing wins, they still played all three levels of the competition. I was also bonus balled with 13 shots in front of the ref during a speed ball match (as I held both hands up pointing barrel in the air, and walking off while waving). The ref only reacted when I started to charge the little sh!t who was still shooting me. I only wanted to throw his gun over the fence. After I asked the ref what he was going to do, He told me to get off of the field, and did nothing.
Score:
Me Little sh!t
0 1
I later sent him home crying to momy after he tried to bunker us, and was scolded heavily even though he was shooting at us at the same time (the ref knew him by name), but he took about 6 in the chest and we are even.

-Pros: The refs would dive for a paint check during night ball, and there were several refs to cover each field. The refs were overall very nice, but need to ref fair.

(6/10) Fields:

-Cons: Some of the woods ball fields were quite a walk.

-Pros: Over all good fields with a lot of diversity.

(6/10) Price: Average prices (after doing a little research)

(4/10) Safety:

-Cons: The max velocity was supposed to be 280, but several players were shooting hot. There was no control of this. I even saw a few players in front of me crono-ing their guns down to 310 so that the ball "would quit curving as much" I'm no pro, but I know the difference between being hit by a ball traveling well above 300, and one going the correct speed.

-Pros: They were good about having everyone keep their masks on at the right times.

(7/10) Over all Layout of Field/ Staging Area/ Ect.

-Cons: A lot of the equipment and structures are "overused and under maintained", and there was no much seating for night games, only a few benches with covers.

-Pros: The staging area was very close to parking.

CONCLUSION: (5/10)

This is a great layout for both woods ball/speed ball/ hyper ball, but the management needs to get a better handle on the ref's...well, basically cheating for their friends, and more concern for safety. I will go again, but only for woods ball.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

coldshot55 Saturday, June 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the worst field and costs the most with horrible customer service. A indoor field costs $15 with air, while this one costs $22
Review: The Good: Cheap entrance fee || Multiple fields || Laid-back staff || == The Bad: Costly entrance fee with air, $22.00 (excludes any rentals) || No fields with good grass/ground || Fields littered with large rocks || Sometimes staff is too laid-back to the point of carelessness || Some staff judge customers by how they look || == Personal Note: Acceptable field design, but filled with rocks the size of baseballs. Most of the staff is nice, but less than engaged in their work. Don't come here if you just happen to love paintball right off and can afford to buy some matching gear because i was placed with 2+ years experience. When I said I was just starting I was told, "Too bad, you don't look like a beginner" It was my 2rd time to play paintball. Completely ignored the customer. thus, very unpleasant - didn't get a chance to shoot anyone the entire day. Costs more than indoor arena, in Texas heat. The price to walk on the field is cheaper, but air costs $14 on top of that. All fields have bad ground and cover/bunkers, only piles of mulch and wood since they tore down the field with blow-ups to drill for oil and did not get around to replacing it. The first time and last time to play at Fun on the Run.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dualimpact Monday, March 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
dfw adventure park
Xtreme
Review: This is undoubtedly the best field i have ever played at, great prices on paint, well kept fields, great refs. well atleast 05-06 there was some of the newer refs are....well lazy in the least. well just 1or2 of them, call paint check on your self and they might come, call it on someone else and they will stare at them like they can see the entire person from standing 50feet away looking one direction at them, and they do a crappy job of splitting the teams up for speedball, i always end up on a team with everynew player and 1 or 2 experienced players and the other team with almost everyone who has been playing for more then a year and who has there own gun, and they usualy put the people who are on teams together so the other team is completely screwed and when i say something they just say "well you have been playing for a while so its even" and im not a new player but i play pump, so i shouldnt be the person who is put to even the teams out.
But other then that i love this field. i would certainly recomend this field to new players and experienced players great fields. great field owner also helps this field alot

id rate the field a 7 because the new refs just make me mad. except ben and matlin(ispelled that wrong) they rock.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigredone Monday, March 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hit and Run is fun. Old abandoned Post Office in Fort Worth ( gone now) scary fun and slick as snot!
Review: Greetings Paintballers! I have actually been out of the loop for about 7 years and just recently got back into the sport. First of all the gear and equipment now kicks major tail! All that being said I was pleasantly surprised at how well run this field was. The Refs did not knit pick or have attitudes. The patrons where friendly, and most of all Safety was covered at all times. The fields at this park where really fun and laid out well.The prices where do-able. I usually play "Rogue" at a friends house and had all but sworn off organized fields. Thanks to the great experience I had here I will definently be back!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

edudcixlsyd Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenalin Zone
DFWAP
Review: I first showed up here for a paintball clinic held by INFAMOUS. I noticed that there was a lot of woodsball fields. There are 2 speedball fields. 1 is an airball field that is rarely set up and the other is a hyperball field. Not many people who play their are good.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dsexton1055 Wednesday, August 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: August 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: While the field is great and so is the management the Refs are a major problem. I have been playing at this field for years and the management knows me by name the refs really couldnt care less. Actually... i should rephrase, the refs in General are fine its just 1 or 2 that seem to be an issue. They just do not care. Mainly Brian. while he is a good kid (and yes i say kid for a reason... he looks like he is only at the most 14) he makes for a horrible ref. the fact that he does not care what happens makes this a bad field when he is the ref. i have seen it several times (this also goes to show the kind of players you get out at this field) he sits there and watches players wipe paint all night and does not say a thing, when a player calls out in a speedball match he wont do what the rest of the refs do and let the other team know that a guy is comming out dead, he will just let the person get pounded.

This field is real big on safety. You get 1 warning for mask off or no barrel cover then you are gone. a great point. keeps people alive. they have many different fields. too many for me to cover here. their prices are... high. to say the least. they really could go lower in that respect.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

lumotek Friday, November 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenaline - Xdrenaline is about the same level of quality, but a bit pricier. Fun on the Run is much closer to where I live (NRH).
Directions
to the Field:
Exit Jacksborough Hwy/Lake Worth Blvd and go south-east (towards Ft. Worth).
Turn right on Robert's Cut Off Road, immediately after the "Barato Bazzar."
The field entrance is about 100 yards on the right. If you pass the water tower, you've gone too far.
Google link: http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=2621+Roberts
+Cut+Off,+Fort+Worth,+Texas+76135&ie=UTF8&z=15&l
l=32.80019,-97.412124&spn=0.019624,0.047336&om=1&
; ;iwloc=addr
Review: I've played at Fun on the Run 4 times over the last two months.

Staff
Overall - Fun on the Run's staff is average. Customers should expect to be treated respectfully, though not always.
Cashier - The cashier (manager?) is usually friendly and prompt.
Bottle refills - The staff running the refills are usually quick, but have never filled my bottle to its full capacity (4500psi). Some employees are inexperienced or slow refilling bottles.
Rules presentation - These are typically given in an 'off-the-cuff' manner, unless you're in a group full of kids or new players. If you tell the staff that you're an experienced player, they will usually give a short recap or skip it entirely.

Shop
- It's a trailer on wheels!
- They take debit/credit.
- Decent choice of hydration and snacks.

Refs
Maturity - They're not as apathetic as most 15-year-olds.
Rules - In four trips, I've only had one bad experience. On Nov 5, 06, in the middle of a match, one player was shot in the mask during a match. This player shouted 'out' and removed his mask while play was still going on (paintballs were still being fired). This happened right in front of the ref (20-30 yards), who did nothing. The ref should have intervened by either: blowing his whistle to end the match, or, kicked the player off the field for safety violations.
Rules cont. - That being said, earlier in the same day, a different ref took safety seriously during and after the match. Many of the other players were suffering from their masks fogging (it was a humid day). In between matches, the ref would allow people to wipe the inside of their masks, but only once all players had installed their barrel condoms and placed their markers on a table.
Lag Time - Refs can be sparse, especially if there are several parties going on. This can make the time between rounds very long.

Prices
Paint - $50 2000ct cases of paint (expect to buy one case if you're there all day and like to shoot and have a semi-auto marker)
Basic - $25 basic package (includes basic marker, expect mechanical problems)
Pro - $35 pro package (worth the extra $10: agitated hopper, semi-auto, good marker)
Both Basic and Pro include a mask, 100 paintballs, and all day air refills. Yes, you WILL need to buy more paint!

Fields
Speedball - In four trips, each time on a weekend, the speedball fields were unavailable to the general public due to team practices. I prefer a mix of woodsball/speedball, and FotR has a course built just for that! It's about 70yards by 40yards, and great for spectators to snap some cool action shots.
Woodsball - I've been to every woodsball field in *almost* every weather condition. There's only 1 bad field, known as 'The Jungle,' which is just thick brush and narrow paths. It's impossible to ref due to the density of the brush.
As for the rest of the woodsball fields, they are exciting and can be played either fast or slow. They are maintained well.
Siege - FotR includes a single castle/siege scenario field. The castle and field are well-built and laid-out.

Players
- The quality of the players at FotR varies by chance. I've met many excellent and helpful players. I've met a few annoying and disrespectful players.
- The field is family-friendly: many times I've seen a father/son team show up for a day.
- The layout of the staging area makes it easy to meet the other players.

Other Advice relevant to Fun on the Run
- Boots are not required. Don't expect to go trudging though any streams.
- Teamwork is the key to winning the woodsball/siege courses. If you're new, ask an experienced player if you can shadow them, or get their advice on strategy.
- Many restaurants and bars are located nearby, but not within walking range.
- Get the pro package and go all day for a great cardio experience.
Last edited on Friday, November 17th, 2006 at 7:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballerJay Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I've played this field when it was on Church Road (back in the sticks) in 1991. The new field is a definate improvement due to the fact that over time the old field just plain got wore out because so many people played there! =) The new fields are great. Woods (with creek and forts) and speed ball are both available. The staff are pretty cool people with years and years of knowledge. It's family run and they care about their players satisfaction and have always been willing to make the player happy, if it's promptly fixing a quick cheapo repair on a players own gun, or swapping one of his rentals out if need be. Their equipment is pretty good and you get it all for a great price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media