paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field / New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field

New Kent Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 8049665104
Address: 14375 Marine Corps Drive
Lanexa, Virginia 23089
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
gmonstereiffic Thursday, August 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
just @ friends houses but nothing can touch this, not by a long shot
Directions
to the Field:
i've been there so many times i just remember it as left, right, left etc. but i could give turn by turn directions...
Review: this is my home when it comes to paintball. i have been going here since i was about 10 years old. i've made friends with most of the staff, therefore they are very friendly people. if you are having equipment problems, they have experienced people that will help you fix your gun as to their abilities. they cant fix everything, but they can help you out with stuff like lube, batteries, allen wrenches and other small items. their prices are about equal to your average store, except for paint which is $50 flat. they usually have good paint and when you buy a bag, they take the bags out and check the bags to make sure you're not getting a bag of soupy paintballs. the actual games last anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour long (not the best thing in the summer) and every day that they're open (1st and 3rd saturday of every month) around lunch time, they have a big army truck to pick you up for lunch. they are big on safety (ESPECIALLY MASKS ON WHENEVER YOU'RE IN OR ON THE FIELD). as some other reviews said, the briefings are sorta long, but thorough. the fields are great and i cant think of anything else to say about it. if you're ever in the area, just go to their website and go. you wont regret it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

CleavageSweat Saturday, March 8th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs, Hogback, Warplay, Splat Bros
Directions
to the Field:
14375 Marine Corps Drive
Lanexa, Virginia 23089
USA
Review: Let me start by saying that the people that worked there were very friendly and good people. This includes the players that were there that day as well.

The best way to describe New Kent is potential unfulfilled. My main gripe is that the instructions for each game were "severely" over complicated. I have a college degree but 30 seconds into the briefing I was just totally lost and so was everyone that was with me and some of the regulars from the looks on their faces. Some of the briefings lasted 30 minutes.

Because the instructions were so long winded and overly complicated everyone basically just went out on the field not really knowing what the heck was just said. Most of the players just wandered aimlessly looking for someone with a different color arm band. Some would follow the field sarges but once the sarges got hit dead men can't talk. So it basically just turned into a cluster f***.

Next gripe is the field sarge/no referees... this is the absolute worst idea. Too many times during play the field sarge for whatever team would basically call a time-out to address rule breaking (like out of bounds and paint checks). It made it really confusing and gave away positions a lot and was just generally "retarded". If i ever see a field that had field sarges instead of refs I will steer clear. If you guys are reading this dump the field sarge idea and get impartial referees...

My next biggest gripe was that they never flip-flopped sides. One team was basically defending all day and one attacking. Most fields change sides to let both teams experience the attack/defend.

OK... so now that I pointed out the bad let me try to point out the good. Their bunkers and trenches were some of the best I've seen. They really went through a lot of effort in creating a trench system that really looks and feels like the ones you see on a Hollywood set.

Would I ever go back to this field? Probably not. Until they address some fundamental flaws I find this field to be below average.

Bottom line great people... bad execution.


EDIT:

I did not want the field sarges to "cheat" and tell us anything. You misunderstood. The point I was laboring to make was that once they were out (which for our side seemed alot) the rest of us were all just a bunch of clueless privates (in terms of knowing where to go and what to do). This all goes back to the games being overy complicated.

I don't want to argue. I'm sure your field has a following and that's awesome. All I'm saying is that me and my crew had a really bad time. Chalk it up to you guys trying something new... bad day... Mercury in retrograde... I don't know. We all had a bad time and I was trying to point out the reasons I deemed were the cause.

After re-reading my post I can see how you might have taken offense but I tried to be objective and not be too critical. I apologize if I offended you and your field.

Last edited on Monday, March 10th, 2008 at 7:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

hampton-painter Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
MasterBlaster - it's a decent speedball field, but no comparison to New Kent
Directions
to the Field:
Exit 220 off of I64
L on Old Stage Rd, right after the Exxon station
L on Good Hope Rd
After second overpass, L on Marine Corps Dr
Follow Marine Corps Dr to the end
Review: New Kent is awesome! This field is not like the rest in the area. Natural features include hills, ravines, trees, etc. Also there is an incredible amount of man made structures like 2 story towers, bunkers, redoubts, and trenches. You really must see it to believe it.

One recent review detailed problems with refs/field sgts. New Kent is not a speedball field. It consists of about 20 acres of land, and it would be impossible to staff each game with enough refs to monitor every person and every hit. Even so, our group was encouraged to speak up about issues about anything regarding the field, problems with field sgts etc. The negative comments made by TheInstructor should have been brought up to the field owner, his son, or any of the other field SGTs. As a matter of fact I was personally asked several times if there were any issues or complaints, and others in our group were asked as well. If you are mad because you got owned by someone at a paintball field maybe you should work on your skills rather than posting a negative review on the internet.

The staff at New Kent was very helpful to our group (consisting mostly of noobs). We played 5 different games of about 30-60 minutes apiece. The extended length of the games are necessary due to the size of the fields at New Kent. I especially enjoyed the firebase game. Firebase is such a large complex, and I thoroughly enjoyed it when we took control of it! The number of courses and bases make a great variety of challenging games to be played. Be sure to check out the pics at the New Kent website, and get ready to have a good time when you play there!
Last edited on Thursday, April 19th, 2007 at 8:13 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow Sniper Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Savage Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
check the site
Review: ok 1st off, let me just acknowledge that New Kent Paintball games is the BEST paintball field I have ever visited. Upon coming to this site the other day, I noticed that a lot of the views were people just complaining. Ok LOOK... NKPG is a scenario based Tactical/ Woodsball field. Even then, I have speed Ball friends Who play at this field and have told me they enjoyed it more than other poular places in our area including Paintball Authority(PBA). So if you dont like it, then get out! Now that the anger is gone from me, I will follow up with my review of NKPG. Well to begin, lets just say I came into the paintball world about a year ago, in my little city of Mechanicsville, where hardly anyone knows about paintball. Well, kids started playing in the urban area where we live, so us Country kids decided to try it out. The only problem was we had no clue where to go or what to do. The 1st place we ever went was Savage paintball, which we found in trhe phonebook. No offense to anyone who owns Savage, but that was the worst influence on us ever. The people there had NO CLUE what woodsball was and told us it didnt exist. We were told the WHOLE WORLD rvolved around Speed Ball, and dont get me wrong,l Speed ball is fun, but wheres the tactics?, wheres the cover? Thats justy me but after my horrendous experience with Savage I finaly got my own gun, A Tippmann A5, and was told to try out a place in West Point, VA. The 1st day we were there we had the BEST time ever. I just couldnt believe that this WOODSBALL thing could be so fun. It also helped me to conquer the fear of getting shot( be nice it was my firstr few months). The review is simply put like this: The fields are great no flaws, they offer HUGE fields and none of those crappy 5 minute games. These games last much longer, like 30 minutes to an hour! Which, in my opinion, is MUCH better. Second whoever said ANYTHING bad about the field Sargents obviously did not meeet the REAL Sargents. They DO care about your safety, and at the same time make sure you have the best experience possible. The only thing even the TINIEST bit wrong is the paint prices- But Heres the thing- Its called BUY BEFORE YOU COME. Therefore you can buy your paint cheap. The staff, plasyers, all friendly, and helpful. They even take you to luinch in a shuttle- how nice is that!? Thje rules go smoothly and are very fair, the Hours of Operation are great, although I wish they were open on weekdays and Every Saturday :D....... I can find no other points of argument, so lets just close and say take my word for it, GO to New Kent Paintball Games. HAVE the BEST paintball experience you have ever had before!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniperp Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
havn't played at any other fields cuz this one is so good
Directions
to the Field:
check out the website there directions will put you right there
www.newkentpaintballgames.com
Review: I first went to this field as an MWR trip through the navy in August and ive been going every month since. I live in Virginia Beach and the field is about an hour and twenty minuets away, but well worth the drive. To show how good this field is there is a field 10 minuets aways but i will still drive the hour and twenty to play at this field.
First thing is this is NOT a normal field. this is a tacticle field, meaning you HAVE to use strategy to get your objectives, and on some of the games the objectives are very hard to accomplish on your own. but the field sergeants will be there right along with you to help along the way. They've played this field for years and know all the quirks about them. They are also the refs and gun techs. ive seen multiple times where theres a fire fight going on and someone has a problem and a SGT will put there gun down and fix the persons problem right there on the field with paint flying all around them.
Also the fields are HUGE, and thats what allows all sorts of tactics to be used. you can literally have paint flying at you from a completely 360 degree circle. Also there are multiple base scatted throughout the fields and the main one is the firebase. This base is HUGE, there is one acuale cover bunker and about 3-4 big open top bunkers, also theres the 2 story tower that reigns in the center on the base with a birds eye view of the whole base. and the fighting can be extreamly intense because the trenches through out the base can be as high as 9 feet so you can can have fire from the front, rear, and ABOVE you. its the biggest adrenalin rush you can get, charging a bunker full of guys wanting to shoot you but somehow making it out not hit.
the prices are very reasonable and if you have your own gear they allow you to use your own paint so if you have a particular brand you can use it though they do have good paint there. Also all of there field SGT's are very good with the gun they use, they they do know quite a bit about other guns to. so if you have any problems with your gun there is usually someone who can fix it and also your tune your gun to perfection.
So if your looking for a real paint ball EXPERIENCE and not just a game i would suggest looking into NewKent.
www.newkentpaintballgames.com
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheInstructor Wednesday, December 20th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action town- woodsball vs woodsball- newkent beats them hands down
Directions
to the Field:
Their site has easy directions...its a few miles off the westpoint exit off of 64, it is easy to find.
Review: I enjoyed my day at newkent and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great field in southern va. I would tell you to keep these things in mind though because going to this field is different from any other field I have been to, and if you have played paintball any other place you might be surprised. and a surprise when you are expecting one thing...esp. if you are paying for it can be upsetting. I will also say that I feel there is a reason that every other field in america has the set regulations and ways of running things that they do for a reason.

My first warning are the game lengths. Each game is 40-60 minutes long. Like the other reviews say you have a re spawn point. you get hit and you walk a mile to the re spawn point and then you come back into the game...oh yeah and you are supposed to count to 100 too. ok this leads to so many problems I probably will miss all of them. First off players don't wipe their old hits off. The game doesn't end and you gon't get a winner. the speed of the game suffers because you have so many players walking around you hesitate before shooting people. there are a few trenches and bases with 360 degree cover and sometimes roofs that are within a few feet of the re spawn, meaning attacking and taking it requires wasting ungodly amounts of paint, because the people inside get reinforced every time you kill someone. And the comments made about hating to have to wait to play...Um everyone knows that, you pay to play. That's why on every other field you play 10 minute games...so even if you manage to get shot in the first 30 seconds the longest you wait to play is 9 minutes. Trust me it works.

now the field Sgt's , there is a reason others have made comments about them. and there is a reason that other fields don't use them. I want the readers of this to keep this in mind, I am not suggesting a change, because I know it won't happen, I am trying to inform those that want to know as much about the truth about the field before they get there and what they should expect. The field judges first off cannot make the calls that refs do. When you have a paintball gun in your hand you a player first and foremost, you do not make the same calls, and you do not have the same view of the field. Refs are refs because they are unbiased and they can move around the field without hiding or worrying about being shot at. I have worked at fields where the refs were allowed to play during the day and they were not a ref when they played, if newkent is worried about their refs not getting play time, do that. The other argument I read was the the field is so big the refs would NEVER work, give me a break, I'm not going to even try and argue about that. Take a look at some of the big fields in the US, waynes world in florida for example, or any field that does big games of 1000's of players...they use refs...because they need them. Another issue with the sgt's, they don't know paintball enough to make the calls needed, and they can't react the way they need to. One of the ones on this page made the comment that he got thanked by a parent for "walking over to a kid that took his mask of and talked him into putting it back on" I sure hope that you acted differently about this. As a ref I have had to scream at people and literally tackle them for their safety. with the number of sgt's on the field, a kid could walk around the field for 5 minutes before anyone even knew he didn't have a mask on. Its pretty hard to know whats going on, when you are worried about hiding, shooting and moving around your opponent. The only paintcheck I saw all day was when I watched a sgt get hit multiple times, then was hit by me a few times, and only after I changed saying you are out...to ok I paint checked you...you are out...did he leave the field.

Just a few random things to mention about the sgts that weren't the most fun to deal with. They scream at the players to do what they want as if they are in the military, they don't lead and suggest, they yell as if you don't have a choice.

I was told that I needed to check if I needed to reload my gun...which as an experienced speedballer, carrying 7 pods I couldn't help but snicker at his attempt to help me with my playing.

I was told I needed to hide behind something, when my style of playing kept me alive until the last 5 minutes of the 60 minute game.

I was told I needed to check my fps because of my bps.

I was told "i don't think you understand how dangerous this can be" when I offered to help by filling my gun. I wanted to laugh and say, "i don't think you understand that at every national tournament I have been to with the PSP and the NPPL they let us do it ourselves'. I totally understand them wanting to control that...but there isn't a need to talk down to someone when they are just trying to make things run smoother in the field house.

Over all I loved my time at newkent, and I have to say that it was one of the best built woodsball fields I have ever been too. I also must mention that I have never felt more welcome at a woodsball field, as an obvious speedballer. The lack of prejudice was refreshing. The friends I brought with me that had never played before loved their day. I will just say that I enjoyed it, because I accepted the differences of this field, I bit my tongue a few times, and I decided to just do things their way for a day so I could get a chance to shoot some faces in an area where we don't have many fields to pick from. Overall I don't want to upset anyone, I tried to stick to facts, and my opinions were based on either fact, or popular paintball opinion. And like I said at first, I had a good day playing at newkent
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

1st SFOD-D Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ft. Eustace. In my opinion its just speedball with trees.Theres a woodsball feild that consist of trees and plyboard nailed to them. Its also a small playing feild by most standereds.
Review: ThisForwoodsball theres only one place to go in entire southeast. Thats NewKent. NewKent is by far the best feild ive ever played on. Tactical scenarios realistic bunkers this place has it all. Woods are awsome terrain not just flat like some felids. Swamp trails as thick like the bushes in the Nam'. Hill providing depressions for supreme cover. Dense and sparse foliage find the best type for your tactical needs. Best of all firebase! A firebise just like the Marines in Kah Sahn were besigned in. A tower right in the middle interconnecting trenches to bunkers it has it all. Youve never been in the thick of it untill you exsperiance NewKent's firesbase.If you love playing woodsball this is the place to go. Ive played there for two years theres never a dull moment there try this place trust me you'll love it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

outflankem Friday, July 7th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pirate Paintball - Great
Foxx Paintball - OKay
Utis - Okay
Paintball central - Great
Review: Pros:
Great fields, well thought out, great construction
Great Price

Cons:
Safety
Pre Game Time Limit
Game Time Limit
Playing Area
Rejuvenation
Field Sergeants

At New Kent the fields with the bunker construction, trenches, and gaming area are great. All new folks are given a pre-game safety talk where the rules are discussed. Goggle safety is a big concern at New Kent.

Getting a game started at New Kent is like pulling teeth. The staff is slow getting the game started, some times you may wait for 1 hour between games. Then the game is scheduled for way to long. One game played lasted for 1 hour, while all others lasted for ½ hour. When you have teenagers sitting around idle, with loaded paintball guns, that is not a good combination.

The biggest down side to New Kent is SAFTEY. The organization and gaming policies at New Kent set the stage for UNSAFE play. The biggest safety problem at New Kent is BUNKERING. Players are shooting other players at POINT BLANK range. I have read all the reviews, but folks, there is no safe play in paintball at point blank range, period. There are no referees standing around to govern the safety of the game. Any complaints about HOT GUNS has to be made after the fact. I spoke to a lot of players while waiting for games to get started, and everyone who has played at New Kent has been bunkered. If you are waiting for more than two weeks for a paintball mark to heal, that is because you have been bunkered or you have been shot with a hot gun at close range. Safe paintball hits heal in about 1 week.

Another safety concern at New Kent is the rejuvenation of players. The players return back to a semi-safe zone to rejuvenate, only to be ambushed as soon as they return back to the game. Or rejuvenated players, out flank existing players, and surprise them from different angles. This creates a chaotic state of game play. I personally witnessed a player being shot ten’s of times while trying to get out of the play area. He finally had to run for all he was worth to get out of gun range.

Field Sergeants are players, not referees. They are players that are only concerned with playing the game. Most of the sergeants are off as “Lone Wolfs” sitting and waiting for ambush opportunities. Not monitoring the game, nor ensuring the safety of the players.

Another safety concern is the Honor System. This works fine for honorable players, but is a haven for cheaters. I know that some of the players at New Kent where wipers, this included the Sergeants. I heard enough players complaining that they had put out a Sergeant, only to have that sergeant back in the game in a few minutes, no way could he have rejuvenated that quickly. Without referees to ensure that the game is played properly can the honor system work.

The playing area is quite a few acres. This makes it almost impossible to monitor all the activities involved with play at New Kent. This is probably why the current practices and policies are in place. I suggest that the play area be downsized into a manageable size where players can enter and exit the game safely.

I have played for enough years to understand that there is a degree of risk involved with playing paintball, but safety policies and practices are put into place to minimize that risk. With the owner being ex-military, he should be fully aware of the need to develop safety policies and put safe procedures in place to ensure the safety of the players. A safety policy is not in force after the injury has been sustained, but used as a preventative measure.

So if you like to play wearing full body armor, or you don’t mind bleeding from paintball hits, or you don’t nor haven’t put a lot of thought into your own safe play, then New Kent may be to your liking.

Otherwise, If you like to play and enjoy a good safe game for you and your kids, then I suggest that you play elsewhere until New Kent cleans up its safety policy.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
10 Comments - Add Comment

Ellipsis Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lake (Rudy's) paintball - OK if you like Speedball
Louisa Paintball (TMXX) Great field but land was sold
Review: For recreational woodsball this is the field to play on. I only wish they were open more than twice a month for walk-on play. The staff is professional and the others players I have met there are great. The only drawback to the whole setup is there are so many players that it takes a while to get games started. But, once the games start it is a pure rush. There are all levels of players and the Field Sergeants (think playing ref's) are there to provide coaching and instruction for those that need it. There are at least 2 Sgt's per team to work with the players and help those that need it. The fire base has to be seen to be believed. I drive over an hour to get to this field and it is well worth the trip.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmbwhisper Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ft. Ustis,
Directions
to the Field:
Well i would just go to the web site.
Review: THIS IS THE MOST CHALLENGING FIELD I HAVE PLAYED!!!! this fields at new kent are a whole different breed. i am used to playing at Ft. Ustis. that field is a good field and fun to play but it is a cake walk compared to this. THIS FIELD IS NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART, IF YOU DO NOT YOU STRATEGY YOU WILL NOT HAVE A SUCCESSFUL GAME. WITH THAT BEING SAID. this field puts you in the heart of the action. it is a true realistic not made up adrenaline rush. i have played for 12 years and am only getting better. this field put my strategy to the most challenge i have ever seen. this field is te real deal. AND IT REALLY IS FUN FOR ALL. THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE WAS WORTH A 65 MILE DRIVE. THAT SAYS ALOT WITH GAS THE WAY IT IS. moms and dads if you really want you kids to have the time of there paintball life, this is it. or if you are the serious military stratagist this field will only give you rise to greatness.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media