paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Wanna Play Paintball Field / Wanna Play Paintball Field / Wanna Play Paintball Field / Wanna Play Paintball Field

Wanna Play Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
40Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 717-432-7997
Location: Dillsburgh, Pennsylvania 17019
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
mll600 Sunday, June 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ski roundtop also know as reveloution paintball. This place is very expensive and all the good fields are spread out here which means you walk from the top to the bottom to place at the best. your constantly on the move while wanna play gives you some rest time and time to refill and maybe ask a ref for a differnt field type like speedball.
Directions
to the Field:
Umm.. i think its right down route 15 in Dillsburg. Just map quest it.
Review: First off saftey there is very important. They give a safety a presentation to all people who just got there wether you a veteran play or a beginner. Second the refs are really big on keeping you goggles down and having barrel plugs/condoms on your gun. If they catch with mask off your out of there even if your in the dead box though they'll give a warning for that first. Next off fields are great. Some are a little spread out but they are still amazing. They have to regulation speedball course and hyperball which is a favorite. Rec-ball is also great; my favorite being ones with to story buildings like the castle, the alamo, and the sniper towers. You also have course that are nothing but woods. They are open weekends only most of the day though you can come in the week if you have 25 people and each pays 10 extra dollars. Prices are fair and cheaper then revolution paintball which costs about $60 for 2000 rounds while wanna play is $40. The owner is nice, helpful, and just an over all cool guy to be around. He trys to give the best deals when hes working the proshop such as when i got a new anti siphin tank he sold me these ones he bought off a guy which work just fine if not better for $20 less. And speaking of the pro shop they carry very high end products and usally have upgrades if its a more recent or popular model such as the ion and epiphiny. He also has guns such as invert mini, shocker, evil pimp, etc. I've used my friends rentail gun before and they are also great though the air tanks they give do run out kind of fast since they are only 3000psi though that is a small thing. The players there are also nice and many pros and am pros choose to play there. But dont worry they will probley be practicing at one of the speedball fields so if you play woods ball you may never see them and pros only play with people that want to play with them. So over all i give wanna play paintball a 10/10 out of all the many fields i play at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lopez17 Saturday, June 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the Area
Directions
to the Field:
The field is located adjacent to Route 15 and is accessible from a quick turn off the highway. The signs leading to the field are well marked as is the parking area.
Review: A friend and I decided to make a roadtrip to PA this weekend from Virginia. I had seen the signs for Wanna Play on several occasions as I travelled through on Route 15, but had never been able to stop. The drive up Route 15 from DC is a very pleasant and relaxing drive. The field is located right off the main highway and has a well maintained gravel parking lot with plenty of room for parking and had ample room for gear staging.

The owner, Sheldon, was very nice and welcoming. I had emailed him earlier in the week and the response was incredibly fast. He was as pleasant in person as he was via email. I was impressed with the space and ease to set up.

My initial impression of the refs at the field was very solid. Before the day even began they were cleaning up the parking area and looking for even the most minor specks of garbage. They were all incredibly friendly and were proactive in encouraging the players to be diligent to safety rules. Unlike many other fields, the refs at Wanna Play would engage the players in conversation (intelligent at that). Wanna Play should be commended for the staff they have.

As the weather was unseasonably warm (Approaching 95 degrees with High Humidity and a heat index over 110), we had to wait for some players to show up but we were able to get in several games of 2 on 2, 3 on 3 on the hyperball field. Again, the refs were proactive to ensure that people kept masks on and that safety rules were followed. They were incredibly good about getting games in a swift manner without making the players feel rushed. As additional players arrived, we geared up and went to their village woodsball field. They have a nice Alamo style fort in the middle with bunkers, buildings, etc. surrounding it. It's an interesting layout and played well. I have to really compliment the head ref as he was diligent about looking after the needs of the players while maintaining their safety. There aren't a lot of refs as professionally skilled as he is.

My day ended shortly after these games as I broke my toe (due to my clumsiness) after I tripped, not paying attention to where I was running. That's my only disappointment on the day as I was looking forward to sampling more of what Wanna Play had to offer. My friend ran some one on one games and drills with some of the local players and we ended up chatting with several other regulars which was also enjoyable.

I was impressed with the quality of their airball fields and the quantity of grass they had. After I heal up, I'll make the road trip up there again. This seems to be a first class operation and worth the trip.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Super__G Monday, May 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish - expensive, alot of walking, little playing, cool fields
Directions
to the Field:
Just MapQuest it.
Review: My friend and I played there on Sunday. Unfortunately it rained for the first 3 hours of the day which limited the turnout for the day, not WPP fault. I had sent many emails to Shelton prior to going and he always responded quickly and was patient with all the questions I asked.

The rates are very good and the paint was priced well within reason. We choose the upgraded guns but the weather neutralized their effectiveness. The basic rental gun electronic gun that fired nicely. The ref was very good, easy to work with and kept the games moving. The fields are good, i really like that they are small enough that everything is close. All the fields can be walked in just a couple of minutes so there isn't alot of time wasted going between fields.

There was food on hand for lunch that we good and not expensive.

If I had any complaint which is minor, is that I wish they used something other than compressed air. We had to fill our tanks every two games which slowed down the play. It would be nice if we could 3-4 games between fillings.

We had alot of fun and wil be going back in the future. Very nice place to play paintball.

Overall rating 9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sharpe Friday, February 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
EMR in Northern Pennsyvlania, also play in Massachusetts.
Review: I have played at Wannaplay about 3 time since I have been at gettysburg College and each time it got better.

Staff- The refs there know there stuff about the game and are always willing to have a chat about the latest gun, game, or anything paintball related. The on field reffing was good and most were eager, once asked, to check a player out for paint check.

Prices- BYOP is the set up and I think that draws more players to the game. Fairly priced and paint prices are also resonsable.

Food- They have had a food stand everytime i was there and the food was standard food. Excellent for a hungry player coming off the field, but not the Ritz Carlton...but who needs that quality anyway ?

HPA- The filling station everytime i have been there has been the only downside to the field. An upgraded system would be better with perhaps a better compressor to pump the air. It operates on a simple press the button and fill the tank system, which i was afraid to use the first time, but after that seemed ok. Did seem to break a lot, but the techs there always helped.


Overall 8 out of 10 for the field and i will be returning for their games in the future!

-Sharpe
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

agurish Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Revolution - Expensive, no BYOP...
Linglestown - A bit out off the beaten path, no BYOP.
Directions
to the Field:
PA Rte 15 S out of Dillsburg, PA, 5 miles (or so), fields are on the hill on your left.
Review: I played usually on Sundays, which are BYOP. 20$ and you get all the air/CO2 fills you need, and you get to use your own paint.... Very nice. Refs are competent, and are very safety conscious. Fields are clean, and well kept, even the "bush/woods" fields have mowed paths, and are well marked. Lots of action for little bit of dough! I highly suggest going.

UPDATE - This field is one of, if not the BEST in the Central PA area. They are competitive in every respect (price, quality, and honesty). Give them a shot, and if you've been before, try them again. I'm sure if you approach them with respect, they'll reciprocate!

-AGURISH
Last edited on Monday, October 8th, 2007 at 6:59 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodskingmr1 Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played at linglestown paintball , outlaw, roundtop, and a few others and none come any where close to wanna play this is hands down the best field in pennsylvania
Directions
to the Field:
very simple to find right off rt 15 in dills burg. From harrisburg take rt 81s to rt 83s follow 83s to 581w take 581w to exit 5b towards gettysburg to rt 15s its a straight shot from there stay on rt 15 until you reach dillsburg you will see a sign on the left side it says Paintball Paintball Paintball!!!
Review: By far the best course around i have played at many different courses and none of them have anything on wanna play the fields are amazing no 2 are the same. The prices are unbelievable at only $20 byop and $15 if you buy their paint. Safety is the main priority at wanna play they strictly enforce all safety issues every one must attend a safety meeting before stepping foot on a field and the meetings are run all day. This is a very clean facility no trash anywhere just a little paint. Wanna play has a very friendly environment with lots of walk ons and first timers as well as experienced players every one always is looking out for everyone else and is just there to have a good time.
The refs are very good all are as fair as they can be and are always making sure every one is safe while playing. (best refs I have ever seen)
I highly recommend wanna play paint ball to everyone it is the only place i will go anymore I was very impressed and will never stop going. You will not be disappointed
with any thing here. Wanna Play is the place to be for excellent paintball fun give it try and see for your self
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

arrowheadtk Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
AEL PAINTBALL,DELMARVA PAINTBALL,POINT BREAK,PAINTBALL THUNDER,
LOTS OF PRIVATE OWN FIELDS,
Directions
to the Field:
EASY TO FIND RT. 15 SOUTH THRU DILLSBURG,PA, 3 MILES,OUT OF DILLSBURG SIGNS ON LEFT,TURN LEFT ONTO FRANKLIN CHURCH RD.40 YDS. ON LEFT
Review: I read alot about this field,so i decided to go their, I maded a wise choice, the best fields I ever played at, prices where very resonable,byop was $20.00, for all day, and $15.00 if you bought paint there, cheapest prices of any field,$35.00 on up,I am in to playing woods ball, great fields,every field was different, played at 5 fields, 2 games each.Their lots of players their, walk ons our welcome, and there was alot of walk ons, along with small groups, all had a good time,their is a food stand, and prices where fair,$2.50 for a Hamburger, or you can bring your own,and out houses which where very clean,I felt the Refs where very safety conscience and the safety meeting was given at least once a hour, you had to attend at least one of them before playing! Short meeting but to the point, safety is first there,which it should be at any field!, I am going to bring some of my friends to this field again, as a group , you can play together as long as it fair sides,I travel 75 miles to play their and it was worth it!Open Sat. and Sun. 10am-6PM,Also the owner seem to care about safety for everyone and that every one had a good safe time! try it , you will not go wrong!
Last edited on Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 at 3:15 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bampf Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Linglestown Paintball - More RecBall oriented
Revolution - Expenive. They do run occasion scenario events
Review: I got into the hobby early last year and played regularly at Wanna Play for much of the summer. The facilities and fields are very nice. The new pro shop by the field is excellent. By far the nicest in the area.

Several very good rec ball fields. Hoochie Man and LegoLand are both excellent. The head ref is outstanding and went out of his way to make sure my group had a good time (forget his name). Sheldon is a very polarizing figire. He does seem to rub some people the wrong way, but was always very helpful and friendly with me and my friends.

The prices and the appearance is the best in the area. They are extremely safety conscious.

The Bad-

As exclusive Recball players, my friends and I rarely go to WPP any more. The site does seem to pander moreso to Speedball players. Tourney players on the woods ball field are also a constant source of contention. The mix of casual players with tourney players can lead to bad situations... you can only watch 12 yr old girls being lit up so many times before you get annoyed.

The reffing can be inconsistent. Some refs are very good. Others seem less than impartial. Overshooting and hot guns need to be handled better when the speedball mentality filters over onto the recball field.

There is also a significant poison ivy issue on the woods feilds as one guy in my group ends up with massive outbreaks after every session so beware if you are susceptible.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jeep Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Linglestown Paintball (formerly the foxhole), Skirmish
Directions
to the Field:
Located off Rt15 south of Dillsburg, Pro shop has moved very close to the field, it is located along side of RT 15 between 15 and the field.
Review: SAFETY, REFS and RULES
safety at this field is overall excellent and always improved upon. All players are required to sit through a safety briefing. All private owned markers are to chrono before entry on the fields for the day. REFs are by and large excellent but not omnipresent, if you have a problem take it to a ref, it will be handled. Repeated violation are not tolerated very well, if you are being a TOOL you will be told about, This is usually a two strikes your OUT deal. SAFETY is pushed on this field it is every players responsibility as well as the fields, REFs are in radio communication, Rules are strictly enforced. Especially safety rules Barrel socks are the preferred Barrel blocking device and strongly encouraged. Waivers are kept on file.

HOURS OF OPERATION
usually 9-10 in the morning till dusk. Weekdays are currently by appointment, may change in the summer months

FEES
15 dollar field fees, Very reasonable paint costs, field is also BYOP, gear rentals are available and also reasonable, rental guns have good performance but are bright red with yellow hoppers. easily seen in the woods.

PRO SHOP and services
Pro shop is first rate with good techs, often very busy, minor problems can be fixed on the field, major problems with gear need to go to the pro shop., Some snacks on field, sometimes a Gut truck, Lots of fast food down the road

FACILITIES
3-4 speed ball fields (netted) 5-6 woods ball fields, 1 air soft field (in progress) Portapotty
Woods ball is semi ONLY, fields are a nice size but on a hillside
speed ball fields are netted and fairly flat and even.

C3 Air soft is building a air soft field on a unused part of the property, detail can be requested thru sheldon or thru that organizations web address.

field fees include HPA and CO2

PLAYERS
Wanna play as a large cross section of players. They fall into three distinct groups, the new players or infrequent ones, the woods ball irregulars witch include some school sponsored organizations, and speed ball players sponsored teams and players with delusions of being pros, Tourney attitude is alive and well at Wanna play paintball , especially when mixing some of the speed ball players and woods ball players, this has soured some folks games for the day. I now have no interest in speed ball because of this, Woods ball players tend to be self policing and more new player friendly in my experience. With new players a 10 foot safety rule can be voted into play on the woods ball fields. I have seen a attempt to balance teams out for fairness.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigfoot762 Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Revolution Paintball (ski roundtop) - High prices, Safety is not strict
Linglestown Paintball - centered around newer players, safety does not seem to matter, unknowledgeable refs
Lehigh Valley Paintball - Good place but only two fields and centered around more experienced players. All indoor speedball.
Directions
to the Field:
On the website.
Review: To start off, Wanna Play is my favorite field in my area hands down. I started going here last spring and have only gone to other fields when the weather does not allow me to go here. They are open on Saturdays and Sundays and i believe you can rent out the field with a large enough party on weekdays. It is also a byop (Bring your own paint) field so you can bring any kind of paint you like to the field. They also sell paint at the field and at the store at decent prices. The most expensive is marbalizer for $55 a case. The also sell premium for $48 a case, evil and some lower quality paint at lower prices. The entry fee for all day is $15 which includes unlimited C02 or HPA fills. During the spring, summer and fall they have two airball fields set up and a hyperball field. All of these fields have netting around them. They also have 5-6 woods ball fields. Some of these are fairly large and can play games on them with 30vs30 and run smoothly. During the winter months the airball is taken down and the hyperball can not be played because they take the netting down from it. The refs have always been very serious at this field and do there job well. Safety is a major concern for this field and players are constantly reminded about barrel covers and masks staying on. A unique rule they have at WPP is that everyone must lay there guns on the ground before the players are allowed take there masks off after a game. For some this may seem odd but i think it is a good idea. The refs are strict but are also nice and always willing to help if you need it.
Before you are allowed to go out and start playing you have to attend a mandatory safety briefing. These are held throughout the day for people that show up late. If you have your own marker you must go and chrono before you play. The chrono speed is set at 280 fps max. Ramping, full auto or any other kind of modes (except for semi auto) are not allowed when playing woodsball. This helps keep the games friendly and helps to avoid overshooting. The games usually have a 15 min time limit on them but do not usually last this long. If the games get to the 10 min mark the refs will call 2 mins left to get the players moving. If nobody moves they usually call the game over after another 3-4 mins. The players that come here usually come every weekend or every other weekend and everyone gets to know each other. Most of weekends i play there are younger kids and a dozen or so first timers.
I only have a few complaints about this field. The first one is that they only run the compressors for the HPA fills for the first hour or so of the day. So for the rest of the day you get lower and lower fill pressures. At the end of the day you are lucky if you can get a 2800psi fill for your 4500psi tank. My second complaint is that they do not serve food at the field. They did up until last November or so. I'm not sure if they will start again in the spring or not. This is not a big problem because about 5 mins down the road is a mcdonalds and wendys. My last complaint is that the refs don't always split up the teams fairly. If a group of very experienced players is playing with the group of walk on woods ball players i don't believe it's fair to put all of the experienced players on one team and put all of the walk ons on the other and call it fair after giving the experienced players a few walk ons so the teams have even numbers. This wasn't a big problem because they always change it if one team does a lot better than the other and they always ask the players if they are alright with the teams.
In conclusion, Wanna Play Paintball is a very good field (my favorite). The refs do a good job keeping things safe, the fields are nice and the prices on paint are good. If you don't like the prices on paint you can always bring your own. BYOP! I would strongly suggest that you try WPP at least once.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media