paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Rocky Creek Paintball Field / Rocky Creek Paintball Field / Rocky Creek Paintball Field / Rocky Creek Paintball Field

Rocky Creek Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
100Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 352-371-2092
Address: 10614 SW Archer Rd
Gainesville, Florida 32608
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
                            
usarmy57 Saturday, September 17th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike and Waynes World
Review: I feal that I have been ripped off by this cheesy establishment. the prices to play at this feild is so god damn ridiculous. 60 dollars for a case of paint, 25 dollars for 500 paintballs. and dont even get me started on their service. my gun was having problems and the owner was gone getting PIZZA. i had to wait an hour to play. and the staff is unknowledgable. they know nothing about paintball. they wouldnt know a karnivore from A CARNIVORE. the staff is his family.
so anyone going to paintball in the gainesville area, dont go to rocky creek, jim and his field suck. the courses are so cheesy, they have PORTA POTYs. and one of their courses is just a field with a couple fields. so my advice to you is to never go to this crapy paintball place becaus of the pices, service, and cheesy feilds.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
10 Comments - Add Comment

Pbfreak2005 Saturday, September 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First strike- Decent fields, but last time i went the staff payed no attation to the first time players to their fields.
Waynes world- Fun, good staff but way to far away.
Review: This is probly my favorite field in the state of Florida. First of all it is close to me and it is the cheepest. Rockey creek has the best reffs that give eveyone the attation they deserve. Other people said Jim yells at people, but he only does that for you safety. You probly cant find a better field with better reffs in the state of Florida!
Last edited on Saturday, September 17th, 2005 at 1:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

djduckyi Monday, September 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike - Expensive....Nice variation of fields, but not very friendly to new customers.
Wayne's World - Decent field, but too far of a drive.
Review: I've been playing at Rocky Creek for the past four years. Jim and the staff are all very professional and friendly to both the regulars, and new comers. They have two woods ball fields, a half pipe field, a small air ball field, and a BRAND NEW larger airball field(as of Sept. 2005). Their fields are great for both beginners, and experienced players. I was able to play on the new airball field right after they completed setting up, and I give it two thumbs up. Rocky Creek has the best prices around, and also BYOP. Safety is of utmost importance there, as well as making sure that everyone is enjoying themselves. Rocky Creek is a great field, so gear up, and go have some fun!

D J Ducky I
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gatorpv18 Friday, July 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike - much more professional
Review: This is the first field I ever played at. I played a few years back, got out of the sport, and then came back about 6 months ago and started playing more seriously, about every weekend. I did not realize just how bad this field was until I tried the competition at First Strike. Jim, the field's owner, is not a very nice person. He made a female member of my group cry by yelling at her when she didn't know a rule. Also, he is quick to yell at you about any small incident before asking nicely, though I watched him walk out to ref a game last weekend with no mask!

Despite his personal shortcomings, the biggest complaint I have there is with the paint. Recently they added two new airball fields, which I was very excited about! However, he then switched to a field paint only rule. The paint du jour was Thrust. If you've ever been hit by thrust, you'll know it. I currently have a bruise about 3 inches in diameter. To top it off, the paint doesn't break. If I'm not mistaken, aren't airball bunkers made to get dirty?

Anyhow, after several weeks of no business, he's gone back to byop, but for me it's too little too late. I decided to give the field one more shot, and I had a guy shoot me from 10 feet away instead of tapping my bunker. Maybe if there had been a ref for the game, that wouldn't have happened.

The fields themselves are alright. There is a nice registration area with some of the tables covered. There are 3 airball fields that are ok, and a couple of fun woods fields.

In conclusion, I would highly recommend all gainesville natives make the short trip to first strike. They treat the field as a business, offering competitive pricing, great customer service, and respect, all things that are not offered at rocky creek in my humble opinion.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

gforcecaptain Saturday, June 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played at first strike in newberry and this field is MUCH better. this is my favorite field to play at for rec ball.
Review: Anybody looking for a good place to play rec ball should definitely check this place out. The staff is really friendly and the fields are great. There is a great combo of air ball, forest and regular rec ball fields. It is a great place for both beginning and experienced players. I highly recommend this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

outofround Tuesday, May 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike is all scenario and a little pricey, Waynes World is nice but a little far from where I live.
Review: Plus+ This field has recently replaced its "Porta Potty" field with air bladders giving it three airball fields that are kind of tight. The woods fields are larger one with a King of the Hill style fortress and the other field with trees and stacked wood crates. Overall the courses are nice and the clientel play fairly.

Negatives- Outofround paint! To pay for the additions to the fields there now is a mandatory field paint only rule that would not be so bad except for that it is overpriced and stored in an unairconditioned metal trailer that sits in the Florida sun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Fueled by Paint Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
not sure
Review: Don't waste your time or money. Ok sure they got air-ball but the field is the smallest I've seen. But I play woods ball and their fields were horrible. Its not even woods its like a speed ball field made of pallets, a small plywood fort in the center, and some trees outlining the playing area. They've got one field where the bunkers were are all port-a-john toilets! They paint price is sickening. They charge $50 for a case of second hand paint. Its not even a brand its a mixture from different places. I couldn't use them in my m98 because they were busting every 2-3 shots. And were busting even more in the A-5 with the flatline. So we luckily brought some of our own paint and had no breakage problems with ours. Plus every paintball in the case they sold us was warped. $10 all day air. No pro-shop or store of any kind. They don't chrono guns they take them from you shoot them out in the field and then say "your good". So they were just guessing on it. And worst of all we are playing the last game of they day and they call it while we were playing because the said they wanted to call it a day. We were in the middle of a game!!! I will never return here. And so you know they said they were going to field paint only so expect to break more paint than you actually shoot. And the staff was extremely annoying they complained about paintball on there air-ball bunkers. And balls that had broke on the ground in the staging area. And it was a natural dirt and grass ground nothing special.
Last edited on Monday, April 25th, 2005 at 6:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Darthevix Thursday, March 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike is the only one that I know of.
Review: I personally like this field. They have 2 great woodsball fields, 1 hyper/airball field, and 2 other fields that I , at the moment, do not know what they would be considered. Their woods ball fields have great bunkers and different terains that make them fun to play on. Their Hyper/Air ball field is great. They just put some hyperball tubing to the Airball field and it is sweet! The other two fields are: One- Is made out of Porty-potty's and 2- is made out of plastic things simular to half pipes. Overall, I love this field and I would recomend it to players from begginers-pros!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

biglou61 Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
first strike
Review: This field is ok. Me and my buddies go here just about every other saturday. I like the airball field. Pretty nice woods. If your the kind of person who likes to goof off and have a good time, this field is for you. Its also a great begginers field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tytheknight Saturday, February 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Good Speedball, Good woodsball. Plenty of cover. 5 separate fields to play on with good variety (woods,speed,air). Good price...I used my own gun and balls so I don't know about the guns they rent out. Some friends and I went out on a weekend and there was from about 5 to around 30 people throughout the day for a good variety of competition. Sometimes combine fields for larger games. Helpful staff....can be anal at times but could just be extra cautious. Good for various experience levels.....all kinds were out there.....beginner to advanced. Overall it was a great experience. We spent all day and had a good time without getting bored. If you're in the area or you live here and you're looking for a good field....go here....it's worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media