paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Rocky Creek Paintball Field / Rocky Creek Paintball Field / Rocky Creek Paintball Field / Rocky Creek Paintball Field

Rocky Creek Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
100Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 352-371-2092
Address: 10614 SW Archer Rd
Gainesville, Florida 32608
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
impysurfer725 Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
first strike
Review: This facility is by far the best in Gainesville. The owner Jim, is a very fair and good man. He definatly knows how to run a paintball field. All who work there are good people and do a great job at keeping the field clean, safe, and fun. there is a good selection of fields and games are run every 5 minutes. if you're looking for a good time, this is the place to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ROCKYTHREE Thursday, January 10th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tampa Bay Area
Blitzkrieg, Gator, Ledgends, Battlezone
Review: visting my son in Gainesville, so i tried this field and learned a few things.
i am used to playing on fairly good fields, but this speedball field in poor condition
very little grass and some holes on field. must use care when running on this field or you could hurt yourself.
person running field not very friendly, more of the dictator type
in fact he got mad because i shared some paint i had purchased from him with others
(never heard of that before)
but the worse thing about the field, no refs
the owner or his daughter would sit outside the fence watching us
i asked about paint checks, "we dont do paint checks if feel like you are hit your out"
in my opinion a good field should have refs inside the field with the players.
IF YOU EVER ARE AT A FIELD WITH NO REFS DONT PLAY GO SOMEWHERE ELSE
the field did have a good woodsball field
if you know anything about paintball you would be better off going to Ocala to play if you are in the area. (this field in unprofessional and not player friendly)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

paintmyballs Monday, December 3rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First strike, Waynes world, Paintball brothers, Jungle Games, and a lot more. A lot of construction sites too.
Review: ATTENTION:Ok, so this review is mostly written for players that have some experience and their own gear.That being said, I went to R.C. this past weekend for the 1st time and I encountered such piss poor customer service that we didnt even play! I realize that field owners have to have a lot of rules for insurance and nat'l paintball assoc. but then there are things that are up to their own discretion. First, we get out there and the owner, Jim, is really nice and there is some kind of bday party with kids ages 7-15 or so. Then, this guy turns into a shark only concerned with making $. I didnt have a barrel plug so I ask if there is one I can use, he says I can rent one for $5, but I might as well rent his equip. for $10( he mentioned this like 3x after I had already told him I had my own gear.) FIne. that's ok. Some people would have just said borrow it for free since you brought 5 other players that will be renting equip. and buying paint from, not a big deal. Then he tells us that we have to play with the kids! I told him that we didnt want to play with the kids, we want to play by ourselves. IS THIS NOT A REASONABLE REQUEST? He says, " I think you think that you are better than you really are. I dont think you're that good. You think that you are going to be Tom Berringer out there like 'Sniper' picking kids off one by one." Now this guy doesnt even know me.For all he knows, I could have played with the Naughty Dogs or team Dynasty. I told him that we didnt want to play wth the kids because they were younger and obviously not as experienced. He says either we play by his rules or we can leave. At this point all my friends want to leave beacuse this guy is being such a jerk. I convince them to stay so I show him the paintballs I brought with me, Marbalizer, and he says I cant use it. He says" this isnt marbalizer. You have to be able to break the paintball with your fingers to use it." News to me. My paint was a little harder than usual when I showed up but it had been a cold morning. THE POINT OF THIS REVIEW IS THIS: THE OWNER,JIM, IS STUBBORN AND RUDE.THIS PLACE MAY BE FINE FOR AMATEURS AND FAMILIES, BUT NOT FOR PEOPLE WHO WANT TO HAVE A GOOD TIME WITH THEIR OWN FRIENDS AND NOT BE FORCED TO PLAY WITH ELEMENTARY SCHOOL KIDS. TOO MANY RULES SO MAKE SURE YOU SHOW UP REAL EARLY AND BRING LOTS OF CASH!Oh and if you want to see a total change in attitude, bring a girl with you. Custormer service for pretty girls seems more like creepy flirting. I know cuz we had one with us and those were her exact words.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

dork_allie Friday, November 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
never played before
Review: I love this place! I decided to celebrate my 37th b-day here. Jim was great. He was very helpful and patient. Even when I accidentally did something that he asked us not to, he was very understanding and forgiving. The whole group loved it. Some had played before. I am still hearing my friends talk about it. We had a blast and the games were very fun.

I recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a good time. As a novice, this was a great experience and i will defenitely go again!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Syllabus69 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I had never played at this field before and I must say I was quite impressed. I have all of my equipment so to play games it was very cheap, 5 dollars I believe for the whole day not including air fills or paint. They had alot of different fields. Their speedball fields were excellent. The woodsball fields were very good too and very large. I especially liked the fact that they kept the games moving one after another. After a game ended, they had another ready to go within 5-10 mins.. So there was not much downtime. The refs were very fair. A man I think was the owner would sometimes ref the larger games as well and he was extremely fair. The games were fun and I had a great time. I will definately go back to play here again. Great field!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evil_Wayz Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played paint ball at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center, and at Orbital in Orlando.
Review: I'm writing this review just to say that even though RC has slightly smaller fields than some of the other paint ball fields in the Gainesville Area, and it's play is geared towards fairness to walk ons, I feel that the customer service you get there makes it the best field around.

Case in point: I took my girlfriend there on her birthday, with her newly upgraded tippy 98c. After the first game, her gun malfunctioned, and we couldn't get it to work again until we took it home and stripped it down completely. Not only did Jim not charge her to sue a rental for the day, he let her use one of his PERSONAL markers. And it wasn't some piece of crap either, it was one of HIS guns. How many field owners do you know like that?

So dispute til the cows come home, I'm going to keep going back to Rocky Creek.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

raistlinaed Friday, March 16th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike- (MUUUCH BETTER!!)
friend's backyard- (about even)
Waynes world- (cool for big scenario)
Directions
to the Field:
off archer somewhere...

WATCH FOR THE SIGN
Review: the good:
the woodsball is great on this field...that sums it up

the BAD:
The refs are HORRIBLE, i went here 3 or 4 times, and everytime, the ref was watching people outside of the field, one of em was yelling across toward his girlfriend, another was watching another game, so our game didnt have a ref, you call for a paintcheck on someone, the ref doesn't even care.
They sell bad paint, every time I go there, and I buy their paint, there's always a break in each bag, ALWAYS, and I try to ask them for another case, and I get answers like "you break it, you buy it" and the person had just handed it to me
The people: I don't like the people that go their, as you're walking off the field, they'll shoot you for fun, this has happened to me in quite a few games, or I'll have my mask on, watching a friend, and I see this stream of paint coming at me, and I'll have to dive into a bunker, or run of the field quickly

all in all: I give this field 3 out of 10 (and it would've been less, but I like the woodsball)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

gnvpaintball Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
West out of Gainesville on Archer road till you get to 107th street then make a right. First right at the gate then down the dirt road.
Review: Rocky Creek is a great place to play. 6 fields fields to play on, lots of variations of games. Jim and his staff keep things moving at a good pace so you can always get in on a game. The Refs are fair and keep a close watch on games to make sure things go smoothly. All skill ranges of players. Prices are fair and if you don't have your own equipment Jim has a decent range of rental deals. I always have a great time when i go. Great place for younger players as well, Jim and staff make sure all players adhere to the safety rules.

check it out, you will have a great time!

NOTE: I personally think they need at least one regulation Xball field. 5 fields would be better then 6 if they had this.


Last edited on Saturday, March 1st, 2008 at 5:32 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

2tcrew Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at first strike and its ok but not as good as rocky creek! rocky creek is good in so many ways in terms of the fields that is there. The field has forts ,dunes ,brush,and all kinds of stuff you can hide behind to give it a real scenario to the game. this field has nice air-ball fields that are clean and aired up unlike first strike.
Directions
to the Field:
on archer road.coming from newberry look to your left and coming frome g ville look to your right
Review: rocky creek is a sweet place to play paintball . prices are cheap and rules are reasonable but strict to insure the safty of every one. there isnt any food to buy so be sure to bring something to snack on. Jim( owner) is really nice , the referee(denis) we had was really helpfull and nice and made sure i had all my stuff ready to go for the next game. my experience at this field was great.,I am definatly coming back , i would rate this field 10/10 .
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedballer_72 Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First strike-never used
Ozzies Kamikazies (Ocala)-never used
Directions
to the Field:
Archer Road off SW 107th (Dirt Road)
Review: Rocky Creek is decent place to go if you are a tourney minded player. Travis, Chris, Austin and Dan are great to play with. They play to wim but they wont shoot you up from 5 feet either. Jim is great too. He sells quality paint all for 55 dollars. last time i was there he had Premium, Zen (good stuff), Formula 13, and Heat. Not all the best tourney paint but great, cheap, competitive paint none-the-less.

SAFETY: Jim is a safety nut... the first thing he says to new players is "Make sure you keep your mask on while on the field".

FIELDS: Rocky Creek has two air-ball fields, 1 speedball field (a.k.a. halfpipe field) andd two fairly large woodsball fields. All of which are in at least fair condition.

STAFF: The staff is great. They have no problem with paint-checks and ensure everyones safety.

Rocky Creek is open at 8am on saturdays and 10am on sundays and is open till about 4:30 - 5:00. RC has two porta-poties for u to do your business. 2 drawbacks are 1.) No Pro-Shop and 2.) The website is never updated. It has been the same for a year.

Well that sums it up... Definetly come try-out rocky creek if you want a good day of paintball.
Last edited on Sunday, January 20th, 2008 at 12:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media