paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field

Cowtown Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
53Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 602-695-0722
Address: 10402 W Carefree Highway Blvd
Peoria, Arizona 85383
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Form4 Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I have played at Cowtown several times and have to agree with the reviews others have posted. Cowtown is a good field that does not break the bank. I just want to post some extra comments after my most recent trip out there. In the past the refs were not very involved in the game. They usually just sat off on the side and did very little. The refs at Cowtown last time were very good. They were involved in the game, did paint checks and called people out. Even though the refs took a few hits themselves I just had to give them thumbs up for doing good work and making the game a positive experience for everyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RyanPaintball69 Monday, September 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none besides desert and u cant even compare
Directions
to the Field:
on cowtowns site
Review: This is a great field and i love to play here when i am not reffing here. the owner oscar is a really cool dude and is very helpful for all players. it is a great price of only 20 bucks and u can bring your own paintballs so it is convient for you. all the staffs are really cool and the mechanical guys are really helpful if ur gun breaks. this place has one of the best rec ball fields to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

althalus Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
for directions, just go to cowtownpaintball.com. they have directions and everything else that you need to know before you go.
Review: well, ive gone to cowtown a few times, and even though im new at paintballing, i think that i can say that cowtown is a great place to go. yeah, it might not be the nicest place to go, but its cheap($20 to get in with free rentals and free air), the people that work that work there(especially oscar) are nice, and, i dont know if other places do this or not, but they change the field every once in a while so all the people that have been there a million times dont know exactly where all the good spots are. The only thing that i can think of that they need to do is clean the fields every once in a while(a few times a year, or something like that), cuz everything has been shot so many times that its covered in the paint from paintballs, and to move the generator away from the field for the night games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cxsdtek Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I was recently dragged here by one of my friends, and I must say, this place is awesome!

prices:
------------------------
$20 gets you entry, air, AND rentals if you need them. nowhere else can you get in for that price. You can bring your own paint too, which saves you money. But if you need, you can buy paint there. Its only $45 a case (2,000) so its not overpriced, like so many other places around here.

staff:
------------------------
The staff are all very helpful and friendly, and when I had a problem with my gun, one of the staff (I think his name was Jeff) fixed it for free! nowhere else are you going to get that kind of service! The refs could be a little more active up on the field... they tend to just monitor the games from the sidelines.

services:
---------------------
There really isn't a pro shop or anything of that nature, altho they do have a lot of gear and stuff for sale... basically, you can get a really nice setup there for cheap, although they don't have the monstrous selection of APD, and I'm fairly sure all of the gear is used. But its not exactly overpriced. As for food, drinks, etc. They sell hot dogs, chips, soda, energy drinks, Gatorade, etc... They're no restaurant by any means, but they gotcha covered! Hot dogs are just a dollar, so again, they're not trying to rip you off here either.

players:
-------------------
All the players on the field seem to be out for a good time. They're there to have fun, not compete and utterly destroy you by any means necessary. Most of them are really good sports, and it seems this field is geared toward the newer players, and those just out to have some fun. There were a lot of new players, or at least, new enough to not have their own gear, so I didn't feel like I was fighting for my life, stuck behind a single bunker for the entire game. All in all, the players also made this experience worthwhile!

overview:
--------------------

aside from the lazy refs, this place is the most awesome field in Arizona! It may not be the most hi-tech field, it might not be for those looking for brutal competition, but from what it looks like, it was never intended to be so. The prices make for a field that can be enjoyed regularly, unlike some other fields around Arizona, where playing once a month empties your wallet. Great staff, great people. all in all, THE best bang for your buck in Arizona!

rating:
---------------
while I don't believe any field is a true 10, this one is definitely one of the best in the area. I'm gonna go with an 8 overall.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bassplayer Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None others played
Directions
to the Field:
Look for the glider instrution sign turn down that road till it ends.
Review: My son has bugged me to death about paintballing with him. So, I finally gave in.
I really have no other paintball fields to compare with so my evaluation is my first and only experiance. If you're not used to taking drives out to the middle of nowhere - it might scare off the average city-slicker, make them turn around with their tails between their legs.
Dirt road and spray painted arrows and spellings of Cowtown help you to find your way. It's almost a little sureal - like something out of a wasteland B movie. Once we got there everybody was real nice, friendly and helpful. For 20 bucks they gave me all the equipment I needed(outside of my own paint) to shoot menacing children and camoed adults of all ages. I must admit I was intrested in getting what I needed. So, I think it's geared for the person who's ready to go and needs very little assistance( your going to need to as questions because nobodys going to hold your hand) Oscar is in charge of making things happen. He is swampped with questions, favors, and needs of assitance from a swarm of players and NEWBE'S (as my son calls them) but he seems to never loose his cool with the kids. He came across as somebody who genuinely cared about kids and adults having fun. I got the feeling that compared to what I have seen on TV and cable shows this field is more for the rugged, not afraind to get a bump or bruse, cut or scrape kind of player , or like when I was a kid.(40+yrs ago). If you can find a lot to complain about, then this might not be the place for you, but if you have a son/daughter who is constantly asking you about shooting that paintball gun......
For the money, based on what little I know, and I can tell you my son is in my ear 24/7 about this sport -this place is just what the doctor ordered(He's an ear specialist). Its just about 35 minutes from north central Phoenix which was nice for me. I didn't eat but man it sure smelt good.
I was orientated about safety and rules.
I saw staff reffing games.
and in the four hours I was there I participated in 8 games.( I sat out about an hour and fifteen minutes of my own free will.(I could have participated if I wanted)
Outside of paintball bruises,splinters, and some scraped skin form charging and hitting the deck, I or anybody else that I know of never got seriously hurt.
If I was asked what I think it needs more of..... that would be maybe some more adult help or some of his current employees to step up and really try to make it just a touch
more structured. I think you all have somthing good going on out there, but all it's going to take is the wrong person to end the whole thing and that would be a shame.
My son and his friend both had a great time and already are bugging me about the next time.

Thanks for the good time with my son!
Musicman




Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballfanaic Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Ranch
Directions
to the Field:
From Scottsdale and Phoenix take the 101 to I17 and then North to Carefree Highway. Go west on Carefree Highway for 6 miles to Lake Pleasant Blvd. Turn South for about 1/4 mile then turn West.

From the West valley take 99th Ave./Lake Pleasant Blvd. Turn North go until 1 block before Carefree Highway. You will see a large sign pointing you to Cowtown, Turf soaring school and Canyon Raceway, turn west.

From Wickenburg take Highway 74 past Lake Pleasant to Lake Pleasant Blvd. Turn South for about 1/4 mile then turn West.

You will see a large sign pointing you to Cowtown, Turf soaring school and Canyon Raceway. Just continue past them to the end of the road and you are at Cowtown.
Review: This place is awesome!!! It is the best place I have ever been to. The reason it is cool is because they have 2 speed ball fields and you don't have to have a ref to watch you. You just find someone and let them do the countdown and then your on your own. The also have a really good rec field. They have a van out there and it is the perfect spot because there are 2 really small holes that you have just enough room to stick your barrel through and look at people and people can never hit you cause the hole is so small. They also have something called Alamo and that is when there are like 5 ppl in this small area called the Alamo and then the rest of the 20-25 ppl are on the other side and they just all rush and bunker everyone in the Alamo. Although the Alamo ppl have a chance cause they have 2 lives. Another good thing about this place is that the admission is 20$ and you get free air and co2, and free rentals. They also have a great deal on paintballs, 45$ for 2,000 paintballs. That is awesome i spent only 80$ total and at Splatter Ranch i spent 120$. That's a big difference. The owner of cow town is really cool too he built the whole place and he also built Splatter Ranch. And also i went down there and i had a problem with my gun and they fixed it for FREE!!! This place is awesome just overall. The only bad part is that 2 of the refs there are twins and they argue a lot. It gets on your nerves but after a while another 2 refs come out and switch so its not that bad.

overall this Place RULES!!!
Last edited on Friday, July 7th, 2006 at 8:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

hudson4269 Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Southwest/SWAT City - My favorite.
Renegade - Ah the good old days.
Battlezone - Broken promises since day 1.
Shootersworld - WAY back in the day.
Directions
to the Field:
Take 99th Ave north almost until you get to Carefree Hwy near lake pleasant. Turn west at the big Glider school sign, and follow the road past the glider school and race track until you dead end into the Cowtown "parking lot".
Review: PROS
Bring your own paint (BYOP) - You can buy it there for a reasonable price and save the hassle of transportation and storage of the paint.

Nice field setup - fun field to play on, liked the variation in obstacles AKA junkyard surplus (abandon cars, old doors, TONS of underground piping laying about. The field is big enough to scale size depending on the amount of players. Plenty of nearby trees for shade when not playing.

CONS
SAFTEY - In 15 years of paintball I have never seen safety be disregared like I did yesterday. No required chronographing before entering the fields. Only chronograph available was in the "test fire" area. I clocked in at 320 when I got there. What if I choose to ignore the chrono and play at 320? Which im sure some did. Also there was no Co2 scale being used to fill tanks; I'd never seen someone just hold it in there hand until the tank got cold and hand it back.

Lack Of Organization - No one seemed to know what was going on. Information about what was transpiring about games and field was all word of mouth by players. Games started without notification.

Unsupervised Games - people started making there own teams and playing there own speedball games and the spectators were stuck reffing from the bench. Meanwhile, the refs 20 feet away were too busy messing with there own guns and hanging out with there friends to notice or care. I had never seen a game go unreffed in 15 years until yesterday.

Not New Player Friendly - If I didn't know to do things like chrono my gun, or wear goggles when barrel plugs are out in target range or at any time on the field; I would NEVER have known. The first few games of the day we were just walked out, divided into teams and played. No Safety orientation, no new player talk, no Q & A. All the players were left to explain what was going on to the new people. People with questions about their rental guns had to ask other players since there never seemed to be a ref around. And don't say they were busy; they are refs, they need to be on the field, and helping their players/customers. I don't know what is more a priority then that for a ref. I saw a 10 year old kid with a rental's air run out, and since no ref was watching the speedball field, no one was there to help him and he got shot about 5 times while he was trying to figure out what was wrong with his gun. You think that kid is going to walk away with a good impression of paintball in general?

Proshop - If you can even call it that. Im not sure if they offer airsmith services, but after what I saw yesterday I would never let anyone touch my gun that worked there. Also we tried to buy a case of paint when we got there. We were told "we don't know when we will be selling paint." So we shot up what we brought and left.

CONCLUSION
On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give my first trip to Cowtown a 3. (if I didn't enjoy the field, it would have been a 2) My worst personal paintball experience ever. I will give it another chance in the future and plan at least one more trip back and update this review.

**UPDATE**
Oscar, the owner of Cowtown, contacted me and informed me that he was looking into some of the issues I commented about.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 11th, 2006 at 6:57 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

Kristy Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
this was the only one so far
Review: I was there with some of my friends for a couple of our B-days. After Reading some of these reviews I felt I needed to give my opion of the field.

We had alot of fun there everyone was really helpful to us, my have just been because we were girls but I don't think so as I saw the refs helping other players to. The refs helped us alot our first game telling us how to move about the field and make good shots, not that we were good enough to hit anything it was nice to get the advise from people wo know what they were doing. I think they even got a video of one of the games we played because I saw a ref walking around with a camera on his head, if so I would like that person to get in touch with me so I can get a copy.

Overall I really liked the field and my friends and myself will be coming back out in a few weeks to play again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

tipmanman Sunday, June 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: ok it was fun, i have to give it that, but i will not be going back, partialy because i live in new mexico, but mostly because, it was hotter than hell with little shade, the rec field sucked, little cover and the cover was just that, little, very small objects to hide behind other than the van. The refs are a bunch of kids that i really dislike, because they run out there if they think you might have gotten hit and do a full body check to see, they did that to me, while i was in the van(not hit what so ever) and they got me shot it the the head because they had a feeling that i got hit, well i guess they got what they wanted. field fee is not bad, 20 bucks to get in and that includes all day air and rentals if you need them. pretty unorganized, i was sitting around for about an hour befor i found out that you hike up to the rec field and then everybody just plays all day. DONT PLAY THE ALAMO. its one of their scenarios, one team charges a crapy 2D plywood fort "the alamo" its stupid scuicide just like the real alamo. there are 6 people in the alamo nomatter what, and every body else (no matter how many) charge in. now the charging team is on a hill with no cover, the alamo is a little ways past the bottom of the hill and the have so much cover the chargers cant see them, both teams are pinned, it sucks, dont play it. definatly not the field for big scenario guns like mine, i have a 98 custom with a 16" jj ceramic barrel with a bt combat stock, i couldnt get any angles because every thing is too small and bunched together. alot of sped ballers so sniping or charging is not an option. you gett lit up HUGE. dont play durring the summer months durring the day unless your really used to the really hot weather. i had fun but like i said i wont go back again because the field SUCKS!! i give it a 5 because the price, the food, and because the people ewere nice and helpful. otherwise it would get a 2





but i guess i havent ever played a desert field b4 and i have high expectations because the forrest fields i play on are my kind of field and they are alwayse good so i ssay it sucked compared to the forrest but i dont know how it compares to man made rec fields.
Last edited on Sunday, June 4th, 2006 at 6:32 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

FS7xxxSchrier Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at 23 and west world. I like cowtown. all the people are really nice there, and you never have to wait in a line to play.
Review: This is a great field. i would highly reccomend it to anyone. all the poeple are nice there. they have a nice rec ball field and a nice speed ball field, and plus the skill level is getting better at cowtown.i would give it a 10 for a rating. it is a great place to go. GO THERE you will have a great time
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media