paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field / Cowtown Paintball Field

Cowtown Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
53Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 602-695-0722
Address: 10402 W Carefree Highway Blvd
Peoria, Arizona 85383
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
timcraten Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
From Chicago: Challenge Park, Take Aim, Country Club, Fox Paintball.
Review: I'll give this field a rating of 8. Like most fields there are going to be flaws in the operation, but the good things about the field overshadow the flaws.
The good:
Management: the owner and staff are awesome. They will not try to screw with you, or are they a bunch of tourney rejects that have the attitude to go with it. They are very helpful and try their hardest to make your time there enjoyable. I came out with my whole "family reunion" -only two of us (out of 15) have played before. They helped us out with the price, with the gear, with basic tips....
Price: BYOP!!!!! and if you don't, it's like $45.00 a case -you can't beat that. $20.00 admission which includes your basic rental set up (if you don't have your own gear).
Fields: 1 rec ball field which is huge, 1 speed ball field which is set up really nice, 1 hyperball field that is small but great for 3 on 3's or 1 on 1's. We spent most of our time here.
Players: There are the basic rec ball player that comes, but then there are also serious tourney players that are there as well. So it's good all around.

The only bad thing I can say about the field is the lack of checking the chrono. Though I never got hit by a hot shot of even heard anyone shooting hot, it still would be nice to have it checked before games. Others said that ramping was an issue here, I didn't see or hear any excessive ramping (15bps maybe).
Anyway, it's a great field that I will go to again every time I go back to AZ.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shlurpee Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
compared to 23bps this field is not nearly as good.
Directions
to the Field:
101 to union hills, back track to 99th and on up until carefree highway
Review: Hours of operation is 9-1:30. I took my own gun and had 5 friends go with me that all rented guns. We only played on the rec field. First the good things.


pros
-cheap field entry
-bring your own paint
-rental is free including pods and pod pack
-very big rec field, 100's of obstacles
-good orientation for 1st timers. Good pointers from oscar (the owner i guess)
- many different scenario games

cons
-I didn't see many rules being enforced on the rec field
-many people were playing with ramping and full auto ( when I got out I witnessed several people hold down the trigger and spray the place)
-due to full auto and what not, when you get hit you get lit up
-rental guns are CRAP. We had a CO2 tank blow up on us. Another gun that wouldn't shoot more than 30 feet. Another one you would have to recock after each shot. We changed them out several times. The staff was nice when trading but the next gun was never any better.
-No one chronos. I dont know for a fact but it felt and looked like many people were shooting hot guns. 2 of us walked off the field bleeding after getting hit from a over 30-40 feet away.

If you want to test out the top feet per second of your marker and/or bps go there, you'll get a chance to test both while playing!

I will not go there again. Didn't enjoy the set up or the lack of rules.
Last edited on Monday, April 17th, 2006 at 3:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

BK-Sleeper Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Ranch, Westworld, 23bps
Directions
to the Field:
Off of 99th Ave and Carefree highway. All the way past the glider field and speedway.
Review: Cowtown is by far the best place i've ever played at, but has it's flaws.

The one best part is BYOP [Bring your own paint]. Unlike Westworld, where you buy their paint for $65 a case [Breaks ALOT], Cowtown also sells paint for $45 a case, and is good stuff like Diablo Hellfire and Stinger.

Oscar, the owner, is one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet in the world, giving advice to players while also enforcing the rules.

Now to the flaws. Cowtown is a little unorganized, but that doesn't take away from the fun. It takes a while to get the rental guns working, and sometimes the working ones take a crap on you, though the staff will fix it right up for you. The field has only two chronos, not including the hand chronos that the refs use. One chrono at the target range and another at the RecField.

Since my entire time at Cowtown, the only thing i've ever seen people kicked out were for using ramping, full auto, or using constant profanity, and those players don't go there anymore.

Some of the professional regulars though, are a little tough on the new guys, but later when you start playing alongside them, you'll become great friends with them.

The food there, is by far almost the best i've had in my life at a paintball field. Hotdogs. Chips. Energy drinks. Steak. Good stuff.

Cowtown is a great field to play on, and I CAN guarantee that you WILL have fun there, though it is not for the weak of heart, meaning those who will get shot five times only once or twice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PhoenixWolf Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Southwest Paintball, Splatter Ranch, Xtreme Pursuit
Directions
to the Field:
Out near Lake Pleasant. Take the Carefree Highway to Lake Pleasant Blvd. and turn south. Then turn west after 1/4 mile. Stay on this road and keep going, and you'll get there when the road ends.
Review: Where to begin. . . the pricing is great, as is the bring your own paint and all day air policy. The problem is that these policies have attracted an undesirable element. The low prices have attracted tournament paintballers who frequently attend there and abuse the walk-ons. The referees turn a blind eye to their bad behavior. During a game, I was shot 10 times by the same person. The person then proceeded to light up 3 or 4 other people, all from close range, shooting them 5 or 6 times each. This was not some run-through bunkering. He had plenty of time to line up his shots. The ref saw the entire thing and did nothing.

After all, what other field can they go to and throw an entire case of cheap paint in the air? All the other fields are field paint only, and charge 50% more for their paint. Tournament teams would be foolish not to come here. The problem is that the field's administration has decided to cater to them, and turns a blind eye when they make other people miserable on the field with ramping and overshooting. The field has succumbed to a culture of bad behavior that is truly disturbing. The administration is clearly in it for the money, and the money is in the regular tourney teams they can be sure will flock to them.

Now for safety. Their chronographs are in a completely separate area from the field. The referees have hand chronos, but they will not chronograph someone unless you ask them. Basically, the only way you're going to catch somebody with a hot gun is if you already have been shot by it. Then you have ramping modes from the tourney markers. This lets them put an insane amount of paint in the air with little effort. This means they WILL light whoever they shoot up. They are not supposed to use it on the recball field, but they do, with little or no enforcement. Finally, some of their equipment has some serious safety issues. I saw a 9 ounce CO2 tank used as a rental that had been welded in numerous places. A lot of their air systems were in the same condition. In addition, people were test firing markers in the staging area, and shooting at targets when not separated from the "safe" zone with netting. I recommend avoiding this field. It is dangerous, and I guarantee you will not have fun.


Oh, and for the record, there is an ongoing campaign by field administration and tourney players to publish tons of positive reviews for the field to counteract the bad. You will find tons of reviews saying very nearly the same thing over and over again. Use your best judgement, and let the player beware!
Last edited on Sunday, April 2nd, 2006 at 9:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

JonnyReb Wednesday, March 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Southwest Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
99th ave. and the Carefree Hwy west of I17
Review: As mentioned in other reviews, Oscar is a world class guy who is not trying to rob you like many other field owners do.

The Field: I have only played on the Rec ball fields but it is huge and can actually be used as a couple fields depending on which way you are facing. The Alamo is kick a$$ but you get screwed if you are inside.

The People: There are the "regulars" who, of course, act like they own the world and you have to watch out for them. On one occasion, a "regular" on the other team was shot and called himself out only to walk around behind my team and point out my players. Now, you would think that mentioning this to the ref would make a difference but as it was pointed out to me and i later saw for myself, the young ref is just as guilty. i was one of about 4 players left on my team and when i finally got out (yes it happens) everyone on the sidelines were talking about how the ref was telling the other team what moves to make in order to get a better shot. Now me personally, i don't hold a grudge (i shot the ref a couple times the next game) but i don't think that is right. I could have probable said something to Oscar but who cares. i still had fun.

anyways, moving on.....you can bring your own paint which is great and the prices are cheap. anywhere i can play all day with minimal down time between games for only $20, im there.

overall, i like it. Not as much as i like southwest but who really wants to spend $65 on a case of RP Premium when i can go to the command post and get it for $30. The one rec ball field does get old but its paintball so who really cares.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TRD11 Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: January 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Westworld, Xtreme Pursuit, COWTOWN IS THE BEST!!!
Review: The first time i played at cowtown was about 4 or 5 years ago when Command Post still owned the field. I got out of paintball for awhile, but now my younger brother has started to play, so i try and go with him whenever possible. Anyway, the field is not set up the same as it was 5 years ago, but it is still just as much fun. The owners name is Oscar, and he is the one of the most genuine guys that you will ever meet. He charges $20 to play all day, and that includes free air and rentals. Both the rec ball and the speed ball field are "bring your own paint", so all you need to do is pick up some paint and bring $20 and you can play as much paintball as you want. The rec ball field is fun because the terrain is soft but stable, and there is no shortage of obsticles. The speed-ball field is fun too because it is the perfect size and there is never a shortage of players. The refs strictly inforce safety, but not in a mean way, they are so nice and keep the games going without much downtime inbetween. I would highly reccomend this field to anyone in Arizona, the drive might be alittle longer than other fields, but trust me its well worth it. Cowtown was, and is, the best field that i have ever played at!!!
Last edited on Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 at 7:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ArizonaPaintbal Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 31st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Ranch, Xtreme Pruisuit, Battle Zone (now out of buisness) None as good
Review: Cowtown is awesome. I was in a hurry and left my gear bag there dont ask how but i did. I called him up he took it home and brought it back. He has awesome reffs and this feild is BRING YOUR OWN PAINT. All westworld fields require to buy field paint which 65 a case. You can go to wal mart and buy $30 crates. I recommend this for players that are first timers and ones that are expirenced.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

chikin pickle Sunday, November 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
have only palyed at this one. been to one other
Review: This field is great. you can bring your own paint. only 20$ to get in includes any rental stuff u might need and free co2 all day long. the owner is very honest. I left my mask there and called him he set it aside and I got it back when I showed up.

My only issue is that for a few weekends there were issues with enforcement of ramping and chrono rules. Ramping doesn't bother me, but the chrono rules did. I left some feedback at the forums about it, prompt response from the owner/operator and when I went back next weekend there was a line in front of the chrono.

The regulars are great guys (I'm one of them =D ) and while the speedball field leaves a little something to be desired, the recball field is really nice. A few large bunkers, along with the forward bunkers. All big enough to play with ease (And I'm a large guy).

I would reccomend it.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 6th, 2006 at 11:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rebels Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
WestWorld Paintball, Wild West
Review: First off, you can bring your own paint. I repeat, you can take your own paint. That right there is showing how cowtown is not trying to steal your money. There is no need to reconfigure your gun for different paint.

The referees are the coolest. These guys are funny guys and nice to get along with. They are also strict about safety on the field and they try their best to catch cheaters. They keep the games going and going, there is hardly any rest between games.

The whole staff are a bunch of nice guys. Oscar, the owner, is always up to beat in making sure everyone is happy. Richard, gun specialist(LOL), that guy just simply amazing. He gives tips in how to play better and helps out with broken guns. The air refilling guys are fast and fill pretty good.

The field is totally cool. Theres a lot of bunkers and towers. I like how the ground is soft and rocky(small rocks); makes rushing so much easier and fun. Theres a game called The alamo, which is an awesome game. There is usually 3 times less people in the alamo, but even with those odds the people in the alamo win. For instance, we had 19 guys(mexicanside) against 7(alamo), we lost all of our guys and we got one of them. POOHOO. There was tournament players in our team(mexican side) and they didn't do anything to the noobs in the alamo.
They also have a well put speedball arena.

I really recommend this place, you will not regret it.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IONMAN13 Tuesday, October 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
alot and they are not as good
Review: Ok look cowtown doesnt have the greatest refs but all the people there are aso friendly(me) and the owner oscar is way kewl (sorry bout ur leg man) and preach is fixing it up with all sup air sure maybe right now the bunkers arent to great but it is still way chill and when the sup air is up it will be better so yes cowtown is the pimpest place on earth
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media