paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
94Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (703) 777 0057
Address: 20261 Hogback Mountain Rd.
Leesburg, Virginia 20175
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Accident Monday, August 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
i haven't played at the only other field nearby, pevs, but i have looked at their website and i have talked to them. they don't look like a field i would want to play at.
Directions
to the Field:
check their website
Review: i only played at this field once, but i am going to be playing there more often in the near future. The staff are nice, though some of the refs aren't very wise in the ways of tech. One of them called the foregrip on my extra spyder a regulator. It's an empty tube. If you do go, make sure to be there before 9:30 as they are pretty serious about the safety briefing in the morning, as they should be. As far as prices go, they are very reasonable.
A case of white box for 55$, well, i shouldn't call it white box. It was great quality paint.
Excellent shell, bad fill though. Unfortunately, they don't offer all day co2, as they only have an air compressor.

The fields. The fields i played as a walk-on flat out rocked. Though the one field that stood out was Castle, it is second only to speedball.

Key strengths: prices, nice refs, great fields, fair rules.
key weakness: don't expect to get any help if your marker malfuctions, the walk up the mountain to the fields is a huge pain, its rare when you can pick the field you play on, the teams almost always unbalanced.


if you live nearby, i highly recomend this field. i had a great time.

***EDIT***
ok then, to clear a few things up.
at the time i visited the field, i had a spyder pilot, not a xtra. the refs are indeed very knowledgeable, and the one ref i spoke of had never owned a spyder.
Last edited on Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 at 5:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Suicide King Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs of course, havn't played any others.
Review: I've been playing at this field since I started playing paintball because it was the closest beginner friendly field to me. For the past 8 months I've played there at least twice a month. A lot of people seem to dislike this field, but I've had nothing but fun since I've been going there. To my review

Yes, they arn't much of a speedball field, if by speedball you mean air bunkers. As much as I love airball, I don't require air bunkers to have a good time, so this has never been an issue for me. Almost all of their woods fields use mainly man made cover anyway, so there is plenty of crazy gunfights to be had. Castle is always a blast, they're woods fields are in very good condition, and minibunkers is always nteresting, albeit very difficult.

And yes, there is a 20 foot rule. However, 20 feet isn't that far away really, so basically if you have to "bunker" someone just run out and around as opposed to straight at them. People need to stop making a big deal out of this. If you really feel the need bunker fools you can always get a group of guys with nice guns and start your own group on Shapes if you can fnd a ref. If you do that the 20 ft rule goes out the window anyway because advanced players arn't going to complain if they get bunkered, and the refs know this.

I have played at Pevs, and had a pretty good time (despite having horrible luck all day, but that happens) and I plan on continuing to play there in the future. However, in most cases I'm just looking for a relaxed day of paintball and I'm not picky about what type of field. In short, If your all about speedball and nothing else, Pev's is probably more your speed. If you just want to chill and have fun rollin' some fools out in the woods, you'll probably have a great time at Hogback.

>>>>>EDIT<<<<<
I believe they have already (or will in the near future) set up an airball field. There are several photo's on their website. This would put my rating up from an 8 to a 10 if this is a permanent addition to they're fields.
Last edited on Saturday, July 8th, 2006 at 4:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

whyamisogood Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEVS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review: It is ok (not as good as pevs) but I do see that they have airball up there so I will probably go check it out. The rules are a little strict but it is cool the people up there are nice. The food is good. and the prices are very reasonable and if any one knows if they have tournaments could you pm me
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyepunk13 Friday, June 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs...Pevs is much better
Review: ok ignore the date because i don't know the date i went...was like a year ago. anyway this field really isn't that great, and i've heard it's worse now that they got sum other guy runnin it. fields rn't that good, refs rn't verry professional (i would know how to act because i am one) the prices rn't very reasonable, and they have this stupid 20 ft rule where if the person is under 20 ft from u, u can't shoot em or ur out and they stay in. i'm there to play paintball, not worry about keepin sum kid from cryin. let me get as close as i want, if the person is dum enough to let me sneak up right behind em (and yes it's happened to me so i can't just say that) then he deserves to b shot. however this rule does make it a better field for beginners, and only beginners. also, to get to any of their fields, you have a huuugggeee hike to get there. my hike took like 10 min just to get to the first field, and thats with all of my equipment (harness full of paint, backpack with extra paint, and gun in hand.) Also Hogback is WOODSBALL ONLY!! (they say they have "speedball" fields, but they're still in the woods, no inflatable bunkers or anything like that. it's just a bunch of logs they stacked up, or it's a whole bunch of brush. they have an airball field, but the 20 ft rule still applies so you can't play the game to it's fullest.) In all i wouldn't recommend this field. Pevs is better, and they have different skill levels, so if you are a bigginer they will put you with ppl of your skill level.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
14 Comments - Add Comment

dakidwition34 Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs awesome fields
Review: Hogback was my first experience of paintball. It was with my friend and his birthday party. This field is reall good i love all there woods ball. The bad part about hogback is, walking up the hill. I hate doing this becuase, carrying ur gun and paint and all that. Over all this field is great for new paintballers June 4th D-day be there best secnerio game at hogback
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cearp09 Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs AG
Speedball - 10/10
Woodsball 6/10 Compared to Hogback
Directions
to the Field:
Make sure to keep your eyes peeled for two Stone Eagles on posts. THAT IS YOUR TURN! Missing 'em sucks. The second you get on the final road, keep a look out because they come EARLY.
Review: I love this park. Its Woodsball is phenomenal. Their speedball is so-so, but this is a Woodsball feild, really. All of their WB is excellent, its cheap if you have your own gear, the Refs are COOL IF YOU ARE NOT A JERK TO THEM! They take their jobs SERIOUSLY and they WILL NOT HESITATE to sit you out if you disobay them. The only thing that annoys me about this park is the fact that there IS a 20ft. rule.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chris1216 Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
pev's..................................Excellent field
Review: I really like this field. They have very very good woods ball fields(perfect for my WGP Trilogy pro). The speedball fields are okay but there is one really cool field because it is 1/4 speed ball and 3/4 woods- it is called Alley. This field is great for beginners, but for very experienced players i would suggest pevs since they do not have a "no bunkering" rule or "20 foot rule". This is the field i mainly go to and it is great because most refs are cool and actually talk to you. The owner is 1 of the coolest guys I know too. Overall it is a 7.25 because there co2 people lost my friends tank! Also the price for walk ons are $15. I'll give it an 8 instead of a 7 because they have some sweet!!! events. I'm going to Battle of the Bulge!! and if any one see's this review try to go to it.



Hope I see you there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

GreenGenes Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEVS-same
Review: Hogback is a good place to go. 15 dollars to play, and if you buy paint from the field or at one of their stores you can do a walk on for 10 dollars. Co2 refil prices are good. 15 dollars for 500 and 55 dollars for a case. They do have some nice fields for woodsballers. Definitly play jungle, dark forest, valley, fort, and castle. Their speed is definitly lacking but they do have some speedball fields including a hybrid speedball and woodsball field. The refs are great and the owner is friendly. Sometime they dont start the briefing late, and it can take a more the necessary time to switch sides and then fields. In the summer they bring stuff like water and co2 (not too sure) to the top of the hill so you dont have to walk up and down the hill. Good prices and a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thunderstruckdc Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's @ AG Paintball
Review: First off, I play mostly at Pev's and after going to Hogback, I'm going to try and keep it that way. So, my bias is going to show up in the review:

First off, let me say that Hogback Mountain is a great park...for beginners. The 20 foot rule there absolutely is the worst thing in the world. What fun is sneaking up on a guy if you can't bunker him or get him to surrender? The courses are spread waaaay apart and it's a looong walk back to the shack for air fills, paint, food, etc. And if you have a nitro tank, forget about it. I asked them to fill my 68 ci. 4500 psi tank and they could only fill it half way because whatever system they had rigged up (i had no idea what the thing was, i had never seen anything like it) had run out of nitrogen and they had no available tanks on the premises. The manager was a dick to me too about having my own paint. I was in a private group and he gave me some crap about it being better then what everybody else was using, when in fact it was just some old field Blaze i had left over from the last time i went paintballing. The briefing went on forever too, but i suppose a "better safe than sorry" attitude never hurt anybody.

But now that the bad stuff is out of the way: The owner was a really cool guy. If you get the chance, try and strike up a conversation with him. The refs didn't talk to us much, i suppose because we were a private group. They made fair calls though. I can't say anything about prices there because i didn't actually pay anything becuase everything was rolled into what we paid to be a part of the private group. Aslo, they had some pretty cool field layouts. In fact i would prefer if Pev's had some more fields like Hogback!

All in all, Hogback is good if you want to take your kid paintballing or something or are just starting out in the sport yourself. If you want to move into a bit more "grown-up" paintball experience, check out Pev's.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Crayola Thursday, January 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 17th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs
Review: this was the first field i went to, back when they used tippmann pumps. i love this course, except how tiring it is walking around with a mask on, which limits your breathing so much. staff are fun to be around. one was filling my CO2 tank and noticed the place where you screw the tank is was loose, so she said:'well if this falls, it'll probably explode and you'll die, i might be sad at first, but then ill laugh, cause you'll be dead.' i love this course, and think that it is allot better than pevs.
pros:good staff, good prices, very fun fields, paint works, good teams, walk on's are very nice. owner recommended i bring my old gun into his shop to get it fixed, and let me play half off for my troubles because i was all ready to play and my gun broke.(don't abuse this guys)

cons: tiring to walk on the paths, needs a shop to buy marker quick upgrades, screwdrivers, batteries etc.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media