paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
94Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (703) 777 0057
Address: 20261 Hogback Mountain Rd.
Leesburg, Virginia 20175
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
DirtyStinkinApe Tuesday, April 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs @ AG
Review: Hogback Mountain is the first field I ever played at, and it is overall a very good field. The staff there is very polite and very helpful. All of the refs I have ever played with really know what they're doing. The only drawback to the staff at hogback is that if you have gun trouble, there is very little they can do to held you because they have no on-site pro shop. As for Hogback itself, it is located in a very hilly area of Loudoun County, which allows you to use not only the woods as cover but in many cases the slope of the ground as well. Some people complain that that makes it hard to walk form field to field, but those people are wimps. You never have to walk very far to get to any field, and the staging areas are connected to multiple fields. As far as fields go, they have the best woodball fields in the area. "Jungle" is a woods field that has fallen trees scattered among tall grass and brush making the field easy for players to find great cover, creating some intense games. "Fort" is a very solid attack-and-defend field with a two level fort surrounded by thick woods. Their signature field "castle" is one of the most fun fields I have ever played on. However, as great as these fields are, Hogback's fields do lack diversity. Their three speedball fields are nothing special, there really are no fields that have an "urban combat" feel to them. If you don't like woodball, you may not enjoy Hogback very much. As far as pricing goes, they are very reasonably priced. Walk-ons can play all day for $15 and lunch is $5. However, the paint they sell at the field is pretty expensive ($70.00 for 2000) and very low-quality. I suggest you buy your paint before you get to the field (although if you are renting a gun or are in a private/birthday party, you must use the paint they sell at the field). So to sum up my review; the staff is friendly and helpful, the fields are a lot of fun and you won't break the bank in one day of paintball madness. This field gets a 9 out of 10. Go check out Hogback; you'll definitely enjoy yourself.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 12th, 2005 at 12:15 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazy4tippmanns Sunday, April 10th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs@AG
Review: Hogback Mountain is the WORST field I have ever played at in my whole life. I went there 2 years ago for my friends birthday party and it wasn't that bad. But the refs did not know what the heck they were doing. They did not even really care if you wore a mask! They gave me paint that destroyed my gun and they were like we are sorry but we dont care about you. Then I went out and returned my gun and I got a new Tippmann 98 Custom. I love that gun. Then the next year I went for my friends birthday party at hogback again.Then they gave me more bad paint that screwed up my gun so they gave me a rental to use for free. The ref said to bring my gun up to the field and so I did and he said he would clean it out and fix it. Of Course, he didn't fix it and I got all pissed off. A few other of my friends needed to CO2 tanks so the ref called down to the "House" for a few more tanks. When they got there the ref gave them to my friends and he said give them back to me before we go back down to the "House." But then later this ATV came up to our course when the ref wasn't looking and said I need to take those CO2 canisters back down. So my friends gave them to the person on the ATV and they took the tanks back down. Then when we went down to the house the ref asked for the canisters and my friends said that the person on the ATV took them. But he didn't believe them. So my friends mother(birthday boy's mom) said I bet $500 dollars that none of the kids have your canisters in the bag. She actually said that if you find one i will give you the money on the spot. THEY FOUND NO CANISTERS AND WE HAD TO SPEND AND EXTRA HOUR THERE BECAUSE THEY DIDN'T BELIEVE US. Overall I give hogback mountain a -10 out of +10. I hate HOGBACK MOUNTAIN.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

pbreviewmaster Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fort Splat, OA, Super sports, Pevs, AG, VAG and Hogback
Review: This field was great, the customer service was outstanding the playing fields were great. Some of the best woods ball fields ever and the Castle field was just awesome. I think what puts this field apart from the rest is the way its geared towards all styles and ages of players young, old, beginner or advanced. They really do a good job of balancing it so everyone has a good time. Also out of all the fields I have played at this one is by far the safest, with netted dead zones and a good safety brief.


Last edited on Wednesday, March 30th, 2005 at 8:53 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shiftie1112 Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEV'S
Review: I don't like Hogback at all. I went there as my second field, and I had a terrible time. I went with a group and they wouldnt let us use walk on paint, and the price was $50 a case, and the paint we had to use was terrible. It wasnt even seconds quality. The paint was so bad that my friend couldnt use his boomstick and it was bored all of the way out. I also dont like the fact that there wasn't much in the way of cover except for piles of logs, and they had all kinds of holes for paint to slip through. On the courses that I went on that had actual buildings the buildings were painted white, which isint too much of a problem, but they used semi-gloss paint, and all of the buildings had ramps, not stairs, so if there was any paint on them at all, you got no traction. Not to mention the fact that the planks were vertical, and they had holes in them, so I was getting creamed when I was behind a "wall". And the courses are completely biased. One side will almost always win. Not to mention the fact that if it has rained in the past week, the air is so humid that by the time you get to your field, all but the best goggles would fog up. Overall, Pev's is the better option.

***EDIT*** I am going back again with my school in a private group on the 10th of October. This will be my second time going, and I am taking my new WGP Mini-Orracle with a stock .689 two piece kaner barell. Hopefully this time I will have an experience that matches up with the positive reviews this field has recieved. This is a rediculously open bore, so they have no excuse for their terrible paint breaking every 2 shots.
Last edited on Saturday, October 8th, 2005 at 9:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JyKim15 Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs Paintball
Review: ok in my opinion this field blows. Pevs blows this place out of the water. I never wanted to go hogback but my friend wanted to go to D-day so i went with him. Nothing about this place is good. Paint is expensive, Refs have no idea wat the hell there doing, have to buy there own paint, fields suk, and there rules suk. they have a ten foot rule, how stupid is that. DONT WASTE YER MONEY OR YER TIME, GO PLAy AT PEVS
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Bushpilot Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's and The other one that has now closed.
Review: I've been playing for a couple years now. I'm certainly not one of the youngsters on the field but I think I can keep up with them, and...a few more years of life experience has added to some strategy. I want to say that I DO like the lay out of the fields. Definately on a mountain though. Smokers beware. The big problem that I have with this place is the initial getting the day started. My son and I got there at 9:30am. We figured we'd get everything ready for a 10am start time. The guys running this operation were very unorganized as far as getting things & players set and ready for the day. We went through 2 broken chrono's and 25 balls before they deemed us legal to play. Then we got to the safety briefing. This guy that gave the safety briefing seems like a good guy but, even though there were people of all ages there he treated this briefing as if he were giving it to a 3rd grade class! Instead of stating the rules for safe play in a concise and thorough manner.....he starts the thing off with...."ok, who knows what the most important safety rule is?" waiting for hands to go up. And waiting for someone to blurt it out.....and waiting...and waiting until someone figured out to answer up to this silliness so we could get out there. This same format of briefing continued for 15 or so minutes. It was at the very least NERVE RACKING! GET ON WITH IT MAN! Tell us what you legally have to tell us for insurance purposes and let us GO! I'd have to say that a majority of the players there....Vast Majority....were not first time players.

After all was said and done.......we didn't start walking up to the fields until 10:45!

I (and I'm sure many others) would go back to HogBack much more often if they could just get the games going at 10am....with an intelligent safety briefing...and chrono equipment that worked properly.
Last edited on Friday, February 4th, 2005 at 6:30 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

the1keyplayer Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
pev's @ AG
Review: Hogback Mountain paintball is awsome for woodsball. 10 out of 10 Jungle and Valley are the best. Try to play on thoes fields. The speedball is a 8 out of 10. Barrels is kind of small, and Mini-Bunkers is flawless for speedball. Fort and Castle are awsome. The flatline is awsome for this field. If you go bring extra paint because it costs $15 for 500.

Their service is a little too laid back, but they are not mean or anyting like that. When I went to fill my co2 it took five minuets. Thats not including the time it took to walk from the field to their "house". It also takes a long time for them to get teams and to move from one field to another.

If your going to go for a walk-on, bring your own lunch. It can take a long long time to get your food, but its good. The area where you put your stuff when you go play is a bunch of picnic tables. Also make sure to check the weather before you go. If it has rained the night before you are planning to go, dont. The fields turn into swamps.

Overall I give it an 8 out of 10 because it can sometimes take a long time to get things done and you end up using 6 shots for chrono. Better woodsball than pev's
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Monday, January 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pevs
Review: This is am extremely creative paintball feild. i love thier courses. infact this is probably my favorite feild. my only regret is that a while ago when i went there they did not have air ball. their staff was nice and their prices were good. i love the mini bunkers and the barrels courses. i really like the big course made of of fences. sweet course. i give it a 9 for no air ball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

froxt Saturday, January 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs
Review: I have been going to Hogback for about a year now. I really like it. it has some pretty good woodsball fields. My favorite woodsball field there is Valley. The name "Valley" pretty much explains the area. When you go to hogback, don't plan to play a lot of speedball. Almost all of the fields are woodsball fields. Since i dont really play Speedball, i dont dislike any woodsball fields there.

The refs are ok, but they can vary day to day. I went on Columbus day and the refs really didnt give a crap about mask safety. But every other time i went they would be "ok".

Also when you go there try to bring your own paint, the paint they have there is really bad. And remember to bring water. They sell water for $1 thats worth 10 cents. They also have a very slow co2 fill station so try to fill up your tank before you go.

And, if your gun breaks down, dont expect them to do much about. If your gun is not common at all, i'm pretty sure they won't even touch your gun. But if its a much more common gun they will attempt to fix it.
Last edited on Sunday, January 2nd, 2005 at 6:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

avant eric Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs @ AG (meh)
Review: I haven't been playing paintball very long, but Hogback has got to be one of the best places I have played at. The people that work there are very nice. And the person who runs the place (Jim) is very nice as well and is always willing to help you if you need help(he also cooks mad good hotdogs for lunch). The fields are very fun. If you like woodsball, this is the place to go. They don't have that many Airball fields, and the ones they do are pretty small, But I go there for the Woodsball. The best field I have every played at was at hogback, it is called "Valley". The name pretty much explains itself. The other place i have played at was Pev's. It is ok , but the one time I went there with 3 of my friends, the other , older, more experienced people there were being jerks to us. But what im trying to say, is that, HOGBACK MOUNTAIN IS THE BEST!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media