paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
94Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (703) 777 0057
Address: 20261 Hogback Mountain Rd.
Leesburg, Virginia 20175
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
YoUnGxgUn Thursday, November 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs
Review: Hogback Mountain is of the best places to play paintball. Its great if u are a beginner or pro unlike pevs where if ur a beginer its hard to figure everything out.

pros:
great food
awesome fields
really really nice people

cons:
bathroom/portapottie is sick i jus wiz on a tree
the thing they call a hut has a roof for the house but where the players are there is no roof its just a bunch of trees cut up into logs so if it rains u have to hope ur stuff is soewhere where it cant get rained on cuz u cant put it under a table cuz the floor is a mudy mess

overall the place is great for woods ball and speed bunkers and castle are great for speedball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

laxinpballa Monday, October 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's Woodbridge (before it closed)
Pev's @ AG
Review: Yesterday my cousin, who ref's at Hogback, invited me out to Hogback to a big game. My friend and I were planning on going to Pev's again because it's just awesome, but we wanted to see how this place was. Once we turned on to Hogback Mountain road, we got lost and wound up in some guys driveway, asking for directions because 2 of the signs had fallen down. We got there and realized that we had to use the crappy field paint, very disappointing to me because of my .686 JT barrel, but oh well. The game had started when we got there so we filled up and were told to walk down the path to the small circle of netting that they somehow called the dead zone. We were lit up like crazy walking there with all of our equipment/paint...we had to sprint. Once inside the dead zone we got set up and stepped out.
Our base had been surrounded so for an hour and a half we couldn't take 10 steps from the dead zone w/o being hit from 3 directions. There was very little bunkerage and heavy brush...hard to walk. When I managed to make it out of our dead zone I managed to sneak up on someone and get him out...but I was told to go to the dead zone again for not heeding the 20 foot rule from 30 feet away.... The field paint chopped and curved, and they took my gun for 15 minutes as I walked into the deadzone w/o a plug in as I reached into my pocket for it. After sitting there waiting for my marker, listening to kids whine about getting shot (lots of cocky little kids, horrible people to play with) and having the occasional paintball fly into our dead zone and hit someone, my friend and I decided to leave.
I have played 3 big games at Pev's all of which were MUCH better organized and fun than this experience. I have yet to try the walk-on fields at Hogback, but I don't think I will. I'm a Pev's player to the death, try it out...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

CagedFreak77 Wednesday, October 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review:
I've played at Hogback twice, with mixed results.

The field is a little out of the way, and it was wet and soggy going, with a mud trail and parking "lot". Most of the bad things about this place has already been said, but let me revisit the main points that could make this field better:

We were briefed by a 14 year old kid, who couldn't project his voice enough so everyone could hear. When we started, people kept asking, "What did he say?", and "What are we supposed to do?". Get older, more experienced refs.... someone to actually control the players. The field was full of kids (under 15) who really didn't have a clue about gun safety, or gun awareness........ several times kids shot their barrel plugs off, or fired a paintball in the holding area, that could have hit somebody in the face (or eye) at less than 10 feet.

It sucked to lug the entire bulk of your paintball equipment up the mountain to the field. You could leave it down at the main office, but you might come back to an empty bag. Carry everything you have, extra paint and air are a must. They won't reimburse you if you get robbed while you're on the field, so watch your stuff.

Between games, it was so crowded in the dead zone that there was no place to sit, or lay your marker.... people's paint, bags and markers were laying on the ground inside the holding area, and it was difficult not to step on somebody's stuff.

Bring your own WATER and FOOD. They sell hotdogs and chips and stuff, and thats cool. But when it got real hot people were really dying for some water, so they sold a .25 cent bottle of water for a dollar, further fleecing the people who had no other choice. Bring a cooler, and keep it in your vehicle.

Being in the Military, I don't go anywhere without water, and lots of it. But it amazed me that people came to play paintball all day, and brought nothing to drink. Free bottles of water would have been an awesome move by Hogback, but they went for the big profit instead. Save yourself some hertache (and heatstroke) and bring some cheap bottles of water.

The fields were fun, and I had no problem playing. Some fields were a real smoker, running up a huge hill through thick brush... but that's life. My only beef was the big uphill hike to get to the field, and if you're walking-on you're often wandering, looking for the right field in the dense woods.

I'm not telling anyone to stay away, but just prepare yourself for the ordeal.

1) Bring your own paint, and lots of it. Be prepared to lug it around with you everywhere
2) Unless money is no object, bring water and food
3) Have lots of air. It takes a long time for them to fill your tank
4) Bring your own marker and gear - rentals are in poor condition, masks are scratched
5) Get in shape - the walks are long, and uphill... and you're carrying all your stuff

Good luck.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

lurchdog666 Thursday, September 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Powerhouse (worse, all speedball and indoors), A friends farm (2 acres of woods = one awesome woods field)
Review: Hogback is the first place I ever played and is where I always go, unless I go to a friend's farm (which is nice because it's free). It's about a 45 minute drive from my house, so I have to leave early in order to get a good parking space, but it's a nice drive thorugh the country. You will, however, have trouble finding it. US 15 is a 60-65 mph road and it's a really tiny road sign. Try to go with someone who's been there before so you can get a sense of where it is. Have fun on the horse farm as well. A car with good clearance is key.
Once you get there, conditions are pretty spartan. No pro shop, one fill station, and sometimes they don't have enough food for lunch. Also, the field paint is poor and expensive. Definitely bring your own lunch if you can. All this aside, Jim, the owner is a great guy. I left my wallet there once, came back the next day, and they had it for me. The refs are real friendly and it's a great place to go with your friends and just hang out for a day. Refs will usually let you play whatever scenario you want, within reason, and I've never had a problem with them enforcing the rules poorly. The scenario games are also well thought-out and organized, and although field paint is required, they knock 20 bucks off the price.
I have heard many people complain about the speedball fields here and I will agree that they aren't very good, with the exception of castle, which is superb. But you don't go 50 miles into the boonies to play speedball. You go to play woodsball, and the woods fields at Hogback are incredible. Lots of space for flanking, lots of elevation changes, and lots of brush to hide in. Walking the tape is always a great experience there.
I give Hogback a 7 because although I love playing there and the people and fields are great, the field paint is awful, expensive and mandatory for some things. Also, they need some serious investments in infrastructure. One more fill station would make things so much better. Great place for learning the game and awesome for rec players like me.

PS - It's called Hogback MOUNTAIN. Why are you surprised that you walk up a hill to get there?
Last edited on Thursday, September 30th, 2004 at 6:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JUNGLE_JIM007 Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEV'S@ AG PAINTBALL, VAG, SKIRMISH
Review: I seriously question the ethnics of the field operator when he has to resort to paying paintball players to wear t-shirts advertising his field to wear them while playing at his competition's field. If I were Jim, I'd be more concerned with the operation of my field than what Pev's is doing. No wonder Pev's routinely has upwards to 150+ people on Saturday's and almost the same on Sunday's.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

havocthekiller Tuesday, August 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEVS IS THE BEST PLACE OUT THEIR< COME LEARN TRUE PAINTBALL
HOGBACK SUCKs
Review: Hogback sucks, they wouldn't let me play bevause I had a PEV"S sticker on my gun, thats bad service right their, they told my freind he had to take his sticker in oder to play, my friend waik away from him so he wouldn't start yelling at him, and also guy with short brown seen him 3 years ago the first time I played and he now has a silver and purple DM4 , he was playing PEVS at Ag The other day with 4 referees from Hogboack and I was cool abotu that I didn't say anything, not exactly sure about the purple but I am sure about the silver, he told me I had to take off my stickers off my gun, two referees told us that. Jim if you read this review i have a discription of the other referee who told my freind the samething to me. He was at Chrono staton and RED DYE Pants and had a YELLOW Profiler mask, Austin one of your referees came to play at Pevs and I ask him who was the kid that day I was playing thier, Austin knew him, if you wanna know who it is ask Austin the tall guy. and Austin knows the other guy with the Silver and Purple DM4. i would of understood if they were joking but it seemed like they weren't so I don't know. The didn;t tell the bald dude that was thier that day your manager about what happened, me and my friend left and TOLD MIKE PEV AND TODD PEV so you will be hearing from them soon, thats not right that your judges even told me that, they shouyldn't even care what I have on or what I have on my gun, all I want to do is play paintball not be a enemy, Jim read this review and all the judges at Hogback you guys mess up big time!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Gman92000 Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs at AG
Review: Hogback was an alright when I first played on it 3 years ago but when i went back last week they told me and my friend we couldn't play unless we took our Pev's stickers off. When they said that I was about to call my lawyer. But when my friends gun messed up they didn't even know how fix it or they didn't want to so we just left and went to Pev's. Once we got to Pev's they fixed my friend gun in a couple of min free of charge.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yoshi9143 Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEVS@AG- too corporate
Review: Hogback is a very friendly place.
Refs and staff
The refs and staff are very knowledable. My CO2 tank did not fit properly into my gun(new tank) and they told me how to correct it instead of spending $15 to buy a new valve. The refs are always monitoring and I noticed at Pevs the refs there didn't care. The owner of the field, Jim gets to know you after seeing you 3 or more times...he knows my name by now. I was getting a 130 fps on the chrono when my velocity was all the way up, I didn't think my CO2 tank would be empty by now but I didn't know how much CO2 my barrel would consume. They let me use their CO2 tank and see if that was the problem...it was. To make sure my CO2 tank wasn't the problem they partially filled mine and tested my gun.

Field
I believe the walking distance at Pevs is much more than Hogback. At Hogback the fields are pretty much next to each other and are seperated by deadzones. The only downside is hogback is more woodball than speedball...Castle and minibunkers are good speedball courses there

There are no proshops there unlike Pevs but the staffs can tell you how to fix your gun if it is a popular model.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

lord monkey Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs (ugh)
Review: much much better than pevs.

pros-
nice big woods fields
all fields have plenty of obstacles
castle speedball field is just plain awsome
even teams according to firepower and experiance
decent rental guns
good staff
much better than pevs

cons-
speed ball field are too small for 20 ft rule
lotta uber n00bs
expensive crappy paint (bring ur own)
lunch takes for ever

Hogback mountain is by far the best field in the area, pevs
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

usangi Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skyline and Pevs
Review: Hogsback is a decent place to play. I notice many more "new" players go there, but that doesn't mean they are poor players.

Pros :

(1) Refs divide teams evenly. Not just numbers, but obvious experience and markers.
(2) The Refs do pay attention most of the time.
(3) The players are fair, I've never had a problem with people wiping paint.
(4) Jim, the owner is a decent guy. He doesn't BS you if he doesn't know how to fix a marker and tries his best to help. Even if he has to call someone.
(5) The fields are NOT 1/8 mile apart. they are all Centrally located around a "dead zone" or two. they are however a ways from the club house. Not that there is any reason to go to the clubhouse.
(6) They serve lunch
(7) Saftey, and I mean saftey. Refs are encouraged to yell when they see something unsafe.

Cons :

(1) Air cards....make sure yours is a Field Air card and not a Shop Air Card
(2) $75 a case of paint that I wouldn't let look at my marker, much less shoot out of it is a bit sad. I left early one day just because I ran out of paint.
(3) No all day air. $5 a fill for me. Not that I fill more than twice, but I do prefer something like a $10 all day air.
(4) Limited Parking, though it's never been a problem.
(5) Restroom. I simply can't take my wife there. Their loss =)

Overall :

I think most of the fields are ok. You can tell they have put in a lot of effort to make the fields what they are, however most a a bit small for my taste.

If you have your own paint, it's an excellent place to play. They are constantly running a Ref to you with water for sale, and typically they will get whatever you need if you just ask. Don't expect to have your marker fixed if it has problems, at least not yet. One of the refs is going to Angel school....

The 20 foot rule ? I can take it or leave it. I don't like it per se, but with the number of smaller players they attract I can understand it.

Wayne
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media