paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field / Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Hogback Mountain Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
94Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (703) 777 0057
Address: 20261 Hogback Mountain Rd.
Leesburg, Virginia 20175
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
viking kitty Saturday, June 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Hogback is a good place i suppose, but i am sure there are better in the area. Its good for newbies( not that there is anything wrong with that) but it gets old to have the field stocked with herds of 11 year olds sitting in the back of the field asking 'where are they' as the guys with exp rip throgh them. about 1 in 25 guys know there way around a paintball marker, evryone ethier rents or have those 1000,000,000 dollar markers and dosen't know how to take care of them. speaking of rentals, they work ok, but my friend was using evil paint so that might have made diferece. the masks are flimsy and have marks all over the goggles. Co2 fills take 2 mins a tank. the refs vary by day, once they might stink but the next day they might enforce the rules ok. most of the time, they might as well not be there. the field paint stinks at best and is EXPESIVE! some kind of large green brand I think. the staff are split 70- 30%. some are nice but the 70% are mean dumb 18yr olds in it just for the money. and if you need to take the browns to the superbowl, you are out of luck, as they have ONE porta jonn and its on a slant with the door facing the bottom of the hill, so the door NEEDS to be locked LOL. BUT they have great scenarios though. for the big games its field paint only, so ifyou have a sensitive barrel thet needs good paint, don't bring it. but i'm a noobie and might not know what i'm talking about. for all you know I might dumb enough to play russian rullete with a clip loading pistol.
Last edited on Saturday, June 5th, 2004 at 12:47 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

raven2 Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs@ag awsome field, skyline
Review: I have played at many fields in the VA area but this one is highly the worst.

-One porta jon
-No proshop to help you if your gun brakes down
-The carpark is so small and is always full of mud even a week after it has rained,try getting some gravel
-You have to walk like 1/8 of a mile to get to every field, no wonder they call in hogback MOUNTAIN paintball
- They have refs who are like 13-15 and have power to get the games turned over to another field


Try pevs-big carpark, proshop on site and the refs acually know what there doing
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bunkerfire Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: I don't see the problem that everyone has with hogback anyways. The refs there aren't unattentive and anyone who says that the rules aren't enforced is sorely mistaken. Of Course maybe I've just gotten UNUSUALLY lucky. The uphill gikes aren't that bad and actually add more to the feild since there is more varied terrain that in most other places I have been to. I've never had any problems at Hogback and urge everyone in the DC area to at least try it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mmaxx Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs
Review: Hogback is an ok place to go paint balling. the whole day costs 15 bucks if u have your own stuff. It has a lot of woods ball fields. Lunch lasts a little too long. relatively cheap prices on paint and bottle refills. refs are like 16-17 years old but there ok. when your gun breaks down they do little to help you. long walks to every field. has a 20 foot rule. its in the middle of nowhere, 2 miles into a horse ranch , on one-way dirt roads. when it rains the mud is really bad so if u have a small car it'll be hard to maneuver and easy to get stuck. overall its a good place to go paint balling. they are ok.
Last edited on Saturday, December 18th, 2004 at 5:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RatImpPlaya Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs @ AG - Much better for experienced players
Review: I used to love hogback and refused to play anywhere else, but I finally played at pevs and my eyes were opened, but back to the review

Pro's
$10 all day
Good for beginners
Everything else is average

Con's
Huge walk to fields
Small amount of games played
Most speedball fields pretty bad
No airball, hyperball, or any other serious speedball
#$@%ing 20' rule!!!!!

I played Hogback forever and refused to play at Pev's because of the lack of 20' rule. Great rule when you're starting out, but then it gets boring, because you're not allowed to move up to bunkers that are close to an opponent. Most people who play there are pretty new so if you're experienced, competition gets old fast. I bought my new Rat Impulse and my friend with his Nasty Imp could literally walk down the middle of some fields and take everyone out. You only get to play 4 fields before lunch and they're pretty bad. Lunch is waaaaaaaaaaaay too long and it takes forever to get your food. Also getting Nitro fills is forever because they have a ghetto fill station thing that takes 1-2 mins per tank, unlike pev's that is 5-10 secs. Not many people use Nitro there though so it's not that bad. They are almost always out of air though so get your fill early. They take a long time to get up to the fields and after lunch when they actually do play the 'speedball' fields, you don't get to play much. They are pretty ghetto-rigged speedball fields such as mini bunkers and castle. Barrels is way to small for more than 4 people. I still think you can't play speedball with 20' rule because there is no bunkering so there is a lot of stalemates during the games. I give this field a 6 because I played there so long and I know everybody who works there, but give it up Jim, you lost almost all your customers to Pev's and you will lose the rest if you don't drop the 20' rule and get some decent speedball fields. Personally, I think Jim (the owner) should just sell out the place to Pev's and maybe get some money for field supplies.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FlukeOccurance Monday, April 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's @ AG - Great, in just about every aspect.
Skyline- Also an awesome field, but kinda far from me.
Review: I was admittedly pretty dissapointed with Hogback.

My main deal was with the referees, especially concerning the 20 foot rule. I felt that they were enforcing it when it was convenient for them or player's they favoured but not for others, and as I was playing with my younger brother who was most definitely shot from much closer that 20 feet, the lack of enforment concerns me. If you are going to have a rule, enforce it, or else it's better to simply have no rule at all - so that you don't have false expectations. I also found the referees to be fairly young and inexperienced which can be forgiven as I bet turn over is horrible at paintball places. I however also found them to be generally rude to customers and lazy to boot.

I didn't like the unprofessional feel around Hogback, and as I'm not a fan of Checkit, I was further made nervous by them backing the field.

I admit, the castle field was a pretty nice game, but unfortunately things like the huge uphill climb (they call it Hogback Mountain for a reason); the inability to bring your own paint, the poor quality of the referees and the general lack of professionalism will keep me away from Hogback in the future.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rob Jezior Thursday, April 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's ( too uptight)
Review: I started playing at this field 3 years ago, and ever since then I've loved it.
The service is great, the ref's are friendly ,and the owner is really nice.
They have created a safe environment where anyone can still go and play twelve awesome games of paintball every Saturday and Sunday.

The big games are the best part!
Every 2 months they have a big game where between 150 and 300 people (depending on the season) come out to play on a huge field. This can appeal to both speedball players and the woods player, because they have a fort with a speedball like playing area around it.

At these game admission is $10 advanced tickets and $15 at the gate compared to Pev's thats about $15 to $20 in savings.
You have to buy the paint there, but they lower the price to $60 a case ( for big ball paintballs).

The only bad part is the ref's aren't the safest on the field which can set a bad example for newbies but other then that Hogback is awesome.

Check-it, their store, is cool too.
A new store just opened in Leesburg.
Last edited on Thursday, April 1st, 2004 at 8:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

kph90 Thursday, April 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEVs
Review: This is a great feild. The refs are very nice and helpful. It is very close to Fairfax, Chantilly, Centreville, etc. Plus, its right off rt. 50.

Pros- Tons of fields
Woodsball AND speedball
10$ for the whole day
tight scenarios
20 foot rule
Cons- paint prices pretty bad
no potty
HUGE hill u hafta climb

In conclusion, this is a great field. Ive gone countless times and will keep going for a long time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Homage88 Monday, March 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs AG, VAG
Review: I just went to Hogback last sunday and it was great. They are really trying hard to compete with pevs by having raffles, multiple scenarios every year and better prices. We got in at least 12 games which was great and they divided up the walkons from beginner to advance. I have been to hogback now 5 times and it keeps on geting better. But there are some cons:
-they still allow barrel plugs which is bad
-the lunch hour is way to long
-they need to start making new fields and perhapps add some new speedball fields(hyperball or airball)
If the could make these adjustments than im sure they would be as good or even better than pevs
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WDPsoldier Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's at AG (good speedball courses, rude and mean staff)
Review: There is always hype about Pev's at AG being so much better than Hogback. Well let me break it down to you.

Pev's might have good speedball courses, but your never allowed to play on them!!! They are the only field i know of that make the walk-ons yield to the field sponsored teams.

Hogback, while not having the best speedball courses, has FAR superior woodsball courses, and the staff here is much more courteous to the customers.

Also, there is "Team Practice" pretty much every Sunday at Hogback were the field sponsored teams will grab anyone who wants to play speedball all day and take them up the mountain to play a day of tournament style paintball.

I have much love for the Hbizzle
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media