paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hurricane Paintball Park / Hurricane Paintball Park / Hurricane Paintball Park / Hurricane Paintball Park

Hurricane Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
67Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 772-532-6461
Address: 770 Hurricane St NW
Palm Bay, Florida 32908
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
silverback321 Monday, January 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
im new to the area
Review: I like'd this field it had a good layout the ref's called a fare game all the employee's had a good attitude if you needed help they were ther to help
the down side it was hard to tell who was on your team they do need a better way to identify each team
other than that all is good keep up the good work
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

dhoule Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I was impressed.

The field was large, lots of bunkers, cars, trucks, two story buildings, even a downed airplane. There's mesh netting all around the field so other family members can watch while you play. One insertion point that has two chrono stations. They chronoed the CO2 guys every time they went on the field, and the CA guys once in the morning and once again after lunch. Their rental markers are better than average (Ions) and rental packagess include free air fills for the day.

The refs were very strict (especially the head ref, Jabba) which was something I liked very much since I brought my ten year old for the first time and I didn't want anyone lighting him up with full auto or a hot gun. They made sure everyone knew the rules at the start of each game, asked if anyone had any questions, made sure everyone kept barrel covers on till they reached the base, then gave us one last chance for more questions. Didn't allow any shooting until the game siren actually sounded. There were plenty of refs too, and even though they got popped a couple times they stayed in the action to make sure play went well. They changed around goals and bases each game, keeping it interesting. They recounted teams each game to make sure things were balanced at all times. They did spot check chronos out on the field all day. They made sure to announce loudly when players were leaving the field so players would let them out. They kept it really safe and fun.

The field is now run by splat action sports (chester left) and they seem to have a high quality, professional setup going. They have a mobile store trailer, parts, accessories, drinks, pizza can be ordered, CO2 and self fill 3000 and 4500 stations. There's also a gimungous covered tent area and large amount of parking. Greg (the field mgr) told me they are putting in speedball fields very soon as well as a permanent pizza/snack building.

My son and I had a great time, played all day, and we're both going back very soon. Highly recommended.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PF_Ambush Tuesday, January 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Few others that i dont feel like naming
Review: Hurricane is a great place for beginners and pros of the likeing. This field has a wonderful enviroment and this is one field you dont have to be afraid to ask questions. With its large woodsball field and soon to be speedball feild, many people will come out to play. Splat and i have our differences but i agree that they are doing a good job and will be happy enough to advertise and be sponsored by them. Splat's site is finally up and running so visit it at the link i will post below. Please also remember to sign up for the forums to get help and help other players find what equipment would be best for them. Thank you for your time and i hope i you have a nice day.
See you in the middle


www.splatactionsports.com
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin & Sons Tuesday, January 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wis., Ill, Ohio, Min.
Review: Hurricane PB Park was a great field before SAS took over as the new Management team. you had a great time every Saturday for the kids and walk-ons. and Sunday was more for the Exp/Team minded player. The prices to play and rent guns (tippman mostly)were cheap and the people reasonable. There was not much for any thrills except for different games throughout the day. the refs did their job and not much happened as far as advancement to the park except the real hurricane that messed things up a bit (it's Florida, things like that happen). Now the city has the park under new management (this happens every 2 years, solicitations are at demandstar.com from the city, if you think u can do a better job next time).

Now SAS (Slat Action Sports) won the contract for the next 2 yrs. I have watched this operation from the start ( about 2 weeks now). First the prices have decrease for adults dropped from $12 to $10 per day. the air cost are radiatively the same. The cost for Kids has increase from $8 to $10 per day, and the rest as far as cost stays the same. The biggest difference between the two difference management companies are that SAS not only talks a good game but backs it up with the efforts to grow this field. I see the guys out there cutting trees back or down from storms that happened over 14 months ago and is opening the whole field up to enjoy and experience, sure there will be speed ball and woods ball play as well (this place is big enough for all to play both and never cross paths throughout the day. I can't say enough about the Ref staff. they really watch out for the younger players (Moms and Dads) My sons are 9 and 12 yrs old and play with me but not next to me. The 280fps is taken very seriously by all, last Saturday I played and saw a kid (about 12-14 yrs old) playing with his adjustment to the gun while the refs were giving the pregame instructions to all players. I mentioned this to a ref and without letting the kid know that someone saw him play with the adjustment, 2 refs very politely asked the kid for his gun to recheck it on the chrono before the game and handled this issue as if they were child psychologist and everyone was happy (Name another field that does that and handles kids like that?). Before the horn blows on every game the ref's randomly rechecks 5 players with a portable Chrono to check there speeds and will ask any player that is over to sit out that game (if it happens twice that day then come back tomorrow policy), and if there is a small kid that I don't want to tag because the kids in the wrong place with the big boys at the moment, the ref will rescue the kid and get him out of there before he has nightmares from the experience.

As for the efforts of the SAS management to get this park on the map. I just can't say enough about the effort and true concern that everyone in the SAS organization has to this goal. This park is going places thanks to General Chester and Splat Action Sports. And good job to the City of Palm Bay for picking SAS for the next two years.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Big Gun Thursday, January 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Well i think people who are going to write a review should do there home work, and stop making false alligations on the new owner. SAS has done a lot of upgrades to the field and is not by no means getting rid of woodsball but is adding speedball on the speedball field that is allready in place that General Chester did not want to run. Woodsball has become better because of SAS and the Rouge Warriors because they have cut out a lot of the downed trees from last years hurricanes witch General Chester did not do so the field was smaller than it is now. There is a lot more woods to play in now. I feel very sad for the new owners that people who want to feel important in other peoples eyes that they LIE. Talk about having bad SPORTSMANSHIP!!!!! Well people who have played there no the truth. Well to put nice and short WHY DONT YALL GROW UP.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

TeamA.n.S81 Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: December 18th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ive played at showdown paintball but they closed down for not having a archery lisences. (i dont get it either)
Review: Ive been playing paintball since i was 8 and hurricane (under the management of "general chester") was the BEST field ive ever played at. It was a mix of woods and open area and newcomers to more experienced people could have fun there. The newer people who didn't have guns could rent a tippmann 98 custom (which is probably the best starter gun and they are very sturdy) from chester for a reasonable price. chester also made his own game called "general chester". the point of it was to hit chester when he was guarded by the best people at the field. The person who hit chester got a prize. i thought that was very creative and it was fun for everyone.

now that splat is there i believe they will turn the field into a more speed-ball orientated place. they starting on January 15 will make you use there paint only which is tournament grade but it is price to some. ive also heard that you cant rent the nice tippmann and more. you have to rent the very fragile ions. i think many people aren't going to like renting ions and having to pay much more than they wanted to when they get a little dirt in them. the new prices for air is terrible. 20 dollars all day air for CO2 or compressed. chester offer 5 dollars all day for compressed and 20 cents an ounce for CO2 which is very reasonable. not everyone wants to play speed-ball. for some newer people its not fun at all and they like the idea of hiding in bushes and things. my rating for the field with chester was a 9 out of 10 but now with splat its a 3.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
12 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderM1 Wednesday, December 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Combat Zone
Review: Man i think this place is great. I have played at this place my whole time playing paintball... i have played other fields but just when i went to visit my family... i went to a pevs paintball field in virginia i think.... but every 1 seems nice there.... the shop people give you some hints and stuff and one guy helped me fix my mask (it was tottally F'd up) and now i dont need to get a new one.. and most people dont make fun of you casue you have a semi-auto non electronic gun....Cough* Combatzone *Cough Ya i showed them at combat zone...... i got people out with my spyder ONE an auto cokcer and a ion... BOOYA!

But ya this is my favorite field.....i never got to play there ghetto speedball thing lol w/e its called with all the ply wood.... lol me and my friends call it a ghetto speed ball.


Ya imma play on the umm really soon.....like in 5 days...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zeroskater0830 Sunday, September 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
combat zone: eh they are equal... i like combat zone becuz of A/C and stuf and its speed ball but woodsball is fun too
Review: yeah well i went to the new and improved hurricane which finally opened and im pretty kool with it just the fact that it rained for liek 3 days staright b4 i went so it was REALLY muddy. yeah but other than that it was kool except the staff made retarded calls and were a bit rude. combat zones staff is excellent though
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

CSC Wednesday, July 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: This park was the one i started out at, and i cant leave it. it provides a great atmosphere for having loads of fun no matter the age. and even though you are bitter enemies on the field, the players there are very good at keeping it professional off the field as well. the refs do a great job at catching cheaters and that is one thing we can all be with out on any field we play in. now that i got some military training i want to come back and test out how well these people really play :P
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Platinum Man Monday, May 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Spacecoast PB
Combat Zone
Review: By far the best kept woods field on the Spacecoast. Not enough can be said about the Refs. They are consistent, and do the best job I've seen in keeping the safety rules met for everyone's safety. They are trying to replace the cover on the staging area, and it's really needed as we move into summer. The vendor, General Chester, is very reasonably priced and fair. Once our 20oz CO2 tank seemed to only last for one or two games. When we went back and explained this, they said that they had trouble with their tanks earlier, and topped our tank without any additional charge. Very fair! also, the staff does a good job in keeping the teams even in number, experience, and age (not all midgets on one single team).
Okay, the downside. No running water, port-o-lets only (so go before you go, if you know what I mean). Also, being as its a BYOP field, many people buy cheaper paint and/or do not store it correctly, and consequentially the shell doesn't break on impact. One guy shot me twice from 15 ft and they both bounced, but left an extremely nasty halo that will last several weeks. And of course, and its usually the same group, fail to call themselves out. This is what happened to my son a few times, and he got extra hits from the hard, bouncing-ball shooters. Also large welts that Mom is definitely not happy about! Hey, the refs do a great job, but can't watch everyone. You'll get these bad apples at just about any field. JUST KNOW THIS AND HAVE ADEQUATE, THICK OUTERWEAR FOR THE YOUNGER PLAYERS WITH YOU SO THAT THEY DON'T GET SERIOUSLY INJURED!!! I still highly recommend this field, just be informed and come prepared.

Overall, it is a fantastic field for woodsball beginner to intermediate levels, or for open field speedballers. Not really a scenario field except at special game events.

I rated it an 8,
if they had facilities, a shaded area, and field paint requirements it would be an 11++
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media