paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Al's Army Paintball Field / Al's Army Paintball Field / Al's Army Paintball Field / Al's Army Paintball Field

Al's Army Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
27Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (407)-834-2000
Address: 1440 E Altamonte Dr
Altamonte Springs, Florida 32701
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Rom75 Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Epic
Hydrosports
Orlando
Directions
to the Field:
436
Review: Friendly staff. Just like to chat about anything. Very liberal with the free passes. Course is just ok, but who really cares about that. I just like to have fun playing. This is a great place to get started and refine your skills. Refs are ok but try there best to be fair. Proshop really only caters to Tippman brands. I was a bit put off by this (have a Spyder).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamMercury11 Wednesday, January 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've Played at:HSP, OP, OCP, Epik, and Stingers
Directions
to the Field:
Across from Mickey Dees and beside a Big Pottery place. Look for a dirt road of to the side.
Review: Well, didn't see many up-to-date reviews of this place so I figured that I'd comment a little.
I go here about once a month. No airups(rumored they're getting some soon, IMO it may be a rumor) and until recently bad paint. They have White Box, Triumph, and now, Blaze. First field is the best of three for more experienced players. I'd say, it's a mix between PSP and NPPL, on recball. Second field is smaller, and good for 1v1-5v5's(5 is cramped but playable) Third is house. it's decent, if you get some decent people on both sides, it can be fun.
The refs here are nice. They CAN be lazy at times so you may have to delay a chrono, but that normally don't happen. They normally try to put two or three refs on a field, especually on the first, so wiping doesn;t happen often. They try to enforce, but when you get there, you'll see what I'm talking about when I say, "some bunkers can hide you." Obvously, the refs are human, they don't see everything. I have actually seen a fight out there, and they took over immediately, so if you're worried about that, it's a positive.

I'm giving it a 7 b/c I'm a speedballer, and this isn't my favorite place for that, but a great place for beginners, parties, and families.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PanamaLo Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hypersports, OP, Epic
Directions
to the Field:
436 and 17-92 directions on owner's web page are good.
Review: 1) I have been to various types of fields and have played various scenarios, and if you are a beginner, or a recreational player. Go here. If you are semi-pro or an impatient individual, pick another field, pick another sport.
2) Various ages, both boys and girls.
3) The lack of inflatables I personally thought was a positive. This gives the family an opportunity to play together.
4) Three fields for different style of play.

First and foremost...kids wipe on every field. This is a fact, get used to it. The refs don't get involved unless you call for them. This too is also another universal fact.

Rules: they too are universal, like every other field you just need to find the specifics.

I did note that families did play there together. I take my teenage son there and he has lots of fun with his dad. Refreshments are cold, shaded close parking, and what I would consider affordable.

Especially since I am not on a team, or get 'free paint and air', this was an affordable day. I found it affordable when I went with my son, less than 65. Today I went with a friend, and when my son wants to play there I'll load up the car again and we will return here.

Locally, there is every fast food within 5 minutes around the field, we drove thru the McD's across the street before we signed in. Bought the paint, air card, and field charge; then we were ready to roll.
Chrono'd my marker and went in.
At the end of the day, I was out of paint and air, painted and most of all...Happy!

Dad's take your son. Mom's take your daughter, sit back and watch, better yet get a rental, get in there and release some of that pent up road rage.

I am giving it a 9 because of the fun I had.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

protorail45 Wednesday, July 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
epik,ocp,op,and hyper sports there all pretty nice but op is to expensive.
Directions
to the Field:
its near a mcdonalds so if you get hungry theres food and its next to some pottery place
Review: admission: real cheap only $7
paint: The paint is a little over priced for the quality $45 for 2000
fields: now that they have all three fields open its lots of fun field 1 is the main field its pretty nice, field 2 lots of fun for like 1on1 2 on 2 and 3on3 and all the way up to 5 on 5, field 3 is killhouse lots of fun if your just starting easy to move up on.
refs: The refs there are really nice and always play a game when you ask them latley and they are really funny to talk to and always will try to repair a gun
air: 20oz 5$, 9oz is 2.50, sorry im not sure what the other prices are.
repairs: the will always try to fix your gun even if they cant.
drinks and food: the drinks are a good price $1 for a gatorade now to get food you have to go over to mcdonalds
Overall: i think this place is fun and great so i give it a 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gtag 88 Thursday, May 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stingers, adn IRP
Review: Alright this field is decent. Now lets start with prices. The prices of paint is $46 for a white box. Over priced in my opinion. The first box we got all the bags had broken balls. they said well thats never happened before. well we returned it and got another box checked it this time. now the enrty fee is 7 bucks. u have to pay everytime u fill up your air which is really the stupidist thang ever!!!!!!!. 3000 psi is $3 and a 20 oz co2 is $7. i dont know about the rest. there fields are ok but they really need to cut their grass. u cant bunker anyone its a 10 foot rule. The refs are good their and they make sure every one is cronoed before each game. now they have three fields field 1,2 and the killhouse. 2 and killhouse are very small. the 1st field is ok. these fields are ok if u like scenario. but they have no speedball fields they said that the FLORIDA SUN ruins them. ?????????? but anyways.... usually the people out there are beginners or arent great. but 1 or 2 of them are good. to get back to the fields i slid into the snake and clonked my knee on a rock. but also the drinks arent expensive. i give this place a 5/10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

headbanger4646 Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
shooter den, Orlando Paintball which sux
Review: This feild is one of my favorie feilds in the centrol florida areas, Epic paintball is anouther good feild. This place makes sure your get cronoed b4 u start to play and the prices are more reasonable than most of the nearby feilds. The proshop sux if you need to fix your gun but other than that their is a lot of talent there and the ref actually go ONTO THE FEILD! They have 3 fileds but only use 2 one is their pro field that they usually use and they also have thekillhouse field.(very fun game)

All in All i would give this place a 9/10 higher than i would rate any other feild around here
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pinkpapertie Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
op epic ect.
Review: ok I think this feild sucks. The grass is to thick and the bunkers are old thew feild has way to many bumps and dips in it to also when i played a turny there not to long ago the owner coldnt make up his mind on the ruls we play buy or the paint we use it was so stupid i recomend op but thats because im sposnerd by them andi getfree crap for saing go to o.p.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

UltimateI Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Orlando Paintball: this is soooooooooo much worse than Al's because at Al's the ref's aren't little girls at Al's they actually get on the field to make sure that the games are played correctley and the paintballs here are too expensive.
Epic Paintball: i personally think that these fields are about the same in quality and the atmospheres are great at both
Directions
to the Field:
1440 East SR 436
Altamonte Springs, Florida 32701
Review: this field was the first and only field that i will ever go to (other than Epic). the safety there is great becasue not only must you get your gun chronoed if they ever catch you playing badly they warn you three times then you are out of there. the fields are small in number but are very fun. like field one is all air bunkers and they have a great snake there and the refs are always fun to talk to. then they have another field that is all air bunkers and it is a great way to play speedball with some friends or other people. then they have an all wooden field and that field is fun as heck. go there to experience the best games ever. then they have a small proshop but the faculty there is always helpful and never turn down any gun repairs. the prices are awsome too they have paint that goes from the prices of $48 to about $60 which gives a lot of choices of grades of paint. and the admission is only $5 dollars oh and bring your parents if this is your first time becasue you have to sign a waver they also are close to a McDonalds so if you get the munchies you can stop there :) i give this field a ten for many many reasons other than what i just told you.
OH and also the wooden field can be rented out for parties and stuff which is really awsome!!!
Last edited on Monday, May 15th, 2006 at 1:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shocker08 Thursday, May 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
hypersports, stinger, epik, oes, central florida paintball, cross town, OP
Directions
to the Field:
off of 436
Review: Overall Al's is the best field to play at in Central Florida. The prices at the shop are reasonable- 5 dollars admission. Even though its not bring your own paint the prices are still great. The ref's there work hard to make sure that everyone has a great time. When i had a gun problem 2 refs ran over and fixed the gun with no problem. They ran games all the time through out the whole day, i could not belive how many good players were playing.
over all this is a great place to go and have fun with good prices, awesome ref's and great field" but they need more grass!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattymatt3 Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Epik, Crosstown, OP
Directions
to the Field:
Drive far away from here.
Review: I would normally never speak poorly of any place but I had such bad experience that I wanted to try and save someone else the time and energy.

Price-Was ok, not too expensive
Rules-This was my first time playing at this field. I didn't hear a single person ever go over the rules before game play started. I watched people blind fire on more than one occasion.
Hours of Operation-For today it was 11-4. I will get into further detail about this in a second.
Services-They had a fridge there so that was good for drinks. No air passes though so you had to pay for air as you go.
Players-The people that went out there were all very nice although there was a problem with people wiping throughout the day.
Facilities-Field 1 was ok, Field 3 was fun with the wooden bunkers, Field 2 was not operating.
Refs- My friend and I arrived at 11. We paid and went out to the field to get our guns chronoed. We waited 45 mins to an hour before someone decided to come out and line everyone out there up to get chronoed. I talked to a couple of other people and they thought this was just as crazy as I did. Someone even remarked that he already paid and they had wasted an hour.
There was a private party on field 3 for most of the day so we mainly used field 1. The refs took about 10 mins in between every game which was crazy because there was soooo many people waiting to play. At first they only let a limited amount of people on the field at a time so a game would go on, then 10mins, then you could get on and play again if you were at the head of the line before the cut off the amount of people on the field, if you didn't you were out of luck. When the private party left instead of opening up 2 fields they would just walk from 1 field to another and say that was the one that we would be playing on. If you were not at the front of the line then you didn't get in when the mass of people charged through the net. Towards the end of the day they were letting a huge amount of people on the field at a time so much so that there were 3-4 people stacked up at the bunkers closer to the starting point. We played so few games that I normally will shoot a case of paint by myself in a 4-5 hour day, and today my friend and I barely went through a case between the both of us.
For the 1st part of the day the refs were not bothering to check if people were out so people were wiping left and right. This did get better as the day went along. At one point during the day (when both fields were free) I looked over to see 6 refs sitting in the chono tent shooting the bull while the paying customer's sat around and waited to play.
I have played at a couple of fields in Central FL and I have never seen refs that were as disinterested and did so little to get games going. As if this were not enough the refs were debating about whether to stop game play at 3:30. They played 1 more game and it was done at 3:45. So that 11-4 is very misleading. Some of the other people said they routinely stop play at 3:30 and that things have been going downhill for a while there. I feel like I wasted my day of paintball. I will NEVER go back to Al's. Read the reviews and find a place that actually cares about it's customers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media