paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Central Florida Paintball Field / Central Florida Paintball Field / Central Florida Paintball Field / Central Florida Paintball Field

Central Florida Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
40Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 863-858-3154
Address: 9365 US Hwy 98 N
Lakeland, Florida 33809
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
AirforceBaller Sunday, June 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 19th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: First off I've played paintball since my freshman year of high school. Now that I'm in the military I don't usually get time to play so I tend to use the fields around Eglin AFB. They are nothing in comparison to CFPS. For me it was worth the 6 hour drive. Being a tournament style player I love the easy self fill stations and a well maintained field. When I went I only went to check out the field for CFPS event five and to pick up my sister in laws gun. But even in pajamas the grass wall easy to slide on and the snake was amazing. I recommend this field to any true paintballer and any one looking to pick up speedball
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PbForLyfe Sunday, March 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
GTF & Orbital
Review: Me i'm honestly not the most experienced paintballer but i will say i know what i'm doing when i play. I live in north Florida but my dad lives five minutes from this field. First, off IMO they have awesome facilities so i walk into the proshop and right away i notice that it has AC. AC! That is a pretty rare thing from a paintball field and they also have a well maintained indoor bathroom. When it comes to products they dont have the most inventory but have a good stock of things that you might forget at home and require to play such as lube,barrel socks etc. They also have a couple jerseys,pants,and pod packs (mostly DYE). The fields are amazing they have six airball fields (they usually only keep 2 up in running in order to let the grass grow on the others).The players there are competitive but not to the point that they're gonna gang up on a beginner.The refs are skilled and keep the games running smoothly (as they should). For safety they are pretty safe but on occasion one of the tourney ballers will keep his/her barrel sock off (not too big of a deal). Their prices are GREAT! Paint is cheap and you get all day field and unlimited air for only 15.00. You do have discounts if you bring a large party. I don't know too much about their rentals because i have all my own gear but i'm pretty sure they are well priced.Their hours are 9-5 Sat. and Sun. Lastly for food they dont have much other than a cooler full of drinks near the woodsball fields. To conclude i think this field is top notch and one of the best in florida. For more info go to their webpage www.centralfloridapaintball.com/.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matt Doc Martin Monday, March 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cypress Gardens Adventure Sports, in Lake Wales
BattleZone, in Thonosassa FL
Review: Safety: Reasonably well handled, but not strict enforcement of barrel covers. C+

Fields: Small and not very well kept. There are claims of 6 Air Ball fields. I have only ever seen 2 set up, and usually not when we actually start playing. Their Fort is rickety as hell and their woods fields need some upkeep desperately. C-

Prices: Fairly good, in range of most other places. $10 for groups for all day air. Paint has usual markup. B+

Proshop/Staff: Weak, weak, weak. As far as supplies/merchandise goes, their selection is grim. As far as staff and service goes, see below: F
(To be fair, the refs were better when we first started playing, but have gone downhill since)


My group has played there several times, with anywhere between 12-20 people each time. One of the great difficulties/annoyances is the fact that it is nigh-impossible to get anyone at the field to answer a phone or return a call. Their website is also sadly out of date, with no information on upcoming games/scenarios. (Last updated June 2009)

We attempted to play on 3/6/10. One of our members (Joe) finally got a hold of someone to confirm our time for our group (we had arranged it the last time we played, 2/6/10) At that time on 3/5/10, Joe was told that they were running a scenario, but that they were keeping to the woods and the air ball fields would be open for use. We decided we were fine with that and made our plans.

3/6/10 my GF and I show up first at 9:00 to sign in/pay. The manager/owner looks at me like I have 2 heads when I mention I am there for “Joe’s group” I let him know that Joe spoke with him YESTERDAY and he has blank expression on his face. I get Joe on the phone and pass it on to the manager. When he gets off the phone, I speak with Joe who tells me we will play there still, but that the manager is clueless.

I head out to my car to wait for others to show up so we can discuss whether we want to play or not. While I am waiting, Manager comes out and asks me what is up The following is a verbatim recreation of the conversation:

Manager; “So what is going on?”

Me: We (my GF and I) are waiting for everyone to show and then will decide whether we will play here or not.

Manager: But Joe said you would play here!

Me: That’s fine, but we are waiting until everyone is here to decide.

Manager: But Joe said you would play here!

Me: That’s fine, but we are waiting until everyone is here to decide.

Manager: But Joe said you would play here!

Me: That’s fine, but we are waiting until everyone is here to decide.


I wish the above were a joke, but it is not. I called Joe, told him to scrub game and that we would try Orbital out instead. I then went in and told the manager that, thanks to HIM, we were not playing there again. Not sure they will notice, but hopefully he will miss the cash of 15 people worth of fees and paint every 4-6 weeks. (average)

I cannot recommend this field, which saddens me, as it is 5 minutes from my house. With luck, they will have a change of ownership and bring decent customer service back to their game.
Last edited on Monday, March 8th, 2010 at 7:43 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

t3nacity Friday, May 15th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have been to Paintball Wold Sports Complex, Kohn Sports, Orbital and MVP. None of these fields even compare to Central Florida Paintball. The best paintball field and store in the Tampa Bay area is without a doubt, Central Florida Paintball.
Directions
to the Field:
Just off of I-4 on US Hwy 98 N.
Review: I play regularly at this field and it is by far the best field I've been to in Florida and the Tampa Bay area specifically. Nothing can compare to the sheer size and quality of the Central Florida Paintball complex in Lakeland. They have 12 paintball fields, 6 x-ball and 6 woodsball fields. They have an on-site paintball store with everything you need. Prices are low and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It's just off of I-4 so it's easily accessible from all over the state of Florida. Whether you are a beginner player, serious woodsball player or experienced tournament player, you will not be disappointed.

The woodsball fields are complete with forts and a bonfire pit for overnight camping. The airball fields feature professional teams on a regular basis including recent practices by Tampa Bay Damage, LA Ironmen and Miami Rage.

If you haven't experienced everything Central Florida Paintball has to offer you are really missing out. For more information visit their website http://www.centralfloridapaintball.com
Last edited on Tuesday, May 26th, 2009 at 11:23 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

BALLERSTATUS10 Thursday, April 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
off the wall adventures
Review: This is an amazing field to play at whether you are just starting out or if u have been playing for years. The refs are super cool and fair about just about everything. Its not all that expensive. Everyone you play with isnt like super competitive about everything they are all pretty much just out there to have a good time. They have awsome hyperball, truck hood, and speedball courses. If you havent been you must def go try it out!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

colonelbadgers Saturday, December 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
BattleZone Paintball, just search 33809 in the Florida Paintball fields on this site. BattleZone Paintball is closest and apparently all speedball. It was great going here though because my dad and I are on vacaction coming from New York. Weather was perfect, balls weren't frozen like in Northern Paintball fields.
Directions
to the Field:
I say mapquest, google map, etc.. I don't know what's easier for you the reader of this. 9365 US Hwy 98 N
Lakeland, FL 33809
Review: I loved this place, it had more pros then it did have cons. That's good right? I think so.

Safety and Refs: it's enforced if the ref can see you and probably by some people you'll be playing with. Barrel covers and safety are required to be on until you enter the playing fields. Masks must be put on immediately once you go into the playing fields. Unless your in the speedball fields, if everyone in the speedball field you are in has their cover on then masks can be taken off. When I was there the refs were great, they weren't total a-holes to you when were breaking a rule. They didn't get mad at me when I had no idea you can tap out an entire fort and so I shot at the dude who tapped it, the refs just told me don't do it again. Though some refs were a bit afraid of getting shot. Though some aren't on the other hand. I witnessed an e-trigger marker vs a ref during a woodsball game, let's just say they lucked out because the refs are laid back. They will come for paint check and visor wipes if you call out or signal to them. Overall the safety and refs were great to me.
------------------------------------------------------

From what I understand on the website these are their hours of operations:
Speedball:
Hours of operation: Saturday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sunday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Woods Fields
Hours of Operation
Wednesday - Friday: 2p.m. - 7p.m. - By appointment only for 10 or more.
Saturday and Sunday: 9a.m. - 5p.m. No appointment necessary. Walk-on's welcome
------------------------------------------------------

Prices: I'm lazy to type it all out. Just go here for their prices:
http://www.centralfloridapaintball.com/prices.htm
Be sure to look at the bottom of the page (I know it's a lot of scrolling, too bad), it has the different case prices.
------------------------------------------------------

Rules: Listen to the refs, obey the ten foot rule, bunker tap if at all possible, remember the fort can be tapped no matter how many people are inside, follow the safety rules, have fun, OH and make sure you do check your velocity, my dad and I thought we were at 270fps, but not to long after my dad shot someone in speedball in the neck making them bleed we found out my dad's velocity was 310fps and I was 325fps. PLEASE don't make someone bleed, check and fix your velocity.
------------------------------------------------------

Services:
-Entry $ 15.00 (+ tax) Includes Co2 or HP air all day.
-Full rental ( Includes mask, gun, and air tank ) $10.00 (+ tax).
-HP air tank or mask rental (availability subject to demand and requires a Picture I.D. for us to hold) $5.00 (+ tax).
- Sell drinks at the air refills near the woodsball fields.
------------------------------------------------------

Proshop: Can't say much, seemed empty at the time, but Christmas was just three days ago. It's a proshop, sells the guns, the paint, the pods, the apparel, etc..
------------------------------------------------------

Staff is nice, they let the one team there coordinate their own games, and they got games going pretty quickly, the proshop staff was nice as well.
------------------------------------------------------

Players: I got there and the moment I got out of my car I met a guy who showed me his gun and told me about his paintball career (he got to meet and talk with Oliver Lang). Also got to meet another father son group who we became friends with and stuck together as much as possible. Got to meet Team Knightmare, woodsball team, pretty well coordinated. If you ever see them and need a walkietalkie to hear them, you should ask, they probably got one. They mainly wear Army BDUs.
------------------------------------------------------

Facilities: Bathrooms are in easy to get to places, woodsball air refills shack has drinks to sell and they have the rentals for you to use if you do not own your own equipment needed to play (except for money).




I don't think there were any major bad problems other than the fact that the refs didn't force anyone to check velocity when my dad and I went. It was an awesome time, and remember just because the fields look small, they're not. Ask the refs or people around about the woods in the woodsball fields. The refs will probably allow them or they may not. There is a pretty good forest like field in the woodsball field closest to the speedball fields. If you run into Team Knightmare, they like to play there so see if you can join, its really cool, it had a small walled camp site, very rain forest like, sniper tower, trails and some other white bunkers. Wear some good camo for that though, otherwise you'll stick out very well. Sniper tower wasn't a "death pit." Oh and this field gets a rating of 9.99 out of 10. Its just not totally perfect, but its extremely close. Good place to go to if you are on vacation.
Last edited on Saturday, December 27th, 2008 at 8:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

BigT_FL Wednesday, November 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Games, Tampa - both fields give you a different perspective. Jungle games is better at keeping everyone together and playing, to where CFP offers more fields to play on but with that comes people seperating to play thus may giving you less targets.
Directions
to the Field:
Directions are on their website and the field is off US98 out near the Lakeland area.
Review: The day started out very slow, at 9:30am there were only 6 people there and that's including my buddy and I. After a couple hours it started to fill up. On their website it mentions it being "field only paint" (meaning if you want to play there you must purchase their paint). I wouldn't suggest buying their paint unless you were out. For the price, you can get better paint elsewhere and I did see people bringing their own paint.

Pros - the price to pay was reasonable, $15 all day with all day air and you can fill your own marker or they have someone there who will assist. This I found to be very convenient. I liked the different looks of the fields, the speedball was fun and the hyberball was a nice change of pace.

Cons - if you call them and leave a message it's very hard to get someone to return your call. They only had 2 refs the day we played, both of which were very young and pretty much set back and watched and didn't do a lot of paint checks. Some fields were split for birthday parties, some played speedball, this left smaller teams for the regular paintball play.

All in all my buddy and I had fun, I would recommend trying it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Love Doctor Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Woodsball is what attracted me to the sport.

I recently had my 1st game at Off the Wall Adventures. The Pro Shop was excellent with many Markers on display. Their woodsball field was about 75 yards in length and 30 yards wide (Kinda narrow); not many obstecals either.

Then I found out about Central Florida Paintball. I was WOW'ed when I saw their 5 part woodsball field filled with obsetecals galour! I'm talking shacks, two story forts, a motorcycle, tractor tires, wall panels, huge field goal style plastic tubes everywhere! The staff was friendly and had an AIR refuel shack right there in front of the woodsball stage up area (Unlike Off the Wall Adventures, where you have to walk back to the Pro shop for fill ups).
Directions
to the Field:
Central Florida Paintball
Exit off of 1-4 on exit 32 (Hooters exit)
Go North on 98 (This is a three lane road)
Once this road turns into a 2 lane road, pass two Circle Ks, then start looking to the right and you will find it right off the main road.

Lakeland, FL 33810
Review: Pro shop was stocked with parts, accessories, and markers.

Staff was helpful, polite, layed back yet orignized.

Price: $ 15.00 all day fee w/ air ($10 bucks more for rentals: They use Spyders markers). Ball price is $45 for standard Heat brand.

Chromo: They have it and enforce using it if you have your own marker.

Woodsball fields: They have 5 areas that can either be seperated by a huge netting on steel cables or can be open for a big scenerio games etc.

Parking: You park right in front of the AIR shack, which is at the staging area for the woodsball field. Very convinient.

People: The people are very nice and easy to make friends with. Even a newbie like me.

Speedball Field: They have 3 with those huge inflatebale obstecals course.

Turn out: Woodsball field had many 9 on 9 games throught the day I went.

Rules: They constently remind you about putting on your mask, barrel cover, and that DEAD MEN DONT TALK.

Food: I didnt see any... Although I brought a small cooler.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Six Feet Under Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Legends Paintball Complex- CFP is cheaper, has more fields, better staging areas, more fill stations...
Directions
to the Field:
9365 US Highway 98 N
Lakeland, FL 33809
Review: Safety- CFP is a pretty safe field. I haven't seen many people walking around without barrel condoms on their guns, so I don't have much to say here.

Fields- They have three Xball fields and an NPPL field. All fields are set up to the latest PSP/NPPL event layouts, so if you're playing in an upcoming national event, CFP is the place to go to practice.

Hours of Operation:

Store & PSP/NPPL Fields: Sat & Sun 9am-5pm
Woodsball Fields: Wed to Fri 2pm-7pm and Sat & Sun 9am-5pm

Prices- Paint starts at $44.95 + tax per case, entry is $15.00 if you're a rec baller or $20.00 if you're there with a team.

Rules- I play on Sundays, everybody knows the rules and follows them, so I don't know what kind of safety briefings there are for new players.

Services- Place to play paintball, fix your gun, get a drink in the proshop... What more could you want?

Proshop- Very well stocked, at least five kinds of paint, they have all kinds of spare parts, upgrades, orings, Dye/Proto clothing, NXe packs, etc.

Staff- John Senior is an awesome guy, as are Mark and Alan.

Refs- Reffing is good at tournaments, on team practice days there usually aren't refs because the tournament players know the rules, and it's just practice anyways. The woodsball/rec-ball refs are top-notch from what I hear.

Players- Competition is top-notch at CFP. Includes or has included such teams as Static, Strange, CFP Factory, Jax Warriors, etc.

Facilities- REAL BATHROOMS! This is like a godsend compared to most paintball fields. They bring in extra porta-potties for the tournaments.

Food- They cook at their 5-man tournaments, and the food is pretty good. Otherwise there are at least a dozen restaurants within a ten-mile radius, fast food and sit down restaurants included. There is also a Publix close to the field, so if you want a sub or are feeding a large group, you can get food there.

Tournaments- CFP hosts the SPCS (Southern Paintball Championship Series) 5-man events, and they are well-run. The reffing is good, there is almost never a line at the fill station, plenty of good competition, and the prizes are very good.

If you want to know more about the SPCS, here's the link to their site: http://www.thespcs.com/home.htm
Last edited on Tuesday, April 17th, 2007 at 8:29 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

str8killa30 Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball experience(out of business)
off the wall(waste of time)
Directions
to the Field:
not sure my mom takes me
Review: I have been playing at cfp for about a year now and it has only been getting better.Now george is running the rec ball side and he really takes care of the players and making sure everything is safe he has even worked on my gun for me.The woods area is the best in florida right now with 2 fields hyperball,and fort I believe they have 2 more fields planned and I heard rumor of future scenario games.Up front on the tournament side is john and mark 2 great guys also very helpfull with everything you could ever need mark is also one of the best gun techs around,they run a succesful tournament series that I hope to have a team in soon.overall this field has the best of everything and I look forward to many more years of playing there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media