paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field

ABC Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
110Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 973-728-1000
Address: 1745 Greenwood Lake Trpk
Hewitt, New Jersey 07421
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
orang3 Thursday, March 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball depot
Review: dude like abc rox its speedball field is a lil muddy ill give u that but thats cuz it had rained the day before. The woods course was the best i had ever been on, and the staff was just helpfull all around. I brought my friend who had never even touched a paintball marker before with me, and the refs just helped him out when the paintballs were blowing up in his barrel. if any1 says this place stinks they have never been here or they are novices who need to grow a spine. Go there ull have a whole lot of fun trust me
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

rchristy18 Saturday, February 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rexplex, Top Gun, Some Little place upstate...
Review: I enjoyed ABC's speedball field. Even though it was very muddy and there was snow and ice on the ground, we had a beautiful day ( I wore a T-shirt), and the overall experience was positive. The staff was very friendly, with the exception of one bad apple, and the refs were there to preside over the game, not influence it... Noting bad to say, except drain that smelly water from the bottom of the field. I liked the small hill the field was on. It gave it some dynamic. Overall good experience, although I didn't play the woods fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This the only NJ field I've played at, though I've heard that PB Depot is as good.
Review: Paint: 40.00 (bulk)
Admission: 15.00
Air: 6.50
=
60 bucks for a great day of paintball. The refs are great as far as calls and safety. The younger kid is fair, and did you critical guys ever consider that there's only one way to train a ref (cough*experience*cough?) There certainly is lots of mud, but it poured rain for a few minutes and that didn't help. The mud, IMO, just makes sliding into the bunkers all the more fun (provided you've got a change of clothes.)
This past trip was my friend's first time paintballing, and he thoroughly enjoyed it. The refs helped him when he had some velocity problems, and the regulars were helpful as well. There were a fair mix of experienced and rental players (half had Pro-Carbines, the other half had some sick stuff-- an incredible Viking, a few Speeds and Nightkasts, etc.) A note- unless you consider yourself extremely proficient with a pump, you should probably cough up the extra $10 and rent a Pro/C instead of a Trracer. Everyone had semis ( except for the tricked Phantom...but even that was on direct feed and Stabilized Worrgas...) and you'll be ripped apart if thais is your first time.
The speedball field, though it is on a slope, is well balanced. The top has the obvious sight and aiming avantages, but the bottom has better cover and happier firing lanes.
The woods field is above-average, with some dug-out foxholes and fallen trees. Centerflag in the woods is a blast.
All in all, a great field. It's got some irks (mud, paint prices) but those are easily overcome (wear boots, buy paint somewher else.) Go there and have fun.
Last edited on Saturday, May 1st, 2004 at 8:26 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MasterShocker23 Monday, December 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rex Plex-Not bad, good speedball, outdoor field is sweet, prices are pretty ridiculous.
Review: The one good thing about ABC is the price of admission....$15 for ALL DAY!!! Bring your own paint, cause their paint is ridiculously priced.

ABC is a great field for experts to beginners. ABC's woodsball is pretty good. They do diff scenarios, elimination, ctf. The bunkers are placed in a perfect arrangement, but sometimes when you "go for a walk," or get to start out on the higher end of the field, the odds of winning are better, and people prefer it more than going to the lower end. Speedball is good too. Quick,fast, adrenaline rushing action. Bunkers are well placed, and if you cant shoot fast...you have no chance of lasting to the end.

Don't listen to that guy who gave it a 1...doesn't know what he's talking about. The speedball field is really muddy and a little one sided if you start at the top...but what's playing paintball without a challenge? And there are refs older than 12. There's only one young ref there and I've never been in a game where he actually reffed. I've only seen him walk around the the lunch tables keeping order. GIVE ABC A CHANCE!
Last edited on Monday, December 29th, 2003 at 4:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KingPot-Nutley Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
RexPlex, Paintball Depot.
Review: I love ABC honestly i go there at least once every 2 weeks! The refs are Good for what they have i believe they need a few more refs to make it better other than that I have no problem with the field. The woods field is really good its open but with enough bunkers!! WHY ARE PEOPLE HATING ON ABC 15 dollars entry fee and bring your own paint!!! THATS the BEST DEAL AROUND!!!!!!!!!!!! Ive played there over 20 times and only got yelled at once because i was a dumb ass and took off my mask!! But hey it's a safe place to play!!!

LOOK for me Im usually around Sat and Sundays Yellow Jersey-DYE i have 2 other friends with same jerseys 2!!! SEE YA around!!!!

MY ADVICE: GO TO ABC PAINTBALL CHEAP AND GOOD CAN IT GET ANY BETTER????
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

notakook Saturday, November 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish
Review: Hhhmmmm tough one here. THE SERVICE: In the rental shop was great. I forget the woman behind the counters name but she was kind and helpful. The ref's were ok alittle lazy at the start of the day and alittle over zelous at the end. Def. shorthanded though! Could have used 2 more refs on each field. This 12 yr old ref was just being an @$$ kicking people out for lifting there masks. The right call but not done in a prof. manner. Not to mention they couldn't count and it was about 15 against 30 or more. We got destroyed repeatedly until the last game! Vengence was ours:) . THE CROWD: Pathetic! By and large the worst crowd I've ever seen. Cheating, cheating, cheating. Mostly kids under 14 I'd say. Just brats. Pretty clueless. Shooting people who were out and NEVER moving forward and again WIPING!!!! Also some pro/pro-wannabe types there who were just as bad. Gosh what losers. I listened as two of them were coaching this kid on the speedball feild telling him to "pretend like your shot and start walking off, then you can take that bunker" (maybe this explains why I'd get obliterated even after I put my gun up and stood up after being shot) I actually spoke up on that one but the Pu$$ies were to afraid to say anything back mostly because I was right. I just felt like cracking skulls all day long! THE FIELDS: well speedball is pretty onesided being on a hill but you get to switch sides so its no big deal. Mud was a problem on this field though. So deep and nasty you didn't wanna get stuck behind a small bunker. I came home dirty, and I mean dirty!! The woods fields weren't to bad. Bunkers left and right. Middle with nothin but trees. Strange setup though. It was so big that i could look down from the hill and see players on the other team with there backs to me but couldn't get there cause the middle had no cover.

Overall it was a fun experience and the things that were negative weren't really ABC's fault. the fields were neither impressive nor disapointing. Service was pretty good. Safety was good and best of all PRICES were better than anybody's. $15 to play and bring my own paint! It doesn't get much better. Were else can i play for under $45 and shoot marbalizers all day. answer: NOWHERE!!! Brings abc from a 7 to an 8!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

psychoshooter13 Monday, September 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
knightbreed(good to loose an eye), paintball depot( pretty good), nj paintball club(played their on predator day!!disaster for anyone who was not a predator)
Review: i noticed that the field has been getting a lot better to play at and now has become my primary field.since this new guy billy showed up at the field i noticed the refing has picked up dramaticcaly, the games are also running smoother and faster.there was a ref named pw who seemed to enjoy siitng peolpe out if they didnt follow the rules. he even wore a smartparts shirt and hid with the players. he caught everyone who did something wrong. watch out for him if you go. the ref nick also was very kind and helpful to me, he took care of whatever field he was on very well. you always heard him, billy and pw yelling yelling to get the refs moving on speedball. drew the head ref in the woods is a little hefty but he did he job very well. up there the games ran well for such a big field. the refs are great to talk to and joke around with. i a good time talking to them they even gave me a few pointers after a few games. there wasnt a ref under 16 and there were a few refs that are over 18. remember the refs are nice but they will sit you ina heartbeat if you do something wrong. all i can say is you learn quick or you go home. they even kicked a kid out at 11 for wiping in a game.
PRICES they are hard to beat . 15 to get in 10 for all day nitro . under 60 bucks for rp premium after taxes and you can even bring your own paint everyday not some weird day out of the month.
i do recommend staying away from leo! if you think the refs are harsh he's 10 times worse but he only shows up once in a blue moon sure your pretty much in the clear.
they just rearranged the speedball field.
cons- speedball next to swamp on hot days a little stinky in the back corner. the woods is a little beaten but still fun to play in.

in all the field is making its way very rapidly into a very good field that i now recommend you try out. the refs are really nice i even learned all the refs that day they were so nice so thank for the fun billy nick pw steve mike drew will will nate.ps you thoght i would forget about you guys as soon as i left.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

franzier Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knight breed, Del Hobbies, rex plex, paintball depot
Review: Out of all the fields I played this field by far really needs improvement. the bunkers are very run downed and the speedball field stinks. Your on a hill. Good luck working your way up your at a disadvantage from the start. On a scale of 1-5 I would not waste my time on this field and rate it a 1. The refs are all kids(12) if your lucky you may get one adult and they don't call anything. That just takes all the fun out of the sport. I will never go to this field again.

As for the pro's about the field. BYOP that's it. But why waste your paint on such a cheesy field when you can at least go to knight breed right up the road where it is better not by far but they at least look for whippers ( cheaters).

If your thinking about going to there store don't bother with that whether the customer service stinks, the owner LEO is a jerk and has a personal thing about owners of Bob Long guns. i went there just to ask a question about my gun and he went into this big story about how he knew Bob long in 82 and how Bob makes crap for paintball guns. I knew instantly this guy has a personal problem. Anyway's to get back to the review, ABC is a rip off store wise and there field needs much improvement.

For you newbies, shop around. There are better fields and shops out there more customer friendly.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntball-kid21 Saturday, July 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Others
Review: This is my review from a yr ago. I had originally given it a 7 but after more problems with the owner. I'm forced to give it this score.

This is the only field I've been to. The prices are great especially the BYOP.

Service: I have an autococker and it wasn't working. I tried for over 2 hrs to fix it. Luckily, this employee, Pete, fixed it for me and I was able to play. Pete is great at fixing pb stuff. If you ever have a difficult problem ask for him at the field. He walks around the picnic area and helps people out with problems.

Refs: I thought the refs were pretty good. All were over 15. There was also an adult. They made good calls and quick checks. They caught and called out the wipers. They are nice and easy to talk to.

Fields: They have only 2 fields
Woods
---------------------------
Pros
-big
-good bunkers
Cons
-wildlife, there were 2 deer when I went
----------------------------
Speedball
Pros
- intelligent layout
-great bunkers
-varied bunkers
- big depends on preference
Cons
-built on a stupid hill
I fell 2 times when running to a faraway bunker. I was running downhill and
slipped in a hidden mud puddle and slid down. The 2nd time, I ran on the
same side and tried to avoid that spot but fell again. This time head first and
broke my hopper elbow. Also I hurt my hip so I ended the day. The damn
mud is on the side closest to the woods field.

Safety: They emphasize safety here which is good. You always have to wear your goggles in the chrono and on the fields and have a barrel plug in when outside the fields.

Noobness: There were alot of groups the day I went. One group was some 12-13 y/o girls. They shot at me while I was going to the dead zone but missed. It was kinda funny when they realized I was already out and they appologized. Most of the groups were nooby kids and the experienced guys lit them up. I recommend young groups to have private games on the weekdays. However, a bachelor group of noobs had lots of fun.

Atmosphere: I met some nice people there. The worst thing of that day was that I had half a case of paintballs stolen so watch your gear. Luckily , the leader of that girls group gave me the rest of their paint which was around 800 paintballs. This shows that there will always be good people and bad people everywhere.


Conclusion: The shop there has close to nothing except the basics. The field has no food but there are some restaurants close by. I would recommend you try it because of the price and BYOP and see if you like it. Finally, stay away from the owner, Leo. He thinks he knows everything and is a real A$$.
Last edited on Thursday, May 6th, 2004 at 8:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Invisible3s Friday, July 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knightbreed Paintball- Superior feilds, atmosphere. Similar Pricing, same bad reffing.
Paintball Depot- Great Feilds, great reffs, rap in the *** prices.
Review: Well what can I say about ABC, play there, don't work there. As long as you steer clear of the owner you will have a fun time. Its dirt cheap to play there, at $15.00 entry, and BYOP, but lets face it, you get what you pay for. Dont take me wrong, I still like to go and play there when I have some paint to get rid of, but if im going to spend money on a case, I'd probably go somewere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media