paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field

ABC Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
110Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 973-728-1000
Address: 1745 Greenwood Lake Trpk
Hewitt, New Jersey 07421
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
pimpedoutimpuls Thursday, November 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knight Breed (good place to go if u want to go home with no eyes or angry)
Review: Abc is an awsome place to play the first time i ever played there was in 4th grade and when i went home i was the happiest kid in the world the service was awsome all of the reffs were hailrious and ever since that day ive always gone back to abc I am also a reff now u might see the the review that says if u see the reff kevin shoot him well im that reff lol remeber u shoot me ill shoot u back j/k anyway when knight breed came into town i thought i would give it a try so i did and i left with in 2 hours i didnt find it funn when i got shot in the back in the dead zone while i was eating my lunch i dont think u would have either. if u want to go home safe and happy i recomend you go to abc.

Also abc is opeing up a new feild in chester new york this place is going to be huge there will be a variety of all kinds of feilds so if u want to have ur choice go to the new feild.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

DarkEnder Thursday, November 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
KnightBreed (now Ruckus Paintball)
Paintball Depot
Review: It was cold and wet! They have 2 courses one for woodsball (more like a large wooded speedball course) and a speedball course. The woodsball course was fun but half the bunkers were filled with pools of water lol. I jumped right into one and then right back out, while running to some other cover I got nailed in the back a couple time lol. I think the field would've been alot more fun if it was dry. The speedball course suffered similarly from the rain, many of the bunkers had thick mud behind them, again I think if it had been dry it would have been alot more fun. It is on a hill which definetly sux but it was a nice switch from woodsball. The refs were all very good, some were young and there was one guy who was a bit older and he was cool. A lot of little kids running around with rentals which was both a plus and a minus. Overall not too bad of an experiance and the price was right. Remember that I'm basing my rating on playing on a cold wet(from rain and snow the day before) day and that's why the rating is kinda low.

*Edit* Since ABC is FPO now I'm changing my Rating to a 5.
Last edited on Sunday, August 21st, 2005 at 9:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

skorpion317 Saturday, November 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knightbreed
Paintball Depot
Review: My friend and I went to play here today....we came for the woodsball field. It is indeed up a hill, but it's not as bad as everyone makes it out to be. it's just a short hike. The bunker setup was great, there was a good amount of cover depending on which bunker you chose. The only downside was that it was muddy from the rain and snow we just got, and some bunkers were filled with water. I'm sure it's better in the spring or summer.

There was a large group of 12 year olds there, most of them had never played before. they kept coming up to me and my friend, asking us questions, and gawking over our guns. There were a few adults there, obviously the fathers of some of the kids. They had their own questions too. The kids were OK, not too bright, but they followed orders pretty well. There weren't any serious pros there, my friend and I and a couple of guys who showed up later were the best players on the field. The refs were good, they made all the right calls and were very friendly. The employees in the proshop were also very helpful.

The speedball field isn't that great. It's on a hill, and the bunkers there don't provide much cover. I played two games on the field and went right back to the woods course. Prices were good, $15 gets you admission, $3.50 to fill a 12 oz. tank. they allow you to bring your own paint, but in case you need to buy it at the field the paint is priced rather cheap. you can get a case of RPS marbs for approx. $65. compare that to the prices at paintball depot and Knightbreed, and you can see why ABC is popular.

Overall, I give the field an 8. The woodsball field is definitely the better of the two fields. Stay away from the speedball and you'll be fine.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thchen Monday, November 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knightbreed - I would choose Knightbreed over ABC for the variety and quality of the fields that Knightbreed has to offer.
Review: I checked out ABC for the first time and I must say, I was not very impressed. The speedball field wasn't really much of a speedball field. The incline on the field made it somewhat lopsided. There wasn't any mulch or soft spots at the bunkers that you could slide into. This made the topside difficult as you are running full speed to a bunker and you have to slow yourself down so as to not run over or through the bunker. All they would need is to lay down some mulch around the bunker areas, enough for players to slide into the bunker. They did keep the games going which is good, and they were on top of things as far as safety goes. I didn't have to wait long for games to start up.

Refs did a decent job of paintchecks, but I think there were a couple of refs that were giving away player positions. With any field, refs will tend to help the regular players, I have no complaints on that, just how things go.

Parking isn't too far from the staging area, but it is far enough where you can't store things in your car and easily get to it. I am use to things at Knightbreed where the parking, staging, and fill stations are right next to the field, so you can store things in your car and get to it real easy.

I would say that ABC would bo good for new players that want to get a taste of paintball. But once you get to the next level where you are looking for better competition, I would recommend you checking out Knightbreed, (Located in West Milford) , they have multiple fields to play on and mulch on their speedball fields, so you can get some nice sliding action.

All in all, I wouldn't say ABC is horrible, just not for me. I would recommend everyone to check out both ABC and Knightbreed and make your own decision.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Ref#10 Tuesday, October 26th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hustlers Rexplex...
Review: Ok lets start off with the fact that im Ref#10 at ABC... and there will b not shooting of the refs unless u want to go home and lose the money u spent to play there... then by all means go for it(in reference to the previous post). i have been playin at ABC since 8th grade and im a senior now. Things are always kept interesting there and the teams are pretty fair as long as ppl dont complain about gettin slit up. We have many good players that come and a fair share of noobs as well. If ur looking for a safe place to play there is no place safer in the state... We are in the process of building a new field in chester new york which is goin to b the best place to play in a radius of lets say 100miles.. whether ur a fan of Air Ball or woods ball this will most defineatly b the place for u. And i saw that sum1 wrote we are moving to paramus... we currently have a store in ramsey and now we will b setting up a store in paramus as well... the field will still b located in West Milford....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

JRtippmannpb Wednesday, October 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
knightbreed
Rex plex
Review: If u like speed ball abc is the place for u
abc has an enormous speedball course, its bigger than most woods courses.
the refs are pretty good, they are very nice and helpful as long as u keep ur mask on and ur barrel plug in. u arent aloud to use full auto at abc, this includes response trigger. but it doesnt really matter about response, noone says anything. there is alot of whiping at abc so its always good to get those extra few shots in at the guy to make sure he cant wipe. abc has a lot of great bunkers but watch out for the pyramids cause sometimes paint slips through the holes... i give abc an 8 out of 10 cuase sometimes its really muddy and people wipe alot


IF U SEE A REF NAMED KEVIN... SHOOT HIM AS MANY TIMES AS U CAN!!! ;)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jonrl999 Monday, September 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knightbreed: although i heard bad things about this field with safety, wasn't as bad as i heard, but all the fields were setup basically as speedball courses, but i loved the tired field if only it had like 4 more bunkers.
Review: I love playing here, but will be honest and objective.

Pros:
-$15 to play
-$10 all day nitro
-BYOP
-decent price on paint (its expensive no matter where you go but about 75 for case of ultra evils including tax ... not like skirmish where you have to buy their paint at 99 a case)
-good staff and refs
-good fields, and nice setup on bunkers and layout
-almost always lots of people and good variety of skill ( it never gets old shooting noobs, and a good challenge is what the game is all about, you get both)
-speedball games start within 5 min usually ( can be con too if your one of the last ones in the game cuz almost no time to rest and to get set up and refill but games are quick so even if you miss one your in again in no time)
-big on safety (barrel plugs/condoms always in and masks always on. for those of you stupid enough not to obey rules you deserve to get kicked out and ive seen a few, though you usually get a warning or two. hey i am all for safety, if i have my mask off in the dead zone i dont need some a$$hole with his finger on the trigger and the safety off shooting my eye out cuz he is a fu$#ing tart)

cons:
-only two fields
-both fields can be muddy at times, and the speedball mud is stinky sometimes(ppl complain about getting muddy and stuff, but ur getting hit with paint too wtf is the difference if you get some dirt on ya. if you dont like it stick to the other side its usually totally dry)
-walk to the woods field is killer lol ( hill is like climbing to mt everest peak, but hey ur there to run around right, like is walking up a hill gonna kill you. personally if your outta shape enough to complain about a hill dont play PB cuz you shouldnt be running around all day)
-undermanned at times

general: yes speedball course is bigger then average and on a hill. complain if you want but no one forces you to play there. topside gets slight shooting and running advantage, but bottom has better coverage and better shooting lanes. i dont like sup air too much cuz i hate being 3 ft from an opponent so this field is decent for a speedball course IMO. lots of cheaters in speedball, and refs do their best, but they cant be everywhere all the time. you get cheaters everywhere so its no reflection on the field itself.
woodsball is exceptional. outsides have good bunkers and make for good wars. middle has less coverage, but what fun would it be if you had tons of cover and could just walk up to enemys side. no fenced area for deadzone, but games usually quick so goggle break comes quick. topside again can have a shooting advantage, but only if you let them. i win from both directions, so you just have to have a good strategy. almost never a problem with cheaters in woods, but its more of a family atmosphere back there so often times a lotta noobs and not enough skill. a little to small for ctf games which sucks, but they do their best to change it up. if you ask they do ctf president zombie gettysburg games. i played a 7 on 35 president game and we won easily.

leo the owner can be an angry mofo and needs to just be ignored. the rest of the crew is great. kathy his wife does signups and is really nice. my nitro tank was being repaired and my spyder crapped out, so she loaned me her personal nitro tank for my cocker no charge. often she gives me stuff and lets me pay at the end of the day since my wallet is up in the woods. pete the son is very very good with guns. i dont even touch most of my stuff cuz its easier to have him look at it and hes fast and cheap. billy the head ref and drew the head woodsball ref are great guys and make ur day as fun as possible. jj pete billy and the rest of the guys at the store are good guys and very knowledgeable. i always take the advice on new stuff, or on what to do with problems on my gun.

over all i say it gets a 9. some of the refs are a bit yount at 16 to 18, but who else has weekends free to ref. only two fields which at times can have some mud/paint on the field and bunkers. proshop at field doesnt carry a whole lot but the store in ramsey( soon to be in paramus) has tons, and will order anything that you need. great ppl and great saftey conscienceness and good fields. not everyone will like it, but you have to go with what you like. they make you feel at home, and very safe. once they get to know you more, you start to get small discounts and freebies, but they are already cheap so what more do you want.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigd70323 Saturday, September 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
rexplex hustlers et cuzens(all of them in the tri state)
Review: the place is all around great the woods feild is sic the speed ball is pretty good but its out door so if it rains there is mud all over the place and its on a hill and if yr at the bottom looking up sometimes u get a horrible sun glare.
the refs there are real tight of sfaty witch is good its BYOP and it 15 to get in and 10 for all day air its a reall great pl;ace to god if the weather conditions and the feild coditions r good.

there is only one bad thing alot of pricks go there that thikn there great and talk a lot but can t back it up. if you can deal with that its a great place. my 03 shocker had a jam that i couldnt get and the refs tehre helped me out htere really kool there. i give it a 9 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintbalsqueege Thursday, September 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in the area but 2 in maine birchill paintball and berwick paintball both great fields really cool people there
Review: first off 25 dollar field fee and all day air plus its BYOB and field prices are ok. everyones so nice there especially since for lunch there is a dairy queen right behind woods ball. and woods ball is fun to play and so is speed ball. another + is Drew and Steve are the best refs they are hilarious. another good thing is they are very safety conscious.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ImPuLsiVeGoOsE Sunday, August 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish,Rex Plex,Cousins
Review: This place is awsome, its 25$ For admission and all day nitro, the downside is only 2 fields, but hell for 25$ and bring your own paint who cares. The post above mine, ABC Paintball is moving to Paramus just to let you know, so it wont be in the "middle of no where".
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media