paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field

ABC Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
110Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 973-728-1000
Address: 1745 Greenwood Lake Trpk
Hewitt, New Jersey 07421
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
vert cocker 31 Friday, August 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I thought ABC paintball is a ok paintball field. The refs are ok but sometimes unfair. Most of the players wipe, while the refs are watching. Also refs pick kill teams experienced versus newbs. Plus the refs were sometimes giving away players spots so they could be entertained by watching a newbie get his a$$ bunkered. The field smelt bad it was muddy and plainly gross. They only have 2 fields speedball and woods. The woods is good, and the speed ball is awesome. The good things about ABC is BYOP and a $15 entrance fee. I also like that they keen in on safety. Once again i give ABC a B-. Overall its a good place to play!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Shorty 6.6 Thursday, August 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I was in New Jersey in July and my friend took me paintballing. I loved this place, the refs were great so were the fields. The refs were very nice and they didn't want me and my friend to leave. There are only two fields there a wood and a speedball field. But I was told that there are going to be three more fields soon. Over all the place was great. And paint prices were very cheap. I had a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

phidelt128 Tuesday, August 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rexplex - More Expensive, Smaller
Survival NY - Far Away, More Expensive, Better Fields
Top Gun - Far Far Away, More Expensive, Much Better Fields
Skirmish - Far Far Away, Much More Expensive, Best Field Selection
Review: BYOP BYOP BYOP
It just doesn't get any cheaper than this. $15 to get it with your own gear. $10 for all day air. You will find many an experienced player here right beside a newbie. The woods field has a lot of good-attitude veterans that help the newbies. The refs are great and are VERY STRICT about safety. This is one great place for newbies and their driving families to go to. It's about the only decent place in Northeast NJ. It's cheap. It's safe. For lunch, there's a pizzeria, grocery store and BurgerKing in a 5 minute drive. There's a Dairy Queen adjacent to the woods field that the refs walk to during their lunch break. Speaking of which, note that the refs close the woods field from about 12:30 to 1:30 for lunch. The speedball goes all day. If you're planning on staying only a half day, keep this in mind. Unfortunately, the owner, Leo, is a mean man. He treats his staff (including his wife and son) like crap. He speaks to players (during the safety briefing) just as bad. He has no problem "dressing you down" in front of everyone for anything as small as the type of junk paint that you bring. When Leo is not there, the place is a budget and safety dream. When he is there, avoid him and you'll have a great time. His wife runs the registration desk and is a sweetheart. His son is a paintball knowledge god!

Good:
- BYOP
- Cheap entry fee and daily air pass
- Good paint at good prices if you don't BYOP
- Knowledgeable staff to fix any problem you have with your marker (especially the owner's son)
- Safety
- Assembly area for parents and non-players to watch the speedball action (cannot watch the woodsball unless you wear a mask and take the walk uphill)
- Local areas for lunch
- Air fill staff is always bored
- Staff is friendly, especially to repeat customers
- Refs do their best for safety
- Friendly vets to help newbies in the woods field
- Refs will call interesting games in either field if you ask them to (President, Zombie, Pain, 1-on-1, etc)
- Owner isn't at the playing field too much
- Speedball runs every 10-15 minutes for quick games
- Woodsball is usually capped at 15 minutes
- All the newbies make it easy to play 'General' and lead an army of paintball-privates (but the fun ends when your surrounded with only a newbie or two for support)

Bad:
- Owner is condecending and rude, even to customers.
- Parking lot is in direct sunlight. That spells heat, humidity, and expanded paintballs in the trunk of your car.
- Owner is an ass!
- Speedball field is slightly sloped
- Owner doesn't deserve a penny of your money
- Speedball field is a moat that you can literally lose your boots in after a decent rain
- Owner needs to retire and leave his son and wife the business
- Large private groups cannot get a private field. There just isn't one to give.
- Owner should spend some of my money on personality classes
- If it's crowded, don't expect to keep a spot on a table or chair. There about 8-10 picnic benches and a few random school-type chairs. That will hold only about 30 people if everyone crams together. Expect to sit on the ground or rocks and hope for fewer people to show up (but not likely on a dry Saturday).
- Team players sometimes show up in groups and dominate the speedball field. Watch out for unfair speedball teams. Refs will split them up usually if you ask them to.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

NJpb4life Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
rexplex (not nearly as good)
Review: Wow, this place is great. Pretty much my home field. First off, REFS: amazing. they've caught a bunch of wipers (usually call u out and sit u a few games) and are really attentive the masks/barrel plug violators. FIELDS: sick. speed ball games start in 5 minute intervals so ur always playing. woods is also fun when ur tired (its pretty big so u can sit down in one area for a while without getting killed) one plus is that if there's only a few players left and no one is actually looking for each other, they set a 15 min cap. the speed ball course never has the same setup which keeps it interesting from visit to visit. they just added a barrel snake (a snake made of those blue industrial trashcans) which is amazing (a little taller than ur average snake but still fun). the store isn't the best place if you're hoping to buy a marker or if ur looking for that one custom part but functional for its size (try their proshop in Ramsey, THEY HAVE EVERYTHING u could ever ask for). ATMOSPHERE: excellent. even the most experienced players are very friendly and let u shoot their markers sometimes. team appearances include the NJ Jesters and a Racegun sponsored team (i think). PRICES: decent. all day air is $10 and admission with own equip is $15. Rental is $40 or $55 with 500 rnds of night cats. bring ur own paint saves u a ton of money. either way, the shop always has fresh paint from ultraevil, nightcats, PMI prem, and sometimes midnights.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jec1521 Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
rexplex, cousins paintball
Review: This field is pretty good. yes the speedball field is on a slant, but its not that big of a deal.

Pros
Friendly refs (let me shoot one of their guns and i let them shoot mine)
good bunker placement
2 fields (ive only played on the speedball field, but heard good things about the woodsball)
quick refills (one kid just stands there all day doin nuttin else but fillin tanks)
GOOD PRICES (15 bucks all day with your own equip. 10 bucks for all day air)
Have some universal spare parts (screws, etc. saved me one time lol)
Friendly Refs (Kathy is real nice, my tank was bein fixed so she let me use hers)

Cons
Speedball field on a slant
A little dirty
Always mud on left side of field
thats about it

This field is great for kids lookin for some fun. but comes a lil short for tournies, etc because of the hill on the speedball field. but this field has friendly people and great prices. What more can you ask for?!?!?! i definetly suggest goin here to play.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lalalala Wednesday, August 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knightbreed, NJP Club
Review: The fields are great and there is always a decent amount of people there. I really don't understand why people are complaining that speedball is on a slight slant. The refs are really awesome. The speedball is good and not too big or small is the bunkers are changed every once in a while so its always different. The woodsball is nice and big and easier for noobies. Best of all the prices are very affordable and you have the option of bringing your own paint. Overal I think this field is definitly the best in the area and you should definitly check out their new field in Chester, NY as soon as it opens.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SmartShooter040 Thursday, July 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rexplex
ABC
Review: Overall This Field is good for every level of players, you have new players with spyders and Pros with Angels and Dm4's....still its a blast to play there....but you have to catch it on the right day because it gets crowded and theres no where to sit...theres 2 fields 1 woods and 1 speedball, speedball is pretty challenging is not air bunkers or anything its a bunch of plastic like shields, barrels, tires and stuff, its a huge speedball field (its on a hill though-its not that bad though)...the only flaws about this place is that its hard to find if its your first or second time playing there, its dirty, the facilits are unkept, smelly mud-really wet and muddy after it rains) but they do try a little, but it could be much nicer if they put the time and effort into that field, but i usually have a good time everytime i go....im looking forward to there new 15 field (10 woods) (5 speedball) including a castle state of the art supposly playing field in Chester, New York theyve been working on it for a few years now and its supposed to open fall 2004 or spring 2005 im not sure....but anyways the prices at this field are cheap 15 all day play 10 all day air....and i guess they dont put any work onto this field in hewit because theyre still finishing up the new fields....try this place out you might like it you might not......I rate it an 8 because of the outdated facilities and small picnic area....it gets crowded (cause theres only 2 fields) but what keeps my rating up is that its a nice speedball field i think and the prices are cheap....everyone should look forward to ABC Paintball's New Paintball Park in Chester New York Very soon though...if its as nice as they say it will be....it will be the best paintball park in the tri-state.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

andres henao Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
kittatiny, ny; much better fields and facilities, but too pricey.
Review: Just played there once, the speedball field is on a hill, but that makes it more challenging, good workout. The woods field is also great, it's very big and has a lot of different types of natural bunkers,you can play there all day and every time it's a different strategy.
They have a small store next to the field and it had pretty much anything you need for that day. The refs are nice guys and they called every play right. You also meet a lot a experienced players that can help you with any questions you might have.
Overrall a great field. I'll be there every weekend if I can.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBfreak01 Thursday, July 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played at other fields in the area...But I've played at outlaw fields--This is much better (you've got a place to go to the bathroom in privacy!!)
Review: The good:

Despite me getting very tired of it by the end of the day, the refs were most stringent about keep-your-goggles-on-until-the-game-ends-and-everyone-has-th
eir-markers-down (that is, on the woods course). They had a decent store up a bit from the fields, with reasonable prices ($5 something for a 20 oz. fill, and I scored a 4 stage sub-zero x-chamber for $40); the store also doubled as a fishing store (excerpt from a conversation with my brother: "What a combination; fishing and paintball", "Eh...You do what you have to...").

As for the fields themselves, they were quite muddy in some places--and this wasn't your ordinary mud; this was ankle deep stuff that smelled worse than a festering case of 5 year old paint. Apart from that, the fields (all two of them...one wood, one speedball) were well layed out, especially the woods field; it has two sides that are "pipes", narrow strips running along the boundry, free from trees and whatnot. As for the speedball field, there was nothing very remarkable about it aside from it being on a hill (oi! I got one hell of a workout that day).


The Bad:

Once again, the fields tended to be on the muddy side (from what my friends who went a few months prior to this trip during a dry week, this was still the case), so bring a pair of boots (the waterproof kind, not you Timmies). Also, if you're easily tired, this field is not for you; both courses are on hills, and it's quite a walk to the woods field (not very far away, but *steep*).

No field review would be complete without some gripe about the staging area, and as this one goes, it was worse than the outlaw field I play at. Many of the benches/tables were rotting, and I was leary of resting my 180 pound frame on an already taxed bench. If they would fix that, most of my gripes would be forgiven.

That is, all gripes but one...nearly all of the rentals were shooting hot, and the worst part was that the refs had a most nonchalant attitude about it (I'm talking they were shooting 30+ FPS over the field limit)--My reccomendation: if you play here with people using rentals, insist that they are chrono'ed and set at the field limit.


The Ugly:

Me. No, just kidding. The field was a little hard to find, being that it isn't remarkably stand-outish, and it is quite a drive on some back roads to get there. Otherwise, there is nothing really bad about the field except for the chrono issue.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

p8ntcrazE Thursday, July 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Top Gun, Planet Paintball (closed down like 3 years ago), New Jersey Paintball Club, Butler, NJ, FBM Englishtown
Review: This field hasn't changed since I first played on it like 4 years ago. For a speed ball field, their field is waaay too big. A lot of noobs play there, and also some decent players, and some cheating people. Saw soo many people wipe as their playing, and some people spike their guns. Told the ref once that the guy is shooting hot, asked him if he had a crono, ref didn't have one.. and didn't do jack. The netting on some of the bunkers are cheap, especially since people usually fire through the holes on the netting. The hill isn't that big a deal, but the field isn't maintained that well., even the bunkers are all starting to deteriorate.

Last edited on Thursday, July 1st, 2004 at 8:56 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media