paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field / ABC Paintball Field

ABC Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
110Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 973-728-1000
Address: 1745 Greenwood Lake Trpk
Hewitt, New Jersey 07421
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
WGP NiGhTkAst Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All cousins fields, Top-gun, Liberty, Paintball Madness, and so on.
Review: I would not reccomend anyone to go to this field. Yes it is cheap admission and is BYOP. There are only 2 fields , 1 woods and 1 speedball. The woods field is very beat up and is nothing compared to any other fields i have played at. The Speedball if you live close you can go there but if your driving over 20 minutes go somewhere else. The facilities are NASTY and the place smells like the sewage is spilling all over, which it pretty much is. Overall if you live close go for it, if not its a waste of time i think, i rather spend a few more bucks and go to a much better set up field.

Overall= 3
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Danman69 Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish- Awesome Fields and Refs, terrible pricing!
Review: This is a very nice field. The BYOP is great and keep the pricing down. Its only 15 bucks to get in if you have your own stuff, which is really good. They give you a lot of breaks on air fills and sometimes you can get them for 2 bucks or for free. The Staff is really nice at the field, escept for Leo (he is obnoxious and always pissy) the owner. The Refs aren't the best because they dont spot cheaters and wiper, but do their job pretty well, especially on safety. The Speedball field is pretty good. Yes, it is on a hill, but each side does have its advantages. The Top obviously has a shooting adavnatage being downhill, but the bottom has better shooting lanes. Also if it is a sunny day then people on the bottom can see the people on top right through the bunkers. The field is mostly muddy unless it hasnt rained for 5 or more days. The woods field is also cool. It has a section on the bottom where it has an open area with log bunkers giving a speedball feel. There are also a lot of cool people there. Leo's son plays sometimes and is really good and the Pod Man with the Excal is a nice guy. Somtimes there are some mexican guys who come and they cheat which sucks. Overall this is a very nice field especially because of BYOP. I broke my Rating down like this-
Fields- 9
Refs-6
Staff-8
Prices- 9
Particicpants- 8
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

why Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball dept, knightbreed, Rex Plex, thats bout it
Review: DONT YOU DARE SAY THIS FIELD IS BAD, if you do...either u suck, ur an a$$hole, your a newb, or your to snobby to play paintball. $15 FOR ENTRY!!!! ALL DAY....you cant beat that, and 10 all day nitro...and BYOP. THE STAFF= AMAZEING, Pete the son of the owner is sponsored by tippman, he knows TONS about anygun, if you need help or a question....hes ur guy. All of the refs are strick if you think they are mean...then they are doin their jobs right. EVERYREF is good, the prices here are amazeing, if you dont like this place...u should quit paintball right now. the speedball field is on a slant....SO WHAT everyone has said to me "its on SUCH A BAD HILL" ....they are all liars. the hill is like a bunny slope. its nothing it gives the high team a very SMALL upperhand, however the field is really wide therefor a majority of people play the sides...if u go up the middle...ur screwed.OVERALL this place is SICK its got great prices, great reffing, great staff, great players, and great fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

autocockauass Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only field i've played at.
Review: This field is good though it only has two fields. One field is forest the other is speed ball. The speed ball field is good except its slanted so the field. If your on the top you can easily pick off people running up. If your on the bottom you better not be afraid. Another good thing is that they change the field every day so its a whole new experience every time. But one bad thing is that the area you sit when your out or eating paintballs can go straight threw the net so you will get a wicked spray with paint.
Now i will review the forest. Its a good field but when your out you sit in the middle on nowhere and you might get all shot up. Another bad thing is there's lots of rocks so if you kneel to hard it hurts. The paint there is a good price. Same with the air. But the refs are total losers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ironflag89 Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rexplex, HIP, Cousins Haupague and Platekill, Knightsbreed, PBX Battlezone and Skirmish.
Review: I began playing at ABC. Only due to my little exposure and low prices did i not move. The feild is on a waterbowl: it is always flooded and often stagnant, so it is unsanitary and smells awful. There are bits of metal sticking up onto the huge tilted feild, and the last good refs have long since gone. The staging area is poor, and the woods feild poorly maintained. The proshop is underequiped, and the facilites (bathrooms to bunkers) are in dire need of replacement.

yes, its BYOP, but so is HIP, Rexplex, and PBX battlezone. The difference between these feilds is that for 5-15 dollars more (rex-$20, HIP $15, PBX-$25-30), you get a well staffed, sanitary, and overall more enjoyable playing enviornment.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chasden Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
In NJ I've played at the Pinelands in Manchester, Fireball Mountain in Old Bridge, RexPlex in Elizabeth, and ABC. Pinelands in the best of the bunch, a great outdoor field with lots of acres and interesting areas to play in. RexPlex is indoor action, small, fast, good reffing. Fireball Mountain is most like ABC; both are outdoor BYOP fields, though I think ABC edges out FB.
Review: What some people who've reviewed this field don't seem to understand is that because it is a BYOP field you can not expect the same level of service and polish that you find at a field that charges $75 and up for a case of paint. In terms of BYOP, I think ABC is an excellent field and would recommend it to anyone.

I've been to ABC three times in the last year, and have always had a good time. The staff at the pro-shop are friendly and knowledgeable, though there isn't a lot of gear to be had. They deal mostly in rentals and paint. ABC features 3 outdoor fields: a great speedball field and two woods fields. The wooded fields are good with lots of room to run around in, but the speedball field is where ABC shines. The speedball field is one of my favorite outdoor fields of this type, large with lots of bunkers. It's on a hill, which you would think would give the uphill team the advantage, but I have never found that to be the case; last time I played the downhill dominated all day. When the weather's good there are always lots of ballers out for a good time, and even when the weather's bad there are always a few die hards.
Last edited on Saturday, April 17th, 2004 at 6:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drift or die86 Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I play at this place in Maine IDK wut its called, but abc is way better.
Review: I love this field! Its so fun to get on the top then shoot across to the nubs standing behind the big pyramid. There WIDE OPEN. The hill gives this place character. The games do get really big, we had lik 40+ in a speedball game last week. Im not a woods fan, but me and my friends decided to head up there for a round. We went down to the far side, we had the better players, but it was lik 10v16. 3 of us went the high way and ran into the HUGE bunker. There were atleast 10 guys in there. i was stuck behind a tree was not a lot of cover. I got screwed but i got 2 guys. The refs are really nice and they are fair and willing to help your gun promblems. There are a lot of cheaters. A lot of guys who simply wipe off hopper hits. Its not the refs fault since there can only be about 3 on a field at a time. The BYOP is great since there are a couple of sports authority's around here and you can by a case of marbalizer for lik 60 with a 25% off coupon. You can also get cases from 888 in lik 2 days shipping if your a nj ny resident. Also the fields are right on top of eachother and are a short walk from each other. you are able to tell when a woods game ends by teh people coming down. you see them come down, you can get up there walking and in time for the next game. The draw backs are that there is no fenced in dead box in the woods. that is needed i hate sitting there with my mask on. it also needs a table. The speedball field is muddy all the time. It rains in like april or march and its muddy all year. *sih* it also smells. the shop is easy to get to and the lady may seem scary but she really is nice. There are also all different levels of players. beginners, intermediates, and the dude with the excalibur that has like 30 pods, even a guy w/ a phantom. I give it a 9 because tehre are little things that can be done to make the field better. But a lot of the things will happen at all fields or theres nothing you can do about it. Im sure there are cheaters and mud at all field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

amk212 Wednesday, March 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painball Depot- - pricey
NJ Paintball Club - run by jerks
Ring Homestead - my favorite place, just too far
Cousins- need to sell firstborn child to play there
Skirmish - amazing fields, but way too far
All indoor places. Ejam is good.
Review: Pros:
1) Popular, so a good place for pick-up games
2) BYOP keeps prices down

Cons: Where to start?
1) Owner with serious mental problems. Screams at everyone, including his own employees. Makes strange and arbitrary decisions, like shutting down the place for an hour for a lunch break one Sunday, keeping 50 people waiting. Go figure.
2) Only 2 fields (speedball, woods). Both stink (literally)
3) Not too effecient starting games up. Waited too long, so speedball was 15 on 15 instead of 5 on 5. Refs hate their boss, and it shows in the way they run the field.
4) CHEATERS everywhere! Generally populated by teens, I found the lack of integrity to be appalling, even by pick-up standards.

Overall 2 lousy experiences there. My frends hate the place but go back for the BYOP. I'm still waiting for a good outdoor place to open up near me in Bergen County with good paint prices.
Last edited on Sunday, June 5th, 2005 at 7:40 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dirtypaulie187 Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Top Gun: Great fields & ref presence but expensive & closes early
Fireball mountain (O.B.): Nice fields, good pricing, but didn't feel safe with ref presence.
RexPlex Paintball: Good ref's & friendly staff, good prices, open late.
Review: Now I've played at this field often considering my paintball experience, and despite the fact the speedball field on a hill can be smelly I always have fun here. The staff is friendly, it's byop, and inexpensive to play there. You can get an air pass for hpa tanks but have to pay per fill for Co2. They have a clean bathroom with running water & a nice staging area. They do not allow you to bunker one another but if everyone agree's to play with bunkering I'm pretty sure the ref's will allow it. Now the woodsball field is alot of fun it's just you have to go up a steep hill to get there it could use some netting in the deadbox area with a table so you could take your goggle's off & wouldn't have to place your marker on the floor (woodsball can take a while), but I don't think anything like that will happen right now because ABC is more focused on the new field in Chester, NY they are opening this spring which will also be byop. Anyways this is a really fun place to go & the ref's keep you safe & do their job at calling people out.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 1st, 2004 at 6:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

MassDriver Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
woods surrounding, cousins paintball
Review: hmmmmmmmmmm what can I say... well, lemme make this in a nice chart-like format


PROS:
Great staff
can't beat the prices (around $60 for a full day, gas paint and everything)
nice speedball field

Cons:
muddy?
smelly?

lol, overall, its a great day of paintball. For all u guys that complained about the hill on the speedball field. Just go home, cuz yer too fat to play paintball. For all u that complained about the strict staff. Go home, because you're the reason why people want paintball banned, unsafe and such. They are very fair, and if your dumb enough to be kicked out, then u sure as heck deserve it. Great place, a little muddy, not perfectly kept. Jumps from 6 to 8 just cuz u cant beat the price!~
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media