paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Surgical Strike Paintball Field / Surgical Strike Paintball Field / Surgical Strike Paintball Field / Surgical Strike Paintball Field

Surgical Strike Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
24Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (559) 999-8951
Address: 29121 W Whitesbridge Ave
Mendota, California 93640
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
mif_aznslim Friday, June 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Black Beards
Review: (I did write a good review.. but my second experiance was a Horrible one)

My View the second time I was out there....

It was one of the whorst games I;ve ever played.. the reff's for some reason are jacka$$es! the guys we played against were their friends so what the reff's did was tell them what we were doing so they can move up on us... also the guys that played they get shot but they dont call themselves out (maybe because they are friends with the owner or maybe cause they are the owners kids) but they dont call themselves out.. One thing is that if their the owner.. they need to imply saftey and honesty.. which they dont. So how can a field be good? My teammate shot the owners kid in the chest and he went back inside the bunker to rub it off.. the reff saw but didnt say anything until one of my teammate who saw it went up to him and pointed it out.. THEN the reff (who was the guy who got show out's friend) went up and said "your out". Another inccedent was when my teamate shot a guy in the shoulder.. he ducked in and rubb'd it off and started shooting again, my friend called for a reff but there was only one reff so when he got there the guy already rub it off already. Another was when our guys get splatter'd the reff's calls out our guys..if not then they come and tell our guys to move around so they can check, then their friend (the other team) will shoot our guys and then the reff calls our guys out. Another is when our team played and moved up some guys came from one side and the reff says, "hey, move up here..he's over there" WHEN YOUR A REFF YOU DONT TELL THE PLAYERS WHERE TO GO.. JUST SAY "OUT" "IN" "GAME OVER" or "5,4,3,2,1" This field is one of the whorst fields we've ever played at and we've played over 10 years. The fields we played in Sacramento were good because their more of the NPPL cert. reff's and they check really well on both sides with no favortizm. All the people there that didnt know the Owners friends knew this was happening and they even came up to us and said they understand why we're mad.

ratings will be 1 WHORST THEN BLACKBEARS
Last edited on Monday, September 26th, 2005 at 1:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball Titan Tuesday, April 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Agape, Splats, Raid, T.A.A.G., SC Village, other various fields
Review: ----------------------------------------------Agape Playing Fields--------------------------------------------

--Open Sat. 10a.m. - 6p.p.m., SUn. 12am.-6p.m, week days by apointment only.

Agape has six fields currently and will be adding a "missionary" type field. There is three speedball fields of varing lenghts, one very long field, one World War one trench field, and one town which is everyones favriote. They have a shop where you can buy paintballs (although you should bring your own since they only have a vew varites such asInk'd $48 for 2000, pro-balls $52 for 2000, and VooDoo's $64.00 per 2000)and supplies. All day compressed air or co2 is only $7, and is well worth it. They also rent Tippmann 98 Customs, along with pod holders/pods. They also sell Chips, Candy, hot dogs, candy, and water/gatoraid/soda. STAY AWAY FROM THE SODA if you are going to play since it can cause overheating and excessive presperation.

Chronographing-
---Everyone has to cronograph their gun evry time you enter the field. You are not allowed to exced 280 f.p.s. which is to ensure a nice clean safe game. If you are caught intenetally trying to shoot 300 f.p.s. at anyone you will be asked to recronograph and if it happens again you will be Told to leave. Don't be stupid and try to shoot Frozen paintballs or marbals or anything like that. got it, . . good.

The fields are as followed. . .

Town: 295' x 83'. This field is equipped with eight wooden buildings approx the size 8'X10'X10' or the size or a normal bedroom. The buildings have doorways but no doors and window cut-outs. Five have multiple rooms while three have single rooms. There is a structure called the "Stables" that has a second story which is great for sniping and suppressive fire.There are also stacks of big tractor tires with netting positioned throughout the field, as well as bunkers sunk into the ground. This is a very fun field to play on during small-large games.

Trenches: 315' x 110'. This field is well built. It consists of a maze of World War One style trenches leading up to a wooden two story base. These trenches range from 2-3' deep. The ground in the trenches is covered in soft sand, making it fun to crawl through (and you HAVE to crawl). What makes this field fun is the fact that you have no idea what or who could be around the corner. This is the second most popular field and ussally has twice as many atackers as defenders to make it even since it is twice as easy to defend. There is always a big game going so be prepared for action.

Long field: Like the name says, this is a looooong field. Aprox 653' x 126'. This field was MADE for games on a much larger scale. The largest game i have ever played on there was a 60 on 60 elimanation. Although the record is 70 on 70. Not much cover at all. A few man made barriers such as tire stacks, plywood barriers, and barrels are scattered around, with a "C" shaped base at one end. You will want to reach the base first which is the best spot on the field. It is basiclly a ;large Tire fort. Get ready to run, . . and run and sprint.

Three speedball fields: Approx 150 x 100'. Last are the speedball fields. Short & sweet. teo starting points. Mamy man-made barriers (tires, wood, barrels, pallets, ect..). That's it. Fast paced, short games are played here. Bring lots of paint.

The staff is very proffesinal and the owner is a great guy, but watch it, he dosen't alow Drugs, alcoholic beverages, profanity, or ban aditudes.

------------------This is a great field so check it out, . . you will love it.------------------------------
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

illest61 Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, Im new
Review: Although I am a newb, I have to say, this field is really really fun. The staff is really nice, and will help you with all your gun problems, and are fun to chat with. The Pro shop is well stocked, the have Voodoo paint, Pro Balls, and accessories. They have five fields, two- speed ball fields, a trench field, a long field, and a town field. If I had to say anything about the fields, i would say they are all great, but the town field is my favorite. The refs are very concerned about the safety of others, and are constantly yelling to make sure your plug is in and you have your mask on. The players at the field are very nice as well, although I was a newb, and had few upgrades on my spyder, they didn't put me down or anything. They all said it was cool with them, because they were new once. Anyways, if I had to rate Agape Fields from a 1- 10, i would give it a 9.5, very fun field. I will be coming back every time I can, because I live in San Francisco, it isn't very easy for me, but well worth the drive
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

mr187 Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paranoid Paintball, Ranken Field
Review: They have Five fields. Two speed ball fields, one urban field, one trench field and a long ball field.

I went with a group of eight. We played one of the speed ball fields about 4 times. Very fun. the games lasted no longer then 5 minutes. Very good set up.

We played the trench field about 5 times. A couple times we just played 4on4. This was a lot of fun because we would actually atack each other. The other times we played in very large groups. The field rules was 2 attackers to 1 defender. We played a couple games of about 20 on 10. I was on the defending team during these games. we were allowed to set up where ever we wanted. What sucked about these games was that the atacking team very rarely atacked. There was a couple guys who would move up threw the trenches and attack. But most of the atackers would sit back and just wait it out. This sucked!!!! Most of us ran out of paint before the game ended. With only 10 guys it is hard to advanse on 20 and not get shot by 10 people who are camping.

The urban field was awesome. We played most of the day on this field. There was about 9 buildings on the field. Two of them had sniping towers. The buildings had open doorways and cut out windows. There was alot of cover and a lot of open space on this field. Most of the buildings were set up to shoot and cover the open spaces. Most of the shooting was with in 40 feet. In my opinion this was a very tactical field. It required cover fire for teammates to advance forward.

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. One of the ref's helped me out for about 20 minutes with my gun problems.

I am rating the field a 8 because of the trench field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NickQ Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
T.a.a.g.(may have closed-down already), Blackbeards
Review: I'll try and make this as "To-the-point" and as helpful as I can.

Agape has 5 fields currently. I'll list them with a brief description:

Town: Approx 250-300' x 75-100'. This field is equipped with 6-7 wooden buildings approx the size of a normal bedroom. The buildings have doorways (no doors) and window cut-outs. Some have multiple rooms, some do not. At one end of the field one of the structures has a second story great for sniping and suppressive fire during "capture the base" games. There are also stacks of big tractor tires positioned throughout the field, as well as bunkers sunk into the ground. This is a very fun field to play on during small games. My friends and I (6 in all) played a LOT of 3on3 games in the town.

Trenches: Approx 250-300' x 100'. This field is pretty well built. It consists of a maze of WWII style trenches leading up to a wooden 2 story base. When I say "trenches", you are probably thinking of a trench 5' deep that you can run around in, which is not what these are. These trenches are only about 2-3' deep, but very, very fun. The ground in the trenches is covered in soft sand, making it fun to crawl through (and you HAVE to crawl). What makes this field fun is the fact that you have no idea what or who could be around the corner. A couple of my friends were watching me play in the trenches, and said there were a few times when I was literally 2' away from a couple opposing players, and we had no idea we were so close. At any time I could have crawled around a corner and been wasted. This seems to be the field of choice there, so there is usually a big game going on at all times there.

Long field: Like the name says, this is a loooooongggg field. Aprox 600-650' x 180-200'. This field was MADE for games on a much larger scale, such as 10on10, or 15on15 games. This is a speedball field. Not much cover at all. A few man made barriers such as tire stacks, plywood barriers, and barrels are scattered around, with a "C" shaped base at one end. We played on this field once, and only used half of it. We put 2 guys in the base, and 3 of us started from half way, and tried to take over the base. I liked this base, but it is way to big for whatever I'll ever play. We were at Agape from 10am-5pm, and the one game we played on the long field, was the ONLY game played on the long field that day. Like I said earlier, much bigger teams will like the long field.

2 Small speedball fields: Approx 150 x 150'. Last are the speedball fields. Short & sweet. 2 starting points. Some man-made barriers (tires, wood, barrels, pallets, ect..). That's it. Fast paced, short games are played here. We played quite a few small 3on3 games here. We'd go out on the speedball field, and play 5-6 games before returning to our set-up area for ammo or whatnot.

I really liked Agape because of it's choices in fields, and it's relaxed atmosphere. If you and your friends wanted to play a game, you do not have to wait for a referee, you just gather up, go to an um occupied field, and play. If you are starting a larger game, you can have the field referees involved if you like. As long as you are courteous, ans not an idiot, the staff are very cool.

They have a small shop where you can buy paintballs (the only balls I saw there were Ink'd $12 per 500, pro-balls $14 per 500, and VooDoo's $64.00 per 2000 case) and supplies. All day co2 or air is only $7, and is well worth it. They also rent 98c's, and pod holders/pods, as well as sell food and candy.

Overall I really enjoyed Agape, and will return again for sure. They told us they have big plans and are in the process of building some more fields.


If I had to rate my experience there from 1-10, I'd give it a 9.


Hope this helps.


EDIT 3/14/05:

Okay, I really like this field, but I am little irritated by my latest experience there....

I went this past Sunday, March 13th. Now, I still stand by my past review, this is a great field, but what I experienced yesterday was pretty dissapointing.

They open at 12pm on Sundays, so we show up 30 minuted early to set up. We use thier 1 cronograph to chrono our guns, like we did last time, and got all set to play. Here's the situation:

1. Chronographing. They made everybody chronograph before every game. Now I am all for safety, but on a day where over 100 people are out there playing, having to wait in line for 10 minutes to chrono before EVERY SINGLE GAME is a a little overkill. On top of that, they would not let you adjust velocity at the chrono, you had to go back to your car/setup area, adjust, and come back to chrono. With thier 280fps limit, this means up to 4, 5, 6, 7, ect. trips back and forth, including waiting in line every time. You shoot 282fps, oh, back to the staging area to adjust. It literally took us 3 hours to play 3 games.

2. They have a cool speedball field, with a wooden screen door enterance, which they had locked. The only way to get to one of the best fields there, is by walking about 4 times the distance around the chronograph area (DIRECTLY infront of the chronograph, where people are firing) to get in. If a group of people wanted to go to the field, the ref would have to stop people from chronoing to let them by. Half the time, you wouldn't see people walking through and you'd just barely miss them while shooting at the chrono.

3. When we (me and my group of friends) tried to talk to the owner about our concerns, or with some advice on how to make it run a little smoother, he got very defensive, and rude. We brought up the fact that players have to chrono so much, with only 1 chronograph. He told us that they had 3 chrono's, but 2 were stolen 2 weeks ago, which was a lie. I was there 3 weeks ago, and they only had one, and have only had one. We asked him why we couldn't adjust our guns at the chrono, to save the multipule trips back and forth, and he accused us of having faulty guns. He said he saw us chrono-ing our guns, and could tell they were faulty, which was another lie. While we were chrono-ing, a friend of ours was in the paintball shop, being helped by the owner when he claimed he was over watching us. We were very dissapointed in the treatment.



I really like the field A LOT (that's why I paid to play there), but the staff needs a lesson in customer service and efficiency.

When I left, I told everyone I would not go back, but after a second thought, I decided I'd give it one more chance. If it is like that next time, I will not be back. I changed my rating to a 6, simply because of this experience. I will be back in a month, I'll update after.
Last edited on Monday, March 14th, 2005 at 9:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

hgainest Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Parinoid Paintball (not even as close to being good as Agape Fields)
Review: I love this field as much I do my Tippmann, the different fields and the awsome service make me always want to come back. The prices are low (even for paint) and you can get discounts for grades, military, and even bringing a new pal. Dan (owner) is a smart guy who can help you with pretty much anything you need. They strive to make a friendly environment and do a great job. There are 2 speedball fields, the city (my favorite), the trenches, and the pit. The speedball courses I only played once but the rest I know like the back of my hand, the city is a very fun area good for close combat and sniping. It makes for some pretty good games. The trench is a real dirty but fun field that has lots of cover if you are attacking or defending. The dreaded pit is a HUGE field that is fun, dirty, and tiring, you run alot here. The field is never to crowded and you can meet some really cool guysout there. you can find noobs and pro's really easy, and it is never hard to set up a game. All-in-all I strongly recommend this field to anyone who is just getting into the sport or is experienced. See ya on the field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AriakonDevilDog Friday, October 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TAAG (in Coarsegold)
Review: I've now played at Agape for three weekends straight and will be going every weekend I can, whether I play or not. Dan (the owner) is a great guy and is a knowledgeable fellow. His future plans for Agape are really awesome and he's stated a goal of two years to complete both the town field and trench field. Now, to get to it's current state...

Agape has three speedball fields, a town field, a trench field, and a long field. I'm not a big speedball player so I'm not going to review those due to the fact that I only play the occasional game. The town field is a lot of fun and you don't have to get dirty like you do in the trenches (depends on how you play also). I would say that the town gets the most attention out of all of the fields. The trench field is my personal favorite because I don't mind getting dirty (their will be times where low crawling is key) and I use mil-sim markers. You never know what's around the next corner...very cool! The long field is okay but you're gonna use a lot of paint from further distances. Rarely will there be close encounters on the long field.

Agape is pretty much all dirt, so you should expect to get a little dirty. How dirty you get depends solely on the player of course, but to get the best experience you'll probably do some low crawling every now and again. I recommend cleaning your barrel frequently whether you break paint or not because dust will get in it and you don't want to scratch your barrel.

As far as customer servive goes, it's pretty good. They provide 2-3k psi fills for HPA (I use a 4500psi tank so I get mine filled at Maximum Paintball) for $5 all day and of course CO2 for 20 cents per ounce. Sometimes you have to wait a few minutes for air/co2 or to purchase something...but that's how things go.

You see a wide range of skill levels and markers here. You see high-end markers like Angels and then you see Wal-Mart specials and everything in between. You see current/former tourny players as well as pure rec players. Because of the unique fields here, actual field experience determines the players skill level more than anything. My skill level has vastly improved from weekend to weekend just because of field experience...which is true for any field. N00bs or experienced players will have fun here.

The typical crowd on a Saturday is probably around 50-60 or so. I've been there with as many as 80. On Sunday's you'll get fewer...about 30-40 on average I would say. The weather is usually a pretty big factor on how many people show up.

I would give this field an 8.5 overall and I expect that rating to continue to climb as the months go by. I have complete faith in Dan that this will become one of the premiere fields in all of California in a few years.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shibbykins Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blackbeards
Review: I have been going out to agape since it was out on bellmont.

Currently there are 4 speedball fields, an Urban Assault field, a WWI style trench field, a 600 x 100 LOOOng field (dubbed big field). A sup' air field is set up but only available when Splats Urban Assault brigns it out.

The pro shop is fully equipped with all your needs. Theres paint, rentals, guns to buy, tanks anything you need is probably there and if its not they can order it for you.

The staff is very knowledgable, Dan has an extensive knowledge about Tippys. Ronnie has a good all around knowledge, Pappa Bear (Josh) has an extensive knowledge about cockers and Mags an Josh J (no shirt guy) has an extensive knowledge of mech/E-Cockers, spyder/spyder clones and a lil about angels. Chances are if you have a problem one of the staffers wether they are playing or working will help you out.

Safety - Safety is the biggest priority at Agape. There are safety signs everywhere and someone is always reminding those who forget to practice proper safety.

Refs - A++ reffing. Always have safety of the player in mind and do paintchecks and chrony random players DURRING the game to make sure there isnt any cheating. Can be counted on.

I dont understand why people complain about a 15 dollar field fee. Look at all that is supplied. All fields are hand built.. Dan works at the field every day of the week improoving upon it. You have a fully stocked proshop. Very safe. The type of place you want to go back to. 15 bucks isnt anything compaired to what you would pay if you went outta state. some places charge 30 - 50 bucks for a fee and wont let you bring your own paint or food! So 15 bucks is money WELL spent.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Seether_Rules Wednesday, July 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blackbeards, TAAG, Raid
Review: Agape is the best place around the fresno area. Theres no waiting between games, the staff is really cool, but on the bad side the refs could be a little more serious about it. The proshop is stocked well with everything from gatorade to pods and a pod pack. the fields are pretty cool and great for newbs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FoulWynd Thursday, July 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
BlackBeards
Review: Located just south of Fresno the field was very easy to get to, just don't miss the sign on the side of the road as th field sits back a ways.

Parking : cautious of where you park as a stray ball may find its way to on to your car.

Fees and services: Great price for all day! Also some nice markers can be rented from the proshop, Air and Co2 filled as well. All the standards for refreshments (water, soda, mountain dew) and some snacks if you get hungry. Staff was great, very courteous and willing to help. There is shaded areas provided, chairs, tables and clean rags.

Fields and Play: After you pay and are ready to run, first stop by the crony (beeeeeep: 280fps) make your adjustments and off ya go. There are some great field set ups here, Urban style town, TRENCHES! (most awesome), 3 speed ball set ups , and one long ball type field. Games run mostly in a pick up style and the community was all very friendly, and most willing to help, share with spare paint / tools.

All in All after playing for a full day, the only thing I would warn ppl of is watch where you rest with your mask off, every now and again a stray ball finds it way off the fields. If you think safe, and listen to your ref's it should be a problem free day. This is a field that is definitely on the map, and is a must go for anyone in the area looking for a game.
Last edited on Thursday, July 1st, 2004 at 9:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media