paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Combat Zone Paintball Field / Combat Zone Paintball Field / Combat Zone Paintball Field / Combat Zone Paintball Field

Combat Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
53Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (321) 454-2374
Address: 555 Fortenberry Rd.
Merritt Island, Florida 32953
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Fed.Of.Rice Sunday, December 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None so i cant really cant compare with others
Review: Well this is my first and only paintball field i ever been to and it is great! The Colonel is a great dude but he is very strict on safety. Dude used to be an ex-marine so i would'nt get on his bad side and break one of his rules.He does like to mess with me since im Asian and have a thing against people with long hair. The field entree price is pretty cheap and rentals are too. The rentals gun used to be tippman 98C but they replaced them with the Bt4 i believe.
The field is pretty funky. It's an air-ball field some people think its a speed ball ball field. They usually change the field like everyday so every time you go there it's different and sometime more challenging. The younger refs don't usually move that much on the field but they are getting better. They do the basic stuff like check if your out and stuff. The older refs are fun to talk. You can talk to them and they could like give you tip on how to play and everything.
The service are great at CZ. food are okay. Staff is great and deals are awesome. If you go with a party of 10 or more you only have to pay 8 dollars each for field price and you only pay 5 bucks for all day air. So they can refill your tank for free if you ever run out. This field is great i would recommenced to anyone, newbie, pros whatever

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

andypap21 Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 5th, 2002
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I have been to combat zone a few times, To be honest I have never played there. They are really nice people, but it seems that they dont care much about you, and just making more money.


My first Case-I brought in my Impulse, because the board wasnt turning on, thinking that they could test it for me. And so it sat for about 2 weeks, until I called them back and asked the status of the gun. Colonel told me "the board is broken, at least thats what my tech is telling me." So i told them to go ahead and put in a Blackheart board, which was overpriced, but cost dosent really matter. When I went to get my gun, they demonstrated that the gun worked, and then they aired it up. When they aired it up, and began to shoot, I noticed my bolt wasnt moving. I pulled my pullpin, which was broken in half, I can assure you it wasnt broken before I brought it there. Since then, i fixed my board by soldering the battery cord again.

Next Case- I brought in my ion that was in pieces. I don't know much about ions. But the ion wasnt the problem, The reg that I had on it was. I had a shocker reg on it which leaked immediately upon air up. Colonel immediately said to me "the reg is shot dude, I have new regs over there for sale" So after that, the reg went thru a refurbishment and an O ring, and guess what? The reg is perfectly fine.

Last Case- Although not a big deal, I went in to get my C02 tank filled, and Im guessing it was Derek's son who took my tank. this kid dosen't look any older than 13 years old. He takes my tank, goes to fill it, I don't know if the pressure was too high or what, but I heard a loud spray, and him yelling "thats F'ing Bull SH**, after that he came out and said to me "your burst disk is gone but you can buy a new one for $4. That is when i decided not to work with combat zone anymore.

Its times like these I wish Paintball Insanity Was still around
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

OldDriver Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Spacecoast PB(closed) Bob's Paintball (Alabama)
Review: This feild rocks, even though it is a smaller site the crew there know what's going on. I began playing at CZ and have never had a bad experience. I have even purchased my new Ion from CZ and I'll keep giving them my business. Though the refs are young they try to maintain a steady game flow. I've even taken my daughter there for her 1st taste of paint. Definitely a family place, Go enjoy!

10/10

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

meetmrnewb Sunday, October 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Indian River Paintball -
Pros: More fields, you don't have to enter the shop for a 45 fill, grass on the fields, better field layouts
Cons: Shop is not nearly as complete, most employees know less about gun issues, food and drinks are more expensive and there is not as much of a variety

Spacecoast Paintball - Closed now, but CZ reminds me of SCP aside from the lack of multiple large fields.
Review: CZ is a very nice field. The proshop is amazing compared to IRPs and everyone is very friendly. The owner kept referring to me as "Hippie" or "Jesus" because of my long hair, but it was all in jest and it did not bother me. Almost everyone behind the counter can fix any issue you may have with your gun in a very timely manner, most of the time it will be for free as well, assuming there are no major parts needed. The prices are fairly cheap, obviously nothing compared to an online store, however if I pick up a board for my Shocker, it will definately be from them.

CZ has a great staging area. Everything is fairly compact, it allows enough room for 15+ people, but close enough that a single man who runs the fill station can always watch over the stuff. With someone always being at the fill station I had absolutely no worries about anything getting stolen. Even if that room gets filled up, there is another giant staging area about the size of the field before you actually reach the field. They even have some of those cylinders on the wall with a spring loaded bottom, allowing for easy and mess free pod and hopper fills. The only issue with the staging area is that the smaller room needs at least another fan.

The field itself is mediocre at best. The carpeting is incredibly slippery, on the outside area where they make hit players from the far side walk, parts are carpeted while some are not, so the first time you walk it, you might slip (especially if you wear cleats). The layout is terrible. The field is shaped like a normal field, except that one side is a bit wider which gives the far side a huge advantage. The only real position with a shot on the right snake is the back left can which still does not have a great shot. That portion of the field is completely blind to anyone not past their teams 30 yard line which gives the farside an unfair advantage.

The field was very slippery when I played in my tennis shoes and after I put on my cleats, it was nearly impossible to walk on anything non-carpeted. If you slide into bunkers, do not make contact with any of them while sliding or they will fall over and you'll have to quickly grab it or play the fallen bunker. Lighting was not as big of an issue for me as the previous review, however it was still somewhat hard to see on the field if your mask had fogged at all or had any splatter on it, much worse then a sunlighted field.

The refs were my biggest issue though. I was sliding into a bunker around the 30 and I was hit in the wrist. The ball did not break, but I was called out by a ref who did not check me and just stood against the netting at the 50. Throughout the day, the refs refused to move off of the netting to check anyone who was in the middle of the field. I do not know if they are inexperienced at reffing, are scared of getting shot, or are just lazy, however it was fairly aggravating to hit someone with a rental in the hopper and they keep playing, unaware that they were hit.

The turnaround time were fairly slow, partially due to the fact that the two private parties (a young kid's birthday party of eight and a family group of six) kept requesting that they either do the birthday group versus the family, or that the group splits up and runs a 3v3 or 4v4. That was understandable considering that the family group hardly looked old enough to play and it was probobly many of their first times, however the amount of private games really killed the turnaround. Every 2nd or 3rd game was usually a private one.

Safety is enforced incredibly well at CZ. They check every player to make sure (s)he has their condom on at the end of every game. Occasionally a player would walk off the field without a condom and the refs would try to stop the person, however if the person ignored the ref, the ref would not assert his authority and force them to put a condom on.

There is a 10ft rule in place which is not enforced consistently. The refs asked us to try and not shoot anyone from closer than 10 ft unless they were wearing a jersey or shot a nice gun ( basically that they would be understanding of getting bunkered) which is an understandable rule considering the amount of younger players. The issue I have with this is that if you do a runthrough and shoot people from 10+ feet away if they're younger, the refs will still reprimand you for this although you had no possible way to determine their age. He told me I should try and be 20-30 feet away which I did not feel was possible to tag a guy in back center without running the tape, which is not always an option.

Overall it was an enjoyable day. If CZ can train their refs to be more active in the game (not deciding the game, but not making it so that the better team actually wins, not who can cheat better), get some sort of turf that can allow cleats, add another field, and either spike or weigh down bunkers, CZ can be one of the best fields in CFL. I will definately be coming back on a BYOP day in the near future.
Last edited on Sunday, October 1st, 2006 at 3:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

firebirdude Sunday, September 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hurricane and Fury Park in Palm Bay. Epik on East Col Drive and Indian River Paintball on US1.
Directions
to the Field:
Coming from I95... head East on 520. Left turn on Courtenay Parkway. Up about 1 mile on the left side on the road. Tucked in the back a little. You CAN see it from the road, but it sits back a little way. On the side of a small stripmall.
Review: This is an indoor park with only one speedball style field. I have heard talk of a second field being built, but its been months and still nothing. Proshop is awesome. 10 out of 10. Has everything you would ever need. Prices are very middle line, but reasonable. Large selection of paint at, again, middle of the line prices. The field is field paint only. All of the decent paints are $55/case with Evil etc being $65ish, but they sell a variety of 1st and 2nd run paint as well. About $10/500bag is as cheap as it goes. They claim to beat WalMart prices, but I believe WalMart sells Scorch and Super Swirl at $40/case. And if you order online, Diablo Heat for about $38/case shipped. (never had a broken ball in shipping either) Field fee and air all day are good prices. They offer both 3k and 4500 air fills. (and CO2 obviously) The proshop sells a small selection of drinks and snack cakes etc. The field and proshop is open from 10am-8pm most every day.

The refs are all very young kids. I believe some are honestly under 12 years old. While they seem to do a good job with safety, they do a very average job during games. They stand together around the 50 and don't move too much. Although I didn't see any problem with cheating, it would be extremely easy. The only calls they make are paintchecks or obvious calls when someone is already getting out. I'd like to see one ref ON EACH SIDE of the 50 and have them constantly on the move.

Large turnout today. A little too large. As I said, there is only one field and there was TWO birthday parties there today. Every other game would be birthday party only....so that kinda limited my time on the field a little. But honestly, I was kinda ok with that ONLY BECAUSE their game turn-around time is some of the best I've ever seen. Three thumbs up there. Player skill besides the b-day parties is average. Couple SAS players there and a few obvious noobs. So average overall.

The field is carpeted with the kind of carpet you'd see in a house. And instead of all being one piece, it's 200 misc sized pieces on top of each other. This causes it to bunch up and be very uneven all over the place. But my biggest issue with it is that is gets extremely slippery. Great for sliding obviously, but terrible every other time. Plus when you leave the field and try to use the restroom or something, your shoes are SUPER slick. Its like breaking balls on the bottom of your shoes, then walking on a tile floor. No I did not fall, lol, but almost did several times. And by far the worst part about this field as a whole.... poor lighting. People used to complain about the heat, they now have that under control.... but the lighting is terrible. Note to Combat Zone, I see that you put wire mesh covers over some of the lights.... maybe put them over all the lights AND THEN remove the plastic covers that always get broken anyway? The wire would keep balls from breaking the bulbs, but allow the most possible light through. If this is not possible, PLEASE install more lighting.

All in all, a good field. I'm kinda picking the place apart in my review. Nothing is horrible. Its all just constructive criticism. Stuff I'd like to see be improved. Lighting first by far. Carpet in a distant 2nd..... and I guess prices in a distant 3rd. lol Just the lighting really. lol Good field. 7 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NATURALBORNKILL Wednesday, August 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
irp,fury,oes
Review: Combat Zone is very nice. very clean, the staff is friendly, helpful.
the field has come a long way. it is well kept clean. the store is amazing!! there are so many guns on the wall.the tecs there are able to fix everything!! i also herd talks abut them making a super arena. sounds sweet. there team is a great group.[vrey profesinal]
my team has played them many times and they are amazing players. the field refs are strict but thats the only way to be.a lot of there refs are psp certified!!! thats gerat...

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Combat Zone PB Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
IRP In Titusville & Hurricane / Fury park in Palm Bay
Directions
to the Field:
785 N. Courtneay Pkwy, Merritt Island. 1 Mile north of the 520 Cswy on your left hand side. -OR- 2.2 miles south of the 528 Beach line on you right hand side. We are located in the Dollar Tree Plaza!!! (321) 454-2374, or ...www.combatzoneindoorpaintball.com
Review: Attention All Readers:

Combat Zone has only set up this account to inform our loyal customers that we have a problem. One of our patrons is attempting to incite a war between SAS Paintball & Combat Zone Paintball. We do not know why, but it has gotten out of hand and it must stop!

Combat Zone Paintball is asking politely for the screen name, IGOTATIMMY to stop posting any and all reviews about Hurricane, Fury, & Combat Zone Paintball. Yes, I ask you to stop posting even about CZ. I appreciate your loyalty to our company but I can not condone you attacks against our competitor. It is out of control and I do not appreciate it.

Some of there loyal customers are now starting to attack Combat Zone and that offends me. Not because they are attacking, but because they are attacking because of IGOTATIMMY.

So, Please if you like Combat Zone, and you love playing here and being cool with us then I am asking you to delete you comments from pbreview and leave everyone at SAS alone. If you do not and we find out who you are we will be forced to ban you from Combat Zone.

We will give you just a few days to delete these comments from the site. If you do not I will be forced to ask pbreview to delete Combat Zones Account all together. This will detract from doing any good for my business but it will show the world we are serious about keeping our integrity.

Again, thank you for your loyalty to our company, but please cease and desist all actions.

Thank You,

Derek M. Walls, USMC
CEO / President
Walls Enterprises inc. D.B.A.
Combat Zone Paintball
(321) 454-2374

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

IgotAtimmy Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
IRP & ((Huricane / Fury "Don't bother with this one"))
Directions
to the Field:
Merritt Island, 1 mile north of the 520 cswy on you left,,,,,, or 2 miles south of the 528 beach line on you right side.
Review: Well, this field has 1 draw back it is just one field, although they said they are building a UAPL field in the back as soon as they get the carpet for the floors. The funny thing is that they have but the one field and I can get more games in there than I can at fields that have 3 or 4 fields....how you ask??? well it is because there ref's hump to keep games going. What I mean by that is everytime a game ends they have another one starting in 5 to 10 minutes. It is crazy how well they keep them going but it has something to do with the owner, Colonel is very keen to making sure the back end is running...and ref's are reffing, and stuff is being taken care of... he runs a tight ship! he has cameras eveywhere and watches everything and everyone from the time you walk in the door to the time you leave. His ref's seem like they enjoy what they do!!! and they say he gives them perks for being good ref's so they work harder at it.

I can go there and pay $5.00 and get all day Co2 or HPA (5,000psi) and it does not break my bank. They are open all the freaking time and know there stuff. There tech's fix almost everything and the have a really well stocked store and tons of stuff. Best of all I can play pb, now before someone makes the comment "CZ is not a tourny field) your right they are not a tourny field....they are a fun field where you can have fun... FUN!!!! not anything but pure fun.... and another thing I am greeted everytime I walk in the place, they even remember my name!!!! I like that!!!

So go to CZ and kick back and play some pb, or just hang out and watch movies with the staff, or chill or whatever....just go and feel the difference.

Balls a flying and pb dudes a dying, at the hands of............

IgotAtimmy

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

firefightermax Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hurricane, Space Coast Paintball, Indian River Paintball, Orange County Paintball
Review: Combat Zone is the best paintball field/pro shop in Brevard County. I would call myself more of a woods-ball player, and Combat Zone seems directed to the speedball player, but every time I walk into the pro shop the employees and most of all the Colonel will greet you and at least be courteous to customers. They know what they are doing. Last time I played Combat Zone I had an awesome time, The Indoor Field was Lot of fun. Everybody was cool to play against. Good Competition. I don't know why but every time I walk into other stores in Melbourne I get the cold shoulder, ignored, told I'm stupid because I shoot A Tippmann. I call it the Surf Shop Syndrome, Where everybody is too cool even for customers. They are killing me, paintball is expensive, at least make me feel better about spending money. It is worth the time and gas to drive up to Merritt Island and spend my deniro at Combat Zone.

firefightermax
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

-WM-Oblivion Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
in merrit island, 2nd light past bridge take a left . The field is conveniently located next to a bar where i can either celebrate my victorys or drink away my sorrows.. lol
Review: Ill go ahead and give this field a 10 rating for two reasons.one being its the only field ive played on so i really cant compare it to anything else . And Two, I always have a blast when i come play. The competition stays pretty competitive, The Refs are fair.. and the tech support is A+. this field seems to constantly try to improve themselves, Cant wait to see some of the stuff they have planned, completed. Just my 2 cents, peace out all.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media