paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Boston Paintball Field / Boston Paintball Field / Boston Paintball Field / Boston Paintball Field

Boston Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
98Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 617.941.0123
Address: 111 Boston Street
Everett, Massachusetts 02149
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
hockeypuck33 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
westside paintball~Sanford, Maine No Comparison
Birch Hill Paintball~York, Maine No Comparison
OSG Paintball~Center Barnsted, New Hampshire No Comparison
Cape Cod Paintball~Bourne, Mass No Comparison
Review: Price:
*Paint is VERY expensive* It was difficult to have the staff help you decide what package to get when you have several kids with you!!

Facility:
Floors are soaked and there are exposed wires on the ceiling

Refs and guys letting you off of the field:
One guy letting you onto the field was great with everyone the others had HUGE attitudes with everyone and were irritated if you talked to them.

Rules:
They give you a 15 minute speech on the rules that you are not encouraged to ask questions at if you are a kid

Safety:
It was a free for all on the field with refs helping the "normal" guys telling them where people were so they had the advantage obviously.
Wait time to play was TOO long for everyone that was there
After you are shot they say that you are to hold up your hands and gun and you are not to be shot at anymore (obviously there are the shots that were fired before we see you with your hands up) and people continued to fire at a kid that had his hands up and was walking along the field getting off but he fell to the ground and rolled up in the fetal position and the fire continued from the adults while this kid was SCREAMING.. The "staff" were ripped at the kids and did a less than tolerable job about the adults that were obviously using EXCESSIVE FIRE. I spoke to several staff regarding the incident and were told different things like oh, we talked to them or we kicked them out or it won't happen again (HUGE lack of communication among staff).

Outcome:
I wrote a letter regarding the incident and received an e-mail back stating that is not the way they operate and was offered free passes (which I would not ever use) I asked for a phone call back and never received one.. Kind of disappointing don't you think!!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

splatmaster man Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
hoops paintball - horrible,small,refs bite, good paint price and nice owners
Directions
to the Field:
?
Review: I live in leominster so going here is a good drive. Probably 45-50 mins but it is well worth the trip. Refs are mostly great. big field lots of bunker varieties and. I have gone here about 5 times and will continue to go every sunday untill I die.

admission,all day air,and a case of paint rps premium for only 89.99

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zderekv Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
woodsball (private)
Directions
to the Field:
Just off of route 93, next to Good Times and Home Depot
Review: Boston Paintball is a great place to play no matter what your ability level is. They break the games up into beginner/rental, intermediate, and advanced levels to keep it fun for everyone. The refs are great and when it's busy they keep you entertained. You can get the package deal with rental equipment and 500 rounds for $42 (there's a cheaper package w/200 rounds) or if you have your own equipment the field fee is $15 and all day air is another $10. Boston PB's a field paint only facility so be prepared to buy their paint ($69 /case, smaller quantities available too). The field, and the rest of the facility, is clean and well lit. The pro-shop is right near the feild entrance and the staff is pleasant and knowledgable. Depending on the crowd they'll let you "play", but they do keep your safety in mind so they're not going to let you bunker and torch a renter. They run specials on certain nights so i recommend checking out their web site before just showing up. As with any place, you're going to come across a hero here and there but all in all the refs keep everything under control. I highly recommend Boston Paintball. My only knock is that sometimes the games get a little crowded.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shr3dder Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
The field is by the home deopt in Somerville if you need to ask for directions.
Review: I love this place. The mat is perfect, I love sliding on it. The prices for paint and everything are reasonably priced. The place is well kept and everyone is friendly. It's the perfect place to start playing, and even if you're an experienced player, there are plenty there to give you some good competition. Just watch out for me. I'll be the one lighting you up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ion383 Thursday, December 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mill City Paintball,
Directions
to the Field:
I dont know its in summerville
Review: Well ive been there once before wit my friends but this time i went with my dad and his friends to there team practice. The field is pretty big. If youve been to mill city bostons field is a bit longer and a bit wider. Since i went there with my dads friends team there wasent a reff for us. But previously when i went with my friends the reffing was good.

They have a big pro shop there when u walk in. Its pretty stocked has lots of stuff.

The field has plenty of good bunkers and the snake is good. Fied can fit a 7 man team there.
Over all it was a good field. I like it better than mill city cuz it has better lighting.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sumorai Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Planet Paintball - second best indoor field in MA, in my opinion. smaller than boston, not as good lighting, and less experienced/professional refs, but it's cheap and BYOP during the week.
Review: I play/practice at Boston Paintball regularly. I haven't been to Mill City or Ultimate yet, and Monster Paintball isn't open yet, but from what my friends who've been to those places have said, they're not as good as Boston PB. Boston is easy to get to and they've got a pro shop on site if you need anything. It's field paint only, and their paint isn't the best, but it's good enough for practice. Boston isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Staff - friendly, helpful, good refs. they keep the games moving so you don't have to wait too long.

Field - biggest indoor field I've been to, some poles here and there but not too much in the way, nor as big as the ones at Planet PB, they keep it clean too. good lighting and it's not so loud you can't think. the bunkers aren't crap either, so they don't have to constantly be reinflating them.

Staging Area - plenty of tables and space for players, spray bottles & paper towels for cleaning.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sureshot98 Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox 4, friendly fire, canobie, playboyz
Review: This is one of the nicest indoor fields i have ever played at. You can tell that they put alot of money into this place. It is in the same location as the main proshop so you are just seconds away from a certified gun tech. The rugs are the cleanest that i have ever seen. the only bad thing though is that they are way too slick. You stumble off the break, and in my case slid out of bounds when i dove into the snake. yea i slid ten yards on my stomach. The refs were friendly and helpful. the night i went it was empy for about and hour before play picked up. The ref grabed his minion and showed me some tips to improve my game. we played a little one on one too. he was a good guy. The bunkers are kept clean the whole day. there are nice plexiglass windows so you can watch the action while you sit on a bench outside eating. they have lockers, vending machines and a bathroom that is sort of clean. overall this place is the best to go to. The only problem i have with it though is the price of paint. 65 for a case of field premium. other than that, it is the best indoor experience i have had. go wednesday nights to see the canes practice. it gets a 9 cuz of the price of paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

XSVFORCE Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 24th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boston paintball Maynard and PNL paintball in Bridgewater
Directions
to the Field:
Sommerville
Review: This is an awseome field, the refs are amazingly funny and helpful and the pro shop is fully stock. Another great thing about this field is the two different kinds of games. They offer open games for everyone or just rental games so that the nOObs wont get killed. Ive bought everything i owned from this fields proshop including gun and barrel and paint. The field is very expensive with a case being about 70 bucks and entrance another 25 w/ air. This inhibits me from going a lot. That along with the fact they only have one field is the only problem. The indoor field is extremely fun and you have a good time everytime you go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

code4life Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Nation (Toronto, Canada) - BYOP Mon-Thurs, paint costs $25 whitebox, $40 hotbox, $60 menace. Admission is $15 including all day air. Crowds average 20-30 ppl on these days. Lots of energy at this field.

DragonFire (Toronto, Canada) - Way smaller crowd, but I was playing there on the Friday of a long weekend, so that would figure. Admission is $25, paint is $35 for whitebox, I didn't bother asking for anything higher.

Sgt Splatters - Very large field. Lots of people come here as well. They recently introduced BYOP, paint used to cost $10/100, so I only visited this place once (someone else was paying for the paint...)
Review: Has a great pro shop. I was visiting from Canada, my new marker was leaking air massively, and the guy in the pro shop named Anthony was very, very helpful. He disassembled the gun and fixed the air leak in less than 5 minutes. Have to admit I was pretty impressed. The rest of the pro shop staff were courteous, friendly and helpful as well, so I think next time I'm in town, I would definitely look this place up for any paintball purchase needs I have.

Now about the field: the field itself is in fantastic condition. But the problem is, the renters and owners are divided up from each other. Play was divided so that the renters played first, then there was "open play" where renters and owners mixed, followed by owners only.

Sometimes this sort of setup makes sense, other times it doesn't. The day I was visiting, this really wasn't working. Basically the open play period was limited to renters only, and owners were not allowed to play. So I ended up playing for 2 hrs, played only 3 games, and finally decided to go home. The guys who were owners mentioned they came by every other week, and they seemed to be good guys. I'm more used to renters and owners mixing together. Over at Paintball Nation, they would set up teams so that each team had a balance of owners & renters, and more than that, they would make sure that the good players didn't stick together, but would play against each other. I'm more used to this kind of play. It is so intense, and I've seen renters come back over and over because it's so fun. I hope Boston Paintball finds a way to get the renters and owners kinda connect w/ each other like this. Overall PBN is the better field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Iram Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire, Planet Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
From 93 South, take exit 28.
The exit ramp merges with another road, and then splits. You want to be in the right hand lane when it splits.
Now, take a left, under the bridge, and then merge across into the second lane from the right (the rightmost lane turns into the shopping plaza).
After the shopping plaza there is a large building that appears to be an old movie theater. Immediately after this, bear right at about a 30 degree angle. You probably want to slow down as you pass the theater.
After this, take the first right, and you should see the store on the left. It shares a parking lot (and building) with a local gym.
Review: I've played at Boston Paintball's field three times, but after visiting the only other indoor field in the area, I've been convinced this is the best available.

PRICES
Field fees and paint are a little expensive, but reasonable. The basic field fee is $15, and all day air can be had for $10. Paint is $69 a case (including tax), but they have "package deals" available that reduce the costs. For $89 (including tax), you can get a case of paint, all day air, and your field fee. They also have a package for 500 rounds with all day air for approximately $45 (I don't have the exact numbers in front of me). They have two options for rental packages, one with 200 rounds, the other with 500 rounds, and the are both resonably priced (I think the 500 round rental package is ~$50). All of the rental packages include all day air.

You pay on the way in, at a small window that borders the back of their pro-shop (right behind the counter of the pro-shop). If there is a crowd in the shop, you may end up waiting a few minutes before someone comes over to take your money, but this only happened to me once (when someone was buying three Model 98's). You have to fill out a standard waiver, which needs a parent's signature if you are under 18.

Once you pay, your a given a sticker which resembles a ski ticket (or so I've been told; I've never been skiing), that has the date, along with what you payed for (Rental, Field Fee, All Day Air) that you are supposed to wear. This ticket has slots that get punched after you get your safety breifing, chronograph, and if you get a warning because of a safety violation. They also give you your paint at this window, and you can buy individual fills there if you don't shoot enough to need all day air.

RENTAL EQUIPMENT AND PAINT
The paint is RP Premium, with a red shell and pink/white fill, with the word "FIELD" in black on the side of the shell. You get the best deal on it if you buy it a case at a time, and they let you bring the paint back later if you don't finish off all of the paint you buy. The paint is decent, it fits fine in a 0.689-0.691 bore.

The rental guns are old PMI Pirahnas. They do not have any sort of forward grip, expansion chamber, or regulator to hold on to tough. They also do not come with double triggers. I did not rent, but I got to look at a few rental guns that some of my friends were using, and noticed that they do not all have stock barrels. They have clear VL200 hoppers and elbows.

All of the rental guns come with 48ci 3000 psi compressed air systems. These tanks can also be rented for $15, including all day air. It also seems like the paint on the tanks is peeling off most of them (similiar to how many fields rental Tippmann 98's usually loose their paint).

REFS AND SAFETY
I found the staff to be very helpful. They keep a close eye on what's going on both on and off the field. If it isn't too crowded, you may even have a ref come over and join in whatever friendly conversation is going on. I noticed that after playing their twice (two consecutive weekends), the refs started to recognize me, which is kind of nice.

The refs keep a very close eye (and ear) for what's going on in the staging area. Anytime there is a marker fired, or an air leak, usually you'll have a ref look around to see what's going on and help if needed.

The refs also seem to be good at dealing with players of all ages. Most of the refs seem to be in their mid twenties, but they are as good with ten year olds as they are with people old enough to be the parents of ten year olds.

Everyone gets an initial safety breifing before you are allowed to play, though I suspect it would be possible to sneak into a game without this breifing if you were really determined, self-equipped, and it was a very busy day. The initial breifing covers safety equipment such as masks and barrel bags, and also the standard rules of paintball. They also mention some of the stupider things that a person could try, such as not trying to jump over bunkers or not trying to hit other players with your marker. If you haven't got your safety breifing (which is punched on your ticket), they won't give you rental equipment. Oh, and if you're renting, they also tell you how to use the equipment.

They frequently have a ref watching the main enterance/exit between the play area, to make sure players remember their barrel bag (and remind players if they forget). If a player ignores the couple reminders they will get from a ref and walks out without a barrel bag, the ref will give them a warning and have them sit out for a game. If they do it a second time, they get kicked out. I only saw one person, a rental, who managed to ignore a ref yelling a reminder to him about his barrel bag, and the guy ended up sitting out a single game. The ref was not rude about it, and didn't insult the player or swear at him.

SPECIAL RULES
They have a "10 foot surrender rule", which, like at most other fields, is not much more than a good theory that isn't put into practice well. If you get within 10 feet of someone, you simply yell "surrender" and the other person is out. No arguements, no shooting anyways, they are simply out. The problem is, most players aren't sure of how far 10 feet is, and there is a natural instict to shoot at someone from the other team that you find close to you all of a sudden.

Oh, they also don't allow ramping, full auto, burst, or any other mode of fire that wouldn't be allowed in the NPPL.

CHRONOGRAPHING
Before you play, you need to get chronographed and be shooting under 280 fps. To do this, you go over to the chronograph area (which is enclosed like the field), and one of the refs will shoot your marker and adjust the velocity as needed. Once they have it set, they will mark on your ticket that you've been chronographed, and now you just need to wait for your game to be called.

GAMES
The games are standard speedball, staight elimination without any flags.

They usually break the group of players up based on skill level and seperate out parties. If you go with a birthday group or corporate group, you can get your own games with just your group. If there is only a small group, such as 10-20 people, they simply group everyone together (who isn't in a private party) for "open games". When they had a bigger crowd with more diverse skill levels, they broke it up into a "Beginners/Rentals" game, and a "Advanced" or "Teams/Advanced" game. The refs call out the games, and give you a bit of warning time to get over and get in line, and it is a fair rotation.

Generally they allow you to decide if you qualify as a beginner or advanced player. In general, the refs will arrange teams, at least for the Beginner/Rental group. Usually this consists of the ref asking people to get into two lines, and the swap people between the lines if the lines don't look even. Usually they'll give you an option about it though. When I went with two friends, a ref would say something like "One of you three go over there" if he needed one of us to switch sides (we all ended up on the same team about 70% of the time).

You can also get private games, such as 1-vs-1 or 2-vs-2 if you ask a ref, and they aren't too crowded.

Games usually run about 10 minutes. After your game, you head back to the staging area. I did notice that with the "Advanced" group, they would occasionally switch sides and run a second game, but they were finishing their games in less than half the time it took for the birthday party groups, or the "Beginner/Rental" group.

FIELD
The field itself has a fairly standard collection of inflatable bunkers, and is big enough for 7-10 players per team without overcrowding. There is thin carpeting on the floor, and it gets washed regularly so you don't get much of a "slosh" sound when you walk, though it's definately slipery and easy to slide into a bunker.

STAGING AREA
The staging area is spaceous enough for a of 50-60 players without becoming crowded. They have some plastic picknic tables (with benches), along with a counter that runs across it. They have two enterances (for fire safety) to the field, one on the side and the main enterance is behind one of the flag stations.

One really nice thing they do is put out rolls of paper towels on each table, so you can wipe off hits between games.

There are also a couple party rooms for birthday groups to use, and some [rusty, beat up] lockers you can store equipment in. The lockers can be locked, but you need to bring your own lock.

CROWDS
Minimum age to play is 10 years old, though it seems most of the players are between 13 and 18, with a few guys in the 20s and occasionally someone's father will join in. While the vast majority of players are male, I have seen a few female players there also, along with a couple of grumpy looking girlfriends and bored mothers sitting in the staging area.

The biggest problem I found with this field was how inconsistent the crowd is. I've played there on three seperate Sundays. The first time, there was some really advanced players there (there was at least one high level tournament team) that week, along with several birthday parties, with a total of about 100 players divided up into 5 or 6 groups, leaving a significant wait between games. The other two times I was there, the crowd varied from 4 to 30 players (it changed as people came and left during the day), with the best of them being a Rookie or Novice level team.

HOURS
The field is open seven days a week. The field fee is the same no matter what day of the week or how long you stay. I've only played there on Sundays, so I'm not sure how busy they are during the rest of hte week, but I've watched a few decent sized games when I went by the pro-shop during the week.
Monday: Noon to 8 PM
Tuesday: Noon to 8 PM
Wednesday: Noon to 10 PM
Thursday: Noon to 10 PM
Friday: Noon to 10 PM
Saturday: 10 AM to 10 PM
Sunday: 10 AM to 8 PM

PROSHOP
The proshop is decent, but it's noting to write home about either. The staff is friendly and helpful, and they have a resonable selection of markers and aftermarket parts. They carry a wide array of Tippmann, Kingman, and Smart Parts markers, along with some Dye markers and Egos. They also have a few WGP markers, mostly Trilogies along with one ProStock but they mentioned they were having supply problems getting more (yes, I'm a WGP fan, so that's what I paid the most attention to).

They have a decent selection of accessories and barrels for the markers they carry (and a few markers that they don't carry). They have PMI Pure Engery CO2 and 3000 psi compressed air tanks, along with Dye 4500 psi tanks and some Evil 5000 psi tanks in stock. They have a decent selection of painball clothing, pods, harnesses, masks, and pads in stock, though if you're after a specific color, size, and brand, you may have to get them to order it.

They have a tech on duty during the week who can handle repairs, and all the staff is very knowledgeable. They will not repair markers on weekends though.

The pricing is competitive with what you see online, though some things are a little higher. They offer a free, one year labor warranty on the markers they sell, and I was told I would also get free one-year labor on the compressed air tank I bought there if there was ever any problems with it.

In general, the store is open anytime the field is open. On the day I was there when there was a large crowd, the pro shop was closed as a result of one of the employees being out sick.

FOOD, BEVERAGES, BATHROOMS
The field has two vending machines, one for drinks and the other for snacks. The have a resonable selection of bottled water, sports drinks, and soda, but the vending machines were only about 30-40% full when I was there. They also have some basic snack cakes, chips, etc., in one of the machines.

While I can't give details about the women's restroom, the men's room was resonably clean and sanitary. The floor is a little slippery, but that is a result of people walking in between games after getting paint on their shoes. The toilets flush and the urinal works fine.

I've been told that they have showers on site, but I never took the time to look for them.

The main thing they are lacking is a drinking fountian. I'm not a fan of bottled water or sugary drinks, so I've taken to carrying a jug of water in my gearbag.

CONCLUSION
This place is far superior to Planet Paintball, which is the only other indoor field in my area. The prices are reasonable, and the refs are helpful, friendly, and attentive. The proshop is decently priced and carries a reasonable selection of equipment. As a result of several good experiences, I am planning on playing there regularly. I've scored it as a eight because it is definatley above average, but not perfect *cough* drinking fountian *cough*.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
For background, I'm a 23 year old college graduate with a degree in computing. I started playing paintball as a freshman in high school, playing in the woods behind the school. After about two years of that, most of my friends had graduated and I got out of the sport so I could focus on school. After graduating from college, and not playing for 5 years, I'm working on getting back into the sport and playing at commercial fields instead of "outlaw".
Last edited on Thursday, July 27th, 2006 at 6:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media