paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Boston Paintball Field / Boston Paintball Field / Boston Paintball Field / Boston Paintball Field

Boston Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
98Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 617.941.0123
Address: 111 Boston Street
Everett, Massachusetts 02149
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
paintballfan123 Wednesday, July 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Planet paintball
Review: Pros: Kool staff always freindly, big field, big bunkers (which is good 4 me im 12 years old 5 ft 9 in and 190lbs) sometimes people 2 play with,pro shop is awesome, has showers, and is a big place..........Very concerened with saftey.


Cons: Paint is wicked expenive, crappy rentals but who rents?!,always have 2 keep your barrel bag on or u get 2 stay out 4 a game, and 4 the second time u do that u get kicked out of the place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

boston infernos Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Maynard, Fox 4
Review: I'm Giving Boston Paintball an 8. here's why:

Well, im on a pro under 16 team, and boston paintball is where me and my team, the boston infernos practice. I am the snake fighter on my team and god is the field setup for me!

some good things: There are always people to play with. Rules are pretty simple and they aren't too hard on you. the snake is awesome and they change the field every 2 weeks so its challenging. The pro shop is sick. always have everything in stock, and if they don't, they'll order it for you and have it in 3-5 days. challenging to play pro teams (like the infernos or the hurricanes). the paintballers are friendly which is kinda weird, but they listen to what i tell them to do on the field which is cool. bathrooms and showerhouses.

some bad things: ref's are strict if you dont have your barrel bag on (they take your gun away and you sit out a game or two). if you break the rule twice, they kick you out of the field for the daybeginners dont know what they're doing, so it kinda ruins it. field paint is expensive.

that's all i have to say about boston. great place with a sick field, but it has its flaws. If you're reading this, you should visit boston paintball (bur keep your barrelbag on!!)

if you want to talk more, you can send me a message
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Dippy Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pb heaven
Review: Pros-
Awsome field, one of the best in the area
Always people to play with

Cons-
Annoying staff
You cant shoot a person close range because they have to "surrender" which is annoying
Paint is hella expensive
too many new players playing at once
The field, although large alot of people get in the way
when it gets later in the day, theres only 1 ref left, so the rules go to hell
They never paint check, cant tell you how easy it was to cheat (its part of the game but it got excesive)

Last edited on Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 at 6:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jah Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Duxbury, cape, paintballheaven
Directions
to the Field:
Near goodtimes, very good local in slummerville
Review: When i first arrived, the ripped dude at the counter was very helpful and enthusiastic. As i walked past the registry sign i got the impression that the place was pretty rustic, but i soon found that it served it's purpose perfectly. Like many outdoor fields, Boston Paintball's indoor course had no indoor creature-comforts. The bathroom was pretty dank, but they had good munchies in the machines, and there was plenty of redbull and gatorade to keep you going. As far as the equitment went the guns were pretty crappy, they jammed all the time, and many times when i could have changed the tides on a game by preventing the flank, my gun would jam, and i would get lit up. However, when i got the attention of the ref, he ran to go get me a new gun, pretty cool. The field was sweet, the snake was one of the best i've ever seen, and the slippery rugs made for great slides and fast-flying action throughout the arena. Apart from large groups from schools and families with their kids, the players at Boston Paintball were very good. For the most part it was full of young-guns. But don't underestimate their abilities- there was a ten year old flanking and takin out some veterans. The only downer to the place was the fact that some of the refs seemed to have a bit of an attitude. I normally wouldn't bring it up, but it for an amateur paintballer at Boston Paintball, the experience may be negative, due to the fact that "open-players" were considered almost INFERIOR to those players with large groups or with six-hundred dollar guns. This was by no means a big deal, and i'm definatley goin back soon, probably this week, but the attitude may offend some players. overall a great place to go and play, and very well priced.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sototo Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox4-More organized, cheaper.
Friendly Fire
PnL(pb heaven)-Ghosttown is awesome, but its expensive.
Review: First off I am more of a woodsball player than a speedball player, so the indoor experience was kind of new to me.

When I got there it was easy to find out what to do/where to go and how to get started.
They don't let you bring your own paint which I was kind of dissapointed by, but buying paint was quick and wasnt THAT expensive.

So after I was all loaded, and i got my barrel cover on I proceeded to where the games were being organized. There was a variety of players from older players, like myself, to young children, who looked like oompa loompas in their jump suits :).

I was able to get in the game quickly. It was a mix of rentals, beginners, and experienced player. The field is nice compared to the other speedball courses I've played at. It is large and the way the bunkers are set up is really fun.

When the first game was over, I was so excited I forgot to put back on my barrel condom. When i left the field they took away my gun and said I could get it back next game.

I went to clean up in the bathroom (clean) from the previous game. When the next game was over I went to get my gun back. The maintenance guys dropped my gun when they were putting it away and the stock broke. At first I was angry at them because they were laughing about it. I took it to the manager and he actually payed me the entire cost of the stock new. The maintenace guys were yelled at by the mnager and they apologized to me.

After this incident I played many games all of which were very fun.
I really loved the experience except for the part when they broke my gun.

In conclusion:
safety-Good safety, but they punish different players unequally for safety violations.

fields-1large, well put together speedball field.

prices- entrance fee is cheap although you can't bring your own paint and field paint is expensive.

Services-They payed me the full cost of the item they broke of mine.

Staff-Maintenance guys were pretty rude but they know about paintball.

Refs-Favor people that they know

Players- A lot of cool guys and girls go here, large diversity also.

Overall its a fun experience as long as you follow the safety rules, and have lots of money.

i give it a 7 (-1 for staff, -1 for refs, -1 for prices)

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

proto bagins Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
To tell you the truth I haven't really played any where else in the area.
Review: Alright, as far as the field goes, I give it a 10 out of 10. All the indoor fields I've played on tend to be small and narrow, but Boston paintball has a good amount of space and they use it well. They always change the setup of the field which keeps it interesting. Another problem most indoor fields have are those enormous polls that get in the way. At Boston paintball, the polls don't block shooting lanes, and are narrow. Boston paintball, without a doubt is the best indoor field I've ever played on.

Alright as far as the staff and service goes.....well lets just say I've been there alot (not by choice) and I'm not impressed. After I few times of playing at Boston Paintball I quickly realized the way things work. Okay, as far as the refs go, for the most part they make good calls, I have no complaints. As far as safety is concerned, walk off the field without a barrel condom on your gun, they rip you a new as$hole and take your gun away. Do it twice your done for the day. Now they are really strict with safety, which is good, but their method of repremanding players is very, very poor. I once saw an inexperienced player lift his mask off on the field after a game, and one of the refs ran over to him and yelled: "Are you a fu*king idiot? How dumb can you fu*king be?" or something to that effect.
Later on that day when I was playing in an advanced game I took about ten to the back from a hot gun (which I'll get to later) and as I took a couple steps off the field I realized my barrel condom was in my hand and not on my gun. Of course that same ref was there waiting for me, and took my gun. I have to admit, since the old days of barrel plugs I have never left the field without something covering my barrel. OKay I deserved to get my gun taken for a game. But that wasn't enough. "I'm f*ckin sick of these kids....bla ..bla...I like to keep my f*ckin vision....bla bla..." Look Tommy tuff guns I don't need the profanity all the time...My barrel condom wasn't on, an, honest mistake....Dont treat me like an a$shole, my gun was off it was impossible to shoot paint.
Okay hot guns...You tell tell them you chronod your gun they punch your ticket. The same person who shot me in the back shot my friend in the pack, and the paint went through one his pods and out the other side, no joke....
OKay, I can deal with all this, but the one thing that absolutely pissed me off was when I was snap shooting at a kid and I heard the ref telling the other player, clearly a local, when I was popping out....I've heard alot of other people complain about this, and thats a bunch of bullsh*t....
Appeal this if you want, but I give BP a 6 out of 10, and thats for the quality of the field, not the service...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Westonman Tuesday, February 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox 4
Friendly Fire
Maynard
Review: I had the pleasure of playing there on Sunday 2/5 and had a good experience. The facility was clean, well lit and seems to have appropriate staff available to help and answer questions. While is was a bit costly (approx $90) the facility was nice. The refs did a good job of keeping the games moving for most of the time I was there and were very conscious of safety. While they were a bit hard on a few violators I do feel that this is needed as the consequence's a very high. A few things I noticed that they may want to spend a bit more time on is going over and enforcing the rules and etiquette with the rental players and open players. This was an issue the few time that the two groups played together. The same issue would apply for the experienced players and the open players. Overall a very good experience, a very good facility and good staff. I will be back
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bertbert2oo6 Saturday, January 28th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Planet Paintball is kinda far away but their kind staff is amazing compared to the crummy idiots who work at Boston Paintball.

There are only 2 guys at Boston Paintball whom I thought were kind and helpful. The guy who is very young I believe 17, and the guy who owns an 05 shocker(usually works in the pro shop).

Boston Paintball's crummy staff doesn't compare with Planet Paintball's awesome staff.
Review: ONE SENTENCE TO DESCRIBE BOSTON PAINTBALL'S STAFF: They are stoners who brag to each other that they are "so high right now" while little kids, no older than 12 years of age, are running around.


I've played there multiple times, I've probably spent over 200 dollars there so far this winter. I just want to start out with the most important thing: don't go there expecting nice people.

The people there arent' really kind and helpful. The only referee who is kind and is cool is the younger one with the goatee. He is around 17 years old.... yet he is nicer and more mature than all the other adults who work there. There is another kind guy who usually works in the pro shop, he's kinda skinny and wears a hat most of the time. He owns an 05 shocker. I like both those two guys. They answered questions I asked and helped me when I asked for help.

The players who are pretty good with EGO's and DM6's ect. are arrogant and stupid. Their lives are paintball and they have nothing else going for them in life. When newer players ask them questions, they simply try to sell them one of their stupid over priced guns or they shoo them away. They form their own private groups and attempt to act tough by taking other people's spaces wehre they put their equipment.

-edited-He has no concern for the older players, he watched me and my friends multiple times to find an excuse to get us kicked out. My friend made a stupd mistake of leaving the field w/out his barrel condom on, and after that he litearlly checked on us every 3 minutes from a distance, thinking that we didn't notice. -edited-, inspecting our every move looking for something wrong.

Boston Paintball is filled with a bunch of grumpy staff members who smoke weed and get high for work (I overheard a referee saying to his friend, "i'm so high right now")
Using drugs is find I guess, but they SHOULD NOT talk about it with other little kids running around. It was a friday during vacation so of course it was completely packed with kids. I thought my ears started bleeding when I heard them talking about how they were high. Completely unacceptable.

There have been some good times there, but most of the time I go home with only 10 seconds of a good memory-edited-

The little kids with custom Jerseys, who play every week and are on a team or whatever think that they're tough or something because when a kid dropped his gun and his paintballs went everywhere, he said in a very high voice "you have to buy me a new hopperfull of paint" I simply looked at him in denial and I ignored him.

Boston Paintball can be fun I guess, but most of the time it's an awful place to waste your money. Go to Planet Paintball, I gurantee that you'll have a much better experience.
Last edited on Sunday, February 5th, 2006 at 8:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

bunker boy Monday, January 2nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Boston Paintball in Somerville is a great paintball field. I showed up not knowing what to think my first time. It was great. The refs are nice and check you for paint when they need to. The safety is great too, they make sure everyone has their barrel bag on and wore their mask on the field.

PROS
- good atmosphere
- great for sliding
-different groupings for players
-anyone that works there can fix your gun
-safe
-many games in a short period of time
-not a very large croud

CONS
-the paint costs a TON and it is BYOP (split a case with a friend)
-little kids sometimes get in the way
-many people are rentals and have no clue what they're doing
Last edited on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 at 9:26 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

singlepayer Sunday, November 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 24th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't been to any other fields around Boston, but I've been to SC Village in California and another in Wash, DC.
Review: I was pleasantly surprised by Boston Paintball. I hadn't been to an indoor paintball field before, so I was a little skeptical at first. There's only one field, but the refs are friendly and make good calls.

The real advantage to BP is that you can play regardless of weather, assuming you don't like to play in rain or snow. It's a little far for me, but worth it if you can spend half a day there.

The only real problem I have with BP is that they require you to buy their gray paintballs which tend to be harder to see when you shoot them, especially indoors, but it's a minor thing that most people probably don't even notice.

The carpet is actually excellent for sliding, and there's usually a fair crowd of about 10-20 at a time the times I've been there. Perfect number for an indoor field, which tends to be a little smaller than outdoor.

The crowd tends to have a lot of kids, not bad, cause it tends to be more relaxed, though some of those devils are really good. I haven't been to the Experienced Player night, but I will at some point to see how competitve it is.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media