paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Island Paintball Arena / Island Paintball Arena / Island Paintball Arena / Island Paintball Arena

Island Paintball Arena

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
24Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (631) 694-2707
Address: 400 Patton Ave.
West Babylon, New York 11704
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
pntballer45 Monday, July 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Paintball, High Velocity Indoor, High Velocity Outdoor, Obnoxious Indoor
Review: Ok I just want to preface this review with one thing. I have been playing paintball for a long time, and I have read this site for reviews and used it for quite some time, but never registered to leave a review until now. My experience at Island Paintball Arena has forced me to leave a review after about 6 or 7 years of playing paintball.

I had extremely high hopes going in. The field itself looked pretty nice and big, and the the staging area is nice and big. With that said, Island Paintball Arena is THE WORST paintball field I have ever played on. I can't even begin to put into words how awful this place is. I will not stoop to leaving rude remarks about the people that work there about their physical stature, but I will try to be as objective as possible when I list the following reasons that Island Paintball Arena is so terrible.

1. The Referees - This field uses 2 refs in a game, the least I have seen in an indoor game, usually at least 3 or 4 are used at other fields. In both instances, the refs seemed to stay away from the action and not once checked a player to see if they were hit. I literally watched a teamate shoot another player in his arm and gun, and the player who was hit continued to fire back and did not leave the field of play. The ref standing off to the side of him did not attempt to do anything. At one point, one of the refs was eating pizza in the back of the field while the game was going on. The Refs also gave preferential treatment to other players that they knew, or worked there. They made the teams uneven and put players of less experience all together instead of splitting them up.

2. No Gun Regulation - Not one persons marker was chronographed before being played. I witnessed some of the worst welts I have ever seen on a persons body from shots they took from across the field. I myself have taken some bad welts from being bunkered before, but I had welts that were worse from getting hit from over 50 feet away. I played with two different guns that day and I was not asked to chrono my gun once.

3. The field itself - It is excessively dark. It is hard to see from one side of the field to the other because the lighting is so bad. From the far side looking over, your opponents look like silhouettes because of the light coming in from the windows in the back is stronger than the overhead lighting.

4. Players - about 50% of the players seemed to either be people who worked their or who were regulars. Most of them were pretty nice, some were very rude though. Alot of my teammates were bonus balling and hunkering inexperienced players. Just wasn't a very good atmosphere for some of the newbies that came to the field.

5. Safety - On multiple occasions, players were walking off the field without barrel covers. I accidentally did this once myself and wasn't not told anything until one of my buddies pointed it out when we were sitting down.

Overall this is a very sad establishment. I am surprised there aren't more bad reviews, but it is obvious I am not the only one who feels this way. I would not recommend this place to anyone, especially someone who is new to the sport, because this place will definitely turn them off from ever playing again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Suzerain13 Tuesday, January 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 3rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
great field! the criticism is from useless people
Directions
to the Field:
secluded industrial-ish section on crappy road(as i said industrial-ish) between nice quiet cemeterys. that big "soot hill" is actually gravel....thats a cement making Depot(hence the other giant pile of sand) right by airport, just off a major road, always have good parking
Review: lets update:
Safety: really good, refs are aware, and take there job seriously. none of them are"fat" all of them are fit, and are all really cool. If there a dick to you, that means your a dick to the people around you or them. lastly, bunkering happens everywhere, get over it and suck it up, besides most of it is caught.they have a chrono, where guns are checked and tested, which isn't checked too often. use of masks and barrel covers is a high priority to them.
Field:decent sized L shape, best when kept in a straight rectangle. occasionally turned into 2 small rectangles when there is large volume. floors are kept clean, but carpet is soaked, makes for a harder, more challenging experience. the lighting is good too. bunkers aren't always filled as well as they should, but get the job done....not the best field, but its good enough.
Players: same as every other arena, the trustworthy: 50%, and the wipers 50%
Prices: Decent-$25 admission $65 case of field paint (must use field paint on weekends). cheaper paint available on weekdays, as well as bring your own paint...IPS Store inside which is great with repairs, and filled with everything you may need throughout the day.

it is a decent field, there are obviously better ones, but this ones cheap easy, and is worth the money.
**the "fat guy" at the air station isn't mean, he doesn't display any emotions unless a stupid noob does something retarded, then he may get grouchy
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballer97 Friday, July 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is THE WORST FEILD IN THE U.S.A !!!! If you like outdoors and nice refs try cousins outdoor and high velocity outdoor,,,,,,,,,
Directions
to the Field:
you dont really need directions after you read my review........ its right near a cematary and a powerplant....... The cematary is probably full of the players that the refs let the other players bunker (shoot someone from 10 feet or closer)......
Review: Food - They have vending machines with crappy food........ You can order a pizza but i think they take the corpses from the cematary next door and shove them in a box........

Refs - they have the attenton span of a two year old......you only see them at the beginning of the metch and then i think they just leave..... They let someone almost put their barrel up to me and shoot the welt turned red purple yellow and orange...

Pro shop - they have four really nasty employees there ... they gave me a bad gun saying it works fine...... 5 days later the capacitor busts and they called me a lazy - ass for using the batterey that THEY GAVE ME and not a rechargeable battery that they didint tell me to use...

Conclusion - Just NEVER go there ,i give this feild a negative 10 on a scale of one to ten
Last edited on Tuesday, August 4th, 2009 at 4:35 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vertigo_07 Sunday, July 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hi-Velocity- Amazing.
NYC paintball- good field, good deals.
Directions
to the Field:
Good luck is all I can tell you. It's in between two graveyards, and beyond a large mound of what looked like soot. If you're facing the soot, you're in the wrong place.
Review: When me and a friend of mine first heard of a BYOP field in long island, we thought "great! we can go out to sports authority and buy 4000 rounds worth of cheap paint for our 98's".

The following review was our experience.

Fields: I'll start with the staging area. I don't know if it was just when I was there, but I very much doubt they clean the place. The staging area was flooded with paint, so much so that stepping onto the turf they had set down caused it to ooze up around your shoe.

The fields themselves were poorly lit at best, and poorly set up. They have an "L" field which they use for larger games. This would be an interesting aspect if they had some way to balance it; as it is, the team on the other side of the field has time to get into positions before being offered a nice shot at the "L" team trying to move out.

The bunkers could've all used a bit of air, as most were pretty saggy. Crawling anywhere was out of the question; if you are of the aggressive front playing sort, be prepared to dive into a swamp of multicolored paint. I don't know if it was just when I was there, but the field was a mucky mess. The layout was alright, but hampered by the poor lighting.


Refs: My buddies and I noticed an odd thing about the refs. Namely, you saw them at the beginning of each game, and never again. Except, maybe, if they got bored and decided to jump in and play against you. They weren't the greatest at enforcing rules either: though we didn't see anyone do this, we noticed that if you really wanted to, you could walk right into a game without paying admission or chrono'ing your gun. Lastly, they made awful teams. There were a few high tech players there when we played. Games consisted of us low techs versus what looked like a local team, with predictable results every game. Not what I paid for.

Safety: They have a chronograph station. Other than that, there was no explanation of rules, and as far as I can tell, no observation of the chrono. They did, however, make sure everyone going onto the field had masks, and that barrel plugs were used within the staging area.

Players: possibly my biggest gripe about this place. The players who were there that day were royal pricks. Many's the time I'd see a few shots land solidly on someone on the opposing team, only to see them duck behind a bunker and continue playing. bonusballing was the doctrine of the day for the high tech players there (the walkons, as far as I could tell, were having just as bad a time of it as my people were).

Prices: maybe the only redeeming quality. Admission (I THINK. don't quote me on this) was 20$, with paint being whatever you decided to bring. We didn't buy paint from them, but they seemed to have a pretty well stocked indoor pro shop. If you're looking for cheap paintball, this is the place.

CONCLUSION: Arena is best summed up by this: you get what you pay for. If you have a large party with your own players, and are looking to play on a low budget, then I'd highly recommend this field for its extraordinarily low prices. My experience as a walk-on was made miserable for the most part by the other players, though the miserable conditions of the fields didn't help at all. So IF you are a walk-on player like myself, or going in a small group as walk-ons, I'd advise you stay away from this place and go elsewhere.
Last edited on Sunday, November 1st, 2009 at 10:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zazor18 Sunday, October 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A whole mess of fields in NY, NJ, Chicago, CA, PA and so on.
Directions
to the Field:
Internet maps are your friend. I can tell you that it's right next to a cemetary
Review: I'm a rec player so my reviews tend to lean towards newbies and the happy go lucky players.

Field:
Decent field when they clean it up. There is an L-shape design that's used from time to time which adds to an interesting dynamic to the game. There is one field everyone plays on. When the field hasn't been cleaned up you have yourself quite a slip and slide session. Good for those who like to do that sort of thing...bad for those who desire traction. Bunkers could of used a good inflating but not horrible. It was pretty dark in there just as a note.

Safety:
Quite good on the chrono checks and goggle checks.

Refs:
They're ok and here's why. Not too good on the paint checks. But like I said before, good with taking care of safety issues but not very proactive on paint checks even if your screaming about a guy in the back right bunker who obviously has 4 to 5 shots showing. But they broke up the walk on teams into pretty fair groups.

Pro shop:
They got quite a decent amount of stuff there. Heard they have another pro shop 15 min away which is better than what they have on site.

Food:
Standard issue pizza or you could dig up a corpse if that's your thing. There are vending machines, mostly for drinks.

Price:
Entry is $25 and a case was $65.

In general:
The people I played with were a good lot. There was a very mix bag of young kids to young/older adults. There are no lockers but the parking lot is pretty accessible. Game turn over was at a nice steady clip that day. But too many people on that field gets really messy quickly. If you have a 5 on 5 man game it's a good field. When you have more than 10 on 10 it gets really small very quickly.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ipaint777 Monday, April 14th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins indoor, liberty paintball
Review: i love it here it has a great atmosphere the refs are awsome beucase they play after threr done and help in the game if needed and aer very clear in what tehre doing the pizza is amazing and the vending machines arent that bad the feild is awsome but the L sucks when there are noobs also they let whoever they know do whatever which kinda sucks if they dont lke you and the bathrooms suck but it doesnt matter becuase everything else is good but the big guy behind the airfill who is a butthole
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

::Juggernaut:: Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Indoor (Best field in Metro NY)
Cousins Coram (Sucks)
High Velocity Outdoor (Best outdoor field)
X-Factor (Sucked and is closed down)
Review: OK, so me and my two friends, one of my friends brothers and his friend went to play that play paintball there because we live close and my friend wanted to try it.

Let me start off by saying, the prices were rediculous for what you got, they charge just as much as cousins, you play less and the field is about 1/4 the size. The L is most stupid thing I have every seen! The service was OK but the enviroment there is a little hostile. I don't know if it was a one time thing but when I was there the owners son bunkered some guy and the owner almost got into a fight with the fella.

The Field- The field was really small but well maintained. They kept the field clean BUT the bunkers where all low on air. The snake was horrible, once you got there you couldnt move because of how deflated it was. The other thing was that they just poored all the walkons onto the field at once so it would be 15 vs 15 on a really small field, that wasn't fun. EVERYONE I shot wiped.

The Refs- Like everyone says, they suck...plain and simple.

OVERALL To make this simple, me and my two friends vowed to never go there again! Mainly because Cousins Hapaugge has a Pro size indoor field, you play more games and actually it is CHEAPER! At cousins you can get a case of paint for $45 which makes up for the high entry fee, it actually comes out $20 cheaper. And something that most people don't know, on wednesdays its $50 for a case, admission and free paint...and PROS play there...Russian was there a few weeks ago. Bottom line, no where that is within 2 hours compares to Cousins Indoor.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdude88 Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins- Great fields, WAY TO EXPENSIVE
HiVI- Its ok
Directions
to the Field:
Idk really, its near cemetaries and there is a terrible road near it
Review: Safety- Although many people think that the refs should have their masks on, they do give a legimate reason why they take them off. Their reason is so that everyone can hear them for an orientation of the field. Other then that, the safety is great, and the staff does look out for their customers

Field- They clean it between every round. Its a little small, but they do have an L when there is alot of people playing. It's a challenge for even the pros.

Hours of Operation- long hours, plenty of playing time normally

rules- safe, and fair for all

Proshop- The proshop is great, they have batteries, gloves, goggles, hopper parts, barrels, basically anything you need to play

Staff- All of them are extremely friendly, except for the fat guy at the fill station. 3 years playing at this field and he is always mean to me when i fill up my nitro tank.

Refs- Decent, but not the best cause they dont pay attention all the time. However, some are really there making the right calls and looking out for the players

facilities- bathrooms are terrible. little dirty but other then that its good. The staging area is big, but many dont think its big enough on fridays cause of the 200 people that come to play

food- Good pizza, they get 4-5 delieveries a day

Prices: Cheapest ever

I would definatly recommend this arena, its awesome. They have a store in Hungington Station call IPS (Island Paintball Store). The staff that works in there (usually same as in the arena), are very helpful and friendly. They dont BS you when u go in there, they will help u with everything, and go out of their way to find u the best quality in gear and paint. Also give you free passes to the arena when you buy stuff there

I needed help with my Angel once and they didnt even charge me for it, they just told me how to fix the problem, and they helped me with all i needed
Last edited on Saturday, April 7th, 2007 at 11:20 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HKplaya05 Wednesday, February 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Viegh
Cousins
Review: So i mostly play here on fridays cause thats the only day people are there to play with, and from what i have experened its a pritty bad place compared to the other places
Here are some reasons:

Safty: They safty is actuly decent, other then the fact that reffs will yell at people to put a mask on as they are standing there with no mask, also the fact that the reffs play when they should be watching the games, oh and cant forget how onetime i saw a reff shooting kids and they other reffs threw the holes that are in the net, that is suposed to protect the people behind it.

Fields: The field is really small, but on most nights they will use the "L" shape

Hours: on fridays they are pritty good 4-11

Price: $25 for 1 session, $30 for both and $45 - $80 for paint

Rules: dont really matter except for the mask that seems to not apply to the staff, and bunkering that also dosnt apply to the staff

Proshop: Only good thing about this field alot of stuff pritty much anything you need

Staff: some of the staff is pritty cool, like the guys that check you in, but others kinda suck, like the fat guy at the airfill, hes a d**k, ive seen him hit some of the reffs with swabs, and also some customers, ive also heard him curse at customers and give kids a hard time, like if a newer kid dosnt know why his gun isnt working that guy, thats getting paid to fix the guns there, wont

Refs: Wow worst part of this field, so here are why the reffs are bad
1. they play when they should be working
2. curse at the players
3. shoot players
Now if you play on a friday night and your high tech you probly know what im talking about when i say your lucky to play 3 games te whole night
when you finaly get on the field there is this one reff that always takes his time makeing the teams, he does Lowtech players on one side , then high tech and the other side of him and then the "tournament players" all 3 of them, then he takes his time splitting them up and makeing all of us wait
also last friday, when i was playing one of the last hightech games i saw that same reff almost get in a fight with a player, just remember too thats just one reff
i have also seen a reff with a promaster shooting threw the net at kids, i have seen another reff play

Players: what can i say some are good some are bad

Facilities: good luck trying to use the bathroom if your a guy, there is no lock on the door that just flies open

Food: actuly really good, the pizza place takes a lil long but its good food

all and all good luck playing here when the fat guy at the air station takes forever to fill your take, the reffs, suck at makeing fair teams, dont make calls, dont do anything at all

if you wana have a bad time playing paintball go to arena
Last edited on Wednesday, February 14th, 2007 at 1:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

grey88smokin Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Indoor, Cousins Coram
Review: Me and a friend arrived on sunday at about 1:30'ish. The place was packed, there were two partys and then the walkons. They let us play the first game, then when we waited for a party to play, when walking onto the field the second time they pulled us offline to chrono our guns. After that fiasco we were told to just jump on the one side of the field, that was great, there were like 7, 10 year old's behind the close bunkers.

My friend was being harassed by some fat A-hole that played div 1 and worked at the field, he was busting him about shooting too fast and shooting hot. This same dude hit me in the back of the hand and I had a glove on, my hand was swore the next day from that shot; so he was shooting pretty hot himself. This guy was basically mad because we were hitting him. To add to what a nice guy he is, with his 1800 dollar ego that he was bragging about, and he was using it to bonus ball the newbers with rentals. And also was wiping, so keep an eye out for this guy. He is kinda tall and has a beer belly like he is like 7 months pregnant.

Some of the reffs were paying attention and making calls, yelling to let hit players out, some were doing nothing. I actually yelled at one reff, I was shot in the back 2 or 3 times while walking off the field. Somebody with poor vision didn't realize my hands were up and kept shooting at me. In aggravation of this newber I turned around and shot back at him, he hid from me and I then yelled at the reff who just ignored me.

The rest of the staff seemed to be cool, the people filling HPA were friendly. I liked the place but it was very packed, way too many people behind the bags. They were keeping the field clean and actually were wiping all the paint off the bags too. I think this place would be better with less people because we did not get to play as many games as I would have liked.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media