paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fort Knox USA Paintball Field / Fort Knox USA Paintball Field / Fort Knox USA Paintball Field / Fort Knox USA Paintball Field

Fort Knox USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
71Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 574-946-4988
Address: 7485 N US Highway 35
Winamac, Indiana 46996
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
PainTBaLLMOFO1 Monday, May 2nd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 10th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz
PaintballPlex
Directions
to the Field:
Look it up.
Review: GREAT FIELD!
The staff there is great.
The fields are all clean and look like they have been taken care of, which is always good.
The paint is very low priced but you can also bring your own paint which is GREAT.
The big games are soooo much fun, they use the whole field the whole time.
The refs are decent, unlike some that can be complete dicks.
Safety is #1 priority there and they do a great job with that.
Price to get in is pretty good, $25 dollars for a walk on, and $25 if you prereg at a big game other wise its $35.

Sooo overall this is a great field!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brainsaw777 Sunday, January 9th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The only other field I have played at regularly is The Badlandz in Crete, IL. To compare however, I need to break down some differences.

As far as prices go, both of the fields are great. Low access prices and BYOP is excellent.

In field quality, Fort Knox is far superior. The buildings and bunkers are incredible. You can really tell that the owner of Fort Knox has put a considerable amount of time in designing and building his field to maximize the enjoyment factor for the players compared to The Badlandz where most of the field is disintegrating.

Field Facilities are also far superior and more taken care of at Fort Knox. Everything is clean and well kept and nothing seems to be falling apart.

That is all I'll say here.
Review: I've played at Fort Knox three times over the past 4 years. The first two times were with my church on a men's retreat and the third was for the April, 2010 "Chronostorm" Big Game.

The field is flat out fantastic. You can really tell that the owner wants the player to have as much fun as possible. The design and execution of the structures all over the field assure the walk-on player a variety of playing options and excitement.

It's like being a kid again looking at the pictures before you even arrive at the field. I got excited to play this field from just seeing it online. From the Castle to the Pirate Ship to the Wild West Town, this field is full of well maintained and super fun fields and buildings to play in, on and around.

The field is clean and well maintained. The same holds true for the up front buildings as well. You walk into a professional and comfortable registration building that is comfortable to for the players as well as the workers within.

I know that both times I came to Knox with my Church group we had a blast. The ref's were very good and knowledgeable and made sure we got as much trigger time as possible. They had a wide range of games to play as well as just the general firefights.

The only bad thing I've ever experienced at Fort Knox is the Big Game. With a large pond in the middle of the field it always came down to a standoff at either the Pirate Ship on one side and the Castle or the Bone Yard on the other side. There seemed to be no way around ending up in a standstill firefight in these two areas. The other bad thing about the Big Game was the missions, or rather the lack-thereof. My team is a missions oriented team. Yet no matter how many times during the day we'd ask our General for a mission, the only thing he ever told is to do was to guard the props. This lack of missions got very old very quick, but it was all we had to do for 2 days. Now don't get me wrong, the constant firefights were great. But if you're looking for something with different challenges throughout the day, then go elsewhere for a Big Game.

Aside form that one matter, I'd wholly recommend Fort Knox to any player, either beginner or advanced.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Truelove Tuesday, April 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 17th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at "Hotel of Death" and two of our own private fields and Fort Knox beats them in all areas except for price, ( the 3 other fields were free). I have not played at any other professional fields.
Review: I have been to Fort Knox twice now and both times i have had a great time. They stress safety which is good for everyone. The fields are well built with good quality material and are themed with ideas like Area 51 and Sherwood Forest. The only field i have any negativity towards( which is almost negligible) is the tire field which i feel is to dense with to many bunkers.
This April, at the request of many people, they had a two day event which i thought was an awesome idea. Camping was free and spacious. Fires are allowed as long as they are safe and contained.
As i have not played at very many fields i am not really qualified to compare prices but i have heard of other field prices and Fort Knox is relatively cheap. Many places require that a person buy paint from their field but Fort Knox allows players to bring their own paint, except for unsafe brands, which are posted at the main building. If a player desires they can buy paint from Fort Knox which is good quality and comparatively well priced, and kept at a good temperature. I recommend buying paint at their establishment daily because the changes in temperature throughout the day and night can cause the paint to become brittle if its cold or dimple or warp if its hot.
Also, the pro shop has basic equipment like mask and other accessories that can be bought, or rented if you have friends that don't have their own equipment, all of which is also reasonably priced.
Food is provided at around Noon for big games and is never more than 3 or 4 dollars for a good lunch.
The owner and his son are good people and wish more than anything for everyone to have a great time. The rules are fair and the teams well balanced, and the refs are also fair and usually easy to get along with.
All around Fort Knox is a great place to spend a weekend with good friends and meeting new ones. I would recommend Fort Knox to any player ready to have a great Time!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

impaulvk Monday, April 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
New to Indiana but have played elsewhere.
Review: Customer service is better than average. They are willing to spend time with the newbies to ensure everyone is safe and has a good time. The safety briefing and chono is required before play begins. The pro-shop has all the necessities. Great for a beginner but more experienced players will need to pick up higher end markers and gear elsewhere. (On big game days there other suppliers / teams there who can help you out) I didn't ask if they planned on adding to the store.

Fields are themed and can stand alone but all can be combined for the big games. For newer players the themes make for a better all around experience. Few newbies like playing on a speed field against professionals, all they do is get shot and that's not much fun. The management puts a lot of effort into creating their environments, not just building bunkers. They are building a new fort this year to go along with the pirate ship they just put in. Younger players enjoy the themes, while experienced players enjoy the angles / strategies. They have plenty of facilities, however some more indoor plumbing would be nice (Gripe, sorry).

Last time I was played, there were over 420 people and it wasn't crowded. During the play the teams became lopsided because of players leaving so they asked people to switch sides to make it more fair and fun for all. If you want to play with specific teams or friends, or even against someone, all you have to do is ask and/or register together.

The best thing about Fort Knox though is the price. Field fees are inexpensive compared to some of the others I have been to. I paid $45 for 2 days. They also let you bring your own paint (BYOP) if you have a preference or they sell paint at reasonable prices. No $80 boxes of field paint! Thank God! Obviously they have rentals so players can bring friends. If you pre-register for their big games it will save you more $.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntBallStar18 Monday, April 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All
Directions
to the Field:
35
Review: Biasis towards tourney players. Don't wear a jersey or let them know you have played tourney or you can forget about playing with your friends. Can find paint cheaper. Owners seem good at building stuff but don't know much about the sport. Usually have to many private parties going at once. My friends review was deleted so I decided to post one. It's a shame that only positive feedback make it on this site.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wall o' Paint Saturday, January 30th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Illinois Badlandz, which I thought was a lot dirtier and inferior to Fort Knox.
Review:
This was the second field I ever played at, and I truly enjoyed it. I'll start with the off-field experience. The place is very well maintained. Whenever I go, I see staff members going out of their way to pick up trash left on the ground. The pro shop they have there is very nice, it's like an old hunting lodge. It has a bathroom that is, again, very well kept(plus an outdoor john), and the prices are very reasonable for an average player, not just the professional. They stock 1 liter sodas, candy/energy bars, energy drinks, plus hot dogs and burgers on big game days. On top of all that, the shop stocks everything that a new player would need to rent, such as a gun, mask, camo, tank, etc. Oh, and free parking!

The playing experience is the best I've had, speed, urban, or woodsball. They have 8 fields(for now) and just finished an 80 foot long pirate ship that extends out over their large pond. The other fields are: Tire Ball, Junkyard, Castle(which eats up the paint, luckily, you can get a good case there for $30, and it's BYOP!), TeePees/Fort, Town, Boats, and an Old Military Base, AKA Area 51. Each of these are entertaining and well put together and maintained. The refferees there take their jobs of safety seriously. It's not like they're jerks or anything, but they will raise their voice if someone starts getting out of hand or keeps leaving their mask up on field multiple times. They never have a problem helping out new players. The players there are usually not too much of a problem because you don't have a lot of stuck-up pros there on open play days, but the competition picks up on the days of their big games, which draw hundreds of people from everywhere( I've played people from Florida there). It's standard paintball rules there, and guns have to be chronoed in at 280 or lower.

Overall, this is a great field that is competitive, yet friendly to all players. Facilities are great, as are the fields. I've never had a problem with the staff like I have with other places refs, and Fort Knox has the best prices in the area. Overall, I give it a 9 because I know there are other fields out there I've yet to try. Check this place out!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPARTAN,lawless Thursday, December 17th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at blastcamp and badlands. Both barly compair to this feild.
Review: This is a truely great feild. I,ve played their many times the refs are cooperative to what the players want to do. Geting in is a fast prosses just sign your name pay fee chrono your gun, find a ref, and play as simple as that. Over all they have various types of feilds from speedball to capture the flag at a castle to a firefight in the middle of an old western town. and at their events such as mobsters the entiar feild is in use and its just an amazing experiance. I give this a feild a 10 out of 10 simply amazing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crob1806 Sunday, October 25th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This is first time I went to play at a field and it was in a big game with over 100 people and had an absolute blast. The staff got me and my friend checked in right away, had are guns chronoed and were sent right to the insertion point. The field was excellent with plenty to hide behind. The castle and town of Deadwood were what most fought for control over which became staging points to take over another section. You couldn't beat the price to play with free air all day, the staff was very courteous and helpful, the refs did a great job, and every player that showed was a good sport without any problems. I'm definitly looking forward to going back and playing in the last big game of the season.

Go Green Team
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

RelativeAsh Sunday, August 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest, both are fun quality fields
Review: My team went to this field for their Command and Conquer big game. The field is not exceptionally large but the fields that they do have are quite fun to play on. They have a castle to attack and defend, a field full of old boats, an area made of old tires, and the best place to play in was their town of deadwood. The town is well built and allows for good spots to play from both from within and the outlying forest. The food is good and reasonably priced. There were no refs placed at the respawn but instead a clock was placed and we were informed at the beginning of the game that respawns were every fifteen minutes. At most fields this would mean no wave spawns because of the people cheating, however, yesterday this was not a problem, thank god. The only problem we had with this field was the air fills. They could not get their generator working to fill up to the 4500 they had advertised. At first it would only go to 3000 and by the end of the day it was only giving up around 2200. Although frustrating and annoying, this one detraction was immensly overshadowed by how much fun this field was. I highly recommend going to their big games!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

sixpak Tuesday, July 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
one's in iowa and privet land
Directions
to the Field:
north on 35 from winamac or south on 35 from bass lake
Review: to start fort Knox is by far the best non privet paintball field i have ever played at! I will start with the pros:
excellent well kept fields that are updated and added to often
good prices, BYOP and field fee is 25$ includes free air and co2 paint ranges from 44$- 60$ based on what brand of paint you want.
open every weekend 10am- 6pm
excellent service, my gun broke when i was playing and the helped me figure out what was wrong with it and let me barrow a rental at no extra charge!
refs where good could have been better but the had several refs gone when i played
exellent faciilities nice bathrooms and food.
cons:
well non really
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media