paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field / Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field

Cameron Speedway & Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 905-679-2122 (ext 30)
Address: 2633 Upper James (Hwy#6 South)
Hamilton, Ontario L0R 1W0
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
naughtydog49 Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
niagara tactical...paintball adventures (burlington)
Directions
to the Field:
Hwy 6 (Upper James St.)...Right next to the Go-Cart Track
Review: Great place to play..I liked the job the staff did in the proshop...The girl that fills the tanks and hands out the rental did a very good job explaining how to work a marker for the people that rented...The Refs did a pretty good job of getting the games going and also makeing sure people were playing safe...only complaint is that would be nice if they would call more people out that got hit...just seemed like if no one called a person out they were'nt going out on their own..other than that they did a really good job.....ok one more lil complaint..and i am sure there is nothing they can do about it...just wanna warn people to not step in any of the puddles if there happen to be any..cause if you do your gunna smell pretty bad after the day...It i outdoors so what can you say...Great Field .Will certain play there more often...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jackedman Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
Top end of Hamilton
Review: The staff there are very helpful and they explain everything to you even if you have your own stuff. They make sure you know the rules and how to use your marker. The prices are really good for paint and field entry too. They also seem have an proshop with markers of all price ranges. The refs ust dont stand in one place they move around and make sure everyone is ok with whats going on. All and all it a good place and worth the drive.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kjoe1992 Wednesday, January 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Soldiers of fortune
Directions
to the Field:
Google it. Gosh
Review: Ok well my first time here was for a tournament and they had it planned it really well. funny thing was that their were these 10 year olds there with egos! thats right Egos! not sure what kind but there moms were filling there hoppers! anyway back to the point. they have good fields. i like the first one right after you leave the shop because its so crowded and easy to move up on noobs. they also have a hyperball field and another random field with a bus which you can go in which is sick. the people their are nice, but sometimes i dont think they know what they are doing. Probably because its more for the go karts but i asked them for an allen key cus i lost the one i needed so i thought i could buy one before i left so i could clean my gun. they had know idea what i was talking about! all i said was 1/8 allen key is that so hard to understand! the prices are good and they have good paint on a regular day, when i went both times it was marbilizer, decent. and there proshop does have some nice things in there egos and alot of opsgear, and bushball stuff. Refs were pretty cool. and luckily this place isnt just one of those places where noobs play i've run into people with mini's upped ions and other nice guns even when it wasn't at the tourney. all in all i give it a 7/10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sk8ordiesod Tuesday, December 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
havent played other fields if ur looking for a team mate will b glad 2 join
Directions
to the Field:
straight up upper james past badlands
Review: this is is pretty good they have expanded alot adding 2 more fields and there pretty big but they dont have lighting there yet so when it hits dark u have to go to the small playing field but still goo up there. The prices r good for gun owners its 5 bucks and for rentals its 20 bucks with 100 balls. so im not a big talker i still am a beginer i have been playing for 2 years but i have only played about 12 times and they were with 14 16 year olds haha i am trying to get gatherens going in the new year so if u want to create one with me u can e-mail me at Sk8ordiesod@hotmail.com
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Col. Doubt Monday, July 16th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 19th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The following review is going to be completely based on my experience here, it is as unbiased as possible, and all information is true and factual.

My first time at this field was very short... my brother and I went, bought memberships (it was about the same price as a normal day play), and had a quick game. It was really nothing special.

The field: When we went there was only one main field. Very small (not even 1 acre) filled with a ton of blue barrels (and white ones) and a single two story building. The field itself was build poorly, sometimes I found myself on grass, others on top of concrete gouging out of the ground. No they have expanded there field much more, but I will not be returning to try it out.

Staging: Small trailer with part room, arcade, and small pro-shop. A waiting area, fill/rental area. Little to no staging are indoors, all is outdoors. Staging room enough for 50 players max. Room enough on the field for 20-30 players max.

Costs: The entrance is cheap, but so is the field. The paint is cheap... and so is it's quality.

So, my friends of my past team and I go to Cameron's for a cheap day of paintball. That was a mistake. First I get there, and I go to buy paint for my friends. So I go to buy the paint when I get interrogated about using my membership to buy paint for non-members (members get better quality paint). Of course I was going to... but apparently this is not allowed (set back #1), that OK. So, I get my paint (not the better quality though), my friends get theres and we head off to the field.

We get prepped and get ready to crony... each of us broke a paintball on our first shot, how weird. So, we clean and shoot again... we get more breaks and it takes us a while to crony in.

I should also add that the crony speed was 220fps. I didn't know that was possible. A lot of people had to cut springs to get the velocity that low. I don't even know if you can break a paintball on a person at that low speeds. It doesn't matter how small the field is... paintballs don't hurt. When they go slow the break less and bounces hurt more than breaks. The velocity should be at least 260.

We look at our guns, there are not problems so we go back onto the field. Well needless to say... we keep getting breaks. The balls are so bad, that the TAC8 breaks them by the force of the spring in the Magazine... So now we are getting pretty mad, we can't even play, and we already played.

All is not lost so far, things like this happen... so we go to talk to the field owner to straighten things out. So we approach Sean (or is it Shane...) and talk to him. First we ask if he could switch us to the better grade paint, not only would he not offer us to pay the difference and trade in... he actually told us we would have to pay the full price... so we asked if we could get new boxes of paint (thinking we got a bad batch)... he refused. Now he is being a horrible business man... he is not operating in the interests of his customers. We asked if he would return our money... even some of it, to which he said no.

Now, I don't know if we got him on a bad day... but we all walked out and never returned. To this day we tell all to avoid this place and go to S.O.F... it is by far a much better field IMO.

Cameron's is small, and more for little kids, parties, etc... The reffing is not the best, but it's not bad either. Like most field should be, they make sure everyone stays safe.

Some people like small little fields, playing with younger people, and people new to the sport. If this is true of you, then you may like this place. I myself cannot stand owners that do not appreciate there customers, and I had a very bad experience with this particular owner that just black listed this field in my books.

In the end I give this field a 4/10. The 4 points coming in play because of the amazing location, the go-karts, decent reffs, good prices, and because it's good for some people.

Unfortunately doubt does not give this field any thumbs up... how about a figure?
Last edited on Monday, July 16th, 2007 at 10:05 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

ghostteamleader Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SOF, Flag raiders. SOF-excellent. Cheap paint and rentals, and great fields. Flag raiders- EASILY the BEST paintball field i have ever played in my LIFE (although, it was a tad expensive).
Directions
to the Field:
Go towards maxim paintball and keep going.
Review: This field is good. Not excellent, but good. One of my favourite aspects of this field is that there is always action happening. Your almost always guaranteed to have big games, and your definately going to have a good time. Also, Shane is THE MAN. He replaced a trigger on my friends Ion in 2 minutes. pwn. x) BUT, the paint is pretty expensive. Here, at my last year birthday party, it costed $100 for 3000, but at SOF, it costed $60. If your going to have a birthday party, go to SOF. Also, this field is small. Very small. It leaves no room for strategy, but rather for huge firefights and getting a lucky shot, which is really fun... but doesnt let you show any of your skill. If you just want to have fun go here. Also, if your just starting paintball, come here. Make this place your first paintball game. Yeah, and well im done. 7 out of ten.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Daunting Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 14th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Hey, this is the second field I've ever played on (the first was some far away one like 4 years ago). I've been here 3 times and each time I enjoyed myself. The rental marker they give you is a Tippmann 98 Custom which doesn't sound TOO bad, but the stock barrel on it really does suck if you are shooting at anything past 15 or so feet. The refs are great, the guys (including other paintball players) are very friendly and helpful to everyone, including nubs like me :) The only bad expeirence I have is the last time I went there, when I bought 500 paintballs (I was with my brother and two other buddies of mine). I only used half the bag and (foolishly) left the rest on the bench in the safe area. I was on the far side of the field when I realized that I had forgotten my paintballs there on the bench so I ran back to grab them, only to find they were not there. A group of guys that were using that field had just left (these guys were COMPLETE JERKS! I hated them so much and it's hard for me to let this go because I had spent a lot of money). So I talked to the ref if he had seen them with the bag, he hadn't. I went in and caught them on their way out and searched their bags to no avail, although it was evident from the expression on all of their faces that they knew exactly what I was talking about. I suspect they simply used my paintballs up before I got there, I hate them for that. But just because it happened to me doesn't mean it will to you, just don't be forgetful like me and you will be fine. The guys at the pro shop were even cool enough to let me have some more paintballs and let me bring some from the previous time I was there. So all three fields were great. There is a big grass field which would be pretty good for some camouflage and has a really sweet set up. The main field is pretty cool too, it's a little smaller so the games go by faster and are a lot more close but still a huge rush. I recommend for the price of $15 per person (includes - Tippmann 98 Custom, mask, 12oz Co2, gravity hopper, and 100 paintballs) it's a sweet deal. I don't like the mask, they are simple $30 masks that fog pretty bad even after just a short game but if you have your own anti-fog one then deffinitely bring it. The prices are pretty good, $8 - 100pbs, $14 - 200pbs, and $28 - 500pbs and cheap refills on air for a $1 every 1000psi. You can have an awesome time for under $45 ($15 entry and 500 more paintballs) so I definitely recommend this field for anyone, new to paintball (like me) or experienced, it really is a cheap way to play good paintball! A firm 9/10! ***EDIT: Apparently (yet expectably) Cameron has really changed their fields for the better (adding in boats and buses and huts for cover) and have upgraded their Co2 tanks to HPA tanks and more! I read some of the reviews below mine and that is what they said, so I don't personally know but for what I've been reading from "canadian-baller" in his review, things have really changed for the better. This just makes me want to go even MORE! :)
Last edited on Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 at 8:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

T.A. Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
(none)
Directions
to the Field:
take Mud st. all the way to upper james, turn left and then follow the road all the way to camerons
Review: This field rocks! the Pro shop all though isnt fully stocked they have a great selection and theyll order things if they dont have it, the refs are very talkitive and informative funny too at some times. the players, they are cool and funny, even if you go buy urself you'll meet friends in the first 10-20 mins, and theres always a good mix of newbs and skilled players. And if you get a membership for 35$ plus tax you can get the balls for about 3-4$ less, free admission, and free co2 and Air, the food is good buy a lil pricy, all in all its a sick field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder monkey Friday, November 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
s.0.f
paint ball adventures
plan on going to area 51 b.y.o.p
Directions
to the Field:
take upper james to calidonia and come right across it
Review: the field pretty good the refs are fair gun prices are good "sry to say not better them maxium paintball " but max doesn't have a field anyways ye i don't like the paint prices i find em pricey kinda but i still go an have a good time 8-100 14- 200 500-28 the only thing i really don't like about this Field is that they never! change there setup and at night not much lighting an for me i don't like to much cover i like some not allot this place has allot... of cover all blue barrels other wise its a great field in my eyes
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nOob_101 Sunday, October 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball nation - CRAPPY field just go to this one (in spring/summer/fall only because it is outdoor)
Directions
to the Field:
No idea... google maps is your friend
Review: I just went to this field today.... it's great! Only played for about three hours but had a lot of fun. Favourite field yet. The prices are the best I have seen yet, and the fields are extremely well set up and really fun. There are three fields so you don't have to use the same one every time. My favourite, though, is the second one. I love camping in the school bus - I owned like 5 people like that! They also don't allow full auto there, so you won't get hit a trillion times... only a million LOL. There is also laser tag and a go kart track at the same place. (hence the name Cameron SPEEDWAY and paintball)

The proshop is also really good... great prices for good guns. I plan on buying my gun there. (They have pretty good food at low prices there as well) The refs are really good too.


Bottom line: Go there! I really can't find anything bad about this field. Just make sure you don't get hit in the ass accidently by a newb friendly guy. (happened to me) Hope this review is helpful.

10/10
Last edited on Monday, October 2nd, 2006 at 7:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media