paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
73Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (203) 238-2875
Address: 998 North Colony Rd.
Meriden, Connecticut 06450
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
liltim1226 Friday, May 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
our own man made fields, doesn't compare to hogans one bit.
Directions
to the Field:
well, if you come to a train track crossing/intersection your close, stop and ask for directions if you need them.
Review: First off let me say one thing, people must stop whining about people being mean here. Yes at times they can be quick with you and sarcastic bas**rds, but your here to play paintball, not get treated like your there child. I played here just once the other day all day and I was yelled at once to put my mask on when i was already starting to put it on by some guy in the chrono. it pissed me off because it was my first time there and my first word heard form one of their employees and i heard a lot of bad things about hogans from this website so i figured well here we go, but then remebered, im here to play paintball. once i got on the field the players were friendly, and everyone was in a good mood cause we were all there to paintball and have fun. ill break it down.

Players- all seemed to be very friendly. i had a good time with everyone there. met a few cool kids there and stuck with them for a good part of the day. A

Refs- they try to equal up the teams as best they can. i think they should put a little more thought into it though, because one game i played was me with a pm6, my buddy with a ion and everyone else on our team with tippmanns and such. and the other team had all high end guns pretty much. but a challenge is good. A-

Employees (shop staff)- the air guy was friendly and cool to talk. he even let us get a refill in our tanks when they were about closed for 10 minutes or so (though we had free refills). one guy in the store was kind of sarcastic and sort of a wiseguy. i witnessed him act in a quick sort of rude manner. B-

Fields- the fields they setup were nice. the nppl format one where the tournament was held the next day was awesome, and the xball field was great too. one field wasn't blown up when we got there and for the day. they shouldve put the nppl field on the xball field because the xball field has a larger area it seems. A-

Prices- the prices on their gear and clothing items seems a bit overpriced. all i can really say about this section. B

Overall id say this field is a nice field. don't go there to get babied because you wont. your expected to know what to do when you go to play paintball. if you need assistance ask someone in the store and hope you get a nice person because chances are you probably will but there may be one of the sharks that you run into. so my letter grade for them will be a B / B+
Last edited on Thursday, May 10th, 2007 at 6:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

weeweeman Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I think that hogan's is a great field. Most of the players there are nice and there paint is not too expensive but it isn't the best priced. I think its great that you can bring your own paint to the field which is what i do when i get a good deal on paint. All of the people there are great and all of there fields are fun to play on. I think hogans is a great field and almost all of the time everyone there is pleasant to be around.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

soxfan129 Friday, March 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i play woodsball by a river
Review: i am going to be as non- bias and fair as i can.

OK Hogans Alley Paintball is an ALRIGHT paintball field and store. Their hyperball field, i thought, was kind of cool, but their woodsball fields plain out stunk. Their woodsball field was an open chunk of land, with a airplane on one side, a building in the middle, and a wooden tank on the other side with alot of small trees and bunkers on the perimeter. i only played on their hyperball field and woodsball field, but the other fields looked kind of fun, depending on you.

As far as prices- Their prices, I thought, were are rediculous. They sell only the pro level paint, like XballGold whick is like $80 for a case, its $25-30 admission if u bring ur own paint, $10 admission if you buy their paint. And you need to spend at least $40 to get a decent players package. Which includes the marker, mask, CO2, pods, etc... Their air refills, i think are fair. it is $3 for a CO2 tank, any size, and $1 for every 1,000 psi filled in an airtank(3,000psi is $3. 4500psi is $4.50). But, basically, everytime you play there, you are probably looking at spending between $40 and $100.

As far as the employee's well, some are total jerks and others are really nice people that will gladly help you with whatever you need. I go there all the time to fill up my airtanks because the local Dick's only does CO2. Now, an example of the employees is one time i go. i need to fill up my 68/4500 smartparts nitro tank with attached smartparts maxflo. One of the guys fills it up, he sees i've got an angel so he comments on how nice it is for being an older model, he notices a few things, tells me upgrades that would work great with my gun and he was talking respectfully and importantly, in terms I could understand. On the other hand, there are guys who basically try to nickled and dimed you on everything.


All in all, hogans alley is an okay place to go to play painbtall with your buddies or whoever. Their prices, i think are expensive, but, seeing how much everything in painbtall is these days, most people would think their prices are fair. Their fields, in my opinion, except hyperball, flat out stunk. But if you want to play paintball or just see what it is like, i would recomend Hogans Alley, they have about every painbtall item you can think of, MOST employees there are kind and respectful, and even in a really bad field, as long as you play, paintball is still a fun sport.

Hogans gets a 7 outta 10 from me, but that is only because of their fields, the fact they only sell the expensive paint, and that two or three employees are total jerks. other than that, Hogans is still a great place to play paintball
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shootemupfool Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
matt's outback paintball.
Directions
to the Field:
in the middle of nowhere
Review: okay, this place has to be the biggest joke in paintball, there refs are a bunch of squids, hands down this field and shop is all about favoritism, sadly enough, this place makes you hate the sport more and more... if you want to get ripped off badly, then this is the place to go, they don't care about your hard earned money they just want to take it. After my experience with this place and seeing some kids get charged $10 to take there gun out of a mode, BULL!!! During a Very expensive tournament, every team was pretty much treated like crap, but the regular home teams where going fine. "go figure" this place is the worst experience, and a joke. the fields were crap and on a serious hill, your more less playing battle of bunker hill on there speed ball field. The employee's of this development are extremely unprofessional, rude, and obnoxious. no matter what you say they are doing wrong, they bark back with sarcasm and do not take there job seriously. The refs for instance do not even acknowledge a hit, I had to scream at the top of my lungs to be heard, and yet i was still ignored for a paint check.
i agree 100% with thejudge on hogans alley, they are very unfair with there prices, along with the shop looking like a shack. DIRTY!!!!
coming to my point, if you want to leave a paint ball field pissed off, this is the place to go. theres more honesty playing in your back yard then there is at this dump.
Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 9:08 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheJudge411 Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Matts Outback
Review: The safety of this field was horrible. There was ice everywhere...covered by wood chips. So many people were falling over at the tournaments twisting ankles and everything. The playing conditions were unsafe, their X-ball field was up a hill to one side so the bottom down there was a big mud puddle with bunkers in it. That made the games unfair. Their prices are out of control. They charged a couple kids 10$ to switch their guns into semi auto. Their rules were so strict, which could be a good thing. But my team lost 50 poitns for some random guy comming up and putting the barrel abck onto my gun with NO BOLT IN IT! no air source no hopper...just the barrel. Their fields were tiny and open, you couldn't move withouit getting shot. The refs sucked. They were making biast calls, they're refs should go back to school...In a tourney a ref was blocking me shooting at him. Then after the ref finished helping the guy put his hopper back on the guy simply leaned out of his bunker and shot me without looking...how? The Ref TOLD HIM where i was!! People outside the mathc saw the ref talking to him and point at me. You would think they make enough money for selling their paint at 65$ a case and profilers for 90$...gloves for 50$ to give out free hotdogs like matts outback does...for selling the same paint for 50$ and otehr stuff for about 1/2 the prices! I mean one$ for a hotdog isn't bad but when you spend 120$ right before that and mommy doesn't pay for everything its either not shoot as much as you want to or eat. Its just an overall bad experiance there. No one from my team or any of my friends are ever going back there again. When we confronted the owner of the place about his refs he said "So?"
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

bilabongsk8 Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: January 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Matts outback
Review: This is a great place to play, they have something for everyone. They have a great shop with tons of equipment and guns. The techs are great, the best is dennis. The fields are ok, but there kinda small. The reffs are pretty good, but sometimes slack off a little, but who can blame them. the x ball field is pretty much where everyone is. Sometimes the games get way to big for the field but its fun. there is a ton of types of players begginers woodsballers etc. The people there are pretty cool and everyone is usually really friendly although there are some stupid kids that walk around and think they own the field which gets really anoying. Overall its a good field.

Im going to have to give the field a 8 because sometimes the field arent set up very well and sometimes theres not enough reffs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

black_cel0590 Saturday, February 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SlatterZone-Much better, but its an indoor field so its like apples and oranges imo.
Matts Outback-about the same, imo i like the Hogans atmosphere better
Review: Safety-
Super Tight as far as goggles are concerned. Refs practicly scream when a player removes his or her goggles while on the field. People can call them mean all they want, I would rather be yelled at than have my face mowed off. Barrel condoms, they are a little bit less strict about it once you are on the field, but generally the players put them on when they aren't playing. However, they are strict about having one on at all times in the staging area. Chrono, depends on the ref, more on that later.

Fields-
six total.
Personally, I only play on the Hyperball, Xball and Ultimate air. There are 2 woods fields and a spool field though. The Xball field is priority.

Prices-
Average

Services-
Play,Repair, Buy/Rent.

Proshop-
HUGE-Lots of markers to choose from. Top brands like Dye, Eclipse, WDP etc. Lots of used markers too. Also a good selection of gear and beginner level equipment. Prices are a little high but they will match anyone who sells it cheaper if you show them the site. Good techs, Dennis being the best imo. They had more but for some reason they went on to different things.

Staff-
Here's my biggest problem.
The MINORITY of the refs do not play paintball, and do not do a good job. They don't call people out or chrono people. BUT, the refs who do play and know what they are doing are great and helpful. They call people out and try to make the teams as even as possible. Its too bad that there are just a few who mess it up for the good refs.

Players-
All different kinds, woodsballers and tournament players, all kinds of skill levels with all kinds of markers. Clique teams are a myth, considering less than half of the players that go there are not even on a true team. Some players do get treated differently but the rules still apply to them. They might get to get past the chrono if they chrono once but that's only if they are truly trust worthy.

Facilities-
Proshop to buy, rent, get stuff fixed.
Bathrooms.
Target Range.
FREEPLAY on Hogans Alley Video Game
Players Lounge on request

Food-
OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG, Phil's Hotdogs are the best in the world!!!!!
Vending Machine inside.
Drink Machines Outside

One of the best fields in CT. Don't let the poor reviews fool you, come play here, there's something for everyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Matrixrailkid Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This feild is the best imo. It so much fun. The refs go out of their way to help you and the pro shop is amazing. They are a little tight on the safety. But nothing to complain about. They have i believe like 4 or 5 feilds. A selection anyone can pick from.

Great place. Try it out.
Last edited on Monday, February 5th, 2007 at 2:32 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

CT Mafia Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extremepaintball (waterbury), Eastern paintball, Mattsoutback, Splaterzone
Review: allright all the previous reviews are very inaccurate and some of the bad things have changed so let me write a more updated and truer review....

Okay Hogans Alley is located in Meriden and can cleary be scene by a big sign unlike MattsOutback,Eastern,Extreme paintball this way you will know where it is and if you passed it. Hogans Alley has a big parking lot that can fit tons of cars and ussually so many people come to this popular place some cars have to park on this grassy hill near the parking lot. This is rare for most feilds but the front of the building is painted in a very cool moral, it is a giant painting and has great detail to it you can check it out at google by searching Hogans Alley Paintball or check otu their home site. Hogans has a pro shop so what ever you need they got and have a supply of items in stock. There prices are reasonably cheap and if you have seen a item cheaper online and want to get it fast go to hogans and they will match your price. Alot of people complain about the paint prices and diffrent brands of paint which range between Diablo Heat $50 to Marbs 70$ but other feilds charge $50-60 per a case and have a lmited supply of diffrent brands of paint. If you can not afford that then you can pay $25 for entry and bring your own paint from anywhere instead of paying 1$5 for entry and their paint. The air smith which is usually Charley is a good person and runs the air stations which you can fill either C02 or Nitrogen each fill is $3 or you can get all day air for $10 when you buy your entry. If you wanted to you can buy a season pass for $250 which you will get free entry one year from the exact day you bought the pass which luckly hogans is open year round rain or shine. Along with free entries you get free air for a year. Along with the greatness of the season pass you won't have to fill out anymore waivers which you must sign at hogans even if not playing! Hogans also does rentals for groups of people. You get all the gear neccasary to play, either a tippman or impluse, and you get 500rnds of air for $40-50. When you get a rental parties you get your own reserved feilds in a way. When you are rental party you do not have to play with the rec ball players you can play with just the group of people you brought and you can play what ever feild you want kicking the rec playes off the feild for a while. Hogans has a tech area where they can fix your gun,hopper,tank,etc. If the techs aren't that busy they can fix it right there for you depending on the situation with your problem if they do not have time you can leave it there over night until it is fixed. The techs are very good and know what they are doing sadley though they have lost a couple good techs and are running the fixing slower than usually. In Hogans store they have a target range where you can shoot your gun to see if the problem is fixed or incase you where intrested in a certain gun and wanted to shoot it before purchaseing. Onto the staging area, when you walk to the staging area it is all woodchips and there are wood benches everywhere lined up and a tent over most of the benches to protect gear from rain,sun,snow,etc. The staging is protected from the feilds by a 15 ft tall Net which clearly stops any stray paintballs from getting in the staging area. In the far right corner of the staging is the chrono area. There is a big sign before the chrono saying googles down. you walked into it and chrono with the big red chronos. the limit for fps (feet per secound) is 280 or lower. Other reviews saying about people shooting way above the limit is false! false! false! we have a chrono reff (it's not the same person everytime)he checks every gun and makes people lower it if to high. We even have allen wrenches both metric and standard along with open end wrenchs for ions and other guns who use them. There are some people at hogans that get by the chrono becuase they know the reff(s) but when that happens that means the reffs trust that person and know he is under the limit. Some reviews mentioned these people as "click teams" or "usuallys." This is true there are usually players and teams that go to hogans on a basis but don't other feilds have ussually teams/players as well such as eastern,matts!, and pbmaddness? (the answer is yes) "Click teams" some said they get specail privledges with refferes or owner saying they get to stay in and ramp and stuff. That is a lie no reffs let a person play on even if they know the player well, they will call him out if they see a hit or ramping. (only semi-auto allowed at hogans) The reffs all do a good job they check players when asked or needed, try to even help players out with tips and sometimes coaching which is completly legal unless someone asked them to stop. There was one review that said the reffs during woods do not do anything which is somewhat true. They got new woods netting area for hit players to go without the question of players wondering if he is out. The reffs do tend to stay in the area now and rarley go out to check a player(s) but in these woods the reffs would end up getting shot head to toe to just check one player so they relay on a players good nature to get out or check him self. (only applies to woods) Also another great things about these reffs are they care about saftey so much. They do yell alot and it may seem mean but when a player takes off his mask it is not funny they will yell at him and tell him mask down and not only the reffs do this the good atmosphere of the players tell the person. When a player gets out they cleary yell he is out and tell them to stop shooting at him that way no one is bonus balled. The reffs are highly trained and know what they are doing. Some of the reffs names are Edgar,Nappy,G,Bosco,Dennis incase you where wondering and they are the best reffs out there and know what they are doing. The feilds are all good. There are two woodsball feilds one of them located at far end of all the feilds and the other located at the end of spools. Some say they are bad and others say good, it's your own preference but one has a Airplane which is real, it is broken and wing is teared off but makes a great bunker, there is also a wood tank and a house, and many foxes, trenches. They have a spool feild which is pretty big but some what like a maze for some. They have a mini speedball feild incase a few people want to start a game. There is a Hyper feild which is a very good feild located the last feild before woods. Their last feild is there most favored X-ball feild. The feilds are all on woodchips for turf except for woods. The woodchips aren't the greatest things but better than dirt and make a soft impact. There are rocks in some places which cause a hazord but may be drilled out soon. (still pending) Some called the area between the feilds "Chicken Wire." Now it is planks of woods nailed together and some do have some paintball netting. You can not take off your mask between feilds only when in staging for obvious saftey reasons. One review was talking about a major flaw in hogans is no spectatory area except for the staging where you can watch spools. If you would really want to watch people play hogans will ussually allow you to borrow one of their rental masks that way you can go on the feild and spectate. Hogans Alley gets the most customers in CT and that gives hogans the best compition around.


In General go to hogans and learn this is a more accurate review.
Last edited on Monday, February 5th, 2007 at 2:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

beastwitapm7 Friday, January 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
friends houses places in hamden
Review: some of the feilds are ok the woods ball feild are horrible. the refs just sit there n pick there nose all day. i shot one kid like 5 times and he just wiped it off n i said hes hit hes hit but of course no ref cared. some of the feilds have rocks galore everywhere i slid n brusied my knee really bad. they hav people that suck up to the refs and emplyoyees and get free stuff. their paint price they jacked up through the roof. every price that they have on tanks and stuff like that is like 50 bucks more. they have good gear there though. some of the pople there are just complete JERKS!!!! i was with my friend and he asked to fix his gun and my friend said if it will cost money dont fix my gun because i dont have any more money on me. so he said ok took the gun fixed it n gave it back and said that will be 10 bucks. my friend said i told u dont fix it if it will cost money cuz i dont have any more money on me. so he snaped back at him and said just take this f***ing thing i dont want to see this s*** ever again. but some of the guys there are pretty nice. though. also the refs there let their freinds just walk through without testing their guns and put their guns on full auto and 400fps and dont care. also all lot of people there just keep shooting and shooting you and the refs of course dont care. also when i had my smart parts ion it leaked and i had to leave it there to be fixed. it tokk them like 3 days to fix it when i picked it up and got home i noticed that my firebolt was missing and my virtue qev kit was broke but was replaced, i also called back and said my firebolt was missing and the stock bolt was in they said o i forgot to tell you about that ill replace it for you. like he really didnt forget. also dont leave your stuff laying around my friend left his brand new pm6 laying around for like 30 seconds and got stolen when he returned. its a good place to play if you bring freinds if you dont all lot of people will bonous ball you a lot and wont care. its a good place if you live in the area, i do so i go a lot.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media