paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
73Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (203) 238-2875
Address: 998 North Colony Rd.
Meriden, Connecticut 06450
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
weihl165 Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I recently went to hogans ally to have my gun worked on and to look around there sho and fields. I have been hearing good things about them and wanted to check the place out. I called the night before I went down to explain that i was having problems with my gun and if somebody would have time to take a look at it if I drove down there. I live over an hour away form the shop. They said sure com-on down. Once I got there i walked in the shop and whoo it was pretty big and they had tons of stuff. The first person to ask if I needed help, I explained the situation, i called the night before and somebody said come down and we would look at the gun. He then asked another kid behind the counter and he looked at me and said there is no way we can look at your gun today. So i said i called and somebody said come down and we can look at it., and that i live over an hour away. He then says hey dad, this guy is having problem with his gun, he then comes over and picks up my marker and pulls on the bolt a few times and says feels like some resistance but we wont know till we take it apart. The kid then says well i told him last night that if he came down then we would look at for him. The kids dad them looks at him and me and says well i just did look at it, with a big smile on his face. They said I could leave it there and they would not be able to get to it for 48hrs. Needless to say by this time I was steaming. They have very bad customer service and not a very nice bunch of guys to deal with. I will never step foot in that shop or on that field again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

tviz Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NONE
Review: Lets break this down in to a few catagories

Prices----paint is overpriced and you have to pay $25 as opposed to $15 if you want to use your own paint. Paint is $10 overpriced per case as compaired to a local pro shop.
4/10

Fields---- Good airball fields, good hyperball, spools were cool also, never went into the woods, 8/10

Staff---- M A J O R jerk and ass problem here, refs didnt call me out with 3 breaks on my shoulder which i didnt feel due to adreniline and a thick sweat shirt, opponent called for paintcheck and no one came. They are SUPER asses in the rental and fill areia. In the shop my friend had a berral on his gun with no plug, it had no power source attached, safety on, finger not on trigger, pointed to air, and no hopper, the guys are like WHOAH WHOAH WHOAH put that down as if there lives were in danger. Refs seam nice but seam to only look out for themselvs. Upon going for a second time the peaple seam nicer 4/10

Players----NOt as bad as i have heard, no major problems here, but bewarnd the people are generaly good and you will get lit up if you suck 7/10
Last edited on Sunday, December 24th, 2006 at 5:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

patton449 Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Strategy plus (best woodsball, but cant compare to hogans in terms of speedball)
Splater zone( nice indoor field, but prefer the outdoor fields)
Review: Hogans alley is one of the best fields i've ever played on. Its got a great shop, the people are nice and friendly, The hot dogs are great, and the fields and staging area are the nicest in CT. All of the fields are well kept, and you can find a good game for what ever type of paintball you like. I have played on every one of their fields and i love them all. It might be a little on the pricey side(which it aint that much higher than any other field) but its definatly worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Amann445 Wednesday, November 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Matt's Outback- Best in CT. Take the trip its worth it.
Review: Well, let me say that the only reason I frequented this field as much as I did was because it was the only real field around and I thought beggars couldn't be choosers. After experiencing a other fields in the area and outside the state I can say I regret ever putting so much money into this field. Lets go through in order.

Store- Good size, usually have a good selection of what ya want or need, but alot of items usually are overpriced. The staff is knowledgeable but usually un eager to help unless your a member or a friend of theirs. If you have a question about something they usually answer in a tone that seems to put ya down for not knowing. I went to trade in one of my markers, and they offered me $50 for a trade in. While it wasnt the greatest marker, I was staring at the wall behind him while he told me the trade in price, only to see the exact same marker, used, being sold for $180..... So ya... enough said on that. Paint is priced way to high, and admission is decent depending where you normally play.

Fields- 5 Fields total... Well at least thats what there is SUPPOSED to be. The netting between is supposed to stop balls from getting through but ultimately fails.
Two air fields, a hyper pipe, spool field, and a woods field. Of all the times I have played there, I have only seen one of the two Air Fields up. Its usually one or the other, but never both. Decent set up of the air fields, and the bunkers are usually fully inflated and tied down. Spool field... a joke. Only people who play it are rental groups or when there are way to many people to play on the other fields.
Hyperpipe Field- A good field, decent set up and size.
Woods field...... Ehh. Decent bunker set ups, a small house and a plane fuselage. People will inevitablly like to hide behind the plane but its a huge dead hole, once your there your usually stuck there for the game unless you get a big chance to move.

Staff- This is the biggest hit to the field. The staff is completely useless. They don't make calls, or pull people, half the time they just sit there and watch. While they are pretty good at catching kids in outside the fields without plugs or condoms or catching kids taking their masks off in the fields and correcting them, it all seems to say that they don't care about the games themselves but just about making sure they're own asses are covered. In one game I was sitting out on the sidelines, and was standing next to a ref, one kid got hit in the hopper right in front of us, wiped and moved along, I looked at the ref and asked "are you gonna call him out" and he said to me "no, no one else saw it, why bother....." So ya.... Another classic story is in the woods field when one guy was sitting behind the tape out of bounds and shooting people out, aboout two feet to the left of the ref and he didn't do anything about it, he just left and started talking to some kid.... yup...

Other players- This is a sorely overlooked area when reviewing on this site. Most of the players boil down into two categories, either A. Members who are loved by the refs and are often allowed to get away with alot of stuff, and B. little rich twelve year olds who's parents buy them angels and stuff and just sit there with full auto on. Ya, ohh and if your not playing with people you know, expect to be bonus balled to hell and back.....

Overall- The field set ups are good, but other than that, there isnt much to go here unless your paying your membership fee's and get perks, oh ya, memberships, wayyyyyyy to pricey. I wouldn't reccomend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skate-emerica14 Saturday, October 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hornets Nest- Ancramdale, NY.

This field compared to Hogans Alley was 10 time better.
Review: 1. The so called "professional shop" - an alright store that carrys a good selection of paint but is way to over priced for what it's worth. The gun repair tech is one of the most unprofessional persons to be an employee of Hogans Alley. There service includes hassle of being ridaculed for not knowing a certain problem and being basically put down because someone doesn't know something. The staff is rude with answering questions about certian items of clothes and their items are overly priced.
2. The field- a decent X-ball field with good bunkers and good layout. Other than that theres nothing else better to this field. Im not to experienced with speedball which is what I play mainly but what I saw here was completely garbage. There are rocks and stumps in this field all over. I slide into a back can and sliced my knee open pretty good, through my JT paintball pants. There is tons of weeds and woodchips all over the place to make it a pain in the butt to slide into without eating a bunch of dirt and chips. To seperate the differant fields which are pretty close together they have a chicken wire like fenceing. If you are a spectator you almost feel you need to know how to dodge paint just to watch and enjoy the game. People here have really fast guns even in Semi-auto and put alot of paint into the crowd. The wire breaks the paint alright but the main shell is still gonna hit you. The other fields I have been to provide a netting that paint WILLNOT go through.
3. The refs- were pretty much a worthless item added to the paintball field that was just there to look good. They were worthless were if you asked for a paintcheck they either ignored you. If you got a ref over to your direction they just stood there and said you were fine. I got hit in the pack and that I didnt feel. I got yelled at because the ref was too lazy to come over and take me out of the game. They also stand behind an orange shield always, almost to affraid to take a couple of hits. The refs also help out usually the opponites, telling them when to snap shoot, when to move up, were people are at and what not.
4- Saftey- at Hogan's Alley personally I think it is there biggest acomplishment to make money and not care about saftey of people. The chrono was to be set at I think 280 FPS but the ref let you go if you were shooting 290 or a little higher. Barrel condoms only have to be worn whenever you feel like you want to put them on. People were firing thier gun pretty much 20 feet next to the spectators. These people where not even on the field. The only thing I admit was good there was they yelled at my friend who took off his mask to clean because he couldn't see due to a downpour that the staff felt was alright to play in.


All in all I would have to say if you want to play at Hogans Alley try to go somewhere else and play rec. If you want to play a tourny think about trying only if your marker is an $600 gun or more and your expeirence is VERY VERY great. The variety of items they have here is great but for the same price you can go onto a wholesale paintball website for lower the price and shipped to you. This place is a very low rating in my book. I hope this comment helps out whomever wants to play at Hogans Alley.
Last edited on Sunday, October 15th, 2006 at 7:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

promasta balla Thursday, September 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
extreme paintball
my own speedball field(copmlete with kingman bunkers and a snake.....AND TURF and netting and a smallish staging area and sometimes complementary food from my dad.... yes i am 14 but i have had alot of people come to my field that play at hogans that say MINE IS BETTER RUN and i dont charge so.......I AM NOT TRYING TO RUN HOGANS DOWN I JUST STARTED MY FIELD AND INVITED PEOPLE TO COME I HOPE THEY DONT BAN ME
.................also i have a 2 big woodsball fields with plenty of pallets and forts and some trenches and foxholes

and if any one would like to play at my field
Directions
to the Field:
go down north colony rd and ull find it very easy
Review: THIS FIELD IS PATHETIC..........I AM NOT DOING THIS ON PURPOSE!!!!

anyways i had some jerk steal 15 paintballs from me, i mean i really dont care but some of the people that go their stoop down really low .... i could have given him those paintballs if he asked because i am friendly and now i dont think i will play their again

THEIR PROSHOP IS HIGHLY OVERPRICED BUY YOUR PRODUCTS AT actionvillage.com.com
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

p8ntbaljunkie18 Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
extreme
Review: well since it is the only decent field in the area I can't really complain about it too much. It is important that you have some kind of knee pads because the rocks on the field are brutal. I saw a kid cut his shin down to the bone on a rock there. The refs at hogan's usually just sit around and do nothing. Sometimes we have to start our own games. The paint prices could also be a lot cheaper but everyone usually just buys heat. The tourneys there are okay, but the reffing could be better. Also make sure that you buy your paint early because there was only one box left at the last tourney. the woodsfield sucks and unless you play speedball don't bother going. people also ramp like crazy... Honestly the best part about the field is the $1 hot dogs that they sell every day... becareful with you stuff too because so kid got his brand new DM6 jacked right out of his bag when he wasn't looking... i wish there was a better field in CT so i wouldn't always have to go to hogans...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

ckarter Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: my brother and his freinds play here alot and really like it.
i dont live in the area so ive only been there twice
i didnt play the woods but the sup air course was very nice.
also the hyperpipe field was nice
there are also refs out at every game so games are always in control
the store was big, and very nice, but the only problem i had with Hogan's it that the prices are pretty high.
all and all id recomend playing here if your in the area
good staff,good fields
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hockeypaint7 Monday, June 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Eastern Paintball, Matts Outback, Camelot Paintball, Prospect Paintball, Stamford, and more
Review: Hogans as a store is pretty good but they have there down falls. if you need to get your gun fixed dont count on them calling you when its ready because they never do. another thing is that hongas has there own little group of "regulars" who play there every weekend and kiss ass with the employees to get free stuff. another thing is that 95% of the people that work there are jerks, i cant say everyone is because there are a select few that are nice guys but everyone else is a jerk if you dont know them. i have sat at the counter waiting for help for over an hour and employees are eating candy bars and BSing in the back looking right at me and they dont care that i need help. As a whole the store is 50/50 the employees suck but the prices are decent. then theres teh fields. the hyperball field is there best field because it never changes but the down side is that they dont take care of it, there are rocks everywhere and the ground is kinda covered in woodchips and the rest is dirt and weeds. The air fields are ok but they are like hand me down fields that were used pretty hard in the past. A MAJOR WEAKNESS of hognas is there is no where for spectators to watch without getting a mask on and going onto the field and risking getting hit by paintballs. another down fall of hogans is there tournements. They try and enforce tight rules when they go over them in the captains meeting but when it comes down to actually enforcing them the reffs dont. i have had numerous instances where a paint check is asked for and a ref does nothing. The refs are just hogans employees and as i said before they have there own little click at hogans so if your playing against a team in the click dont expect to get any breaks. the refs in all are just TERRIBLE!!!!. the tournement style there is just terrible, if they are going to make rules they need to enforce them on everyone not just the people they dont know. so in a nut shell hogans is a paintball field/store with tons of issues, my advice is if your looking for a good store and a good place to play, saty away from there because the only good review this place gets is from the people in there click. if you dont believe me go find out for yourself. thats why i give hogans alley a 1 out of 10 for a rating and will never play there or give them my money again and i know plenty of people that feel the same way.
Last edited on Monday, June 12th, 2006 at 5:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

cebwrd Monday, April 3rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreame, Eastern
Directions
to the Field:
a
Review: I thought it was time for an "adult" review of this field for adults.

Lets see. How to fairly rate this field. I think we need to break it down.
1) Store. Probably as good as it gets in paintball. Good prices knowledgable staff, but thin selection especially in woods, and stock class. I give it an 8.
2) field condition and layout. Fine, for airball, Xball, hyper ball and spools. woods field is weak. But that's to be expected. Hogans is a turney place. 8.
3) Management. This includes administration and regulation. They run a pretty tight ship with regards to getting games going and sellin you the goods you need and airing up. But there is no regulation. Hogan's doesn't have any reffs. Sure they have some high school kids in orange shirts, but they don't do anything. So sportsmanship goes out the window. There are no fair matches at Hogans because cheating is rampant. On regulation they get zero 0.
4) Safety. Regular customers and friends of reffs are not required to Chrono, and so they are putting out 400 FPS balls. I have seen kids nearly need stiches and goggles shatter. Have to give them a zero here too. 0.

Okay, this averages out to 4 out of 10 for a rating.

Parents, do not leave you kids at Hogan's to fend for themselves, if they are young. Private parties should be fine because the very experienced (non sportsman) players that would use them for target practice can't get to them. But if you throw them into the general population, they really could encounter a hurting.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media